Disc Golf Store
Russell Gulch, CO
Ghost Town Share
Uploaded By: markjfun Hole #4 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 265ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
"Ghost Town Rain Shelter" - an old camper at the abandoned campsite on hole #4



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
Cool-W-History

1    5/15/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool course, that is full of history and fun shots. The clubhouse is awesome, and the hospitality is 2nd to none. This course has a little of everything, and will use all the discs in your bag. The grounds are full of old buildings, and much history. The owner playing allong will be very informative, IE a local history lesson. This course is well worth the trip to C-City, and the very low cost of $5 per day.
Cons: Can be hard to find, the baskets need to be upgraded, it can be muddy in the spring, and there is way, way, way to much OB. OB should be reserved for dangerous areas, roads, and property lines, just my opinion.
Other Thoughts: I put this up with the most unique, fun, and interesting DG experience I have ever had. Playing this course will be one great day of DG.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: runninlikebarry20
Played: 102  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a unique setup down and through and old mining town in and around the owners property that challenges you with many types of shots and looks. Elevation changes are always a plus to me. An extremely friendly husband and wife run the course and are very helpful with getting you started on your journey. Beautiful scenery all around you to take in. This too was a physical challenge which I like and are not really used to being a Michigan disc golfer.
Cons: Im not here to critique the setup of this unique course. It is what it is. It has many homemade style baskets to add to the allure of a private style course. I have NO regrets making the journey to Ghost Town.
Other Thoughts: A great experience that gives you private course and homely feeling all around. It was unlike any course I have ever played. Variety is good when it comes to disc courses for me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finess

2-4    9/19/2009   2/16/2010
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole has a unique charm. Hole 4 is actually two holes A&B. You may be teeing off on top of a boulder or shooting through ghost town remains. The scenery is beautiful. You will not get so winded on your hike through the course. There are not many steep climbs like other mountain courses. The course is well maintained and run by an outstanding individual. Awesome tee and info signs on the course made of recycled objects.Very enjoyable time playing ghost town.
Cons: Small tees. The pit/swamp next to hole 13? can be tricky if you throw short. Some long grass on fairways. Parking is minimal, but that just means that you shouldn't run in to anyone else playing the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth the time you spend playing it. Each shot is different and requires a different type of throw. Take your time and enjoy each hole. Don't get frustrated by some of the home made baskets, they add to the charm of the course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    11/10/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big information board, Quite and spacious.
The course is clearly marked, has a wire array of elevation.
The owner is very friendly and informational.
Plenty of room to take your time and relax with lost of benches and bazaar obstacles.
Cons: Some of the OB is private property and you may not retrieve lost discs.

Lots of loose terrain.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice 4 wheeling road you can take into Ghost town with lots of killer views.

Bring hiking boots if you have them!
You can cycle through many different discs on this course so go prepared for all kinds of situations like blind shots, straight open shots, sloped shots, crowded shots, you get the idea.

Over all this course met my expectations and left me wanting more!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't miss this one!

1    10/18/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good variety of open and wooded holes that will challenge all skill levels. The course owner is friendly and will guide you through most of the holes. The course is well layed out and easily navigable by a course map and from signs throughout the area. Narrow fairways and "wet" islands on the front nine make the things challenging and interesting. The theme throughout the course is great and really captures the ghost town feel! Away from city noise and crowded parks, this area is perfect for disc golf.
Cons: It is pay to play and you have to make reservations but it is well worth it. The location can be tricky to find for the first time. If you don't have an accurate game you may end up crossing over the boundary line and taking a penalty stroke often. At least half of the goals look homemade and should be upgraded.
Other Thoughts: This fell easily into my top three courses after playing it. The course maintenance is great and I believe the baskets are being upgraded over time. The trip is definitely worth it for disc golfers in the denver/northern colorado area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    6/18/2008   6/18/2009
Review By: waynewf
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very fun and unique course. I know that some people don't like a pay to play, but it's only a few bucks and the guy who runs it is really cool and will even walk the course with you.
This course is also pretty challenging and offers a nice array of technical shots along with power shots.
Cons: Being situated around the community the way it is feels a bit awkward. If you want to go to a course and drag around your cooler while getting wasted, this is definately not the course for you.
Other Thoughts: I drove 45 minutes from Denver and got lost twice before I found this course...but it was totally worth it and I plan on making that trip again!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  LOCAL

5+    6/6/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: TIMM
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.9 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: very quiet and peaceful play without the city noise. Tee 1 thru 8 holes are technical holes with doglegs left and right on the side of the mountain. 9 thru 18 are more open space with alot of travel.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Play all day without interuption. This course brings out every ability you need to play the game. From short and tight fairways to fairways that let you fly.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 walk through history

1    5/9/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: shmizzak
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A very FUN course to play. some tight and technical and some open long shots too. the manditory OB's were actually a fun challenge. pvt course call ahead. low 3 $ play fee is vewy reasonable.
Brian the owner plays the first round with you to guide the course and gives a neat history lesson on the area well worth the trip.
Cons: its 10.5 hour drive from kC.........but will do it again

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 MUST PLAY!!

1    7/28/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: J-TRU
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very difficult. The owner has made a very detailed map so you can't get lost. He has made up some rules that make it very intresting to play because you can't throw the shot you want every time.
Cons: Some of the original baskets are still there(homemade), but the owner asks for a small fee to play all day and i think that $ is going to new baskets because alot of them are new.
Other Thoughts: bring bright good plastic to throw, your in the woods so you will hit alot trees and misplace your disc.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Mining town course

7/27/2008   7/27/2008
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked, lots of tight holes. Players need to be able to hyzer and anhyzer, to weave the disc through the trees. Some putts require a layup because of huge penalty for missed putt. No getting lost here.. well marked and owner very helpful! OB and Mandos control disc selection. Course was exactly what was expected and delightful to play.
Cons: Did a lot of tree banging. Some holes are Extremely tight.
Other Thoughts: This course has ambiance! Tons of personality. The hole number and distance on rusty shovels is GREAT. I have never thrown over a Ghost house before! I will definately play again, and the Beau Jo's Pizza in Idaho Springs was really good!

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.