Athol, MA 
Flat Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #1
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Great Course

5+    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Crazyguy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Fun To Play- Not As Wooded As A Lot of Courses- Varying Holes (some uphill, some downhill, some left,straight and right) - Tiny Pond involved in only 2 holes-
Cons: Homemade baskets but they will help hone your putting game so this could be a positive-Pay to play but you get what you play for a great course created with a true passion for the sport
Other Thoughts: Come on out and play it

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Eh...I've had better

1    5/29/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: moe.jams89
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Unique layout of course
Cool homemade baskets
Secluded area
Cons: Two crazy dogs may attack on your way to hole #2!!! (the owner's dog is nice though, the brown and white one)
BUGS EVERYWHERE!
Thick woods if your disc lands outside of fairway
Other Thoughts: I would never go again just because of the dogs that BIT MY @$$!! If the owner of this course reads this I would tell your neighbor right across from the gate at tee #2 to put leashes on their mean dogs! (it is the law)
Besides the dogs it was nice and i MIGHT think about going in the fall when there is less bugs

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Is course

2-4    2/6/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: shamroc333
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. The man how owns the land has put up art work all over the course. Creative man. The holes are well designed and well marked off. It is the nicest private course I have ever played. It takes every type of shoot to win so you practice every throw.
Cons: There really isn't any cons. Great course. If I had to pick something it would be the baskets. The owner made his own. Excellent craftmanship but not the average.
Other Thoughts: I say if you are in the area you need to check it out. The onwer Shawn is a great guy abd he did make an great course. I have only meet him once but what a nice guy. He asked my opinon so he is looking keep improving the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Every Shot

5+    8/11/2009   12/17/2008
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
22 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course it pretty well laid out; although several times you have to cross another fairway to get to the next hole. It is an intense course so be careful beginners and children. You have to shoot over a road and a small pond for hole 17 and just the pond for 18. Fun course overall that required ever single shot and disc in my bag. Sweet hand made tee signs on all if the holes. Loaner discs are available at the start of the course and for holes 17 and 18. A lost and found is also located on the welcome board by hole one. Blueberries available to pick when in season. All real baskets.
Cons: Hole 12 cant be played without walking it first because its a crazy hole and almost impossible to play without a spotter. Some of the natural teepads need to be leveled. Some of the the fairways interesect so be extremely careful when teeing off. It gets very swampy in the low areas and there isnt a whole lot of space to walk around (there is slowly being ramps installed).
Other Thoughts: You have to pay $5 to play (recomended donation) but the course is still improving and on private land. When you get there park off the street behind the rock wall on the left before the barn. Here are a few notes on of the holes.
1) Just to the side of the barn. You won't see the pin but it's past the tree outcropping on the right.
2) Walk down the road to tee #2. Drive up the hill and you're halfway there.
3/5) Both share the same teepad.
6) Tee is just past and above the wall next to five's basket.
8) Tee is back by one's basket.
12) Walk it before you throw as it's hard to play without a spotter.
14) Shoots right to the barn with the garden area OB. The chickens have fencing over their head so don't worry about them.
17) Great short water shot. Be sure to use one of the loaner discs.
18) Probably the signature hole of the course that shoots back over the water and to a hanging basket. Make sure to play this hole before dark. There is a gong on 12 to bang when you putt out.


22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 most character ever!

2-4    8/20/2008   12/16/2008
Review By: sumner420
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The tee signs are the koolest-Ever! (Homemade handmade and realistic full 3D!) Great use of natural terrian, Theres a pond that a few holes shoot over (but it isnt huge), A lot of thought went into the tee placement- some elevated tee boxes. Some very long dog leg holes and some very challenging short but tight holes, even a few for the bigger gunners out there
Cons: was a bit muddy on one visit, tricky to navigate the first time- map helps, $5 a round fee seems a tad high,( but its private property, privately maintained, and doesnt prohibit drinks)
Other Thoughts: really kool course, hip hop and happenin', nice and secluded, varied terrain, all the "cages" are homemade (both a pro and a con the D.I.Y. side of me was sparked, but the putter in me was a bit spooked for a few holes- esp the hanging basket) I loved all the decorated trees(eating discs, waving, trying to grab a drive..) A good time course

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.