Sauk Centre, MN 
Fairy Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: nipnipnip Hole #1
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
view of 1st and 9th pin from 3rd pin



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
rest area fun

2-4    7/28/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 69  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful location! right on a lake. Short holes but lots of tree making it a little challenging and force a nice variety of shots. Very well maintained course with amenities close by and a great map at the start. All the holes were well marked with arrows pointing to the next tee and granite markers for each hole. Its the perfect course for beginner/intermediate if you like short and technical.
Cons: Hole #9 is a definite risk for losing a disc in the water, but the lake is nice and just asking for a swim anyway. i went in after mine :)
Poison ivy is present, just need to watch out for it. Also cars parked nearby could pose a problem, especially when its busy. be aware.
Other Thoughts: Just off I94 This was a great stretch of the legs on the Fargo-Minneapolis section of my road trip going both ways. With a swimming beach, picnic area,washrooms, and even good fishing apparently. I will be stopping here for a round every time i make this drive!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice quick course

5+    7/27/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: MIATCH11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely groomed. Good for bringing family or getting a beginner started. Get to view the lake the whole time.

Nice course to work on your shot shaping. All the holes are short, but your shot does not have much room for error.

There are alternates, they can be hard to find, but are worth running through the course a second time to throw them.
Cons: Distance.
Bugs. (seasonal)

There are many people that use the park in the summer. The only issue is the cars are parked too close to some holes. I usually skip throwing on prime beach days. It is best to throw in morning, or late evening in summer.
Other Thoughts: Bring your Buzzz

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and putt?

2-4    6/10/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on a flat area of oak forest near a very nice lake. It features 9 holes with a great map in the parking area depicting the layout. It has disccatcher baskets that are in good shape. Each hole has a baby tombstone piece of granite showing only the hole number and who sponsored the hole. Each basket has an arrow showing the direction to the next teepad but I found that taking the arrow direction and looking for a picnic table in that direction the best way to find the teebox.

Most holes are in the 160'-250' range but have a lot of trees in the fairway. Trees in a fairway are not a negative for me. They were pretty dense for what seems to be a pitch and putt course.

The park is nicely maintained and has bathroom facilities. Poison Ivy is present but there are signs pointing out where it is.
Cons: Normally I try to say what skill level a course is aimed at. This one is a pretty mixed bag. From the hole distances you would think this is a pitch and putt course. It really isn't a very good course if that is the intent. Most of the holes are tree laden and a few have patches of poison ivy near where a person getting introduced to the sport would throw. In addition hole 9, although interesting, was a virtual lock for many people, not just a newbie, to throw in the lake. I can't see that this is a good design for any particular skill level. I wanted to like it and just didn't.

The teepads are dirt. Not a big con for a pitch and putt course. The course plays around a road and boat launch that was pretty busy the times I have been there.
Other Thoughts: I was looking forward to playing here based on the previous reviews but was sadly disappointed. If you are in this area of the country you would be much better served by North Park in Albany or Combine Hills in Alexandria.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fariy Lake

5+    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: pallen03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: -In nice park with clean lake
-Nice touch with stone slabs next to tee
-Giant sign showing entire course
-Hole 9 nice touch as it is sometimes in water, last time I played though it was moved to land
Cons: -Beach population might interfere
-Bugs are bad at some spots
-Fairly easy course
-No par signs
-Guesswork in finding the next tees at parts
Other Thoughts: Decent course in park. Fairly wooded throughout with a few holes having thick roughs in thickets if you are not careful. The lake nearby is nice for people who want to cool off on a nice day. Not very challenging, but a good beginners course with a few challenges.

 About Time

1    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: revmatty
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 23.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in Mint Condition
-Beautiful Granite Markers for Each Tee and Sponsors
-Signature Hole #9 is a Great Way to Cool Off
-Uses An Array of Shots, Do to Many Tree's
-Jumbo Sized Map at the Course Starting Point.
-Well Maintained Facility
-Near Beach, Boat Access, and Fishing
Cons: -Tee's are hard to find, as they are granite slaps in the ground. No Upright Makings.
-No Par or Distance Markings, Prefered Routes, Etc on tee's. Just the Number and Sponsor.
-Had to Walk Halfway Across Park to get to Tee #4 and #9
Other Thoughts: Nice to see Fairy Lake and Sauk Centre finally catching on to the sport.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Views

2-4    8/2/2008   1/31/2009
Review By: kjtw55
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is very beautiful with nice views of the lake. It is also well maintained. The parking lot has a nice map of the course before hole 1. Good mix of holes with nice tree coverage on all holes (nice large trees). Not much chance of losing a disc as most holes do not have a ton of thick rough and the grass is all nicely mowed. Course is easy to navigate and the dirt tees have nice granite markers. On hot days, it is fun to play a round and then swim at the beach after (and during) hole 9. Hole 9 also has an alternate pin for those who don't want to swim (or it's too cold).
Cons: Hole 4 has you almost driving over a corner of the parking lot. This could lead to hitting cars on busy days. Although there are signs warning people of flying discs when they park near that hole. I also found out firsthand that there is some nasty poison ivy off the hole 5 rough.
Other Thoughts: Great course for all skill levels that also includes a swimming beach, picnic shelter, changing areas, bathrooms, and fishing. Park on the far left of the parking lot to start at hole 1.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I built it, come enjoy it.

5+    7/21/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: nipnipnip
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/4/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained Lions Club park. Swimming beach. Good fishing. Boat access. Shelter to rent for parties. Discatcher baskets. Short holes with technical low shots and trouble all over the place make it a great course for newbies to learn on or for experienced players to try and master. The ninth hole is great in the summer time. Old low hanging oak trees make for varied terrain through the seasons. The lake makes for challenging wind on some holes, but at the same time gives beautiful vistas as you walk the course.
Cons: Busy with beach traffic on a few peak weekends during the summer. Weekdays not a problem no matter how nice the weather is. Poison ivy in rough on hole 5. The stools made out of old trees are nice, but it's hard to chill out on hole 5 during the summer for the bugs are pretty bad. The beach traffic is still new to what disc golf is. Please help them figure out what it is by telling them politely not to park by the pins or set up their grills and picnicks on the fairways. Brand new course as of spring of 08.
Other Thoughts: I built th course last spring for I thought the location was great, however it is near a swimming beach and can be a challenge during peak summer days. When I completed the course I handed it over to the lions club of sauk centre and they now have full ownership. Please let the Lions know wht to do to improve the course, or just go help out. To the guy that had a tough time on hole 9 and wrote a review last June, I am not a great golfer and I aced it last December with a skip off the ice. It was very difficult to get nine holes into this park, so yes there is some tough navigation and is tough during peak Summer days. Enjoy Fairy Lake Disc Golf Course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sauk Centre

7/6/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: mike_riewer
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very new course. Baskets still have remains of packaging material still on them. Tee offs are dirt but are marked by beautiful granite slabs. All the baskets have mulch under them, where it is usually dirt from heavy traffic. The floating hole is great. There are also arrows pointing to the next tee off on the baskets which help with navigation.
Cons: To find the course was easy but finding the tee off for hole one was difficult. (hole on tee off is towards lake from parking lot) There are no vertical markers on the tee off's. This made finding the tee off for hole five difficult also. (across parking lot by swing set) Floating hole might not be much fun in the winter.
Other Thoughts: Very nicely laid course. Starting was confusing but once we started it was great. The course allows for all shots. It is located on a nice park with a large beach. The floating hole would be great in the summer heat and terrible in the spring cold. (There is an alternate target for those who don't want to get wet.) Definitely a course worth playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.