Athol, MA
Flat Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #7 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 424ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Course with Character

1    10/15/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: rcj333
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am pretty new to the sport and this is the 5th course I have played and probably one of my favorites so far. The course has a "groovy" feel with random sculptures. homemade signs and other things that let you know the folks that play here have a good time. Layout was slightly confusing first time through, but what course isn't? I thought it was a cool mix of field shots and wooded alleys. Many holes have obvious multiple approaches which should make fore handers and lefties happy. We had a blast and more than happy to pay the 5 bucks.
Cons: Layout a little confusing the first time. Im guessing it could be pretty mucky in spring or after heavy rain. Also guessing bugs could be pretty bad at times. But again, what wooded course does not. We are only people playing, but could see what some of the other reviewers said about crossing some of the fairways and some pins very close to to tees. The pro's far out weigh the cons!!!
Other Thoughts: Other nice courses fairly close (Tully Lake) and makes an excellent 2 course 36 hole day trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Flat Rock Review

1    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: EggSalad
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Played this course today for the first time with my wife. Met the owners of the course Sean & Helen (both awesome people). Had an amazing time on a really fun course!
Cons: Some Cris-crossing of holes which didnt seem to be to big of a problem, made great use of the land that was available.
Other Thoughts: Hope to play here again soon. A great course and definitely recommended for those who haven't got to play here yet.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Woody but goody

5+    6/20/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: akaczowka
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of beautiful woods and cleared drives The old homemade baskets have been replaced with some really great baskets. The owner is a really nice guy who gave my Dad a beer and then didn't kick me off the course when I hit him in the hand with one of my drives.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes are way too close to the previous baskets making for a dangerous drive. Also some of the holes require you to walk/play through or very close to the previous hole which will also put you in the way of drives.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 gotta try this one

1    7/19/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very fun course. very unique. signage was cool and interesting way to show hole layouts. Good use of elevation i thought and a pond comes into play on the 17 and 18th hole. so different and unique,, if u live nearby its a must play.
Cons: i hated the homemade baskets. I found it alot harder to make puts over 10 feet.
Other Thoughts: use the floater discs that you can borrow on 18. I wish i had used one.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Crazyguy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Fun To Play- Not As Wooded As A Lot of Courses- Varying Holes (some uphill, some downhill, some left,straight and right) - Tiny Pond involved in only 2 holes-
Cons: Homemade baskets but they will help hone your putting game so this could be a positive-Pay to play but you get what you play for a great course created with a true passion for the sport
Other Thoughts: Come on out and play it

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Is course

2-4    2/6/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: shamroc333
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. The man how owns the land has put up art work all over the course. Creative man. The holes are well designed and well marked off. It is the nicest private course I have ever played. It takes every type of shoot to win so you practice every throw.
Cons: There really isn't any cons. Great course. If I had to pick something it would be the baskets. The owner made his own. Excellent craftmanship but not the average.
Other Thoughts: I say if you are in the area you need to check it out. The onwer Shawn is a great guy abd he did make an great course. I have only meet him once but what a nice guy. He asked my opinon so he is looking keep improving the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Every Shot

5+    8/11/2009   12/17/2008
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
22 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course it pretty well laid out; although several times you have to cross another fairway to get to the next hole. It is an intense course so be careful beginners and children. You have to shoot over a road and a small pond for hole 17 and just the pond for 18. Fun course overall that required ever single shot and disc in my bag. Sweet hand made tee signs on all if the holes. Loaner discs are available at the start of the course and for holes 17 and 18. A lost and found is also located on the welcome board by hole one. Blueberries available to pick when in season. All real baskets.
Cons: Hole 12 cant be played without walking it first because its a crazy hole and almost impossible to play without a spotter. Some of the natural teepads need to be leveled. Some of the the fairways interesect so be extremely careful when teeing off. It gets very swampy in the low areas and there isnt a whole lot of space to walk around (there is slowly being ramps installed).
Other Thoughts: You have to pay $5 to play (recomended donation) but the course is still improving and on private land. When you get there park off the street behind the rock wall on the left before the barn. Here are a few notes on of the holes.
1) Just to the side of the barn. You won't see the pin but it's past the tree outcropping on the right.
2) Walk down the road to tee #2. Drive up the hill and you're halfway there.
3/5) Both share the same teepad.
6) Tee is just past and above the wall next to five's basket.
8) Tee is back by one's basket.
12) Walk it before you throw as it's hard to play without a spotter.
14) Shoots right to the barn with the garden area OB. The chickens have fencing over their head so don't worry about them.
17) Great short water shot. Be sure to use one of the loaner discs.
18) Probably the signature hole of the course that shoots back over the water and to a hanging basket. Make sure to play this hole before dark. There is a gong on 12 to bang when you putt out.


22 of 23 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.