Rocklin, CA 
Rocklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #5 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Good all around course

5+    4/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: JohnAmber
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot good about this course. The big grassy field is nice to just bomb your way to the first tee. Though I usually skip the practice tee before the round, after you play the course a few times and realize you have wound your way around, it can make for a good #19 hole if not too busy. The course is a gradual progression from easier shots to more complex, though tee placement can effect this immediately, or later on. That is the one VERY nice thing about this course, the tees are changed frequently and all the information is located on the back of the sign, all except where the tee is located on a particular day. For the most part, you can either spot it, or it probably won't matter. I've never experienced any of the Sacramento "thug mentality" here, everyone has always been cordial and polite, though you do occasionally run into some inebriated players.
Cons: If there at the wrong time, the course can be busy. Also, be sure to bring water, there is no fountains around and the Sacramento weather in the summer can be very hot.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a excellent course, with challenges for newbs and pros alike. I've never done it myself, but I know they hold a disc golf tournament frequently at this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better Than Shady Oaks

2-4    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: RedSoxRob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most all of the pros listed below I found. Additionally, the layout of the course is better than Shady Oaks because it has moderate vegetation. Many of the holes have just enough trees to help with imagination of shots without snuffing your accuracy or game. In other words, the holes are difficult but the baskets seem more reachable than at Shady Oaks. Good variation of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Trash cans at every hole.
Cons: Signage is poor. Pin placement maps are located on the back of the hole signs (took me about 5 holes to figure that our). The pin placement signs however do not indicate where the specific pin is at on that day (at least I didn't see that). Most of the pin placement signs are faded.
Other Thoughts: Shady Oaks gets all the play in Sacramento, usually. But I've played Shady Oaks many times and my first round at Rocklin was better than all my rounds at SO. Well worth the drive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/21/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: fuzthepoet
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good course, the pins are moved frequently, so the course is always a little different.
Cons: Some holes have lots of over growth making it hard to find disks at times.
Other Thoughts: a brighter disk is recomended. bring water

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Privacy is nice

2-4    11/28/2008   3/6/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The best aspect of this course is it's privacy. I have yet to see any other people (other than disc players) use this park. No worrying if you're going to hit a child in the face, unless their also playing disc.
-Concrete Pads with ample space allotted
-Multiple pin placements
-Updated restrooms on site near hole one
-The course can play long or short
-Trees add variety and difficulty
-Wind can also add a degree of difficulty
-A practice pin is located next to tee pad number one
-Winding creek comes into play on a few holes
-Open practice field
Cons: -People there can be ruin at times (at least the times I've played)
-Better signage between holes would be nice the first time through
-A few holes towards the end could use more imagination like hole 16
Other Thoughts: I played this a few times and have enjoyed it very much. The course lends itself to shot experimentation so have at it. The course also has a nice progression at the beginning. You start in the open field, move to the practice pin for putting, then finally you start your round. This is the only course that I have played that has this feature.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/1/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: 916er
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked, concrete tee pads, practice basket, clean bathrooms, bbq's, picnic tables, skate park, soccer fields, football field, roller hockey, tennis courts, volleyball courts, walking trails, playground, horseshoes, this park has everything except boche.

They have each of the different pin placements located on the back of each sign at the tees.

Cons: It is a pretty open course with very few technical shots.

It's very crowded!
Other Thoughts: The people that play there are very friendly. It is a fun course and they change the pin placements regularly. Also a great place to try out some new shots without losing a disc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Might be my favorite

1    9/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: blackskies
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Great setting. Straight Forward. Nice mix of open green and trees, but not heavy trees where you ruin your game.
Cons: Thug mentality of players. Sacramento is way too thugged out for this sport.
Other Thoughts: There is an open lawn from the parking lot to the actual course and you can just bomb discs. Nice practice area.
As I've said n all Sacramento reviews that I've done. (I used to live there) There is a huge thug mentality with the players, Wife beaters, coolers of beer, bad tribal tattoos etc.
Otherwise I think the course is great.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/26/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: hagar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with apt challenges for experienced and newbs alike. Wooded, but open. Most holes would be considered on the short side for big arms, but most baskets are protected by trees. A couple of ace (for experenced) duece (for newbs) ops, but most holes will challenge even big/solid arms to make birds or pars (3). I love the big open grassy area for warming up, but it can be busy with other activities. The course has been busy, but not crowded on my visits (Sunday - noonish). There is one warm up basket near the first tee.
Cons: The course can be hard to follow at a few spots, but twice around and you'll know where to go next.
Other Thoughts: Similar to Shady Oaks, it's a great course for newbs and experienced alike. Plenty of challenge for either. Big arms won't have too many chances to air it out, but will be able to test their finesse to challenge some baskets off the tee. A creek/canal winds through the course and comes into play on 4 or 5 holes. It's definately avoidable most of the time. On hole 3 it creates a risk/reward option off the tee for big arms, but just clearing the creek doesn't necessarily gain you a stroke, but it will make for an easier par op. A newb with just a few shots in the bag can get around, but it's great place for a better player to hone a shot they're working on. While Shady Oaks is probably a little better in design, the crowds there, make Rocklin a more regular hangout for my group.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for confidence building

1    10/25/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: These are 18 very fun and interesting holes in a nice park with a great atmosphere and cool people. The trees are the best part of this course, and the layout of the holes uses them to very great advantage. There are both right and left-turning holes, tunnel shots, holes with multiple options for getting to the pin, some open holes for rollers, etc.. I used both forehand and backhand drives, and this course certainly caters to people with a variety of shots (so if you're dominant fore or back, you can practice the other here).

Also, there are bathrooms near the 1st tee, the park is clean with many rubbish bins, parking is convenient, and the regulatory mood is relaxed.

Cons: The course is one of the easier ones I've played...I played at par the first time through, which is not usually the case for me on most courses.

There is not a great deal of topography on this course. That being said, the limited amount that is present on the course is maximized.

It is not always easy to follow the course layout the first time around, so we played behind another group who were locals. But after the first time, it all makes sense and is easy to navigate.

Other Thoughts: The relative ease of the course is good for confidence building. I played this one with my lady, and she liked it a lot since she was able to make par on quite a few more holes than usual.

This course should be compared to other local courses, and I think it is not quite as challenging and diverse a course as the one at Shady Oaks in Orangevale, which I still consider one of the central valley's best courses. But, Shady Oaks is a busy course, and I think the Rocklin course seemed less crowded and so maybe more pleasant for an afternoon out if you like a more leisurely pace. I think some people will like this course better than Shady lady did!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Clean course

7/26/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: DuBose
Played: 76  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Always clean with no trash. Usually the pads are even swept clean. Nice lay-out throughout huge oak trees with not too much underbrush. A good mix of short and long shots with fairly open fairways.
Cons: I know the course, but if you aren't a local it might be a little tough finding some of the holes. There are maps on the back of the signs showing the pins but they could be much better. Also, it could be difficult to find the next pad.
Other Thoughts: It's also nice to have the very large lawn area to warm up your arm on the way to hole #1. Not too many courses have that. It also hass one of the largest parking lots that I've ever seen. I've been to a few courses that parking can be a problem.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rocklin DGC

5+    7/12/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: nick95901
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course. Nice and wide open. There are a few different pin placements for all the holes. They like to change them regularly. Keeps it fun.
Cons: Really nothing bad to say about the course. The only problem with it being wide open is that on windy days, it makes it more dificult. Just have to know what your discs are going to do in the wind.
Other Thoughts: Overall very nice course. I found the pin positions and distances on the back of most of the signs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.