Rocklin, CA 
Rocklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #8 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Orangevale's Little Bro

2-4    11/11/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tees, in good shape
- dual pins, changed fairly often
- good use of elevation keeps the repetitive holes a little more interesting than they would be
- low canopies on some holes will teach you to throw low and straight
- pin placements around the creeks are creative and fun. Many good risk/reward pins
- well defined and well kept fairways
- some cool barriers built with logs
- lots of trash cans, usually one every few holes
Cons: - poor tee signs. they're in good shape, but they only tell you the hole number and what the par is (always 3). No maps or distances. This can make finding the correct basket tough for newcomers.
- mostly open, not much technical challenge
- very dry and dusty, no water on the course
- can be crowded on weekends
- many of the holes get repetitive, either slightly doglegged left/right
Other Thoughts: Tee 1 is about 100 yards away from the parking area, across the large open field between the tennis courts and the bathroom building.

I found navigation on this course to be difficult the first time I was out here because of the poor signage and being able to see multiple baskets from the tee (after you get to the mid-6), but before you tee off check the back of the tee signs because someone has put some very basic maps with clear laminate on the back of the signs. Not all of them are there (actually only about half), but if you're new to the course they will help you out a lot.

The other players here are all pretty nice, and understand the concept of letting a smaller group play through, which was a nice change from many of the other California courses I've played.

All in all this course is fun, but only for a round or two, or if you feel like playing a longer game of Ript! with your friends. Everyone that has said that Orangevale (Shady Oaks) is better and more of a challenge is right, you're time will be better spent there, and you'll be a better player because of it. Rocklin is worth a stop by if you've never played it before, but if you have to make a choice, go to Orangevale.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 My home course, what can I say

5+    7/20/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: springy101
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of short and long holes, multiple pin positions per hole, holes changed regularly, each hole has benches, concrete tees, and trash cans
Cons: Usually always crowded, dusty, close proximity to rest of park/joggers always in the way, windy, reed that grab your skin and cut you and give you a rash
Other Thoughts: I've played all the local courses and this one is definitely my favorite. Always challenging and the creek on hole 3 is a nice challenge. There usually some large groups on younger kids and lots of pot smoking/beer drinking if you aren't into that kind of stuff. Also, the pictures of the course are completely wrong, they updated all the holes a while back and I couldn't recognize any of them.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 major overhaul

5+    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: russ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course would be good for beginners to intermediate players. It is very wide open, especially with all of the work that was done to the course this last week. It is very clean with bathrooms before you start. There is no interference from park goers. There is a nice mixture of short and long holes and the holes are moved once every couple-few weeks it seems.
Cons: Better players may find this course to be boring, especially with Shady Oaks right down the street. They cleared TONS of growth making this wide open course incredibly wide open which is disappointing for me.
Other Thoughts: Signs don't tell you where the pins are, only that they are par 3s, but now that it has been cleared I think you can see EVERY pin from the box.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not impressed

1    7/22/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parking lot is about 400 feet from the first tee with a grassy area in between. Nice area to warm up in as you are walking toward the course.

Locales were friendly and assisted in finding tee pads and several groups allowed me to play through.

Restrooms are available and looked to be new. Don't know if drinking water was around.

Concrete tee pads. Open course lightly wooded with minor elevation changes. Was easy to spot the basket before throwing.

Course stands alone so no interference from other park users.

There are other areas in the park for the wife and kids to have fun in while you get your round in.
Cons: Dirt dirt dirt. No grass on these fairways. Signage doesn't tell you anything except the hole number and the par. Some of the fairways are very close together.
Other Thoughts: With Shady Oaks right down the way I don't know why you'd play here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ok

1    7/11/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's a decent course to practice at and it's near Shady Oaks so you can play both in the same morning.
-Not very busy, we were able to run through fast on a Saturday around 11.
-Good course to learn how to play, or to just go and throw longer shots through the wide corridors.
-Nice and shady
-You have to be able to throw low shots and hit your window.
-If the wind blows this course would be tough.
Cons: -The shots seem to get redundant, lots of skip it to the left and then the next hole is skip it to the right. For the majority of the course it seemed like the holes were basically the same and it wasn't very technical. The first couple holes are fun and then the last couple holes were fun too, it's mostly the middle that is boring.
-Tee signs are pretty much useless and navigation is tough. I had my friend with me that had played there multiple times and we still found ourselves getting switched around a couple of times.

Other Thoughts: After playing Shady Oaks this was a bit of a let down, but it's a good course to be able to actually play without wasting your life away and the people were friendly.

It's worth playing if you are in the area, or tag team it with Shady Oaks, but it's not worth a special trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Rocklin

1    7/1/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: The Ghostman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: not crowded
variety
lots to do for everyone at this park
multiple pin placements
concrete pads
fairly long, challenging course
no hole was too easy
Cons: dusty (summertime)
the area around many of the pins was extremely hard and dry--making some shots continue far past the pin

Obviously it was hot even early in the day. We finshed before 11:00 and were lucky we didn't burn. There are trees there for cover, but it is no "Shady Oaks"
Other Thoughts: We played both this course and Shady Oaks on the same HOT day.

This course was a bit more fun to play than Shady and I scored better at Shady.

If I was in the area, I would plan a picnic and stay for the whole day. The kids would have a blast with all this park provides and I would have a chance to get in 36 easily. We could BBQ, play horseshoes, my wife could take a jog and if the kids wanted to, they could play roller hockey at what looks like one of the better roller hockey rings I have seen. There is even a skate park there--loads of fun to be had by all

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good all around course

5+    4/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: JohnAmber
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot good about this course. The big grassy field is nice to just bomb your way to the first tee. Though I usually skip the practice tee before the round, after you play the course a few times and realize you have wound your way around, it can make for a good #19 hole if not too busy. The course is a gradual progression from easier shots to more complex, though tee placement can effect this immediately, or later on. That is the one VERY nice thing about this course, the tees are changed frequently and all the information is located on the back of the sign, all except where the tee is located on a particular day. For the most part, you can either spot it, or it probably won't matter. I've never experienced any of the Sacramento "thug mentality" here, everyone has always been cordial and polite, though you do occasionally run into some inebriated players.
Cons: If there at the wrong time, the course can be busy. Also, be sure to bring water, there is no fountains around and the Sacramento weather in the summer can be very hot.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a excellent course, with challenges for newbs and pros alike. I've never done it myself, but I know they hold a disc golf tournament frequently at this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better Than Shady Oaks

2-4    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: RedSoxRob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most all of the pros listed below I found. Additionally, the layout of the course is better than Shady Oaks because it has moderate vegetation. Many of the holes have just enough trees to help with imagination of shots without snuffing your accuracy or game. In other words, the holes are difficult but the baskets seem more reachable than at Shady Oaks. Good variation of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Trash cans at every hole.
Cons: Signage is poor. Pin placement maps are located on the back of the hole signs (took me about 5 holes to figure that our). The pin placement signs however do not indicate where the specific pin is at on that day (at least I didn't see that). Most of the pin placement signs are faded.
Other Thoughts: Shady Oaks gets all the play in Sacramento, usually. But I've played Shady Oaks many times and my first round at Rocklin was better than all my rounds at SO. Well worth the drive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/21/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: fuzthepoet
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good course, the pins are moved frequently, so the course is always a little different.
Cons: Some holes have lots of over growth making it hard to find disks at times.
Other Thoughts: a brighter disk is recomended. bring water

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Privacy is nice

2-4    11/28/2008   3/6/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The best aspect of this course is it's privacy. I have yet to see any other people (other than disc players) use this park. No worrying if you're going to hit a child in the face, unless their also playing disc.
-Concrete Pads with ample space allotted
-Multiple pin placements
-Updated restrooms on site near hole one
-The course can play long or short
-Trees add variety and difficulty
-Wind can also add a degree of difficulty
-A practice pin is located next to tee pad number one
-Winding creek comes into play on a few holes
-Open practice field
Cons: -People there can be ruin at times (at least the times I've played)
-Better signage between holes would be nice the first time through
-A few holes towards the end could use more imagination like hole 16
Other Thoughts: I played this a few times and have enjoyed it very much. The course lends itself to shot experimentation so have at it. The course also has a nice progression at the beginning. You start in the open field, move to the practice pin for putting, then finally you start your round. This is the only course that I have played that has this feature.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.