Russell Gulch, CO 
Ghost Town Share
Uploaded By: markjfun Hole #15 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15/#16 Tee: Throw both drives from this tee and then continue play.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Short, Technical, and Wooded

2-4    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: HAWKSNEST1979
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Owner has created a club house with discs, shirts, and a pool table. Owner is a cool guy and put in a lot of time into this course. Nice mountain course, with an old school mining camp artifacts and buildings, and a cool hike. Lots of technical shots.
Cons: There are some marshes you can lose your disc in or get a bit soaked. Many of the tee boxes you don't have room to get a hop start to your throw and a few you barely have room to stand.
Other Thoughts: lots of OB... Lots. Probably had 6-7 OB shots but that's what makes this course challenging. If you can make short accurate throws then you can play in the red, if not the OB will eat you up.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in CO.

1    8/14/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: jsaturley1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course in a historic mining town located near Central City, CO.
- Very technical. Most of the holes are very short, but winding through the trees presents its challenges. Both beginners and experts will enjoy.
- The historical artifacts and structures you'll see make this more than just a typical disc golf outing. You'll see old mining buildings, horse bridals, mining carts, etc. and most of the tees are marked with rusty shovels. Really cool!!
- Very quiet and serene. We only saw a couple people the whole time. It's so quiet; when someone is talking a mile away, you can hear every word they're saying. We never waited for anyone and no one was waiting for us.
- The proprietor is a disc golf enthusiast that will give you and map and tips on the course prior to starting your game.
- This is a pay-course... and, yes, this is a positive thing! It helps the owner maintain the course, and it filters out the tourists from Central City to ensure you have a calm and relaxing experience. I would've gladly paid three-times the amount they're charging ($3/person) to support the park (I bought a t-shirt instead).
- When you're done, visit Central City, have a beer and play a couple hands of blackjack!
Cons: Don't let these minute negatives 'con' you out of playing this course!
- There are plenty of restrictions on how you play the course, but none of these restrictions are unreasonable. The OB areas are plentiful, but they helped guide us through the course and prevented us from hitting someone's house or a historical artifact.
- There's are a few people that actually live in the area surrounding the course. But, they were actually kind enough to help us find our discs when we crossed the OB fence, so maybe this should be a positive?
- Quite a few of the baskets are in need of replacement, but don't let that detract you from playing this fantastic course.
- There's a few tall grass swamps that will swallow you disc if you land in them, but you can shoot from ridge-to-ridge to avoid them. These were actually the best 'open' shots on the course.
- There's only about two parking spots near the cabin where you pay your fees. But, there's more parking down the road if those spaces are taken.
Other Thoughts: With the exception of Beaver Ranch, this is the best course I've played in CO. I would highly recommend it!
- When (not 'if') I play this course again, I will empty out some of my drivers and replace them with mid-range and specialty (e.g., hook, slice, etc.) discs - you will need more short-range discs that you can articulate around the trees and other obstacles.
- Just follow the directions provided on this web-site and you will find it - if you miss it, it's because you got distracted by the awesome historical mining structures along the road.
- Skip the crowded city courses and some of the poorly marked and maintained mountain courses and play this one instead!! I guarantee you will not regret it.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Dalisllama
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: One-of-a-Kind! A must Play. Unique and Fun. Very scenic and interesting. If you follow the directions, you will get there. Brian was a great host.
Cons: Baskets!? They look cool but I feel it would be best to have baskets that are solid and sound. I can handle the OB's but I hate bounce outs specially from questionable baskets.
Other Thoughts: OBs are many and that IS part of the character of this course, deal with it. Old baskets with character, i guess i should deal with it. That makes this course just short of perfect. Thanks Brian! I will be back.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Groovey little Ghost Town

1    7/18/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Groovingirl
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has been on my "to play list" for quite some time. It was quite the adventure from the beginning. The course is in the depths of a quaint mountain town right outside of the historic mining town of Central City. It was a great experience! When we FINALLY arrived the owner kindly greeted us and gave us a rundown of the course and some of the spooky history of the land and the town. The course itself was really technical and precise and was a lot of fun to play. We even had to trudge through the marsh, which was an experience in itself. We found that the dog legs were really challenging, but fun at the same time. It was easy to map out, it was easy to find shelter from the rain and the scenery and ambiance was absolutely beautiful but also very eerie and creepy. Over all it was a great experience.
Cons: It was really close to residents homes at one point. The MARSH...but at the same time the Marsh was and interesting experience and was fun and will hold memories for our group for a long time.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play it again! YAY!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Funnest Course Yet!

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of terrain. Awesome rustic and historical feel and views of an old mining town. Short and very challenging. Well marked and groomed course. Extremely clean of trash, but not old mining artifacts. Plenty of resting spots.
Cons: OB, OB, OB! The biggest con has to be the excessive OB. Easy to lose discs in the tall swamp grass with an errant throw. Lack of parking.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the play to travel from Michigan. Many things come to mind and couldn't decide if it was a Pro or Con like the older home made baskets. They seemed to work in my favor so it must be a Pro. OB was excessive however helped to make it more challenging. The greens fees are minimal and the course is well worth twice the cost! Over all an excellent and super fun course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Ghosts of Disc Golfing!!!

1    5/31/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Drew Heintz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 6/10/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~This was truely an experience!!!
~Everything looks like it was takin from the 1930s or earlier. Very authentic!!!!
~Not only do you get to throw some discs in some very cool settings, the whole trip is an adventure!
~Abandoned buildings with glass broken out, old rusty oil cans laying around, very rustic looking baskets that were made with outstanding craftmanship, ridge to ridge shots, tee boxes on the top of boulders and hills, a camper-style smoke....er...rain shelter, creepy looking remains of stone made buildings, and a history packed story that goes with the course. A must play for and adventure seeking disc golfer.
~I saved the best for last.....Brian was the host, and what a host he is!!! After he showed us the basic layout of the course, told us some history of the ruins, and gave us some tips and tricks to use along the way, we were all too excited to get on the first tee and begin our adventure.
Cons: Some would say that paying to play is a con. In my opinion, it secures the fact that this course you just payed to play will be a one in a kind. My con would be the OB's. Why so many? Seems like to me he kinda went a little crazy and started abusing his OB privledges. Especially the holes right before you cross the street. There is OB's surrounding trees, a fake lake, and just random circles of OB's (and no, me nor anyone in my group counted those as OBs. Rules or no rules, that was rediculous.)
Other Thoughts: I would strongly recommend two rounds. the first round to get to know the course, than the second round to really play the course. (+5 my first round, -1 my second) All-in-All , an awesome course and a must play for any discer. We will be back!!
Thanks Brian!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cool-W-History

1    5/15/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool course, that is full of history and fun shots. The clubhouse is awesome, and the hospitality is 2nd to none. This course has a little of everything, and will use all the discs in your bag. The grounds are full of old buildings, and much history. The owner playing allong will be very informative, IE a local history lesson. This course is well worth the trip to C-City, and the very low cost of $5 per day.
Cons: Can be hard to find, the baskets need to be upgraded, it can be muddy in the spring, and there is way, way, way to much OB. OB should be reserved for dangerous areas, roads, and property lines, just my opinion.
Other Thoughts: I put this up with the most unique, fun, and interesting DG experience I have ever had. Playing this course will be one great day of DG.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: runninlikebarry20
Played: 107  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a unique setup down and through and old mining town in and around the owners property that challenges you with many types of shots and looks. Elevation changes are always a plus to me. An extremely friendly husband and wife run the course and are very helpful with getting you started on your journey. Beautiful scenery all around you to take in. This too was a physical challenge which I like and are not really used to being a Michigan disc golfer.
Cons: Im not here to critique the setup of this unique course. It is what it is. It has many homemade style baskets to add to the allure of a private style course. I have NO regrets making the journey to Ghost Town.
Other Thoughts: A great experience that gives you private course and homely feeling all around. It was unlike any course I have ever played. Variety is good when it comes to disc courses for me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finess

2-4    9/19/2009   2/16/2010
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 12.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole has a unique charm. Hole 4 is actually two holes A&B. You may be teeing off on top of a boulder or shooting through ghost town remains. The scenery is beautiful. You will not get so winded on your hike through the course. There are not many steep climbs like other mountain courses. The course is well maintained and run by an outstanding individual. Awesome tee and info signs on the course made of recycled objects.Very enjoyable time playing ghost town.
Cons: Small tees. The pit/swamp next to hole 13? can be tricky if you throw short. Some long grass on fairways. Parking is minimal, but that just means that you shouldn't run in to anyone else playing the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth the time you spend playing it. Each shot is different and requires a different type of throw. Take your time and enjoy each hole. Don't get frustrated by some of the home made baskets, they add to the charm of the course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    11/10/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big information board, Quite and spacious.
The course is clearly marked, has a wire array of elevation.
The owner is very friendly and informational.
Plenty of room to take your time and relax with lost of benches and bazaar obstacles.
Cons: Some of the OB is private property and you may not retrieve lost discs.

Lots of loose terrain.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice 4 wheeling road you can take into Ghost town with lots of killer views.

Bring hiking boots if you have them!
You can cycle through many different discs on this course so go prepared for all kinds of situations like blind shots, straight open shots, sloped shots, crowded shots, you get the idea.

Over all this course met my expectations and left me wanting more!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.