Rocklin, CA 
Rocklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #15 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
After a Rain, Still A Great Course

2-4    2/10/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: - Almost all tees have good tee signs as of 2/10, and if they don't (17, one other I can't remember) they are pretty straightforward shots
- For as flat as it seems, there's a fair amount of fun elevation (hole 2, 6, 10, 17)
- Came after the rains this past weekend, and had my fair share of water hazards which was actually a lot of fun, without impeding the walking around the course
Cons: - This course is getting crowded. I showed up on a forecasted rainy weekday at 8:45 AM (was a monday), and by the time I left the course was pretty much filled.
- The creek environment has sure taken a beaten from everyone fetching their discs. People who say disc golf is green and doesn't have any environmental damage should check out this course
- There's some spots where you can get turned around if there's no one in front of you, from 10-11, 12-13. It would've been great to have had a map at the start that I could've snapped a photo of.
Other Thoughts: This is the town I grew up in, and it's kind of cool to see how this course has become a destination spot. There's a disc golf store in the old library study room - that's awesome! I should've bought something just to support that cause. I also am a beginner, but felt like there were a bunch of holes that were still fun and where I could still feel successful.

However, disc golf is rough when a course is totally filled, which I think happens fairly frequently out here. I wish there were a way to relieve the pressure on this course and the ecosystem.

Notes on the rain: There were a few tees that were mushy or wet at the front or the back, but nothing that was too prohibitive. The creek was full, but even with two discs falling in it, I was able to retrieve both easily. The course had a bunch of puddles which as I said before, added to the fun.

Best in the Sacramento Area

5+    3/8/2013   2/7/2014
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent challenges on every hole make this a course that never leads to boredom. Trees come into play on most every hole, but the design is fair, leaving you with shot options every time.
Cons: The creek could feature greater play, but the great hole lengths and overall design overshadow this one design fault.
Other Thoughts: The best course in the Sacramento area, without question. Besting this place requires a trip to Kirkwood or Napa County.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable course for sure

2-4    9/16/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 28  Reviewed: 24
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Friendly people, great location, good technical basket placement. First three holes play wide open. 4-8 holes play through trees for more technical placement of your shots. Wide open #9 before 10-16 back into trees. #17 is a great hole. #18 can be short or long, depends on basket placement. Great wide open soccer field for tossing around the disc for fun before or after your round. Benches & garbage cans at each hole for convenience.
Cons: Can be busy at times. Playing with a large group (5 or more) can back up the holes a little bit, but not too bad. Water near many holes. Losing your disc is a high possibility, be prepared to "fish it out" of some murky mucky "water".
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great place to play after work or on the weekends. Teaching my kids to play here has been great. Never gets boring playing this course. Picnic area to rest at after #9. Bring your snacks, pack some water on those warmer days. Need gear? Final 9 shop on the walk in. Snacks and gear at good prices.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Meh

1    5/14/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with great mature oak trees. Most of the holes play through these oaks, offering a moderate height canopy and enough obstacles that you'll have to shape some different lines. There is nice variety in hole length, with some ace runs and some holes that let you pull out a driver.

The area seems mostly disc golf exclusive, there's a walking path on a couple holes but it seems lightly used and the visibility is good. A few holes have some tricky water OB near the green, adding some risk to going for the birdie off the tee.
Cons: This course feels very repetitive after a while. The distances are different, but every shot is fairly similar with a tee shot between the large oaks and no punishment for a bad drive. There's almost no rough here, so it's easy to recover for 3 even on a horrible shot. A few of the holes offer interesting lines, but it's straight shots for most of the rest.

A couple holes have long prairie grass in play, I find that kind of rough frustrating since it doesn't affect your next shot it just wastes time and fills your socks and shoes with foxtails. The signage is awful, it has no real information about the hole. Without distance or hole layout, it's often difficult to figure out which of several baskets to shoot to. There are some odd transitions, it's easy to skip holes in a few places if you're not using a map.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very approachable. The distances are long in some spots, but with little punishment and generous lines to hit it won't be too frustrating. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge here. It's not a bad place to get some driving practice in, but your technical game won't get much of a workout.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Rocklin

5+    4/11/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 25 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes, multiple positions, easy access, and plenty of parking. Great use of this large park, and non-repetitive holes. Now has a proshop on site. New benches installed this week. recently added another hole 17, to make this a legit 18 hole course again
Cons: Lost the signature hole for the whole area, because spotty communication between park district and course admins. A large dog park was recently added in the middle of hole 18, so the hole was pretty much missing for almost a year.
Other Thoughts: old hole 17, is now 18, and a new 17 was added.Well maintained course that usually is pretty busy. Long waits, and the weekly's take forever, and they tend to not let you play through.Great pro-style course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A decent afternoon jaunt

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plays through a grove of mature oak trees and around a winding creek. Since the fairways are wide and mostly flat, it is perfect for beginners and intermediates, but would still be fun for any level of player. The holes that place the pins near the creek add some great challenges on many drives and putts. There are multiple rotating pin positions per hole, which keeps things fresh.

The pro shop is nice, with a friendly staff and a decent variety of discs and drinks for sale.
Cons: Though I enjoyed playing here, I didn't find the layout particularly challenging. The trees were spaced out enough to allow a reasonable upshot if your drive went astray- on a majority of holes, not enough penalties for poor drives. The holes seemed to blend together after awhile - even though there was a mix of left, right, straight.

Signage did not display enough info - footage and hole layout non-existent. Next hole signs would have been helpful in places. I recommend printing a map (I had a friendly local as a guide, but it was not evident to me where to go next in some cases).

A bit crowded at 1:30 on a summer Thursday. This did not delay our play too much, but those who want to get away from it all may have to choose times wisely.
Other Thoughts: They are in the process of adding 9 holes to the course, which will affect some of the existing holes to a degree. They are trying to finish this by next month.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: lrghmn
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big Oak Trees, A lot of open space and long drives.It has a stream/swamp to avoid making for some anxious shots. In general one of NorCal's classic disc golf courses. Certainly a benchmark style course, that lets you know where your game is at.
Cons: It's dusty, and it's buggy. The swamp is swampy. It's popular, so you will likely wait. The park itself is popular so you don't get the "away from it al"l sense very often.
Other Thoughts: Only birdie of my very first round there came on 18 in pitch dark. The guys i played with pointed where to throw and it worked out. Can't wait to play it again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's a swell time.

1    3/10/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great layout, easy to navigate.
-Nice design, no short filler holes.
-Well maintained.
-Open, hard to lose a disc here.
-Pro Shop on-site
Cons: -Fair amount of traffic, don't expect to play it quickly. Though in full disclosure I'm used to more rural courses and would assume it's average traffic for a city course.
-Lots of cigarette butts around the teepads. I suppose that isn't a huge deal to some people, but, half the tees had trashcans so wtf. Besides, being out in awesome environments is, in my opinion, one of the best things about disc golf.
Other Thoughts: The course is a lot better than the people who play it! Okay, yea that is an unfair over-generalization of the course demographic, but expect to see people of all skill levels. On the course there seemed to be some really nice locals and then some genuine jerks, but that's about par for the Sacramento area. Social observations aside this is a very enjoyable course and if I find myself in the area I would love to play here again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rockin' Rumblin' Rocklin

1    12/14/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Positive and prominent DG culture. Excellent flow and layout; course played quite fast for a decent length 18 on a somewhat crowded weekday. Dedicated DG space is always great. Awesome mix of driving options & lanes. Nice combination of longer & shorter holes. 18 is a really nice finishing hole. Never got too lost.
Cons: Adding distances to each teesign would be a big plus. Flat to minimal elevation changes. A printable map of the layout would've been helpful.
Other Thoughts: Back 9 tougher than front 9. This course reminded me of a nicer, longer version of Mackey in Sac. Chummy locals were nice enough to point me in the right directions, but never offered to join up.
==================
Uniqueness: B+ (almost as nice as Shady Oaks...almost)
Difficulty: B+ (perfect amount of trees; flat)
Fun Factor: A- (super layout & flow; fun hole designs; mellow)
Aesthetics: A (clean & well maintained; gracefully matured)
----------------------
Overall: A-

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, poor layout

1    9/5/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: tgashby
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course
Tough, varied shots
Signs at each hole showing yardage and hole #
Friendly groups
Beautiful, mature trees
Cons: Busy, waited 5 min at each hole (but it was Labor Day...)
No course map
Doesn't flow all that well, had to follow group ahead
No description of holes on the signs
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees, which can be a Pro or a Con depending on your view point.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.