Eureka, MO 
Kircher Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 188ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
The Choo Choo Train Course!

1    10/22/2015   10/31/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kircher Park is a nice little park with restrooms, playground, picnic area and a popular walking trail. It's clean, very flat and has a narrow entrance to a back half of the park that holds the final six holes of the course as well as a miniature railroad track that circles that part of the park, probably in a 1/4 mile track.

The disc gold course has natural pads. These pads are marked by two little red bricks in the grass. I found some and probably stepped over a few. They are becoming slightly worn and a little rutted through use. There are very basic metal signs. The baskets are Gateway triple chain models painted a dull red color.

The course is just slightly tougher than a Pitch & Putt variety. I would label it as an easy recreational course. The tee signs list Pars as consistent with Middle School Play so you'll be hunting for Eagles if you want to follow the listed pars on the signs. There's very little in the way of obstacles, perhaps a tree or two on most holes, making the course ideal for beginners, families, teens, wives, or us old guys.

Holes 1, 2 and 3 play in the first part of the park. Then you move to the back part of the park and play 4 thru 8 around the park and RR tracks in a counter clockwise before coming back and finishing your round with # 9 which plays back towards the parking lot and bathrooms.

Cons: The holes are kind of short and flat (average 250') with few obstacles in your way.

When train is running one Saturday a month, there will be crowds in the park.

Tee pads are not well marked.

Slightly confusing layout, crossing bridge after # 3 to get to # 4. And then crossing bridge again to get back to # 9.

Other Thoughts: Even though this little course was not particular challenging, I found it to be a pretty enjoyable little throw. It was fun chasing those eagles (#1 a 226' Par 4) if not the ACES. If you're looking for bigger challenges in your life, there's plenty of intermediate courses in the St. Louis area. If you live close and just want to catch a quick fun round, this might be the course for you!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for beginners

5+    9/21/2015   9/24/2015
Review By: mikesh1975
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the course has nice wide open shots to the basket. The terrain is flat and grassy. The holes are well maintained.
Cons: Tees are markers in the ground and the dirt has begun to become ruts. The river is close by so course does flood.
Other Thoughts: This is what I consider my home course and have played it many times. The park is well maintained and usually not crowded. This is a great place to play for beginners/families since most of the drives are wide open. Its also a great place to practice long and mid ranges drives.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nothing to enjoy

1    8/29/2015   8/29/2015
Review By: CatPoopie
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Holes are short (REALLY SHORT)
-Good field for driving and mid-range practice.
Cons: -Not possible to play if the train is in operation.
-Terrible signage.
-ZERO variety on every hole
-Either some of the tee markers are very well hidden, or just nonexistent.
-If you throw a disc OB on hole 3, you won't get it back.
-There were a lot of people trying to use the open grassy areas near hole 9... but honestly, there isn't enough room for the people who want to enjoy the park.
Other Thoughts: -It was a very strange experience.
-Not even worth a second trip.
-"Disk Golf"?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Easy

1    8/14/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: dj3k
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: Has restroom nearby.
Easy access off of interstate (at least east bound I-44).
Good for a quick round.
Cons: No basket to next tee signage.
The pars are way too easy for the distances and almost no obstructions.
Shots are wide open.
Holes are short.
No concrete tees.
I guess with the space they had there really aren't many trees around to work with.
The sign is mispelled "Disk Golf".

 It's a magical place...

2-4    7/27/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: cmicha
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained and has full service restrooms and several pavilions along with a playground. The course is pretty well marked and the baskets are in great shape. This is a great course to learn on and very accessible to families.
Cons: For those seeking a technically demanding course, this is not the place. As the tees are marked by colored bricks placed in the grass, they can be overgrown by the lawn and a challenge to find sometimes.
Other Thoughts: The back half of the course shares the field with the St. Louis Live Steamers model railroad. While we were there, the trains were running in maintenance mode and added to the ambience. They are not loud although the staff indicated on ride days (one Sat each month) that a good number of people come so congestion may be an issue at those times.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love the One you're with

2-4    10/1/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 67  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short friendly, clean
nice baskets
well maintained park
beginner friendly
Cons: no teepads
not a challenging course
Other Thoughts: I just moved nearby and this course is a great for field work. It's usually empty except a few joggers. It would be nice if there were better markings and teepads and benches but I appreciate the time and effort made to put in and maintain this friendly 9er. I can go somewhere else if i want a more demanding round. Here I can practice a variety of shots without fear of losing any...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun & Quick Round

5+    7/3/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kircher is a great recreational course to bring both friends and family out for a fun day of disc golf. I would say that this course is pretty recreational and a great place for beginners to begin playing.Offers both pro and am tees. Another pro about this course is that it is lightly used and fairly open so that.. A) you can have friends and family there with little back ups to worry about 2) if there is no one else in the park it is really fun to play a safari round here to make it even more interesting. This park is generally very clean and includes trash cans, playground, pavilions, restrooms etc. I would absolutely recommend bringing the family out here for a nice quiet round.
Cons: 1) No concrete pads
2) better signage

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Kircher a disappoinment

2-4    4/9/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you live in Eureka and need to play somewhere, it's in your neighborhoop and is a quick 9 holes you and a couple of buddies can knock out in 30 minutes. It wasn't being used by anyone else either time I have been, so that is a pro, I guess.
Cons: The landscape is a super-flat course with no variety, no obstacles (save for a few trees to dodge on 2 holes) and the holes are really short. You could probably get through all but 2 of the holes with 1 midrange disc. Almost every hole's fairway (especially on 4 - 8) is a bog of standing water and muddy grass and smells like a swamp. I imagine it drys out at some point in the summer heat, but considering there is no shade, I can't imagine standing in the beating sun to play this course. Also, the tees have become very hard to see because the grass and dirt have kinda built up and half buried them.
Other Thoughts: I know this review seems really negative, but I've played and enjoyed all 11 of the other courses around St. Louis that I've played. Every other course had some unique and redeeming features that made it a fun game - whereas if all the courses were like Kircher Park, I'd never play disc golf again.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/29/2010   3/2/2011
Review By: birdman101
Played: 56  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice recreational course not much of a challenge. On 9 holes, but there is a second set of tees so it can be played as 18. Baskets are in great shape. Tee sign show rough layout of holes, and where extra tees are.
Cons: Doesn't force a whole lot of different shots. Natural tees aren't in bad shape but they are natural tees. Second set of tees is marked with pavers that are flush with the ground (tee sign gives rough idea of where to look though). there is a bit of a walk from 3 to 4 (you have to walk across the bridge to get to 4's tee.
Other Thoughts: can only get to it from 44 if you are going east bound there is a back way in off 109 but i don't know the road names to give directions that way sorry.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat n easy

1    9/5/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat grassy park with scattered trees throughout. There are enough trees that you have to shape some lines to score well, but not enough to make it very punishing for newer/recreational players. There are a few holes that have more defined lines, and there's a mix of left and right turning shots. The park space is used very well to make some decent shots without conflicting with other park uses or having any safety issues between holes.

There are basic tee signs at the shortest set of tees that are plenty informational to follow the course. Other than the transition from 3 to 4, the flow is good with no other navigational issues. The tees are marked with blocks in the ground, but someone has kept them cleared off so you can find the longer tees without too much trouble. The baskets are in good shape and catch fine.
Cons: The park is used as well as possible, but it's still a flat city park without dense enough trees to really have any trouble even with a shanked drive. The signed tees are the most likely to be played, and they just don't have very much challenge or variety. The longer tees aren't enough longer to really be a more difficult course, and many don't really call for a different line than the shorter tee. After 3 you have to cross the bridge to get to 4s tee, a sign would be nice for first time players. A few holes in that back part of the park play pretty close to a road, I don't think it gets much traffic but it can scuff up discs pretty badly.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a beginner level course, and for that it's a good design. The holes are reasonable lengths, there are enough trees that newer players will be encouraged to try some shot shaping, and there isn't too much punishment for errant shots. More experienced players won't find much challenge or variety to keep them coming back here, even from the longer tees. Don't go out of your way for this one, but if you want to take your kids or some new players out this is a good spot for that. The model railroad set up looks pretty cool, I would have loved to see people out there with their trains.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.