Redan (Dekalb County), GA 
Rosewood-Dekalb Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 376ft.   4 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Redan Park

5+    5/15/2016   5/19/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 64  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads

Has most tee signs with locations of the various basket placements

Multiple basket placements on every hole

Has many benches and trash cans throughout course

Good mix of open and wooded fairways with some doglegs

Course flows pretty good

Aside from the tennis court that is hardly used, park is exclusive for disc golf and you won't see other parkgoers

Free parking
Cons:
Baskets are old and can be hard to locate from tees and most are missing numbers

Overflowing trash cans

Needs more next tee signs - recommend a course map for the first-timer

Course is mostly flat

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with the locals

Not in the best of neighborhoods but I haven't experienced nor seen any criminal activity there
Other Thoughts:
I believe this is the oldest course in metro Atlanta and the baskets do show their age...but they still catch well. I don't think anything has changed with this course after I started playing here several years ago. Locals call this course "God's Country" so this course is popular and can be crowded at times. This course will test your skills where you can throw some bombs as well as work on your technical game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Older course

2-4    5/6/2016   5/6/2016
Review By: ampmtnbkr2
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: Not crowded
Easy to navigate
Signage on 16 of 18 holes
Variety of terrains
Ace runs & challenging holes
Large parking lot
Rough/out-of-bounds not disc eaters
Cons: No signage on 2 of 18 holes
Old signs--many holes designated par 4 or 5 that "aren't."
Thorns & vines in some rough
Getting there--navigating Atlanta area
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Ego builder even though you know better -- Course was obviously "parred" YEARS ago. It'll give beginners a good score if they use the course designations -- lots of par 4's. Only one hole on the course deserves a 4 rating, and it is currently designated as a par 5! Signage is not great, but is helpful to locate the blind baskets. A local was landscaping a bit when I was there (a tournament is scheduled for the next day), friendly and proud of "his" course! There are better maintained courses in the area, but this one is fun and a throwback to earlier days!

Nice but needs fixin' up

1    1/11/2016   1/27/2016
Review By: Tom Z
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Large sign at entrance to parking that lets you know you are in the correct place.
2. Nice park. A pleasant place to be.
3. Nice mix of open, semi-open, and forested holes.
4. Concrete T-Pads.
5. Trash cans distributed at various places around course.
6. We had a great time, even with the cons.
Cons: 1. Some trash cans were overflowing as if they had not been emptied in 6 months.
2. It appears that the course floods during heavy rain.
3. Many T-signs missing making it difficult to determine if you are actually in the correct T-Box. (See Con #4.)
4. Absolutely no signage guiding a person from the Pin to the next T-box.
5. T-signs offered up to 4 pin placements and distances, but there was no indication as to which of the pin placements was actually being used.
6. T-signs offered only one par. Some of the holes were marked as par 4 when there was no way the pin placement, the day we played, was a par 4 (way to short).
7. Way too many blind shots, especially since the T-box signs didn't indicate where the pin was located. This resulted in a lot of walking down fairways to locate the pin then walking back to the T-box.
8. We didn't see any bathroom facilities.
Other Thoughts: First time playing Redan after hearing from several people how nice a course it is. No one in our group had ever played the course before. It was a weekday so it was very uncrowded and there was almost no one to ask for guidance around the course.

I read several reviews prior to playing that mentioned the signage problem, so I printed a course map prior to playing. I thought the reviews about the signage were a little harsh at first. Although there was no guidance from pin to the next T-Box it was pretty easy to see the next T-box from the pin for the first 6 holes. The first 5 holes are fairly open so you could look around and see the next T-box. When we finished 6 we were in the forest and saw a T-box nearby. When we arrived, it was #13. Now it was time to dig out the map I had printed. Using it we were able to find #7, but not without difficulty. This was pretty much the case for the rest of the course. Get out the map to figure our which way to walk through the forest to find the next T-box.

This is an older course (25 years) and looks like it was awesome when it was at its peak. Now lack of upkeep has left it lacking a lot. However, people who play this course frequently probably don't even notice the lack of signage. In other words, it's a pretty darn nice course if you know your way around.

T-pads are a bit narrow but I don't count this as a con since they were probably put there a long time ago when that was the norm.

T-box #10 had no sign and it wasn't even obvious which direction to throw. We were able to figure it out by referring tho the map ... once again.

Going from pin 14 to 15 T-box we encountered a fallen tree that looked like it may have been there for quite a while. It was necessary to step over the tree. Then you have to cross a bridge that was falling apart and potentially someone could fall through and injure themselves.

I don't know who is responsible for or allowed to do course maintenance or signage repair and placement. However, if I were a local, I would at least get a can of spray paint to paint T-box numbers on the T-pads for those that are missing signs. Maybe get permission to drive something like a Gator around the course to empty trash cans. Also, get permission to put up some navigation arrows. Finally, devise some means to mark the T-signs with the current pin placement and par for that placement.

That said: would I play it again? Absolutely. A little maintenance and improvements and this course would rate a 4 or higher.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could be much better

1    7/7/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of hole Variety
mostly upkept course
Lots of long holes with plenty of range
no unduly hard holes
Cons: Horrible Signage with 4 possible hole locations and no indication of where the correct hole is.
Baskets need to be painted bright so they stand out in the Georgia woodland.
At least 5 different times I had to walk 3/4 way down the hole to get eyes on the basket.
Other Thoughts: The course will be much better on 2nd and 3rd times through but navigation was not easy. I think some neon Spray paint and some new updated Signage with par/distance info would make it at least a disc higher rated

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course, not well county-maintained

1    3/28/2015   3/29/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - course laid out very well, with a mixture of open and technical holes.
- each hole is challenging, and there are no unfair holes.
- no long walks between holes.
- map shows four possible basket locations for each hole, giving a good variety in distances and shot-shaping, keeping the course fresh.
- course not heavily trafficked, even on a beautiful Spring day.
- grass was mowed, trash was cleaned up.
- plenty of benches, even some tables at certain points.
- course is relatively flat with good footing on the paths and bridges over the creeks.
- tee boxes are concrete and in very good repair.
- this is an excellent course for first-timers to learn disc golf.
Cons: - signage. Missing signs on several tee boxes, others vandalized or spray-painted. Virtually no sings pointing to the next tee box. A map is an absolute necessity when navigating this course.
- baskets often are not visible from the tee, and there is no indicator of which of the four positions the basket is actually at.
- although in good shape, the tee boxes are narrow, and are raised above the surrounding ground. Folks using an "x-step" to throw may have difficulty.
- the mandatory on Hole #2 needs to be marked better.
- course and park are not in the best of neighborhoods.
Other Thoughts: The layout is very nice. The first tee is intimidating with a tunnel shot through foliage and a creek below, but once on the other side, it's all open through Hole #5, warming the player up nicely. Then it's into the woods for the technical lanes. All the lanes are fair with room to throw and shape shots.
The lack of signage is a major problem. Print out a map and bring it,. While the holes are in reasonable proximity, there are a few places where one can end up going to the wrong hole without knowing where the next hole is via a map.
When I went with my group on a weekend, we did not experience any security or safety concerns, and the park has youth leagues that are playing various sports. However, a friend went on a weekday, and was concerned about certain characters loitering in the parking lot and seemingly watching him. One should be aware of one's surroundings while in the neighborhood.
It might be a good idea to contact Dekalb County's Recreation Department and ask that some money be spent repairing signs and installing signs to mark the path to the next tee. Added to my own letter to them, it might cause them to take action to improve the course, which would be a really great thing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course

5+    8/28/2013   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 33.3 Years
Pros: Great mix of trees and open shots. Challenging.
Cons: Not very well maintained... Dekalb County just doesn't seem to care about it. The signage is old and outdated. The course is not well marked.
Other Thoughts: This is the very first course I played in Georgia, so it will always be special to me. Great group of players frequent the course. However, keep your valuable out of sight in your car... this is Dekalb, after all! ;-)

 Great course in Atlanta area

5+    7/28/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is probably my favorite course in the Atlanta area.
* Great mix of wooded/open shots, especially on the front 9.
* Easy navigation (except on hole 6 to 7).
* Low traffic, so it's easy to get a round in, even on a beautiful day.
* Well manicured grass.
* Great place to bring people interested in the game but haven't played. Very beginner friendly, but not too easy either.
* Concrete tee pads.
Cons: * Signs have been defaced with graffiti. Not really the courses fault, but still sucks.
* A couple of the baskets on the back 9 are close to each other, so you aren't sure where to throw if you aren't familiar with the layout.
* A touch ghetto, but not too bad.
* Some trash spread out near the tee boxes.
* Far from Atlanta, which again, isn't the course's fault and I'm not deducting any stars for it, but still an issue if you are in the Atlanta area.
* Hole 18 is a little too easy.
* A few holes could use some new baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, and probably my go-to when I want to get a round in. Nice mix of challenging/easy shots.

Only improvements I could see are adding amateur/pro tee-boxes, more benches, and more trash/recycling cans on the holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best review but...

1    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: alex513ninja
Played: 82  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: Cool course with multiple pin locations that allow for a lot of playability. Good mix of woods and open shots with the in-between type holes as well.
Cons: Current pin locations create a lot of repetitive shots that could be changed by switching a few holes. Hole 8 and 10 both missing baskets which really disappointed me considering the rating this course has. If those baskets were in place i would rate it higher.
Other Thoughts: I know this isn't the best review (i'm typing on an ipad) but i wanted to at least mention the missing baskets.

 

5+    4/4/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is often little traffic at this course, which makes it one of the best courses in the ATL area to unleash your dog! For those of you without dogs, don't worry; this course still has something to offer. It is by no means the best course in Atlanta, but it is a very fun/easy course. On almost every hole, there are multiple pin locations, and they do get moved around from time to time which is always refreshing.
Cons: Many of the baskets need some repair/replacing, most of the teesigns have been vandalized, and can somebody please move hole 16 basket location!! (So boring in its short position). And while on the topic of pin locations, there are several that, IMHO, should be removed altogether as they can make an already easy course way too simple.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Regal Redan.

2-4    8/8/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely fun little course.

Solid teepads.

A very nice blend of shots, a true par 3 course that is neither extremely easy or overly challenging. It's fairly simple to shoot under par out here as long as you can throw your putters and midranges well.
Cons: Lots of vandalism as a result of not being in the best part of town.

The baskets are old and beat up.

Other Thoughts: This course is one of those courses for me where pro's & con's don't really jump out, but I can write in this section for a bit.

This is an old course, some of the pars for course par are listed as 4's and 5's but I think there's only a singular hole that may be a four when the pin is in its absolute longest position, and even then it may be a 3.

Although this isn't in the best area, I never felt unsafe. Previous reviewers have mentioned making sure to keep your doors locked and things of that nature, but I hope to god you do that no matter where you park your car. The area has improved since my first visit to the course with some newer construction popping up nearby.

The course has an extremely pleasant blend of shots. Some really cool holes out here. Hole #5 immediately comes to mind as one that starts out in the open and shoots into the woods with a pin placement that can definitely make you strategize off the tee on weather to gun for it or just play it smart.

The beginning of the course starts off more open until you shoot into the woods for the remainder. Due to it's short, wooded, and fun nature, this is the course I would recommend if you are in the area on a hot summer day.




Other Other Thought: There is a tee sign that has "Race War" written on it. How can you not play this course?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.