Rocklin, CA 
Rocklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #10 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Rocktown

5+    3/1/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: 916er
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked, concrete tee pads, practice basket, clean bathrooms, bbq's, picnic tables, skate park, soccer fields, football field, roller hockey, tennis courts, volleyball courts, walking trails, playground, horseshoes, this park has everything except boche.

They have each of the different pin placements located on the back of each sign at the tees.

Cons: It is a pretty open course with very few technical shots.

It's very crowded!
Other Thoughts: The people that play there are very friendly. It is a fun course and they change the pin placements regularly. Also a great place to try out some new shots without losing a disc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Might be my favorite

1    9/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: blackskies
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Great setting. Straight Forward. Nice mix of open green and trees, but not heavy trees where you ruin your game.
Cons: Thug mentality of players. Sacramento is way too thugged out for this sport.
Other Thoughts: There is an open lawn from the parking lot to the actual course and you can just bomb discs. Nice practice area.
As I've said n all Sacramento reviews that I've done. (I used to live there) There is a huge thug mentality with the players, Wife beaters, coolers of beer, bad tribal tattoos etc.
Otherwise I think the course is great.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rocklin

2-4    10/26/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: hagar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with apt challenges for experienced and newbs alike. Wooded, but open. Most holes would be considered on the short side for big arms, but most baskets are protected by trees. A couple of ace (for experenced) duece (for newbs) ops, but most holes will challenge even big/solid arms to make birds or pars (3). I love the big open grassy area for warming up, but it can be busy with other activities. The course has been busy, but not crowded on my visits (Sunday - noonish). There is one warm up basket near the first tee.
Cons: The course can be hard to follow at a few spots, but twice around and you'll know where to go next.
Other Thoughts: Similar to Shady Oaks, it's a great course for newbs and experienced alike. Plenty of challenge for either. Big arms won't have too many chances to air it out, but will be able to test their finesse to challenge some baskets off the tee. A creek/canal winds through the course and comes into play on 4 or 5 holes. It's definately avoidable most of the time. On hole 3 it creates a risk/reward option off the tee for big arms, but just clearing the creek doesn't necessarily gain you a stroke, but it will make for an easier par op. A newb with just a few shots in the bag can get around, but it's great place for a better player to hone a shot they're working on. While Shady Oaks is probably a little better in design, the crowds there, make Rocklin a more regular hangout for my group.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for confidence building

1    10/25/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: These are 18 very fun and interesting holes in a nice park with a great atmosphere and cool people. The trees are the best part of this course, and the layout of the holes uses them to very great advantage. There are both right and left-turning holes, tunnel shots, holes with multiple options for getting to the pin, some open holes for rollers, etc.. I used both forehand and backhand drives, and this course certainly caters to people with a variety of shots (so if you're dominant fore or back, you can practice the other here).

Also, there are bathrooms near the 1st tee, the park is clean with many rubbish bins, parking is convenient, and the regulatory mood is relaxed.

Cons: The course is one of the easier ones I've played...I played at par the first time through, which is not usually the case for me on most courses.

There is not a great deal of topography on this course. That being said, the limited amount that is present on the course is maximized.

It is not always easy to follow the course layout the first time around, so we played behind another group who were locals. But after the first time, it all makes sense and is easy to navigate.

Other Thoughts: The relative ease of the course is good for confidence building. I played this one with my lady, and she liked it a lot since she was able to make par on quite a few more holes than usual.

This course should be compared to other local courses, and I think it is not quite as challenging and diverse a course as the one at Shady Oaks in Orangevale, which I still consider one of the central valley's best courses. But, Shady Oaks is a busy course, and I think the Rocklin course seemed less crowded and so maybe more pleasant for an afternoon out if you like a more leisurely pace. I think some people will like this course better than Shady Oaks...my lady did!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Clean course

7/26/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: DuBose
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Always clean with no trash. Usually the pads are even swept clean. Nice lay-out throughout huge oak trees with not too much underbrush. A good mix of short and long shots with fairly open fairways.
Cons: I know the course, but if you aren't a local it might be a little tough finding some of the holes. There are maps on the back of the signs showing the pins but they could be much better. Also, it could be difficult to find the next pad.
Other Thoughts: It's also nice to have the very large lawn area to warm up your arm on the way to hole #1. Not too many courses have that. It also hass one of the largest parking lots that I've ever seen. I've been to a few courses that parking can be a problem.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rocklin DGC

5+    7/12/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: nick95901
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course. Nice and wide open. There are a few different pin placements for all the holes. They like to change them regularly. Keeps it fun.
Cons: Really nothing bad to say about the course. The only problem with it being wide open is that on windy days, it makes it more dificult. Just have to know what your discs are going to do in the wind.
Other Thoughts: Overall very nice course. I found the pin positions and distances on the back of most of the signs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 rocklin

6/14/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ease of use, no conflict with other areas in the park. Garbage cans on all tees. Benches on all tees. Concrete Teepads.
Cons: Tee signs don't have complete information, ie. hole length, direction of pin placement, multiple pin placement; the previous review said there was information on the back of the tee signs, but I don't recall ever seeing anything like that on the back. The front of the tee signs just say what hole it is, and the name of the park.
(personal con: Course Design.)
Other Thoughts: This course is placed in an area with slightly rolling fairways, with mature oak trees. There is no other growth to speak of, and at the time when I played the course, it was in a drought situation so no grass, or even weeds to speak of, pretty dusty and dirty as a result. There is a small creek winding through the course and some holes are designed with the creek in play. For the most part the course is wide open, and fairly flat. The oak trees are constantly a part of your decision making on how to make a drive off the tee pads.
There are multiple pin placements for a majority of the holes, so variety from changing baskets is there. The set up I played had medium to short pin placements, and a handful of longer shots. Hard pack around the baskets so your approach will slide/skip away if your not careful, once again mostly due to the drought situation. It was great to see garbage cans on every hole, and benches. This course looks like a popular one, and I imagine the benches come in handy when waiting to tee off ( I played at 7 am saturday, and even then there were other people on the course). A pull cart would be ideal here. There is a jogging/walking path around half of the course, but doesn't really come into play, except for maybe one hole (hole 14). Overall I feel this cousre is an intermediate to advanced type course because of the wide open aspects on all shots and the course design which I want to touch on next.
First, I want to disclaim any and all parts of my following comments based on ignorance and from not being from that part of the country, and apologize in advance if anyone involved with the course design there takes offense to the following statements. This is also my personal opinion and has nothing to do with the current conditions and playability of the park, which is good.
Rocklin may have had some restrictions as to how much land was available when it was initially designed, there is a lot of unused land adjacent to the course but on the other side of the jogging path. There are some holes designed to avoid other park usage areas (horseshoe pits, skateboard park, roller hockey, jogging path), which makes sense. And there may be some restrictions not apparent to someone like myself as to why a particular hole design was placed as it was. That being said, some of the teepad - to - basket line of flight corridors I just couldn't figure out. You play a hole that is wide open, then you go to a hole that has no chance of advancing your disc up the fairway in a fair and safe manner. I look from that teepad and move to the righ or left several feet and there is a great window to shoot down, and still a good risk/reward scenario. Some teepads if they are moved back 50 to 100 feet make a good shot great, and much more challenging. It seems that the designers may have been rushed to get a course in and didn't have the time to create a much more interesting and challenging course. Its still a good course to play, BUT, it could be so much better…… not sure what could be done now, the teepads are where they are and the holes are where they are.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Craziness

4/12/2008   4/13/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging corse.
Cons: Flat area. Its hard to figure out where some of the pins are, they're just out of view. Make sure to give your disk some power.
Other Thoughts: Check the back of the signs for more info. It isn't the easiest to see.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.