Delavan, WI 
Phoenix DGC @ WI School for the Deaf Share



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Seriously dont even waste your time

1    3/2/2011   6/2/2012
Review By: thaban
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Ummmmmmmmmmmmm. There are baskets
Cons: Course is nothing more than 5 baskets placed in an oval semi circle. No Tee pads or greens. Just a horrible waste of time. Head to Whitewater for closet good course.
Other Thoughts: This course really is horrible

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick play especially when tresspassing

1    9/25/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) The deaf community is very into disc golf and it is awesome they have this at their school.

2) Nice elevation used on this course, with some ups and downs and a few running across the slopes. Roll-aways are a possibility but it is more important on your drives to figure how your disc will be landing.

3) DGA baskets with number plates facing the tees.

4) Some large Oak trees on this course help to make the holes better than if it were wide open.

5) Rolls of rubber matting down by the 6th basket so hopefully they plan to one day use it for tees because there is no way to know if you are throwing from the proper spot and it would also help if they were to level areas on a few of the tees so you do not have to throw from a slope.

6) Beginner friendly because it is mostly open.

7) You can select what kind of shot you want to throw on half of the holes, but you need to consider the slopes which sort of dictate that you can or cannot throw a certain shot.

8) The turf is in great condition on this entire course (except where it was recently newly reseeded).
Cons: 1) #2 basket is completely mangled . . . most likely from the construction equipment used in the area???

2) 6 holes is a short course . . . not going to take away from the course rating, but it does take away from the likelihood I would ever return . . . but then again so does the fact that I tresspassed to play it today and avoided it once before because of the no tresspassing signs.

3) Not enough obstacles to be a really fun course in my opinion.

4) No tee signs, no benches, no garbage cans, no bathrooms, no nothing . . . but then again I was trespassing. There may be no reason to have these on school property and the course only takes 15 minutes to play when evading a trespassing ticket on STATE PROPERTY!

5) Someone else mentioned how bad it could be for you getting caught on state school property. It might be a double whammy . . . but I risked it anyways.
Other Thoughts: I ran across this course early in my disc golf career on a road-trip to play a bunch of courses and I skipped it because of the no tress-passing signs. It has irritated me since then that I didn't just play it because it was on a weekend and activity around the school was likely light. Today was no different but I also arrived there at 6:45 AM on a Sunday . . .I pondered skipping it again and I scouted the whole site beforehand, and then headed out to play my quickest round ever. I think it took me no more than about 15 minutes playing from basket to basket . . . no scouting for actual tees, just get up throw, putt, then throw again.

It's an allright course but not one I expect to ever return to . . . unless they add more holes or improve the course.I am happy it exists for the deaf students . . . two birds with one stone . . .young people learning of this sport and also handicapped kids learning this sport. I know the deaf community is very involved in disc golf and I know a handful of the people in WI that are deaf and play tourneys and may have been involved in the development of this course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great idea

1    3/13/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a small hilly piece of property with nice grass and a couple trees. The 6th basket is tucked into some scruffy woods down near the parking lot, offering one hole where you need to shape a line to get there. A couple of the pins are near slopes, making it a little tricky on approaches and putts. The 6 baskets are numbered and in nice shape. There are some great safari opportunities here, with some cool elevation changes.
Cons: We couldn't find any of the tees, though there are supposedly 3 tees for each hole. We played pretty much basket to basket, but I assume the tees make it shorter than how we played it. Hopefully if they use it for the school, they mark out some tees for the kids to use. It's unclear whether or not the course is actually open to the public, there are no trespassing signs posted, but there was nobody around to care when we played on a Sunday afternoon. There are really no trees in play other than around the 6th basket, which means you can get to all of the holes with any kind of shot you want.
Other Thoughts: I love to see school courses, it's a great way to expose kids to the sport, and a nice recreational activity for them. Depending on where the actual tees are, it seemed like this could be a great beginner course, with limited length and punishment for errant shots but some fun elevation. More experienced players won't find much to challenge them here unless they play some creative safari holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Educational setting

5+    1/3/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: Ziggy
Played: 242  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 1/19/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was basically designed by a local staff member to introduce golf to residential deaf students at the school. An introduction, not a competition or destination.

Elevation and what little rough was definitely put to use.

Great for safari and practice.
Cons: Yes, there are 3 set of tees for 6 baskets. Have to have a local guide to remotely find the tees. The tees r marked by colored bricks in the ground similar to http://www.dgcoursereview.com/course.php?id=3 in the old days.
Tees are not visible unless course is mowed.

Fundraisers need to be set in order to plant more trees and create more holes to increase the experience.

#5 basket has been pulled due to crack in foundation as of Sept. 2009.
Other Thoughts: The signage and law enforcement are basically a deterrant. They are nasty when they do find you. It should be considered private property due to a 24hr 5 days a week residential setting from Monday-Friday. Imagine you with a police record found on school grounds, double whammy. The course is on the far end of the campus and the majority of the campus overlooks what happens on that end so throw at your own risk.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 hopeful for the future

1    5/4/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice piece of land; good elevation to work with. A decent to good course may be able to exist here.
I hope they upgrade.
Nice DGA baskets, as opposed to the Quest AT Trapper Targets found at the other two courses near hear. I believe they are actually the blue ionized ones.
A couple of fall-a-way greens, a nice touch.
Cons: We played five holes here. Five baskets are all we found. We searched quite a bit for that 6th one; but no luck.
There are absolutely no signs for tees on this course anywhere. We may have played first three holes correctly. Who knows?, not enough play to on this course to let you know if you've found the correct tee or not. No tee pads.
Perhaps the scariest thing here; big signs near where presumably the first tee would be, say "absolutely no playing during school hours" and "no parking allowed". In other words, stressful in all regards. Especially with another reviewer pointing out that this course is in "one of the worst counties for law enforcement."
Other Thoughts: We played holes longer than the course length would indicate they should have been. If not for the "looking over your shoulder, for law enforcement coming to get you for parking at a school for the handicapped; and playing during school hours; (though there was literally no one else seen the whole time we were there....in other words, we weren't throwing on any students or anything); this course could have been kind of fun to at least safari disc.
Course notes seem to indicate that more baskets may be coming in the future. There certainly is the space; and nice,elevated space at that; with possible woods play in the area where the sixth basket presumably was; to make a decent; or, even a pretty good course; if dual tees with length become part of it.
For now though, safari is your only option. I would go on a weekend, to at least avoid the no play during school hours. (In general, I always support the no play during school hours, at school courses. However, on a road trip, sometimes you must do what you must do. When this happens, most school courses allow you to be in and out of the area rather quickly....and in some cases I've even been encouraged to play by someone from school staff. Here, I just found myself looking over my shoulder the entire time; while at the same time trying to search for missing ingredients of course. As you're wandering around looking lost; you feel to be even more a target for "the most horrible law enforcement anywhere!"
Seriously, come on a weekend; enjoy some safari disc to these nice baskets. Hopefully, in the future, things will improve greatly here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

5/25/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: Rawbrecht
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are in the area, take your friends here to learn how to play. Wide open shots, very easy. The only hole that you have a chance of losing a disc is hole 6, where I've found a couple.
Cons: Nothing special if you are an avid disc golfer. Don't make the trip here expecting a challenge. It's incredibly easy. Only 6 holes but quite a few alternate starting blocks. Held in one of the worst counties for law enforcement, be careful passing through.
Other Thoughts: It's fun, easy, and a great place to learn and teach the game. The course has gotten better over the past year or so and I can see it improving more, possibly and hopefully adding more baskets. There's room for growth.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center