Redan (Dekalb County), GA 
Rosewood-Dekalb Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #4 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 400ft.   4 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee: Long position



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Redan Park

5+    5/15/2016   5/19/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 69  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads

Has most tee signs with locations of the various basket placements

Multiple basket placements on every hole

Has many benches and trash cans throughout course

Good mix of open and wooded fairways with some doglegs

Course flows pretty good

Aside from the tennis court that is hardly used, park is exclusive for disc golf and you won't see other parkgoers

Free parking
Cons:
Baskets are old and can be hard to locate from tees and most are missing numbers

Overflowing trash cans

Needs more next tee signs - recommend a course map for the first-timer

Course is mostly flat

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with the locals

Not in the best of neighborhoods but I haven't experienced nor seen any criminal activity there
Other Thoughts:
I believe this is the oldest course in metro Atlanta and the baskets do show their age...but they still catch well. I don't think anything has changed with this course after I started playing here several years ago. Locals call this course "God's Country" so this course is popular and can be crowded at times. This course will test your skills where you can throw some bombs as well as work on your technical game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice but needs fixin' up

1    1/11/2016   1/27/2016
Review By: Tom Z
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Large sign at entrance to parking that lets you know you are in the correct place.
2. Nice park. A pleasant place to be.
3. Nice mix of open, semi-open, and forested holes.
4. Concrete T-Pads.
5. Trash cans distributed at various places around course.
6. We had a great time, even with the cons.
Cons: 1. Some trash cans were overflowing as if they had not been emptied in 6 months.
2. It appears that the course floods during heavy rain.
3. Many T-signs missing making it difficult to determine if you are actually in the correct T-Box. (See Con #4.)
4. Absolutely no signage guiding a person from the Pin to the next T-box.
5. T-signs offered up to 4 pin placements and distances, but there was no indication as to which of the pin placements was actually being used.
6. T-signs offered only one par. Some of the holes were marked as par 4 when there was no way the pin placement, the day we played, was a par 4 (way to short).
7. Way too many blind shots, especially since the T-box signs didn't indicate where the pin was located. This resulted in a lot of walking down fairways to locate the pin then walking back to the T-box.
8. We didn't see any bathroom facilities.
Other Thoughts: First time playing Redan after hearing from several people how nice a course it is. No one in our group had ever played the course before. It was a weekday so it was very uncrowded and there was almost no one to ask for guidance around the course.

I read several reviews prior to playing that mentioned the signage problem, so I printed a course map prior to playing. I thought the reviews about the signage were a little harsh at first. Although there was no guidance from pin to the next T-Box it was pretty easy to see the next T-box from the pin for the first 6 holes. The first 5 holes are fairly open so you could look around and see the next T-box. When we finished 6 we were in the forest and saw a T-box nearby. When we arrived, it was #13. Now it was time to dig out the map I had printed. Using it we were able to find #7, but not without difficulty. This was pretty much the case for the rest of the course. Get out the map to figure our which way to walk through the forest to find the next T-box.

This is an older course (25 years) and looks like it was awesome when it was at its peak. Now lack of upkeep has left it lacking a lot. However, people who play this course frequently probably don't even notice the lack of signage. In other words, it's a pretty darn nice course if you know your way around.

T-pads are a bit narrow but I don't count this as a con since they were probably put there a long time ago when that was the norm.

T-box #10 had no sign and it wasn't even obvious which direction to throw. We were able to figure it out by referring tho the map ... once again.

Going from pin 14 to 15 T-box we encountered a fallen tree that looked like it may have been there for quite a while. It was necessary to step over the tree. Then you have to cross a bridge that was falling apart and potentially someone could fall through and injure themselves.

I don't know who is responsible for or allowed to do course maintenance or signage repair and placement. However, if I were a local, I would at least get a can of spray paint to paint T-box numbers on the T-pads for those that are missing signs. Maybe get permission to drive something like a Gator around the course to empty trash cans. Also, get permission to put up some navigation arrows. Finally, devise some means to mark the T-signs with the current pin placement and par for that placement.

That said: would I play it again? Absolutely. A little maintenance and improvements and this course would rate a 4 or higher.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/4/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is often little traffic at this course, which makes it one of the best courses in the ATL area to unleash your dog! For those of you without dogs, don't worry; this course still has something to offer. It is by no means the best course in Atlanta, but it is a very fun/easy course. On almost every hole, there are multiple pin locations, and they do get moved around from time to time which is always refreshing.
Cons: Many of the baskets need some repair/replacing, most of the teesigns have been vandalized, and can somebody please move hole 16 basket location!! (So boring in its short position). And while on the topic of pin locations, there are several that, IMHO, should be removed altogether as they can make an already easy course way too simple.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely course with a few significant flaws

5+    5/24/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: Lewis
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Redan offers the player a lot of variety in his shot selection, and since each hole has multiple, distinct pin positions that are moved frequently by the locals, it's continually giving you fresh looks. Some of the shorter wooded holes present pitch-and-putt distances, while a couple of the more open holes have pin positions well over 400'. In the short positions, the course is accessible to the recreational game, while in the long positions, the course can make you work pretty hard for a par-3 round. Usually the baskets are set up with a rotating mixture of short and long pins.

It's not a densely wooded course, but there are plenty of trees and lots of shade, and the trees are often right in the middle of what would be the easy driving line. Many of the holes have multiple lines to the basket, so you don't have to play them the same way every time.

You'll be pleased to find benches and trash cans throughout the park. If I recall there was a place to sit down at every single tee box.

The secluded park setting is a pleasant place to play a round, and it is well maintained. Bridges cross the creeks at all the right places, there are songbirds in the trees, and the grass is well groomed. It's exactly the kind of environment I most like to play in, and it was certainly well designed.
Cons: I'm not the biggest fan of concrete tee pads, and Redan's pads are an example of why. While they are longer than you'll find at some courses, they're not quite long enough for me, and they're a couple of feet too narrow for my taste. This could be forgiven, but they also all have an unnerving ankle-snapper drop-off at the front edge. If they were a couple of feet wider and longer, I'd probably be comfortable with them. As they are, especially as slippery as they get when they're wet, they make me tense and have me wishing for natural or grit pads. I could also wish for multiple tee pads, since the multiple pin positions alone don't leave me any control over how much of a challenge I want to set for myself today.

I've heard many rumors about petty crime in the area. While I've never had any problems myself, and my car has never been bothered, I always head back to the parking lot wondering if today is my unlucky day. That's not the feeling you want to finish your round with.

The quality of the tee signs at Redan would be a pro on most courses I've played, but several of them have been vandalized, and none of them tells you which position the pin is actually in. If you don't take the time to walk up the fairway, most of the holes will have you throwing blind, since the baskets are usually either hidden by or camouflaged among the trees.
Other Thoughts: There is a LOT of schule just off the fairways at Redan, so it can be easy to lose discs there. When in doubt, don't throw your favorite disc, and play to the safe side of the fairway. There are multiple routes all over the course, so choose wisely.

You should probably ignore the posted par on the tee signs unless you're a beginner. The posted par may give you an impression of the relative difficulty of the holes, but with 21st century discs, this is a par-3 course all the way around.

Be careful not to confuse the #9 basket with the #18 basket. The holes play from opposite ends of an open space, directly towards each other, so it's possible to throw at the wrong one.

If you're confused about where the next hole is, look around for a sign. There should be enough "next tee" signs to guide you around. If you don't see a "next tee" sign, look for a bridge and a well worn footpath. The next tee is never vary far away.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad

5+    8/9/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 131  Reviewed: 23
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A good short course that can be stretched out to be more challenging. The course demands many different types of shots and is a lot of fun to play. It is also well maintained and aesthetically pleasing.
Cons: If you care anything about your car I would not park anywhere near this course. I have been broken into along with dozens of others. The course is surrounded by crime ridden neighborhoods of the lowest order. It is hard to have fun or focus on your round when young gang members are breaking into your car.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty over rated. It doesn't provide anything that most courses don't as well. Hole 7 and 15 are memorable but this course is still a short old style course. It is well taken care of by the locals but the surrounding ghettos make it virtually unplayable for me except during large tournaments.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    9/14/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 124  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is fairly easy to play and navigate. There is a good mix of wooded and open holes, with a variety of shots. Multiple pin placements give the course even more variety, as well as new looks for some of the shots.
Cons: The neighborhood is a bit sketchy along with the reports of vandalism I have read about.

Restrooms and water are not readily available.
Other Thoughts: This can be a fun course to play for all skill levels. It is not intended to be a super hard, challenging course, but I would not consider it a deuce or die course. Most every hole can be birdied with minimal effort by a pro, but none seem to be gimmies (most of the holes were in their middle to long positions the only times I have played the course). SSA for the course set up I played seemed to be around a 46-47 for the traveling tournament players that might be interested.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course...rough area

6/6/2006   3/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was sweet. Lots of pin placement options. Well designed and maintained. Good use of stairs to accomodate rough terrains.
Cons: Cars being broken into would seem to be a big problem, as it is not the safest of areas, and the course is predominantly far away from the parking lot. Its kind of like a secluded parking lot as well.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. it was kind of tacked on to the end of one of our trips, but it fit the bill nicely.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Redan Park....

1/26/2008   1/31/2008
Review By: c_cobb.tn.
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very long concrete tee boxes, good combination of wooded and open holes, relatively easy to find the next tee box, the course is a good confidence booster for beginning players.
Cons: kind of a dirty park, lots of trash around the tee boxes. ex....beer cans, broken chairs, old broken brooms scattered around that were originally there to clean off the tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginning players, It would be a great course if someone just put a little effort into cleaning it up a bit.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.