Rocklin, CA 
Rocklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #4 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great, long course

5+    7/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: dantheman0721
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun, yet challenging course with lots of variety throughout. Bench and garbage cans at most holes. Seems to be a lot of good players here, rarely get stuck behind someone slow. Many different pin locations, usually changed at least every 2 weeks.
Cons: Would be nice to have a pin location marker, as some holes can be blind. Some stinky swamp areas, which like to eat up discs. Not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: This is an all around great course, and usually not as busy as Shady Oaks. The course can be super long too, depending on pin placement, but always fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  good corse bad locals

5+    5/19/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: scooterkdavis
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good corse. Great mix of long and technical holes. Benches and trash cans at all holes. Fair amount of shade
Cons: The locals own the corse. Rudest players ever met. Groups of 6-10 will jump the box and won't let pairs pass. Almost all the rude players help in corse maintanece so they belive it gives them free range to be dicks.
Other Thoughts: The corse is great but some players ruin the enjoyment of the game for everyone. A little common decency and respect for other players is not going to happen everyday.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 play it

2-4    4/16/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Tee pads and all baskets at holes.
Can have dogs on leash.
Benches and tee signs at tees.
Gorgeous oak trees and open area. No other games or general public in course area most times. Course is set away from main part of the park activities.
Variety of distances and throws
Clean park except at tees- pick up your butts smokers.
has some creek type water hazards at some holes. Good oppurtunitys for birdies and maybe an ACE. Generally plays like an intermediate course with a mellow feel.
Cons: Can be crowded on any day, at any time due to it being one of the best courses in the Sacramento Valley. Sacramento lacks good courses in big parks. Plan to follow and be followed here. No distance info. or direction signs for next tee and all the cig.butts at tees suck! Pack your mud boots in winter or wet season.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed the course very much and we will return. Who ever was the person/persons who obtained permission for a course in this awesome city park, thank you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shady Oaks Jr.

2-4    3/21/2010   1/29/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice concrete tee pads
- Baskets with multiple pin pisitions
- Water hazards come into play on multiple holes
- Good mix of distances
- Some ace-able holes
- A few lefts and rights
- Mostly wooded with some more open holes
- Skatepark in same park (not a daycare)
- Sports fields on walk towards course, if they arn't in use they make a good place to practice a few drives before you start.
- Benches and Trashcans all around
Cons: - Crowded (like most Sac area courses)
- Big groups that refuse to let smaller goups pass
- Needs better signage (look on the back of hole markers)
- Very little elevation change
- Could posibly have some par 4's or 5's in the space behind the course (In my opinion)
- Some holes play very close to others and have the danger of crossfire
- Hard to find your way around the first time
Other Thoughts: A nice city park with soccer fields, a skate park and a prety nice little 18 hole disc golf course. The signs were a little lacking the last time I was there, but if you looked on the back of the hole marker there was usualy a little hand drawn map. Like most Sacramento courses it tends to get backed up with big groups of slow players during peak times. I usualy try to go to courses like this and Shady Oaks durring weekday mornings to keep the amount of people on the course to a minimum. This shouldn't be taken to say that all Sac area golfers are jerks, just alot of them. I've also met alot of cool golfers from Sac and the surounding areas, usualy at tournys, but I've met some chill casual golfers as well.


The Rocklin DGC was actualy the first disc golf course I had heard of, unfortunatly it was from having golfers drop thier kids off at the skate park like it was a daycare. Their kids would be running back and forth across the skatepark (no, board or skates) and enevitibly would get run over by a skater. Then they would be sitting there in the middle of the skatepark crying with no parents to be seen. So my final thought is if you have kids with you, keep them with you, or at least don't drop them off at the skatepark like it's a playground. They will probably get hurt, and no one likes having to take care of some crying kid that shouldn't have been there in the first place.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Always Fun at Rocklin!

5+    1/8/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with hard semi grassy fairways in the summer; soft/muddy fairways in the winter
Most Holes have trees scattered throughout the fairway but mostly open with big arm shots
Restrooms near Hole 1
Benches & Trash Cans on All Holes
Fun mix of Holes with Multiple Pin Placements
Tee Pads are long and wide giving you a lot of room to use!
Park looks excellent in the summertime and very fun to play!
Cons: Can get flooded & very muddy during rainy season
Other Thoughts: It can get windy at times - like any valley course.
The course gets very packed on weekends and the Sacramento area is in desperate need for more championship caliber courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Updated Info

1    0/0/0000   6/2/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes, good tee pads and directional signs. I ended up catching up with some locals who let me play along so I had a bit of a guide trip. Even without the help it would have been pretty easy to find my way. There are some new tee pads and hole locations from what I was told. Overall good fun course, not real hard not real easy either. Seems most of the holes are pretty long a few shorter ones would be nice. Everything you expect in a city park and a very nice park at that. I saw a gas station around the corner with an Innova sign so I assume they sell discs there.
Cons: The creek smells nasty, try to stay out of there. I think it drys up in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Good course, will play again if I get close. They had a WED night doubles start just as we were finishing with over 60 people. Thats right over 60 people on a WED night.

If your in the area play this course. Its just a few minutes off Hwy 80

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/6/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Nice tee pads
Long holes with big oaks that add a sprinkling of technicality
Not too crowded
Free to play
dogs allowed
Cons: Needs more elevation change
Holes began to get a little monotonous towards the end.
Needs a few more shorter, technical holes
Other Thoughts: Probably not what you would call a destination course but a must play if in the area

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rocklin

1    5/2/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: Sluse
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A very enjoyable 18. Pretty open on a few holes, but nice tee placement. A good group of very challenging holes.
Cons: A few of the holes are very easy, due to a lack of trees, as well as some very interesting water hazards (GNARLY!!!). Also, the signs aren't very helpful.
Other Thoughts: Today was very crouded and windy, but I'm sure thats not always a problem.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/23/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: LocalsRoute
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course with variety of shots and conditions. open fields near bye to stretch it out first
Cons: Many trees have been removed or fallen recently making this course lose luster. Tee signs are useless
Other Thoughts: New tees and pin locations on the way rumor has it

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/23/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: unitypunk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: pretty well maintained, all ppins have 2 or 3 positions, clean(ish) bathrooms, elevation fun all over the place.
Cons: seems to have been over populated the past month, awsome signs with no map(length on the back of them with sharpie), if played toomuch it gets repetitive and boring.
Other Thoughts: needs maps of holes bad.

beware all water around here, it reeks horribly.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.