Redan (Dekalb County), GA 
Rosewood-Dekalb Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #10 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 281ft.   4 / 281ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course in Atlanta area

5+    7/28/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is probably my favorite course in the Atlanta area.
* Great mix of wooded/open shots, especially on the front 9.
* Easy navigation (except on hole 6 to 7).
* Low traffic, so it's easy to get a round in, even on a beautiful day.
* Well manicured grass.
* Great place to bring people interested in the game but haven't played. Very beginner friendly, but not too easy either.
* Concrete tee pads.
Cons: * Signs have been defaced with graffiti. Not really the courses fault, but still sucks.
* A couple of the baskets on the back 9 are close to each other, so you aren't sure where to throw if you aren't familiar with the layout.
* A touch ghetto, but not too bad.
* Some trash spread out near the tee boxes.
* Far from Atlanta, which again, isn't the course's fault and I'm not deducting any stars for it, but still an issue if you are in the Atlanta area.
* Hole 18 is a little too easy.
* A few holes could use some new baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, and probably my go-to when I want to get a round in. Nice mix of challenging/easy shots.

Only improvements I could see are adding amateur/pro tee-boxes, more benches, and more trash/recycling cans on the holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a classic must play course

1    3/31/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice scenic course with good concrete tee pads and detailed tee signs on each hole (except 8 & 9 as noted in other reviews).

- good mix of open/wooded with some really nice well defined fairways.

- lots of basket placements provide excellent change-up & replay value.

- wooded holes can be tight and technical but never "poke 'n pray".. There is a strategic line or multiple lines to the basket on each of the technical holes.

- Hole 9 cirlces back near the beginning of the course (near basket 2 / teepad 3)

- navigation is fairly easy as the walking paths between holes are nicely worn in and easily identifiable. I didn't need a map..
Cons: - lots of vandalism on tee signs and missing signs 8 & 9.

- Some baskets are a little close to others. I threw to the wrong basket on holes 10 & 18 but it's partially my fault because I should have noticed the number plate not looking at me. Upon walking up the fairway a bit I noticed the proper baskets and re-teed accordingly.
Other Thoughts: - I didn't get the impression that the area was as bad as some people have mentioned but I still exercised caution and made my wife 'n 5 yr old daughter walk the course with me. Afterwards my daughter played on the playground with a group of middle-class kids that were enjoying a birthday party at the park. I didnt' see any sketchy characters on my visit and plenty of other disc golfers were out enjoying the course.

I would definitely like to play here again someday.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Redanculousness

1    1/30/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with Hole #, Distance, Par, and Map of the holes. The holes are also named based on their design.

2) Multiple basket locations on all holes including up to 4 baskets. The basket locations can really alter your shot on the hole too which means you can play multiple versions of this course on any given day. Each hole has good distance variation depending on which basket location is used.

3) Mach baskets with the number plates facing the tees which is always appreciated especially when multiple baskets are visible from some of the tees.

4) Benches are available in many places on the course which is appreciated. I imagine it is even more helpful during the hot and humid Georgia summer.

5) The tees are nice concrete tees and are plenty long for this course so you never have to worry about overrunning the end of the teepad.

6) Turf seems to be in decent shape, but there is a lot of red Georgia clay around so I can imagine your shoes and socks might be dirty or stained at the end of your round on occasion.

7) There are decent directionals on this course however with missing tee signs on many holes the directionals do not work quite as effectively as they could.

8) Park rules sign including notice that it is a drug free zone.

9) Nice variety of foliage density which really is a great design feature on this course. Some fairly open holes, some tight wooded holes, and some moderately wooded holes with trees to avoid or baskets tucked nicely to create some challenge.

10) Some garbage cans around the course to throw your trash away and the course seemed fairly clean.
Cons: 1) Many signs seem to be missing or have some vandalism including black spray paint.

2) The course is obviously old or it gets a lot of play, while the turf is decent, the wooded holes could be muddy after a rain. They try to put some mulch down in spots but the course could use a little more of the mulch.

3) Blind baskets were tough on a first time travelling disc golfer like myself. DGA really should come up with a way to make their baskets more visible. Since so many of the holes are in the woods there were multiple times I had to search for which basket I was supposed to throw to.

4) Not enough of a beginner friendly course in my mind because it all depends on which basket locations are used.

5) The people walking in the park looked a little sketchy to me, but I played quickly and alone so I got back to my car in under 90 minutes.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was so happy my wife said I had time to play a second course after I had played JP Moseley as she was still enjoying her slumber. I was going to go to a different course but chose this one because it was the next best and fairly close to JP Moseley. This is just my type of course with the tight woods, but also because the design with the multiple baskets is cool. It's fun to see how each hole could play including the current basket location.

I had a lot of fun and I played quickly and felt like I shot pretty well. I put this right up there with all the other 4 disc courses I have played.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great FUN

2-4    7/15/2011   2/4/2012
Review By: Oneshotonekil8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great open to woods course technical holes so you wont get bored its got wear on it but its a beautiful course TAKE someone you want to get to play more often here the scenery is neat and the holes are not too tough
Cons: nothing really except the wodden bridges near 15 need work but reall they are not to bad

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dimond in the Rough

1    7/17/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was one Fun and Challenging Play! Yah walk out of your car, and Bam! There is launch one just waiting for you! The variences between the open feild to heavy wooded play makes for a very eclectic disk golfing experience. The lanes are a mix of different angles and approtches. Anywhere from solo play to a group of friends would be super fun on this course.
There are plenty of places to take a seat when yah need to. And the expansive wooded play offers a zen type quality to any afternoon.
Cons: I don't really have many cons about this course. I agree with TheJackalope about it being in A Ghetto-ished "hood". Hints the tittle to this particular review. Its hasn't seemed to effect much of anything though. The park is still in very managable condition.
Quite a few of the Hole signs are beyong recognition. So unless youe a seasoned "Redan Vet" figuring out the Goals can be a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: I will be going back to Redan VERY SOON! From all of my Customers (I sell Discs in my shop), Redan is simply "the place to play". Consumer reviews are the most brutal, and I must say that after finally playing this course I would have to agree.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Flat but fun

1    4/23/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat park with a couple minor elevation changes that are used well. A few holes play pretty open, but most of the course plays through tight woods with plenty of rough to punish errant shots. You'll need to shape accurate lines here, all the pin placements we played had fair lines but enough trees that it was easy to end up off the fairway.

The holes have good length variety from ace run shorties to several longer ones. There aren't really any bombers here, but you get to stretch your arm out a little. The pin setup we played had a nice mix of left and right turning holes that felt pretty balanced, if it's always like that then they do a good job mixing it up. I liked the variety of the different pin placements, they mixed things up quite a bit and really changed how most of the holes played. It sounds like they're rotated often, which makes it a great course to play on a regular basis.
Cons: A few tee signs were missing or vandalized. The remaining ones had the various pin placements, but had no method of indicating the current locations. Many of the holes are blind, and with moving pins it would seem even locals would have to walk up the fairway to know where to throw.

The course felt a little run down, with lots of trash and vandalism, and areas where brush was encroaching on the fairways. The baskets are older, and some don't catch all that well anymore, not a big deal to me but it is to some.
Other Thoughts: The variety here is great with all the pin placements, and many offer fun and challenging lines. This isn't a great beginner course with tough technical holes and thick punishing rough. More experienced players will find some nice tests of line shaping skills here, and will need to be accurate to score well.

I guess the neighborhood isn't the best, but we played right up until sunset and had no issues at all fwiw.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course Dream!

1    1/26/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Redan is a beautiful course which has huge variation in both wooded/open holes, shot selection off the tee, and in the ability to move pins to one of the sixty-five available placements. Several of the holes on this course offer multiple, exclusive fairways for players to select from - a feature that is nearly always a great indicator of a fun course. Solid concrete tees and well cleared fairways give the impression that the park is well cared for (although vandalism appears to be a bit of a problem.


Challenge: Redan is a course so diverse that, depending on pin placements of course, players who are both very new to veterans are going to find elements of appropriate challenge. While many of the holes are going to be challenging for beginners, there are a number of holes which they will be able to reach and the lack of thorns and thick brush on most holes prevents frustration on the harder holes. In some of the longer pin placements, even top professionals are going to have to step it up and thread tight fairways and throw long controlled drives to get the tougher birdies. On many of the more difficult holes, even very experienced players will find themselves in trouble on poorly thrown drives - often leaving low probability upshots or trickshots.

Replay-factor: As I mention in the title of this review, this is probably one of the best 'home-courses' in the nation. Players learning and practicing the game here are going to be exposed to a HUGE range of shots off the tee from extremely tight, twisting wooded fairways to wide open bombs. In addition, the multitude of pin placements are going to keep the course fresh after many (hundreds?) of rounds.
Cons: Depending on pin placements, many highly skilled players are going to find a few holes which are just too straightforward for their skill level. Navigation can also be a bit of a challenge, especially in the midsection of the course where several tees can be within pretty close proximity of eachother. Add this to some vandalized tee signs and it can make for a little backtracking on holes if you aren't careful.
Other Thoughts: We played this course on a weekday evening after hitting up several others during the day on a disc golf roadtrip. Even though it was getting pretty dark out, we never felt unsafe in this neighborhood, but if others have noted that theft from cars is a frequent problem, I'd probably believe them. Just don't leave any valuables in the open (duh!) and you should significantly reduce the chances of a break-in. Among the Atlanta area courses that we played on our trip, I enjoyed Redan the most, which is saying quite a bit considering the extremely high quality of many area courses (Roswell, Indian Creek, Wills). This is a course that all players are likely to enjoy including seasoned veteran tournament players, course-baggers, and even the newer player just starting out.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Best and Closest to Atlanta

5+    8/1/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: bling
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course layout and mix of holes.

Multiple pin placements (2-3 out of 18 will get changed at a time once every other week or so.)

Have played at several times/days and there does not seem to be too much traffic on the course.

Close to Atlanta (although traffic can be bad but about the same as Roswell.)
Cons: TRAFFIC CAN BE BAD

Baskets are not in great condition but they are playable.

Poor signage. Many signs are damaged, missing, or barely legible. Getting from 7-8 might take awhile the first time without a map.

No close access to drinking water.



Other Thoughts: All things considered, I think this is the best of the Atlanta area courses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course! Isolated in its own area, except the views of the tennis courts and playing fields on a few holes, you'll find yourself in a dedicated disc golf area. It's a really well designed and fun course to play. As you get to the parking lot you notice a practice basket for a quick warm up. There is a picnic table under a large shade tree good for waiting for friends or a quick rest after a round. Hole one is close to the parking lot and leads you to the heart of the course where you'll discover navigation throughout the round will be quite easy. A small arrow on the bottom of the baskets pointing the way helps too. The multiple pin positions, up to three per hole, give this course multiple personalities. I think this course has some of the best possibilities as far as changing things when it comes to moving pins. I have seen lots of times where other courses have multiple pin locations but they just add distance or just make the hole more difficult by hiding the pin behind a bush. Not here, you really have to see it to appreciate the possibilities. (See the map, www.dgcoursereview.com/course.../5d55fc18.jpg) Concrete tee pads are at each hole along with tee signs mapping out the fairway. The baskets are in great shape for their age and catch the discs nicely. Benches and trash cans are abundant and there are even a few picnic tables at a couple of holes. You'll appreciate the bridges that are scattered around and lead you from hole to the next tee where needed. The course is clean and well maintained including the mowed grass on the fairways.

Along with all the stated amenities the course itself stands on it's own. A great variety of shots are required, you'll use almost all of them. Long, short, slight to somewhat pronounced left and right, they're all here. Even a little luck will be welcomed a time or two. As a side note I enjoyed the nicknames for the holes, "fairway to heaven" for example on a beautiful fairway said it all. The course is predominately wooded with a few open holes peppered in for a change. Some of the wooded holes are tighter than others but shule, at least on the fairways, is non existent. You'll find it off the fairways but you have to get a pretty bad ricochet from a tree or really shank it to find yourself looking for a disc. The creek also comes into play here and there. It mainly runs beside the fairways on a shot or two with it running behind the basket a time or two as well.
Cons: The first thing I noticed was how difficult it was to spot the baskets in the wooded areas. Although the signs showed multiple pin placements it did not indicate which position they were in. Even if they did, it would still be hard to spot them but it would have helped. A walk up the fairway was required on at least half the holes. Even a few people who are well acquainted with the course had to take a walk to see what position they were in.

A nice pavilion, water fountains, and bathrooms would have been nice but the lack of them is certainly not a deal breaker.

The signs are older and are suffering from age and are a little faded at times. Thanks to the thugs that live in the community who mark there territory like animals, there is unfortunately some graffiti on the signs as well. Oh, and while we are on the subject of the vagrants, one must assume they are who is responsible for the break-ins and hold ups that you may have read about.

I will have to say, I felt quite safe when I played though. I was with a large group and we played on a Saturday while other players were present. On the flip side I don't see myself playing solo during the week. The course is just too isolated and to take a chance. But overall I feel like the risk might be a little over rated. Go with a group and you'll be fine. Bad experiences always get more press than good experiences.
Other Thoughts: I think this is one of Atlanta's finest layouts. (Among many other great ones as well) I also believe everyone of every skill level can have a great time out here. I wrestled with whether to rate this 3.5 or 4. I guess in my mind it is somewhere in between but for me it leans much closer to a four, especially when the fun factor is considered. Come out and see for yourself. I truly don't think you'll be disappointed. Give it try but most importantly, just enjoy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Redan Will Always Be Home

5+    4/20/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: tmgoff
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Redan was the first course I ever shot, that was over 15 years ago. Since then I have played 18 there no less than 200 times and while I personally have never be a victim of the reported crimes there, I have heard from other disc golfers there that these events have happened. This is a crying shame as Redan just might be the best course in the metro Atlanta area. From the 1st tee, which presents an elevated tee shot that must split the Y of a mature tree about 60 feet down the fairway, the course will constantly ask the golfer to draw and execute their lines with precision. 2,3 & 4 are open and reachable and allow you to garner a decent score before the course really begins to ask more of you. 6 and 7 are tight yet reachable wooded shots with tricky pin placements. All holes are distinct from on another and are marked with good signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a road trip course and ALL disc golfers in the Atlanta area are doing themselves a diservice if they don't shoot this course as often as they can. In light of both the area's established reputation for petty crime and recent posts just play smart, lock your car and go with at least 1 other person. I've traveled the country shooting various courses and while I've played one or two other courses that might have been better, Redan will always be home.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.