Redan (Dekalb County), GA 
Rosewood-Dekalb Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #13 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 367ft.   4 / 367ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent Course

1    8/23/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Cement Tee pads are great, and very short holes make this course easier for beginners and players with little power. Many holes have some decent views in the woods. Only holes #16, and maybe #17 require a driver.
Cons: The first couple of holes are more open and very easy...then the course kinda turns into this very wooded short hole kind of course... To tell you the truth... It was annoying. I don't know if it was because it had just rained and the conditions were very muggy.. but..I'm not sure If I would drive out of my way to play this course. Some of the holes were so short and riddled with trees... it just made the course either unchallenging or too easy. Plus, some of the bridges were very unstable.. and lots of the holes were blind, with no signage... making this course difficult to navigate for first timers. If you are a more advanced player...this course will do nothing for you except work on your short game.
Other Thoughts: I visited Atlanta for a week and played this course and the one in East Roswell... and the course in East Roswell blows this course completely out of the water!

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Dimond in the Rough

1    7/17/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was one Fun and Challenging Play! Yah walk out of your car, and Bam! There is launch one just waiting for you! The variences between the open feild to heavy wooded play makes for a very eclectic disk golfing experience. The lanes are a mix of different angles and approtches. Anywhere from solo play to a group of friends would be super fun on this course.
There are plenty of places to take a seat when yah need to. And the expansive wooded play offers a zen type quality to any afternoon.
Cons: I don't really have many cons about this course. I agree with TheJackalope about it being in A Ghetto-ished "hood". Hints the tittle to this particular review. Its hasn't seemed to effect much of anything though. The park is still in very managable condition.
Quite a few of the Hole signs are beyong recognition. So unless youe a seasoned "Redan Vet" figuring out the Goals can be a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: I will be going back to Redan VERY SOON! From all of my Customers (I sell Discs in my shop), Redan is simply "the place to play". Consumer reviews are the most brutal, and I must say that after finally playing this course I would have to agree.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home.

5+    7/15/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Layout, Picturesque Views, Wonderful Mix of Technical and Power Shots, Most of the course is in the woods, and that in no way sucks. The lanes are quick, the hazards are well thought out, The pin placement changes all summer, and the grass is almost always cut, and if not, it is only 4-5 inches. This course is well maintained, and well loved by it's regulars. Rosewood (colloquially called 'Redan' by those of us who go there) is an active PDGA sanctioned course with tournaments and merchants coming through a couple times a year.You will need all of your shots to play at Redan, and that is what makes it so great. Standard, Open Hand, and Tomahawk throws are all essential for this random Gem,
Cons: It's a crappy neighborhood. At least there has been no glass in the parkinglot the last 5 times I have gone. The rec center next door has made it to where cops are keeping their eye on the lot. It used to be REALLY sketchy, but it's pretty good now. NO WATER ANYWHERE, unless you want to drink from a stream, so bring water. ESSENTIAL.
Other Thoughts: I dont care about the cons. I put them there for truth's sake. I love Redan. It is sweet, and crisp, and breathtaking. The first shot is from the parking lot, through a lane of trees, down a hill, over a creek, and onto an open field. Daunting for a first timer, amazing for someone who knows how to chuck a disk. The rest of the holes are gentler, for the most part. This course rules. The only reason I am not giving it a '5' is because of the No Water thing. Other than that: If you are an avid golfer, or someone looking to learn, go to Redan. It's amazing.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Redan review

5+    6/19/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Chain Bangin' Joshua
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great, challenging course. Changing pin positions keep the course fresh. Great launch pads with brooms and trash cans for keeping them clean. Great mixture of sun and shade. Halfway point has great seating and shade for a break. Fair par.
Cons: This course is not in a great part of town, so lock your car and keep your insurance on it paid up.
Other Thoughts: This review contains a lot of bias. I played my first round ever at Redan, and saw no other parks for those first few years of playing. I consider it my favorite course and my home course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat but fun

1    4/23/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat park with a couple minor elevation changes that are used well. A few holes play pretty open, but most of the course plays through tight woods with plenty of rough to punish errant shots. You'll need to shape accurate lines here, all the pin placements we played had fair lines but enough trees that it was easy to end up off the fairway.

The holes have good length variety from ace run shorties to several longer ones. There aren't really any bombers here, but you get to stretch your arm out a little. The pin setup we played had a nice mix of left and right turning holes that felt pretty balanced, if it's always like that then they do a good job mixing it up. I liked the variety of the different pin placements, they mixed things up quite a bit and really changed how most of the holes played. It sounds like they're rotated often, which makes it a great course to play on a regular basis.
Cons: A few tee signs were missing or vandalized. The remaining ones had the various pin placements, but had no method of indicating the current locations. Many of the holes are blind, and with moving pins it would seem even locals would have to walk up the fairway to know where to throw.

The course felt a little run down, with lots of trash and vandalism, and areas where brush was encroaching on the fairways. The baskets are older, and some don't catch all that well anymore, not a big deal to me but it is to some.
Other Thoughts: The variety here is great with all the pin placements, and many offer fun and challenging lines. This isn't a great beginner course with tough technical holes and thick punishing rough. More experienced players will find some nice tests of line shaping skills here, and will need to be accurate to score well.

I guess the neighborhood isn't the best, but we played right up until sunset and had no issues at all fwiw.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home is where you hang your hat

5+    5/29/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Hegemony
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Multiple pin placements that a regularly shifted by course managers. It's refreshing to walk onto the course and wonder where the pin placements are this week.
- Great mix of shot requirements which change both from hole-to-hole and on the same hole depending on pin placements (long, short, open, tightly wooded, hyzer, anny, etc.)
- Course design. One of the main things I've always liked about this course is how it starts mostly open (1-5) before going into the woods on 6. It gives the player some time to get loose before escalating the challenge.
- Picnic tables and benches throughout the course.
- Bathrooms in the fields above the course and in the boyscout building near the tennis courts entrance.
- Football field above 4 is rarely in use, so it can be used for fieldwork.
Cons: - Trash cans are almost always full/overflowing of beer cans
- Local residents sometimes randomly wandering the course
- County grounds crew destroying pin positions on early holes with the lawnmowers
- Basket visibility. You do have to walk down some of the fairways to determine where the pin is this week.
- Signage and some amenities in need of repair
- there is no disc line on the last 50ft of 12 when it is in the longest position. Great deal of luck required to get a good score in that configuration. Even thumber/tommy's are iffy.
Other Thoughts: - This course will always be home to me. I play here weekly(minimum) and never get tired of it.
- I keep finding myself comparing other courses to it, and think it's the most balanced course in Atlanta.
- It's an older course, so it may be considered short. The longest hole is ~500ft when 15 is in the long.
- Water is in play on the side of the fairway on 6, 7, 11, 12, 15, and 16. Also across the fairway when 5 is in the long position, however the hazard level is low in all cases. The creek is pretty small.
- Hole 1 has changed significantly in the past year since the county cleared out all the shule. The tight tunnel for the first drive is now much more open, and I think it improved the quality of the course layout.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course Dream!

1    1/26/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Redan is a beautiful course which has huge variation in both wooded/open holes, shot selection off the tee, and in the ability to move pins to one of the sixty-five available placements. Several of the holes on this course offer multiple, exclusive fairways for players to select from - a feature that is nearly always a great indicator of a fun course. Solid concrete tees and well cleared fairways give the impression that the park is well cared for (although vandalism appears to be a bit of a problem.


Challenge: Redan is a course so diverse that, depending on pin placements of course, players who are both very new to veterans are going to find elements of appropriate challenge. While many of the holes are going to be challenging for beginners, there are a number of holes which they will be able to reach and the lack of thorns and thick brush on most holes prevents frustration on the harder holes. In some of the longer pin placements, even top professionals are going to have to step it up and thread tight fairways and throw long controlled drives to get the tougher birdies. On many of the more difficult holes, even very experienced players will find themselves in trouble on poorly thrown drives - often leaving low probability upshots or trickshots.

Replay-factor: As I mention in the title of this review, this is probably one of the best 'home-courses' in the nation. Players learning and practicing the game here are going to be exposed to a HUGE range of shots off the tee from extremely tight, twisting wooded fairways to wide open bombs. In addition, the multitude of pin placements are going to keep the course fresh after many (hundreds?) of rounds.
Cons: Depending on pin placements, many highly skilled players are going to find a few holes which are just too straightforward for their skill level. Navigation can also be a bit of a challenge, especially in the midsection of the course where several tees can be within pretty close proximity of eachother. Add this to some vandalized tee signs and it can make for a little backtracking on holes if you aren't careful.
Other Thoughts: We played this course on a weekday evening after hitting up several others during the day on a disc golf roadtrip. Even though it was getting pretty dark out, we never felt unsafe in this neighborhood, but if others have noted that theft from cars is a frequent problem, I'd probably believe them. Just don't leave any valuables in the open (duh!) and you should significantly reduce the chances of a break-in. Among the Atlanta area courses that we played on our trip, I enjoyed Redan the most, which is saying quite a bit considering the extremely high quality of many area courses (Roswell, Indian Creek, Wills). This is a course that all players are likely to enjoy including seasoned veteran tournament players, course-baggers, and even the newer player just starting out.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ole Redan

1    8/13/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: Quest_
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place while not very close to much is a hidden gem in the middle of the hood!

*Great mix of elevation and hole placement
*Nice use of property, open and wooded areas
*Multiple lines on almost every hole for a good chance to try out different shots
*They have a somewhat functioning picnic area near the entrance/exit of the wooded section of the course.
Cons: In kind of a bad area, I have heard of multiple cars being broken into but have not had it happen to me

The hole maps located next to the tee pads need to be replaced as it looks like they have taken on some massive water damage

Course is somewhat difficult to follow if you have never been there before as the first time we played we thought we had played a whole 18 when it was only 10 holes.

No restrooms

No water access
Other Thoughts: Great place to play and if you want to get your grill on bring some food because the picnic area is a nice change of pace. You can actually pull your car down there and set up shop so you don't have to lug everything back and forth

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best and Closest to Atlanta

5+    8/1/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: bling
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course layout and mix of holes.

Multiple pin placements (2-3 out of 18 will get changed at a time once every other week or so.)

Have played at several times/days and there does not seem to be too much traffic on the course.

Close to Atlanta (although traffic can be bad but about the same as Roswell.)
Cons: TRAFFIC CAN BE BAD

Baskets are not in great condition but they are playable.

Poor signage. Many signs are damaged, missing, or barely legible. Getting from 7-8 might take awhile the first time without a map.

No close access to drinking water.



Other Thoughts: All things considered, I think this is the best of the Atlanta area courses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sketchy Neighborhood, Great Course

5+    3/30/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: slengel82
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like this course, most likely one of my favorite courses closest to downtown ATL.

Pros:
1) A good mix of open and treed holes.
2) Great sceanery around the park.
3) Hole 15 has to be the signature hole and is a wonderful long hole with a nice bit of shade.
4) Hole 18 is somewhat short. Everytime I've been there I've had a decent shot at birdie (although I've never made it... yet). I enjoy the last hole of this course for that reason. A fun short hole that you can honestly attempt a hole in one on.
Cons: 1) Not to be mean but the neighborhood looks somewhat bad albiet I've never had a bad thing happen there.
2) They're either relandscaping some parts or they've put in new drainage or pipe or something because there is a decent amount of dug up ground which leaves shoes dirty
Other Thoughts: Covington Hwy during the week (and really on the weekends too but not as bad) is pretty miserable driving on to get here. I've been impressed with Redan Rd which I take immediately after I get on Covington from Memorial. My GPS took me this way and the bridge was out about 4 miles down three weeks ago. The bridge is now back up which gives you a striaght shot that is better than convington. Just my personal opinion.

**UPDATE**
Found out that they changed pin placements. First Tee shoots left now. Hole 3 shoots longer now and is next to the tree further back. Hole 13 shoots left (shoe leg right still but pin is left of the old placement in the woods). Those are the ones that stood out the most, but I would say that nearly half the course has new pin placements.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.