Redan (Dekalb County), GA
Rosewood-Dekalb at Redan Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #15 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 344ft.   5 / 344ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee: Short position



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home Sweet Home.

5+    7/15/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Layout, Picturesque Views, Wonderful Mix of Technical and Power Shots, Most of the course is in the woods, and that in no way sucks. The lanes are quick, the hazards are well thought out, The pin placement changes all summer, and the grass is almost always cut, and if not, it is only 4-5 inches. This course is well maintained, and well loved by it's regulars. Rosewood (colloquially called 'Redan' by those of us who go there) is an active PDGA sanctioned course with tournaments and merchants coming through a couple times a year.You will need all of your shots to play at Redan, and that is what makes it so great. Standard, Open Hand, and Tomahawk throws are all essential for this random Gem,
Cons: It's a crappy neighborhood. At least there has been no glass in the parkinglot the last 5 times I have gone. The rec center next door has made it to where cops are keeping their eye on the lot. It used to be REALLY sketchy, but it's pretty good now. NO WATER ANYWHERE, unless you want to drink from a stream, so bring water. ESSENTIAL.
Other Thoughts: I dont care about the cons. I put them there for truth's sake. I love Redan. It is sweet, and crisp, and breathtaking. The first shot is from the parking lot, through a lane of trees, down a hill, over a creek, and onto an open field. Daunting for a first timer, amazing for someone who knows how to chuck a disk. The rest of the holes are gentler, for the most part. This course rules. The only reason I am not giving it a '5' is because of the No Water thing. Other than that: If you are an avid golfer, or someone looking to learn, go to Redan. It's amazing.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Redan review

5+    6/19/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Chain Bangin' Joshua
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great, challenging course. Changing pin positions keep the course fresh. Great launch pads with brooms and trash cans for keeping them clean. Great mixture of sun and shade. Halfway point has great seating and shade for a break. Fair par.
Cons: This course is not in a great part of town, so lock your car and keep your insurance on it paid up.
Other Thoughts: This review contains a lot of bias. I played my first round ever at Redan, and saw no other parks for those first few years of playing. I consider it my favorite course and my home course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Local Course

5+    11/25/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: Kevro79
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my first course to ever play on, and it remains my favorite. Hole locations are changed fairly regular and the holes are set up great. Challenging course and a lot of fun. Other course around it such a Lenora and Alexander Park are a little more open and less technical. I prefer the woods shots and technical game more.
Cons: As said before, the area isn't the best. However, I have never had a problem on the course. Everyone is nice and I haven't had any problems with break ins.
Other Thoughts: Great course, got me to love the game. I play there anytime i have a chance

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding Course

2-4    1/12/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: Protool1983
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really well maintained course. Every time I have played this course I see the guy on the golf cart driving around cleaning up. The pin positions are always different. I once played two days in a row and it felt like a different course. Good mix of holes from strong arm open holes to wooded holes that take more accuracy.
Cons: Like said in other reviews, the neighborhood is kind of bad but I haven't really experienced it first hand.
Other Thoughts: My favorites are holes 14 and 15. If 15's pin is set at the close pin it's an easy eagle. It's a par 5 so it's really hard not to par it even at the long pin.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent choice of play

5+    8/8/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: jacobjw2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wonderful mix of open and wooded holes
-Well laid out: course is compact enough that returning to your car is not a huge hike
-Variety of shots required for course
-Excellent mix of holes:
-Distance
-Finesse
-Dogleg
-Turn and Fade
-Pin placement changes, making it a new course every time
-Well kept and clean
-Beautiful scenery
-Many friendly players
-Technically demanding
-Great hole names
Cons: -Recently the pins have been moved to spots not located on maps. Not really bad, just unexpected
-Graffiti on hole maps occasionally. Cleaned up as of late
-Almost no elevation change on holes
Other Thoughts: Honestly, this is an amazing course. Beautiful lay out, well groomed holes, and a ton of fun. One of the two courses that I recommend above all others. Technically challenging, with both long holes needing bombs and short holes needing an accurate tosses. Not too many places to REALLY lose a disc, and you can see almost every pin from near the tee. Great maps at holes and good hole names.

Entrance is not the main parking lot for the park, but one which indicates the disc golf course. Right by the parking lot is a putting green too.

Not to be missed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ah, sweet Redan.

5+    6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Bornabuckeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pin options allow this course to be the friendly course you want to keep coming to and at the same time allows a monster to come out and reek havoc during tournament time. (well not monster, but definately harder)

Gives you oppurtunity to throw multiple shots.

Hazards are around, mainly trees so course maintenance is a must.

Great people and group of golfers who really care about this course.

A great layout for everyone, pro, and intermediate. You can come here and have a fun round of golf.

Cons: Not in the best of areas. Have had problems with vandalism and some car break ins.

Can get a bit on the trashy side, but the locals do an outstanding job on the up keep and course maitenence.

Could use some added distance.
Other Thoughts: Gives me remeberance of a links golf course (ball golf), looks easy but at the end of the day, you might be fairly surprised at your score. She might beat up on ya if you lack control of your disc, but after a few rounds you will appreciate this gem. If you are a control player, get ready because there are birds to be found at Redan.

The ultimate classic. Has an old school charm to it.

A shotmakers course where everyone can be competitve and have a great time.

Gives you a chance to make that great shot that will bring you coming back.

A must play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Overall Park in Atlanta

3/29/2008   3/29/2008
Review By: darktoaster
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having multiple pin positions really helps to keep this course interesting. Additionally it has a good mix of open and wooded holes and nice sized concrete teepads for all of the holes. It is seperated from the rest of the park so you never really get people wandering around in the middle of the course.
Cons: This often isn't the cleanest park. I also always seem to get eaten alive by bugs during the summer months. Finally sometimes all of the holes will seemingly be set to easy/short positions which will really kill the fun.
Other Thoughts: I always see things about break ins in other reviews but have never personally witnessed any in my 7 years of playing this course fairly regularly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.