Eureka, MO 
Kircher Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Too Easy

1    8/14/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: dj3k
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: Has restroom nearby.
Easy access off of interstate (at least east bound I-44).
Good for a quick round.
Cons: No basket to next tee signage.
The pars are way too easy for the distances and almost no obstructions.
Shots are wide open.
Holes are short.
No concrete tees.
I guess with the space they had there really aren't many trees around to work with.
The sign is mispelled "Disk Golf".

It's a magical place...

2-4    7/27/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: cmicha
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
Pros: The park is well maintained and has full service restrooms and several pavilions along with a playground. The course is pretty well marked and the baskets are in great shape. This is a great course to learn on and very accessible to families.
Cons: For those seeking a technically demanding course, this is not the place. As the tees are marked by colored bricks placed in the grass, they can be overgrown by the lawn and a challenge to find sometimes.
Other Thoughts: The back half of the course shares the field with the St. Louis Live Steamers model railroad. While we were there, the trains were running in maintenance mode and added to the ambience. They are not loud although the staff indicated on ride days (one Sat each month) that a good number of people come so congestion may be an issue at those times.

Love the One you're with

2-4    10/1/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 62  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short friendly, clean
nice baskets
well maintained park
beginner friendly
Cons: no teepads
not a challenging course
Other Thoughts: I just moved nearby and this course is a great for field work. It's usually empty except a few joggers. It would be nice if there were better markings and teepads and benches but I appreciate the time and effort made to put in and maintain this friendly 9er. I can go somewhere else if i want a more demanding round. Here I can practice a variety of shots without fear of losing any...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun & Quick Round

5+    7/3/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kircher is a great recreational course to bring both friends and family out for a fun day of disc golf. I would say that this course is pretty recreational and a great place for beginners to begin playing.Offers both pro and am tees. Another pro about this course is that it is lightly used and fairly open so that.. A) you can have friends and family there with little back ups to worry about 2) if there is no one else in the park it is really fun to play a safari round here to make it even more interesting. This park is generally very clean and includes trash cans, playground, pavilions, restrooms etc. I would absolutely recommend bringing the family out here for a nice quiet round.
Cons: 1) No concrete pads
2) better signage

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Kircher a disappoinment

2-4    4/9/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you live in Eureka and need to play somewhere, it's in your neighborhoop and is a quick 9 holes you and a couple of buddies can knock out in 30 minutes. It wasn't being used by anyone else either time I have been, so that is a pro, I guess.
Cons: The landscape is a super-flat course with no variety, no obstacles (save for a few trees to dodge on 2 holes) and the holes are really short. You could probably get through all but 2 of the holes with 1 midrange disc. Almost every hole's fairway (especially on 4 - 8) is a bog of standing water and muddy grass and smells like a swamp. I imagine it drys out at some point in the summer heat, but considering there is no shade, I can't imagine standing in the beating sun to play this course. Also, the tees have become very hard to see because the grass and dirt have kinda built up and half buried them.
Other Thoughts: I know this review seems really negative, but I've played and enjoyed all 11 of the other courses around St. Louis that I've played. Every other course had some unique and redeeming features that made it a fun game - whereas if all the courses were like Kircher Park, I'd never play disc golf again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/29/2010   3/2/2011
Review By: birdman101
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice recreational course not much of a challenge. On 9 holes, but there is a second set of tees so it can be played as 18. Baskets are in great shape. Tee sign show rough layout of holes, and where extra tees are.
Cons: Doesn't force a whole lot of different shots. Natural tees aren't in bad shape but they are natural tees. Second set of tees is marked with pavers that are flush with the ground (tee sign gives rough idea of where to look though). there is a bit of a walk from 3 to 4 (you have to walk across the bridge to get to 4's tee.
Other Thoughts: can only get to it from 44 if you are going east bound there is a back way in off 109 but i don't know the road names to give directions that way sorry.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat n easy

1    9/5/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat grassy park with scattered trees throughout. There are enough trees that you have to shape some lines to score well, but not enough to make it very punishing for newer/recreational players. There are a few holes that have more defined lines, and there's a mix of left and right turning shots. The park space is used very well to make some decent shots without conflicting with other park uses or having any safety issues between holes.

There are basic tee signs at the shortest set of tees that are plenty informational to follow the course. Other than the transition from 3 to 4, the flow is good with no other navigational issues. The tees are marked with blocks in the ground, but someone has kept them cleared off so you can find the longer tees without too much trouble. The baskets are in good shape and catch fine.
Cons: The park is used as well as possible, but it's still a flat city park without dense enough trees to really have any trouble even with a shanked drive. The signed tees are the most likely to be played, and they just don't have very much challenge or variety. The longer tees aren't enough longer to really be a more difficult course, and many don't really call for a different line than the shorter tee. After 3 you have to cross the bridge to get to 4s tee, a sign would be nice for first time players. A few holes in that back part of the park play pretty close to a road, I don't think it gets much traffic but it can scuff up discs pretty badly.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a beginner level course, and for that it's a good design. The holes are reasonable lengths, there are enough trees that newer players will be encouraged to try some shot shaping, and there isn't too much punishment for errant shots. More experienced players won't find much challenge or variety to keep them coming back here, even from the longer tees. Don't go out of your way for this one, but if you want to take your kids or some new players out this is a good spot for that. The model railroad set up looks pretty cool, I would have loved to see people out there with their trains.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 eureka

1    9/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: titans, fun little course , close to six flags for people traveling to theme park grab your bag and play on the way home
Cons: no concrete pads
Other Thoughts: only played it once so my opinion isnt the best to use but it was a fun course to play

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, Beginner, and Family oriented

1    7/25/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: CrimsonRavyn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for the beginners and families. It was not crowded, with only 2 other groups on the course. A father (25 to 30 years old) and son (8 years old)were out practicing and were very helpful. It was very flat and not very wooded, but had enough trees to have a little challenge. The first three or four holes and hole 9 are in the front near the parking lot and play ground, the other holes are in the back. The back is closed to vehicles and you must go over a bridge to get to it, but there was no one around. It made for a quiet, relaxing game. The park was well taken care of and is hidden from the traffic of the nearby highway. The front holes are great if you have a child, who doesn't like to go disc golfing because you can watch them as you play the 4 holes in the front. The baskets are easy to find and see. The holes have signs and they are located at the red tees.
Cons: The white and Blue tees are a little harder to find then the red tees. The tees are dirt and are distinguished with markers in the ground.
Other Thoughts: I was informed by the father and son that the course does flood, during flood season. There is also a model railroad set up in the back. I am not sure when or if it runs, but this could make for a noisy and distracting game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Beginner Course

1    1/16/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a nice short and open course. The holes aren't too long so it is good for a beginner. Good course to learn your throws or practice your putts because it's not very busy. Pretty difficult to lose a disc unless its on a roof or in a tree.
Cons: This would be a boring course for someone who plays alot. It's not very long, you can get away with a fairway driver and a putter here. Few obstacles, just a playground, pavillion, and outhouse.
Other Thoughts: Fine course if you are looking to learn or teach. Also if you just want to get out and throw.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.