Antioch, IL 
Tim Osmond Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: juanbond Hole #15 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Worth overlooking

1    9/19/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: Badger45
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.5 Years
Pros: - Most holes had decent teesigns for direction.
- Easy navigation for the first 12 holes.
- Holes 1-9 were fine. I'd have given that half of the course 2-2.5 rating.
- The park itself is a nice multiuse park with bathrooms and a permanent bags setup that we played.
Cons: - Sign distances were not very accurate for most holes.
- Natural teepads are no longer level and mostly not usable. We teed from the side.
- After hole 12, we might as well have quit. Even 10 was completely flooded and barely playable.
- 13 plays around some trees and then back, so you basically have to play it like a u-turn. This was the first indication that something odd was going on.
- 14 - 17 have very little if any fairway and the paths for 14-15 are not playable, other than going over and hoping you find your disc or throwing 30-50' putter shots as far as you can see.
- 17 and 18 had no teesign and we couldn't find the tee areas for them.

Other Thoughts: What started out as an ok experience just ended up leaving us frustrated that we even bothered to stop and play there, rather than driving a little further for something that was designed well. My advice would be to skip the course entirely. If you have to "bag" it to add it to your played list, take the chew toy disc and run through it.

Move along, nothing to see here

1    9/19/2015   9/19/2015
Review By: MalsTheBeast66137
Played: 87  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee signs had direction on where the next hole was.

Cons: When overgrown, the natural grass tees and elsewhere was thick and not easy to play in.

Most shots were tucked right at the edge of the forest and like others have said, very thick stuff.

After hole 12, the course is just unplayable.. It was so thick you would literally be just pitching down the fairway with a putter and not for a 3 either..

The actual fairways for these holes are almost not even fairways but more like a walking path.
Other Thoughts: Just trying to add an extra course to my belt.. Really wish we would have played two 9 hole courses or any other course in the area again instead of this one..

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better than most say it is

1    8/10/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 203  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a pretty nice multiuse park. The baskets are discatchers that catch pretty good, not great. The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow. You have to cross the road after 12 then back across for 18, not a big deal though. There's a little bit of elevation that's used nicely in a few spots. The signs have a basic hole diagram with par, distance and a next hole arrow. The course does a great job of staying away from other activities. The wind is a big factor on the open section of the course. They also do a good job tucking some of the pins into the trees on the otherwise boring, wide open holes. It wouldn't seem to be too busy most of the time. We were the only group there on a warm sunday afternoon. The course is permanent and also free to play. There's a restroom at the parking lot too. The course was pretty clean and taken care of. They have a nice large map of the course before hole 1 which is great if you're playing for the first time.
Cons: The tees are just natural, and most are pretty rutted and uneven. I'd imagine they'd get muddy in wetter months. Holes 14 through 17 are kind of ridiculous with there being no decent lines to the pin. The rough is also brutal on these holes. If you end up off the fairway you'll be searching for a while. Even the rough on first section is kind of insane. The prairie can gobble up discs too. A few of the tee signs are missing, though it's pretty easy to figure out where you're throwing to.
Other Thoughts: This course really gets a bad rap. It's not great by any means but I've played way, way worse. Still, I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play this but if you're in the area it's a decent round. If you have time though go play the grey fox in Silver Lake WI, it's way better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just not fun at all

1    6/15/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: Unzbuzzled
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice if you want to work on only throwing RHBH hyzers.
Cons: Either you are throwing at boring baskets put out in the middle of a prairie, or you are throwing at baskets shoved into thickets of trees against dense woods.

If you disc even goes remotely off the fairway, you will look for 15 minutes for your disc. It is so stupidly designed that I will never, ever be coming back. What a joke. It's like the course designer just completely phoned it in.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time. Fairfield and Grey Fox are each about 20 minutes from this course, and they are amazing courses by most standards, and they are downright impeccable compared to the Tim Osmond Sports Complex

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tim Osmond Sports Complex DGC

5+    10/7/2013   2/6/2014
Review By: Tom Schodtler
Played: 112  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The land that is available to the disc golf course is good. It has woods, rolling terrain, good elevation changes, and some water.
Cons: The course design is very poor. It's too bad because the land has so much potential for a good disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: A course redesign and some tee pads could take this course from zero to hero!!!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Design

5+    7/25/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: kevinmeves
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice front 9, good length, bathrooms nearby, no wait
Cons: Back nine is very poorly designed, expect to be torn to pieces by thorn bushes should your disc veer off of the fairway, couple of holes on back nine have multiple (10 yard wide) dog leg fairways.
Other Thoughts: Could be a nice course with some brush cleaning, doesn't get much traffic in current state

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 TOSCDGC Pretty Good

5+    6/13/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: tmcoyote
Played: 73  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: beautiful park, virtually private, nice new targets, some great golf shots, wind can be challenging yet fun
Cons: gets thick in the back during summer months, mosquitoes can get vicious
Other Thoughts: I like this course for a change of pace

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 .Very disappointing course

5+    12/31/2010   2/3/2011
Review By: Jim O'Neill
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very disappointing course,18 baskets, always better than only 9. Quiet, not a lot of players. Has playground for kids. 15 minutes from my home.
Cons: Grass tees, Makes for mud and slippery conditions when wet. Few players, gets lonely, but good for praticing. Keep out of the woods easy to loose disc's.
Other Thoughts: Close to home so it's good for me. If from out of town check out Silver Lake Wi course it's better and only 20 minutes north, and Fairfield course about the same rating for me 20minutes south, all three in one day? sounds great.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    11/28/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 444  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large multi-use park, with a park, a football field, and such. The disc golf is well separated from everything else, probably even with other events going on.
- Majority of the course is spread out well around a large field, often bordering a dense forest area and unmowed prairie area. These holes have some tucked baskets and some obvious hyzer and anhyzer shots, to get around the forest.
- A few holes have good elevation changes, especially by a sled hill area. A steep downhill shot with a water hazard requires good accuracy, and is set up by a decent uphill shot.
- A couple holes are set within the forest, and force some long RHBH anny lines with lots of trees and other roughage. All of the easy RHBH hyzers disappear in this part of the course; deinitely some tough lines and windows to hit.
- Good variety of hole lengths, with many over 300' and very few much shorter than that. The rolling terrain is noticeable in many spots to mix up the more open shots.
- Good baskets, tees ok, signs are good but possibly inaccurate, seems like there was some tweaked pin placements (just guessing). Navigation easy with the map in front.
Cons: - A lot of holes out in the open need a simple RHBH hyzer shot, of varying degrees. Not much thought needed in many spots, getting good distance becomes the only concern.
- Some holes in the forest seem to share a fairway, due to the available lines to the baskets.
Other Thoughts: - This is a pretty well-rounded course, with a lot of different shots throughout. Plenty of holes with tucked baskets, elevation changes, hyzer and anhyzer shots, wide open and in some gnarly forest, with a little water in a few spots. I think the make or break is hole length; some might find this too short to be worth it, or some too rough/tough in spots.
- Basket #14 is indeed missing, along with #16's sign. Hole lengths seem out of date, #18 is definitely not 230'.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Two_Bearded_Dudes
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Large, fairly easy to navigate... and not too far from Gurnee Mills, the Ren Faire, Great America and other places that might be a better use of your time.
Cons: Where to begin really? Recently they've undergone a great deal of construction. I believe they're putting a few more baseball diamonds. Much of the front 9 is sectioned off by a double-nylon fence which even goes right through the center of one of the pads. The place is a mess and smells like the landfill it was built on.

Oh hey... if you're rummaging around for a lost disc around #3 and happen to find a horse ranch. The top two tiers of the fence are ELECTRIFIED... DON'T f'in TOUCH IT
Other Thoughts: Can't say I'm a fan. I'd look for somewhere else as this is a bit of a yawner.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.