Redan (Dekalb County), GA 
Rosewood-Dekalb Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 301ft.   4 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Could be much better

1    7/7/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of hole Variety
mostly upkept course
Lots of long holes with plenty of range
no unduly hard holes
Cons: Horrible Signage with 4 possible hole locations and no indication of where the correct hole is.
Baskets need to be painted bright so they stand out in the Georgia woodland.
At least 5 different times I had to walk 3/4 way down the hole to get eyes on the basket.
Other Thoughts: The course will be much better on 2nd and 3rd times through but navigation was not easy. I think some neon Spray paint and some new updated Signage with par/distance info would make it at least a disc higher rated

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course, not well county-maintained

1    3/28/2015   3/29/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - course laid out very well, with a mixture of open and technical holes.
- each hole is challenging, and there are no unfair holes.
- no long walks between holes.
- map shows four possible basket locations for each hole, giving a good variety in distances and shot-shaping, keeping the course fresh.
- course not heavily trafficked, even on a beautiful Spring day.
- grass was mowed, trash was cleaned up.
- plenty of benches, even some tables at certain points.
- course is relatively flat with good footing on the paths and bridges over the creeks.
- tee boxes are concrete and in very good repair.
- this is an excellent course for first-timers to learn disc golf.
Cons: - signage. Missing signs on several tee boxes, others vandalized or spray-painted. Virtually no sings pointing to the next tee box. A map is an absolute necessity when navigating this course.
- baskets often are not visible from the tee, and there is no indicator of which of the four positions the basket is actually at.
- although in good shape, the tee boxes are narrow, and are raised above the surrounding ground. Folks using an "x-step" to throw may have difficulty.
- the mandatory on Hole #2 needs to be marked better.
- course and park are not in the best of neighborhoods.
Other Thoughts: The layout is very nice. The first tee is intimidating with a tunnel shot through foliage and a creek below, but once on the other side, it's all open through Hole #5, warming the player up nicely. Then it's into the woods for the technical lanes. All the lanes are fair with room to throw and shape shots.
The lack of signage is a major problem. Print out a map and bring it,. While the holes are in reasonable proximity, there are a few places where one can end up going to the wrong hole without knowing where the next hole is via a map.
When I went with my group on a weekend, we did not experience any security or safety concerns, and the park has youth leagues that are playing various sports. However, a friend went on a weekday, and was concerned about certain characters loitering in the parking lot and seemingly watching him. One should be aware of one's surroundings while in the neighborhood.
It might be a good idea to contact Dekalb County's Recreation Department and ask that some money be spent repairing signs and installing signs to mark the path to the next tee. Added to my own letter to them, it might cause them to take action to improve the course, which would be a really great thing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course

5+    8/28/2013   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.6 Years
Pros: Great mix of trees and open shots. Challenging.
Cons: Not very well maintained... Dekalb County just doesn't seem to care about it. The signage is old and outdated. The course is not well marked.
Other Thoughts: This is the very first course I played in Georgia, so it will always be special to me. Great group of players frequent the course. However, keep your valuable out of sight in your car... this is Dekalb, after all! ;-)

 Great course in Atlanta area

5+    7/28/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is probably my favorite course in the Atlanta area.
* Great mix of wooded/open shots, especially on the front 9.
* Easy navigation (except on hole 6 to 7).
* Low traffic, so it's easy to get a round in, even on a beautiful day.
* Well manicured grass.
* Great place to bring people interested in the game but haven't played. Very beginner friendly, but not too easy either.
* Concrete tee pads.
Cons: * Signs have been defaced with graffiti. Not really the courses fault, but still sucks.
* A couple of the baskets on the back 9 are close to each other, so you aren't sure where to throw if you aren't familiar with the layout.
* A touch ghetto, but not too bad.
* Some trash spread out near the tee boxes.
* Far from Atlanta, which again, isn't the course's fault and I'm not deducting any stars for it, but still an issue if you are in the Atlanta area.
* Hole 18 is a little too easy.
* A few holes could use some new baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, and probably my go-to when I want to get a round in. Nice mix of challenging/easy shots.

Only improvements I could see are adding amateur/pro tee-boxes, more benches, and more trash/recycling cans on the holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best review but...

1    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: alex513ninja
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: Cool course with multiple pin locations that allow for a lot of playability. Good mix of woods and open shots with the in-between type holes as well.
Cons: Current pin locations create a lot of repetitive shots that could be changed by switching a few holes. Hole 8 and 10 both missing baskets which really disappointed me considering the rating this course has. If those baskets were in place i would rate it higher.
Other Thoughts: I know this isn't the best review (i'm typing on an ipad) but i wanted to at least mention the missing baskets.


5+    4/4/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is often little traffic at this course, which makes it one of the best courses in the ATL area to unleash your dog! For those of you without dogs, don't worry; this course still has something to offer. It is by no means the best course in Atlanta, but it is a very fun/easy course. On almost every hole, there are multiple pin locations, and they do get moved around from time to time which is always refreshing.
Cons: Many of the baskets need some repair/replacing, most of the teesigns have been vandalized, and can somebody please move hole 16 basket location!! (So boring in its short position). And while on the topic of pin locations, there are several that, IMHO, should be removed altogether as they can make an already easy course way too simple.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Regal Redan.

2-4    8/8/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely fun little course.

Solid teepads.

A very nice blend of shots, a true par 3 course that is neither extremely easy or overly challenging. It's fairly simple to shoot under par out here as long as you can throw your putters and midranges well.
Cons: Lots of vandalism as a result of not being in the best part of town.

The baskets are old and beat up.

Other Thoughts: This course is one of those courses for me where pro's & con's don't really jump out, but I can write in this section for a bit.

This is an old course, some of the pars for course par are listed as 4's and 5's but I think there's only a singular hole that may be a four when the pin is in its absolute longest position, and even then it may be a 3.

Although this isn't in the best area, I never felt unsafe. Previous reviewers have mentioned making sure to keep your doors locked and things of that nature, but I hope to god you do that no matter where you park your car. The area has improved since my first visit to the course with some newer construction popping up nearby.

The course has an extremely pleasant blend of shots. Some really cool holes out here. Hole #5 immediately comes to mind as one that starts out in the open and shoots into the woods with a pin placement that can definitely make you strategize off the tee on weather to gun for it or just play it smart.

The beginning of the course starts off more open until you shoot into the woods for the remainder. Due to it's short, wooded, and fun nature, this is the course I would recommend if you are in the area on a hot summer day.

Other Other Thought: There is a tee sign that has "Race War" written on it. How can you not play this course?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 If you are desperate for a new course

1    7/7/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: First 5 or 6 holes are really fun and interesting. They allow for gutsy technical shots or safe lay ups. These holes are also well groomed.
Cons: Once you get in the woods, good luck. The tee boxes are hard to find, the signs are either vandalized or missing, and the 10ft wide path in the middle of each hole is the only safe landing. Deviating from this 'landing strip' will have you bouncing off trees like a pinball and landing in very very thick brush. (If you're above average height, be prepared to walk through a ton of spider webs). Navigating from hole 8 to 9 is a joke, good luck. Trash cans are overflowing and usually surrounded by bees and other little critters.
Other Thoughts: The first third or so of this course is really the only fun part of the course. Holes 1-5 are five star. Beyond that, not fun at all.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    8/26/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: looking4owls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Some fun shots
Nice tee pads
Good baskets
Scoring opportunities on a many holes
Cons: It was busy on a Saturday; nice folks though
Signage needs updating, some were missing which caused confusion.
Holes on top of each other. People looking for their discs from errant throws were in our way a few times.
Too close to football fields where children were playing
Other Thoughts: Way overrated

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a classic must play course

1    3/31/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 85  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice scenic course with good concrete tee pads and detailed tee signs on each hole (except 8 & 9 as noted in other reviews).

- good mix of open/wooded with some really nice well defined fairways.

- lots of basket placements provide excellent change-up & replay value.

- wooded holes can be tight and technical but never "poke 'n pray".. There is a strategic line or multiple lines to the basket on each of the technical holes.

- Hole 9 cirlces back near the beginning of the course (near basket 2 / teepad 3)

- navigation is fairly easy as the walking paths between holes are nicely worn in and easily identifiable. I didn't need a map..
Cons: - lots of vandalism on tee signs and missing signs 8 & 9.

- Some baskets are a little close to others. I threw to the wrong basket on holes 10 & 18 but it's partially my fault because I should have noticed the number plate not looking at me. Upon walking up the fairway a bit I noticed the proper baskets and re-teed accordingly.
Other Thoughts: - I didn't get the impression that the area was as bad as some people have mentioned but I still exercised caution and made my wife 'n 5 yr old daughter walk the course with me. Afterwards my daughter played on the playground with a group of middle-class kids that were enjoying a birthday party at the park. I didnt' see any sketchy characters on my visit and plenty of other disc golfers were out enjoying the course.

I would definitely like to play here again someday.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center