Minneapolis (Plymouth), MN 
Plymouth Creek Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #11 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 149ft.   3 / 169ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Long Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good course

1    6/15/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Dfrolfer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course
Fun lengths
Hooks for the creek
Fun long par 5
Mix of shots
Cons: Busy
Left my pink ESP surge next to hole 9 or 10 for a few minutes and it was gone when I went back for it
Only 12 holes
Rained very hard before we left
Other Thoughts: Good course but very busy

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Looks alot Better now

5+    11/27/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: J Syrup
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course for Rec players and beginners. a good course to get experience doing short up shots. lately the course is being cleaned up and improved upon, lots of dead trees have been cut down and wood chipped so the course isnt all dirt any more, New benches and picnic tables have been remade by the Boy scouts, and new signs have been put on every hole and also signs showing where the next tee placement is. a vetern to the disc golf scene has been taking his free time to make a retaining wall on hole for by the basket to make it so discs dont get up and roll as bad, they still roll but not as badly. There use to be complaints about hole 8's basket being bad, it has now been replaced with a much nicer basket and is in a new place farther from the river, also there is a new retaining wall between the basket and the river making the river be a little wider and alot of the very muddy land that was there was dug up to make the retaining wall be level ground. hole 8 also has a new bridge incase you throw over the river towards the end of the hole. hole 9 has a stairs going from the tee pad onto the bridge along with a small run off the tee pad using rocks so your shoes dont get nearly as muddy if you step off. most of the stairs on the course have been filled in with gravel or wood chips also, this course is starting to look really nice.
Cons: Experienced players may find them selves using only a a couple discs, there are a variety of shots but i can make it through the course with a magnet since most of the shots are a RHBH anhyzer or a straight shot.
Other Thoughts: if you have a cannon you might wanna lay up on hole 8 instead of trying to make it to the bend otherwise you might be finding yourself wet

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/23/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a wooded area in a big, multi-use park. Luckily, all the other activities are well separated, so there shouldn't be any interference.
- Nearly all the holes here are in the woods in some way or another. A wide variety of lines present, with lots of gaps to hit. #5 is a tight downhill RHBH hyzer, #9 is an uphill hyzer from the short tee, and #10 is a little hyzer over a small ditch. Lots more RHFH or RHBH anny shots here; #2 is straight from the long tees with a right finish, #6 is a sharp uphill flick shot, #11 is a short uphill shot with the basket on the right. Also some straight shots, like #4, #9 long over a swampy area, and #12. Accuracy is very important on most holes.
- A few holes stand out here; #7 has an elevated tee that needs a flick or anny to get through a gap, with water long along the left hand side. #8 is the real big boy, from the longs. A straight, RHBH flex shot is needed to get through multiple gaps, to land on the fairway. It then bends right around the woods with nasty water all along the left hand side. At 671', it takes two really, really good shots to get a look at a 3, but it's doable.
- Two of the holes are out of the woods for the most part, but are still interesting. #1 is a slight downhill shot over a pool of water, and #10 is a small hyzer into a few trees. Still need to execute a line.
- Decent elevation changes on this course; there are some downhill shots on #1, #5, and #7, and uphill slopes on #2, #6, and #9. #7 is the only extreme one, but they are all noticeable for sure.
- Water hazards are present in multiple spots, and are definitely treacherous. #1's water is pretty much the whole fairway, #5 has water behind the basket, #7 has water long and left, and #8 has the creek along the left side for the second half of the hole. #9 also takes a shot over a swamp and through a gap.
- Nice big teepads, good baskets and signs. Some navigational signs help to get around. A few tricky spots, mostly between #5 and #7. Map helps. Very nice bridges and stairs too, where necessary.
Cons: - The biggest con at this course is some pretty short hole lengths, even from the long tees. Six of the holes, aka half of the holes, are at or under 222'. Definitely some dinky holes, overshooting is sometimes the main concern. Take out the 671' hole, and the average hole length drops to 231'.
- Course is pretty much dirt, and could probably get very muddy with some rain, and possibly flooded in some spots. (Except for some turf on a few holes!) Just something to think about on a rainy day.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a pretty fun wooded course that has a good mix of hole shapes and sizes, multiple teepads on eight holes, plenty of shorter shots but also a few tough long ones. Shorter holes aren't super easy either, there are some tricky lines. Good for beginners from the shorts, as long as they can avoid the water. Even advanced players will find some tricky shots as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun Challenge

2-4    11/1/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: buzzkid
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is a really nice, easy first hole. I use my 4S Wizard off the tee, other recommendations I have are using either a Buzzz or a Roc and just finesse the disc into the circle for an easy birdie.

Hole 2 Has a pretty tricky tee off at a moderate uphill angle. The basket is pretty straight off from the tee and just to the right of the fairway. I recommend a hyzer flip with a Buzzz or a Metor. Give it a fair amount of snap so it slides out right as it drops.

Hole 3 Is the first longer hole good for a stable fairway driver like a Teebird or a Stalker. Its an easy par for most rec players.

Hole 4 is a great ace run hole. Its all about placement of your shot when it comes to this hole.

Hole 5 is one of the trickier holes. I spike Hyzer this with an over stable mid like a hornet. Be careful of the stream just past the pin.

Hole 6 is an awesome uphill anhyzer shot. I grab my Buzzz here and just arc it out nice and high and give it some juice. Fore-handing works just as well on this hole.

Hole 7 is a really technical downhill shot with the basket off to the right. The best option is to grab something stable and forehand it.

Hole 8 is the signature hole. Shot placement is key and being proficient with your mids. I used a Roc for every shot on this hole simply because they land flat and don't really skip around too often. Stay within your playing ability and don't over think this one.

Hole 9 is a nice hole to catch your breath on with a nice gradual uphill shot. Perfect for a Buzzz.

Hole 10 is somewhat deceptive. If you are going for the ace, the best route is take the path on the left side of the big tree. I recommend only using putters on this hole because overshooting it is devastating.

Hole 11 is all awesome for both forehand and anhyzers. Use a nice stable mid whichever way you want to go about playing this hole, just don't overshoot it.

Hole 12 is an awesome way to finish out the course, nice longer hole that has plenty of different obstacles. You generally want to stay tight to the right side off of the tee and once it opens up you can really let loose.

This is a very challenging course that has plenty of elevation change and lots of really creative shots. You will use every disc in your bag in most cases which I love doing.
Cons: Sandy, really sandy. My new shoes were covered in dust after and it just felt nasty. My other issue is that there are no really wide open holes to bust out a big drive.
Other Thoughts: The only thing I would really like to see is some manicuring, maybe put in some mulch and some more stairs. Also, this is the only course I have seen with astro turf, so thats kinda cool. All in all, a super fun, challenging course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun recreational course

1    10/2/2011   1/11/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small wooded park. A couple holes bring some water into play, adding a little risk. Hole 8 plays 600' along a creek, every shot offers the tradeoff of going for distance and risking ending up in the water. The rest of the course is short, but minor hills and dense trees keep things interesting. There is a good mix of left and right turning shots, with enough trees to offer some punishment for errant shots. The concrete tees are in decent shape, and the baskets are ok. The signage is basic but plenty informative, and the course flow is intuitive with no navigation issues.
Cons: The course seems to get a ton of traffic, and it's taken it's toll. The fairways (other than the astroturf on 1 and 2) are very compacted, and the hilly areas are suffering some erosion issues. I really liked the long hole along the creek, but it felt very odd in combination with all the short holes. I would have liked a bit more length variety between the extremes. There was a lot of trash including broken bottles when I played, and locals said that was a pretty usual state of affairs, always unfortunate when that element of the disc golf population takes over.
Other Thoughts: I was happy to see a fun 12 hole course rather than a cramped 18 holer on this piece of land. Beginners will have a blast here, with very short short tees and mostly rec friendly long tees, combined with only limited punishment for missing your line. More experienced players aren't going to really be tested outside of hole 8, but it is a fun place to shape some putter and mid lines if you're willing to brave the crowds.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

2-4    5/5/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This a great course to work on you skill shots as the entire thing is played in the woods. Makes it great course to practice side arm and over hand shots.
Cons: The entire course is played in the woods. This never really allows you to step back and just let it rip.
Other Thoughts: Signs to let you know the par would be nice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Okay

5+    6/30/2011   10/28/2009
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is a nice wooded course with several 'average' length shots with several tees having multiple tees.

Every hole offers a couple of different lines to the basket while offering s risk versus reward on the long # 8 hole.

The course keeps you in the shade of the trees most of the round, which is nice, a hot summer's day.

It's a friendly design for newer players and for kids (other than the monster #8).
Cons: The biggest cons on this course is the lack of signage. Looks that most of the signs have been the victim of vandals...which is too bad.

The other con is the amount of trash littered throughout the course. There are some trash cans through the park but also a lot of trash...and it would be nice if the park and rec along with the players would do a better jobs of keeping it clean.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to the see the park and rec in Plymouth update the course it new signs and add an additional 6 holes to make the course an 18 hole course.

This is a course I like to get a round in at while visiting my family. I only travel to Minnesota about once every 18 to 24 months and have always enjoyed playing Plymouth Creek.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old school

5+    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 41.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wish I could rate it higher. (read cons).
Nice mix of wooded shots with different flight paths. Some elavation and the water is a fun hazard. Hole #8 was the first Par 5 in the metro I have heard. Love the beast of a hole.
Cons: This course used to be alot better. The punks out there have broken too many trees and branches. The water can be very much a hazard after a rain. Litter is BIG problem unless the awesome locals have been out before your round. Help em out and trash up!
Other Thoughts: Wish I could rate it higher. Very fun course, a little too fun, CROWDED.
This course is a flashback to where our sport came from. Small chunk of woods, carved out in a nice city park. Love it, but its also the demise of fun, free, overcrowded Frolf courses. Long live PC!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.