Rocklin, CA 
Rocklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #4 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rocklin

5+    4/11/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 25.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes, multiple positions, easy access, and plenty of parking. Great use of this large park, and non-repetitive holes. Now has a proshop on site. New benches installed this week. recently added another hole 17, to make this a legit 18 hole course again
Cons: Lost the signature hole for the whole area, because spotty communication between park district and course admins. A large dog park was recently added in the middle of hole 18, so the hole was pretty much missing for almost a year.
Other Thoughts: old hole 17, is now 18, and a new 17 was added.Well maintained course that usually is pretty busy. Long waits, and the weekly's take forever, and they tend to not let you play through.Great pro-style course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shady Oaks Jr.

2-4    3/21/2010   1/29/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice concrete tee pads
- Baskets with multiple pin pisitions
- Water hazards come into play on multiple holes
- Good mix of distances
- Some ace-able holes
- A few lefts and rights
- Mostly wooded with some more open holes
- Skatepark in same park (not a daycare)
- Sports fields on walk towards course, if they arn't in use they make a good place to practice a few drives before you start.
- Benches and Trashcans all around
Cons: - Crowded (like most Sac area courses)
- Big groups that refuse to let smaller goups pass
- Needs better signage (look on the back of hole markers)
- Very little elevation change
- Could posibly have some par 4's or 5's in the space behind the course (In my opinion)
- Some holes play very close to others and have the danger of crossfire
- Hard to find your way around the first time
Other Thoughts: A nice city park with soccer fields, a skate park and a prety nice little 18 hole disc golf course. The signs were a little lacking the last time I was there, but if you looked on the back of the hole marker there was usualy a little hand drawn map. Like most Sacramento courses it tends to get backed up with big groups of slow players during peak times. I usualy try to go to courses like this and Shady Oaks durring weekday mornings to keep the amount of people on the course to a minimum. This shouldn't be taken to say that all Sac area golfers are jerks, just alot of them. I've also met alot of cool golfers from Sac and the surounding areas, usualy at tournys, but I've met some chill casual golfers as well.


The Rocklin DGC was actualy the first disc golf course I had heard of, unfortunatly it was from having golfers drop thier kids off at the skate park like it was a daycare. Their kids would be running back and forth across the skatepark (no, board or skates) and enevitibly would get run over by a skater. Then they would be sitting there in the middle of the skatepark crying with no parents to be seen. So my final thought is if you have kids with you, keep them with you, or at least don't drop them off at the skatepark like it's a playground. They will probably get hurt, and no one likes having to take care of some crying kid that shouldn't have been there in the first place.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Updated Info

1    0/0/0000   6/2/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes, good tee pads and directional signs. I ended up catching up with some locals who let me play along so I had a bit of a guide trip. Even without the help it would have been pretty easy to find my way. There are some new tee pads and hole locations from what I was told. Overall good fun course, not real hard not real easy either. Seems most of the holes are pretty long a few shorter ones would be nice. Everything you expect in a city park and a very nice park at that. I saw a gas station around the corner with an Innova sign so I assume they sell discs there.
Cons: The creek smells nasty, try to stay out of there. I think it drys up in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Good course, will play again if I get close. They had a WED night doubles start just as we were finishing with over 60 people. Thats right over 60 people on a WED night.

If your in the area play this course. Its just a few minutes off Hwy 80

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ok

1    7/11/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's a decent course to practice at and it's near Shady Oaks so you can play both in the same morning.
-Not very busy, we were able to run through fast on a Saturday around 11.
-Good course to learn how to play, or to just go and throw longer shots through the wide corridors.
-Nice and shady
-You have to be able to throw low shots and hit your window.
-If the wind blows this course would be tough.
Cons: -The shots seem to get redundant, lots of skip it to the left and then the next hole is skip it to the right. For the majority of the course it seemed like the holes were basically the same and it wasn't very technical. The first couple holes are fun and then the last couple holes were fun too, it's mostly the middle that is boring.
-Tee signs are pretty much useless and navigation is tough. I had my friend with me that had played there multiple times and we still found ourselves getting switched around a couple of times.

Other Thoughts: After playing Shady Oaks this was a bit of a let down, but it's a good course to be able to actually play without wasting your life away and the people were friendly.

It's worth playing if you are in the area, or tag team it with Shady Oaks, but it's not worth a special trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 rocklin

6/14/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ease of use, no conflict with other areas in the park. Garbage cans on all tees. Benches on all tees. Concrete Teepads.
Cons: Tee signs don't have complete information, ie. hole length, direction of pin placement, multiple pin placement; the previous review said there was information on the back of the tee signs, but I don't recall ever seeing anything like that on the back. The front of the tee signs just say what hole it is, and the name of the park.
(personal con: Course Design.)
Other Thoughts: This course is placed in an area with slightly rolling fairways, with mature oak trees. There is no other growth to speak of, and at the time when I played the course, it was in a drought situation so no grass, or even weeds to speak of, pretty dusty and dirty as a result. There is a small creek winding through the course and some holes are designed with the creek in play. For the most part the course is wide open, and fairly flat. The oak trees are constantly a part of your decision making on how to make a drive off the tee pads.
There are multiple pin placements for a majority of the holes, so variety from changing baskets is there. The set up I played had medium to short pin placements, and a handful of longer shots. Hard pack around the baskets so your approach will slide/skip away if your not careful, once again mostly due to the drought situation. It was great to see garbage cans on every hole, and benches. This course looks like a popular one, and I imagine the benches come in handy when waiting to tee off ( I played at 7 am saturday, and even then there were other people on the course). A pull cart would be ideal here. There is a jogging/walking path around half of the course, but doesn't really come into play, except for maybe one hole (hole 14). Overall I feel this cousre is an intermediate to advanced type course because of the wide open aspects on all shots and the course design which I want to touch on next.
First, I want to disclaim any and all parts of my following comments based on ignorance and from not being from that part of the country, and apologize in advance if anyone involved with the course design there takes offense to the following statements. This is also my personal opinion and has nothing to do with the current conditions and playability of the park, which is good.
Rocklin may have had some restrictions as to how much land was available when it was initially designed, there is a lot of unused land adjacent to the course but on the other side of the jogging path. There are some holes designed to avoid other park usage areas (horseshoe pits, skateboard park, roller hockey, jogging path), which makes sense. And there may be some restrictions not apparent to someone like myself as to why a particular hole design was placed as it was. That being said, some of the teepad - to - basket line of flight corridors I just couldn't figure out. You play a hole that is wide open, then you go to a hole that has no chance of advancing your disc up the fairway in a fair and safe manner. I look from that teepad and move to the righ or left several feet and there is a great window to shoot down, and still a good risk/reward scenario. Some teepads if they are moved back 50 to 100 feet make a good shot great, and much more challenging. It seems that the designers may have been rushed to get a course in and didn't have the time to create a much more interesting and challenging course. Its still a good course to play, BUT, it could be so much better…… not sure what could be done now, the teepads are where they are and the holes are where they are.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.