Redan (Dekalb County), GA 
Rosewood-Dekalb Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #10 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 281ft.   4 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    4/4/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is often little traffic at this course, which makes it one of the best courses in the ATL area to unleash your dog! For those of you without dogs, don't worry; this course still has something to offer. It is by no means the best course in Atlanta, but it is a very fun/easy course. On almost every hole, there are multiple pin locations, and they do get moved around from time to time which is always refreshing.
Cons: Many of the baskets need some repair/replacing, most of the teesigns have been vandalized, and can somebody please move hole 16 basket location!! (So boring in its short position). And while on the topic of pin locations, there are several that, IMHO, should be removed altogether as they can make an already easy course way too simple.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely course with a few significant flaws

5+    5/24/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: Lewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Redan offers the player a lot of variety in his shot selection, and since each hole has multiple, distinct pin positions that are moved frequently by the locals, it's continually giving you fresh looks. Some of the shorter wooded holes present pitch-and-putt distances, while a couple of the more open holes have pin positions well over 400'. In the short positions, the course is accessible to the recreational game, while in the long positions, the course can make you work pretty hard for a par-3 round. Usually the baskets are set up with a rotating mixture of short and long pins.

It's not a densely wooded course, but there are plenty of trees and lots of shade, and the trees are often right in the middle of what would be the easy driving line. Many of the holes have multiple lines to the basket, so you don't have to play them the same way every time.

You'll be pleased to find benches and trash cans throughout the park. If I recall there was a place to sit down at every single tee box.

The secluded park setting is a pleasant place to play a round, and it is well maintained. Bridges cross the creeks at all the right places, there are songbirds in the trees, and the grass is well groomed. It's exactly the kind of environment I most like to play in, and it was certainly well designed.
Cons: I'm not the biggest fan of concrete tee pads, and Redan's pads are an example of why. While they are longer than you'll find at some courses, they're not quite long enough for me, and they're a couple of feet too narrow for my taste. This could be forgiven, but they also all have an unnerving ankle-snapper drop-off at the front edge. If they were a couple of feet wider and longer, I'd probably be comfortable with them. As they are, especially as slippery as they get when they're wet, they make me tense and have me wishing for natural or grit pads. I could also wish for multiple tee pads, since the multiple pin positions alone don't leave me any control over how much of a challenge I want to set for myself today.

I've heard many rumors about petty crime in the area. While I've never had any problems myself, and my car has never been bothered, I always head back to the parking lot wondering if today is my unlucky day. That's not the feeling you want to finish your round with.

The quality of the tee signs at Redan would be a pro on most courses I've played, but several of them have been vandalized, and none of them tells you which position the pin is actually in. If you don't take the time to walk up the fairway, most of the holes will have you throwing blind, since the baskets are usually either hidden by or camouflaged among the trees.
Other Thoughts: There is a LOT of schule just off the fairways at Redan, so it can be easy to lose discs there. When in doubt, don't throw your favorite disc, and play to the safe side of the fairway. There are multiple routes all over the course, so choose wisely.

You should probably ignore the posted par on the tee signs unless you're a beginner. The posted par may give you an impression of the relative difficulty of the holes, but with 21st century discs, this is a par-3 course all the way around.

Be careful not to confuse the #9 basket with the #18 basket. The holes play from opposite ends of an open space, directly towards each other, so it's possible to throw at the wrong one.

If you're confused about where the next hole is, look around for a sign. There should be enough "next tee" signs to guide you around. If you don't see a "next tee" sign, look for a bridge and a well worn footpath. The next tee is never vary far away.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad

5+    8/9/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A good short course that can be stretched out to be more challenging. The course demands many different types of shots and is a lot of fun to play. It is also well maintained and aesthetically pleasing.
Cons: If you care anything about your car I would not park anywhere near this course. I have been broken into along with dozens of others. The course is surrounded by crime ridden neighborhoods of the lowest order. It is hard to have fun or focus on your round when young gang members are breaking into your car.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty over rated. It doesn't provide anything that most courses don't as well. Hole 7 and 15 are memorable but this course is still a short old style course. It is well taken care of by the locals but the surrounding ghettos make it virtually unplayable for me except during large tournaments.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    9/14/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is fairly easy to play and navigate. There is a good mix of wooded and open holes, with a variety of shots. Multiple pin placements give the course even more variety, as well as new looks for some of the shots.
Cons: The neighborhood is a bit sketchy along with the reports of vandalism I have read about.

Restrooms and water are not readily available.
Other Thoughts: This can be a fun course to play for all skill levels. It is not intended to be a super hard, challenging course, but I would not consider it a deuce or die course. Most every hole can be birdied with minimal effort by a pro, but none seem to be gimmies (most of the holes were in their middle to long positions the only times I have played the course). SSA for the course set up I played seemed to be around a 46-47 for the traveling tournament players that might be interested.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course...rough area

6/6/2006   3/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was sweet. Lots of pin placement options. Well designed and maintained. Good use of stairs to accomodate rough terrains.
Cons: Cars being broken into would seem to be a big problem, as it is not the safest of areas, and the course is predominantly far away from the parking lot. Its kind of like a secluded parking lot as well.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. it was kind of tacked on to the end of one of our trips, but it fit the bill nicely.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Redan Park....

1/26/2008   1/31/2008
Review By: c_cobb.tn.
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very long concrete tee boxes, good combination of wooded and open holes, relatively easy to find the next tee box, the course is a good confidence booster for beginning players.
Cons: kind of a dirty park, lots of trash around the tee boxes. ex....beer cans, broken chairs, old broken brooms scattered around that were originally there to clean off the tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginning players, It would be a great course if someone just put a little effort into cleaning it up a bit.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center