Rocklin, CA 
Rocklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #9 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
After a Rain, Still A Great Course

2-4    2/10/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: - Almost all tees have good tee signs as of 2/10, and if they don't (17, one other I can't remember) they are pretty straightforward shots
- For as flat as it seems, there's a fair amount of fun elevation (hole 2, 6, 10, 17)
- Came after the rains this past weekend, and had my fair share of water hazards which was actually a lot of fun, without impeding the walking around the course
Cons: - This course is getting crowded. I showed up on a forecasted rainy weekday at 8:45 AM (was a monday), and by the time I left the course was pretty much filled.
- The creek environment has sure taken a beaten from everyone fetching their discs. People who say disc golf is green and doesn't have any environmental damage should check out this course
- There's some spots where you can get turned around if there's no one in front of you, from 10-11, 12-13. It would've been great to have had a map at the start that I could've snapped a photo of.
Other Thoughts: This is the town I grew up in, and it's kind of cool to see how this course has become a destination spot. There's a disc golf store in the old library study room - that's awesome! I should've bought something just to support that cause. I also am a beginner, but felt like there were a bunch of holes that were still fun and where I could still feel successful.

However, disc golf is rough when a course is totally filled, which I think happens fairly frequently out here. I wish there were a way to relieve the pressure on this course and the ecosystem.

Notes on the rain: There were a few tees that were mushy or wet at the front or the back, but nothing that was too prohibitive. The creek was full, but even with two discs falling in it, I was able to retrieve both easily. The course had a bunch of puddles which as I said before, added to the fun.

 

1    7/16/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: lrghmn
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big Oak Trees, A lot of open space and long drives.It has a stream/swamp to avoid making for some anxious shots. In general one of NorCal's classic disc golf courses. Certainly a benchmark style course, that lets you know where your game is at.
Cons: It's dusty, and it's buggy. The swamp is swampy. It's popular, so you will likely wait. The park itself is popular so you don't get the "away from it al"l sense very often.
Other Thoughts: Only birdie of my very first round there came on 18 in pitch dark. The guys i played with pointed where to throw and it worked out. Can't wait to play it again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's a swell time.

1    3/10/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great layout, easy to navigate.
-Nice design, no short filler holes.
-Well maintained.
-Open, hard to lose a disc here.
-Pro Shop on-site
Cons: -Fair amount of traffic, don't expect to play it quickly. Though in full disclosure I'm used to more rural courses and would assume it's average traffic for a city course.
-Lots of cigarette butts around the teepads. I suppose that isn't a huge deal to some people, but, half the tees had trashcans so wtf. Besides, being out in awesome environments is, in my opinion, one of the best things about disc golf.
Other Thoughts: The course is a lot better than the people who play it! Okay, yea that is an unfair over-generalization of the course demographic, but expect to see people of all skill levels. On the course there seemed to be some really nice locals and then some genuine jerks, but that's about par for the Sacramento area. Social observations aside this is a very enjoyable course and if I find myself in the area I would love to play here again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, poor layout

1    9/5/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: tgashby
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course
Tough, varied shots
Signs at each hole showing yardage and hole #
Friendly groups
Beautiful, mature trees
Cons: Busy, waited 5 min at each hole (but it was Labor Day...)
No course map
Doesn't flow all that well, had to follow group ahead
No description of holes on the signs
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees, which can be a Pro or a Con depending on your view point.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always Fun at Rocklin!

5+    1/8/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with hard semi grassy fairways in the summer; soft/muddy fairways in the winter
Most Holes have trees scattered throughout the fairway but mostly open with big arm shots
Restrooms near Hole 1
Benches & Trash Cans on All Holes
Fun mix of Holes with Multiple Pin Placements
Tee Pads are long and wide giving you a lot of room to use!
Park looks excellent in the summertime and very fun to play!
Cons: Can get flooded & very muddy during rainy season
Other Thoughts: It can get windy at times - like any valley course.
The course gets very packed on weekends and the Sacramento area is in desperate need for more championship caliber courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/6/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Nice tee pads
Long holes with big oaks that add a sprinkling of technicality
Not too crowded
Free to play
dogs allowed
Cons: Needs more elevation change
Holes began to get a little monotonous towards the end.
Needs a few more shorter, technical holes
Other Thoughts: Probably not what you would call a destination course but a must play if in the area

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rocklin

1    5/2/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: Sluse
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A very enjoyable 18. Pretty open on a few holes, but nice tee placement. A good group of very challenging holes.
Cons: A few of the holes are very easy, due to a lack of trees, as well as some very interesting water hazards (GNARLY!!!). Also, the signs aren't very helpful.
Other Thoughts: Today was very crouded and windy, but I'm sure thats not always a problem.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Rocklin

1    7/1/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: The Ghostman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: not crowded
variety
lots to do for everyone at this park
multiple pin placements
concrete pads
fairly long, challenging course
no hole was too easy
Cons: dusty (summertime)
the area around many of the pins was extremely hard and dry--making some shots continue far past the pin

Obviously it was hot even early in the day. We finshed before 11:00 and were lucky we didn't burn. There are trees there for cover, but it is no "Shady Oaks"
Other Thoughts: We played both this course and Shady Oaks on the same HOT day.

This course was a bit more fun to play than Shady and I scored better at Shady.

If I was in the area, I would plan a picnic and stay for the whole day. The kids would have a blast with all this park provides and I would have a chance to get in 36 easily. We could BBQ, play horseshoes, my wife could take a jog and if the kids wanted to, they could play roller hockey at what looks like one of the better roller hockey rings I have seen. There is even a skate park there--loads of fun to be had by all

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Privacy is nice

2-4    11/28/2008   3/6/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The best aspect of this course is it's privacy. I have yet to see any other people (other than disc players) use this park. No worrying if you're going to hit a child in the face, unless their also playing disc.
-Concrete Pads with ample space allotted
-Multiple pin placements
-Updated restrooms on site near hole one
-The course can play long or short
-Trees add variety and difficulty
-Wind can also add a degree of difficulty
-A practice pin is located next to tee pad number one
-Winding creek comes into play on a few holes
-Open practice field
Cons: -People there can be ruin at times (at least the times I've played)
-Better signage between holes would be nice the first time through
-A few holes towards the end could use more imagination like hole 16
Other Thoughts: I played this a few times and have enjoyed it very much. The course lends itself to shot experimentation so have at it. The course also has a nice progression at the beginning. You start in the open field, move to the practice pin for putting, then finally you start your round. This is the only course that I have played that has this feature.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rocktown

5+    3/1/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: 916er
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked, concrete tee pads, practice basket, clean bathrooms, bbq's, picnic tables, skate park, soccer fields, football field, roller hockey, tennis courts, volleyball courts, walking trails, playground, horseshoes, this park has everything except boche.

They have each of the different pin placements located on the back of each sign at the tees.

Cons: It is a pretty open course with very few technical shots.

It's very crowded!
Other Thoughts: The people that play there are very friendly. It is a fun course and they change the pin placements regularly. Also a great place to try out some new shots without losing a disc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.