Pomfret Center, CT 
Pomfret Recreation DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #1 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rugged and TREE!!

2-4    5/25/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Mythy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shorter holes that help develop tree avoidance skills... maybe...

Very difficult to lose a disk as the undergrowth of the forest is ferny and light.

"Fairways", if we're going to call them that,. are actually easy to walk and relatively clear.

I'm not saying I'd like to build a summer cottage there but... Hole 8 is actually quite lovely.

Not crowded, good Northeast forest walking and a little up and down terrain

Some very nice holes, a very nice time.
Cons: Lets talk about tee boxes... Obviously once upon a time nicely framed by timber and filled with level quarry dust... now hazardous to ankles with protruding rocks and puddled...

I think my disc just hit another TREE!! while writing this review... perhaps a few too many trees to be enjoyable or provide a clear tunnel especially on early holes.

Bugs... well... mosquitoes... bring bug spray if they like you.

It needs a once over in terms of signage, grooming and a tree trimming.
Other Thoughts: Think the term that's ballybantered about in this area: "Swamp Yankee" while you're playing and you'll be ok...

Did my disc just hit ANOTHER TREE??!!??

You could conceivably birdie many of these holes if you miss the trees... if.

with the GIANT WIDE OPEN FIELDS at Pomfret Rec Park... it would be so very easy to add some huge 500'-700' field holes to the wooded 9... TREE!!... and make this one of the more intriguing and dichotomous 18 hole courses around

Seriously... the tee boxes... add some quarry dust and level them...

Fun and easy to play twice through... my wooded shots on other courses get better every time I play here... and Pomfret is a fun time too.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Handsome little 9 hole

2-4    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: S. Flavius Mercurius
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Makes a great warm up course to play before venturing to West Thompson Lake, only 15-20 minutes away. Won't really need the driver here. Short and mostly flat through some scenic woods. Secluded, not crowded. Layout is easy to follow even without signage. Love the DISCatcher baskets, always easier to see that top yellow rim in the woods.
Cons: Fun if not especially challenging. Tee pads gravel, no signs. Looks like there could be room to expand if there was interest.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners, as many have noted. A good time to warm up with some short, technical holes. The novice could get their first par here, intermediate players could drop below.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Pitch & Putt In The Woods!

1    7/29/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pomfret is a short little throw in a fairly densely wooded area. The holes range from 118' to 247'. All are technical in nature. Most holes allow more than one route to the basket. There is a kiosk at the beginning where you park by the ballfields with a course map and scorecards. You follow a short 25 yard walk to pad # 1. The teepads are natural material with landscaping timbers layed at a "V". I haven't seen this before but it works fine here. The hole # is spray painted on the timber. Each basket is visible from the pad. The baskets are DISCatchers with the yellow rings and easily spotted here. The course is flat, with lots of trees and some scattered rocks.
Cons: It is what it is. It's almost a full fledged REC course but because of a couple of the really short holes, I'd call it a Pitch & Putt. It would probably be kind of miserable in foul weather with these natural tees. The trees are the challenge. They are trying to impede you from seeing how many under par you can shoot.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice place to introduce someone to the game. It's probably about impossible to lose a disc here. The trees might frustrate someone somewhat but then again, they are the challenge here.

A short, flat 9 hole hole course with natural tees is not a 3 star course in my book. But it's more than adequate. I enjoyed myself here. Wished I'd had time to play a few more rounds a better my lousy score. I'd play it again. Enjoy it. Go for those ACES.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not a bad course

1    9/12/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great little course.(9 holes).if you want to play a quick few rounds.

perfect for younger kids if you have them. easy and won't tire them out
Cons: hole #1 seemed to be missing the disc catcher (unless i'm blind) other 8 holes were fine.

Other Thoughts: west thompson lake dgc is about 15-20 minutes away..so it's great to hit both of them if your in the area.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Race City

1    6/15/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a welcome board with map and scorecards (there is also a DGCR flier!). The layout is very nice and impossible to get lost. The fairways are clean and allow more than one path to the basket. Trees are spray painted red/orange to help with paths to the basket and navigation between tees. The gravel tees are pretty level and flat. The size is also fine for the hole lengths. While there is no real challange the tightness may frustrate you a little bit. The possibility of losing a disc is almost zero. There are a ton of ace races and this is the perfect place to take the beginner. There are brand new discatchers installed (they are not locked down, so hopefully they wont have a problem with theft). There is also a porta pottie across the field by the baseball field.
Cons: The directions take you up a dead end street with no parking. There seems to be a small lot near the soccer field but I am not sure how to access it. There are no signs whatsoever (they really aren't needed though). The path to hole one is quite overgrown and Hard to find the opening. The tee pads are right next the previous basket and could be dangerous (though I doubt it). There are some low swampy areas that have no boards or rocks to walk on. No alcohol is permitted.
Other Thoughts: Numbers are spray painted on the tee boxes. Once you park walk across the fields to the kiosk. First tee is behind and to the left of it. A hiking trail crosses the course on a few holes.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 What a great little course!

1    9/22/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: KazamaSmokers
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. You can NOT get confused on this course. Signage is rudementary, but not needed because the layout is so well-defined. Scorecard and map available at small kiosk near first hole.
Cons: You won't find a lot of real challenge here. Some of the Par-3s are probably Par-2s for some folks. Course is very level, but pretty, especially in the Fall.
Other Thoughts: As another reviewer noted, this is a PERFECT course for introducing someone to disc golf. 9 holes, some challenge, but nothing daunting. Great place to play if you're in the area and don't have a lot of time. "It's like Wisconsin, you zip in, you zip out."

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Woods for the beginner

1    6/27/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 440  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice kiosk with Map and map/scorecards for the taking. Well Marked and easy to follow very beginner friendly. Lite undergrowth, small chance of losing a disc.
Cons: No tee signs, Couple fairways a bit crowded, and no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This park was mostly ball fields and other open fields with this course tucked completely in the woods. This was much like cross farms I played earlier in the day but was alot shorter and easier. The tees were easy to find and made of gravel. The fairways were marked by painting all the trees in the fairway with orange spots, made it easy to see what direction to throw in but then you could also see the yellow innova baskets on almost every hole. The fact that there was no tee signs isn't a big deal as you can see the basket and you pick up a scorecard with the hole info on it. The course has a reasonable mix of holes but no real elevation changes or holes that stand out. A few holes I felt were a bit crowded. The course is easy to follow and takes you threw prime NE forest with little to no undergrowth other than mostly ferns. Course ends just below the parking lot were you parked with a little walk to get back.

This would be a great course for showing people the sport, as it's short and well marked but still challenging. And they are not likely to have trouble spotting were there disc landed. This course could get better but would need to look at longer tees or nine more holes to make a real difference.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.