Disc Golf Store
Minneapolis (Plymouth), MN 
Plymouth Creek Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #4 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 174ft.   3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
great 12 holes

5+    7/12/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 77  Reviewed: 24
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: free. concrete pads, multiple teeboxs if you are playing with beginners. signs tell you distance and where the pin is located. 12 holes wrapped in the woods with a creek running though most holes. plastic poles laying around to fish out lost discs. (i did overflip my wasp on hole one and it went MIA on the right side of the bridge so if you find a old font blue wasp pm me). good use of the elevation they had. few ace runs that require good placement because there are so many trees around to knock your disc around.
Cons: creek. kind of crowded. bring bug spray. the two long holes could be miserable for beginners. accuracy is key here.
Other Thoughts: i like this course a lot. its always a stop for me when im driving up or down 169. fun 12 hole course. keep a good eye on your disc and youll be fine. the olny improvements i could see, would be to make this a full 18. otherwise very good for what they were given. and the no litter laying around was very nice on the eyes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

not too hard

2-4    6/11/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: Dr.feelgood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -A lot of narrow fairway shots.
-Good maximum distance drive opportunity on 8
-Has a descent mix of shots.
-Teepads are good.
- since your in the woods most of the time your partially shielded from the rain and wind
- easy to navigate
Cons: -Some holes are really easy
-good chance of getting wet on hole 8
- a lot of people there that don't know how to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: This could be a very easy or very difficult course depending on your precision with a midrange.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 104  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded course with a creek winding through. The tees are in excellent condition and have a good size to them, maybe even a little more than you would need on most of the holes.
Tee signs are fairly basic, but do the job. Plenty of shot shaping and accuracy is demanded on this course. The design of the course utilizes the elevation in the woods perfectly which also adds to the playing with your depth perception aspect of the course. Most of the holes are pretty short and can be played with just a midrange and putter. There are a couple of holes that you can kind of open up on, but accuracy is still demanded. You will need just about every shot in your bag out here as well. Super fun 12 hole course that plays fairly quick. Good warm up for some of the bigger courses in the area.
Cons: No real cons other than it could get pretty muddy after a good rain due to mostly dirt landscape in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Even though this course is only 12 holes, it is a very fun course. Could easily get two rounds in here in the same time it takes to get one in at some of the other courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

5+    4/3/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Deadbishop
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: redoing review
redoing review
redoing review
redoing review
redoing review
Cons: redoing review
redoing review
redoing review
redoing review
redoing review
Other Thoughts: redoing review
redoing review
redoing review
redoing review

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rec Course With Enviromental Concerns!

1    7/15/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starting with #1 throwing the hyser shot around the corner, across the little water hazard and to a green, ARTIFICAL GRASS GREEN. This is the first I've seen on a disc golf course. And then artifical grass starting off the first 100 feet or more of the second fairway. I thought the whole course was going to covered. But I found out otherwise and saw why. This is a major high impact course with lots of traffic. There are two pads for each hole. The pads for the longs (cough, cough, longs??????) are really extra long and nice concrete pads. I've seen so many pro-calibier courses which could use these pads. The short tees are a little smaller than standard. From the shorts, this plays as a Pitch & Putt. From the longs, it's a great Intermediate course. Many tee signs were missing. #'s 5, 10 and 11 were all fun little ACE runs. # 8 is pretty much a killer hole at 600' with the creek in play on your left side all the way. It could easily blow your round up.
Cons: I squeezed in a round just before dark and the course was still filled with players. I could imagine what it would be like at primetime.

I'd be mostly concerned with enviromental issues mainly ground compaction and erosion issues. I hope the disc golf community is willing to work with government agencies. The indoor/outdoor carpet is a good start.
Other Thoughts: This is truly a nice little course. 12 good holes is better than 18 holes squeezed in. That doesn't bother me a bit. What does bother me is the fact that the Parks Department has to put up a sign specifically aimed at the disc golfers pleading with them to stop abusing drugs, alcohol and to quit littering on this course. Players, you have to take some ownership here. Pack your litter out! Don't hesitate to pick something up and carry it to the nearest can. This course is a treasure that you don't want to lose.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/5/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: TopNord
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is extremely enjoyable. Every hole has something different about it in comparison to the others. Pin placements allow for natural trees to test ones ability.

On really hot days this is a great course to play as most of the holes have a canopy from the trees.
Cons: Only one con I could imagine would be bugs at times of the season.

12 holes

Water on a few holes, but wouldn't stop a discer from retrieving it with a stick or even getting in the shallow water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Morning . . . now throw over a raging river for throw #1

1    6/19/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) The design of this course is absolutely top notch . . . it is clear Timmy Gill knows what he is doing up in the Twin Cities because I have now played almost all of the course in the metro area and this is by far the most progressive dis golf scene I have ever seen in my cross country travels. I look forward to my effort to have this sort of impact on the SE WI scene.

2) Awesome variety on this course both in terrain as well as the obstacles.

3) Challenge is ever present even though there are duecable holes.

4) Lots of different lines needed to play well on this course.

5) Artificial turf is used on the #1 green, as well as the first 150' of the second fairway. I have only seen that in a couple places and that certainly takes away the erosion impact of the course on the environment.

6) The wooded holes are fairly clean . . . not a lot of dead wood laying around, minimal garbage on the course . . . just overall a well maintained wooded section of the course . . . at least in comparison to some I have seen.

7) Signs on most holes have Par, Hole #, Distance, and Par. Diagrams are minimal but they are present to show direction of hole basically.

8) Benches, picnic tables in a couple spots, and garbage cans are a nice tough to a course I assume gets a lot of play . . .

9) Lots of directionals on this course to move you to the next tee.

10) Infrastructure is pretty solid with decent bridges, timber stairs, astroturf, etc etc etc . . . something you rarely see on disc golf courses.

11) Wooded emphasis along with one prarietype holes (although it was unmowed), and a water shot or two . . .my type of course.

12) Dual conrete tees are always appreciated and these were in good shape.

13) Hole #8 is quite possibly the most sadistic difficult hole I have ever played. It is a double dogless with a tight gap off the tee, a stream rolling by on the left with a hardpan fairway that will shoot all shots left towards the water. I would put this hole as quite possibly one of the best holes I have played. I took a 7 with a great upshot to park it along the creek and make the putt . . . if only they could do a little beach out in the stream like at Winthrop . . . but that would lead to more erosion and environmental impact.
Cons: 1) Erosion, compaction, and other environmental impacts are pretty rough on this course.

2) Muddy after rain because there is absolutely no cover on the compacted fairways in the woods.

3) Large garbage cans will defintely keep enough garbage to keep the course clean as long as the players throw stuff away rather than on the ground.

4) Logs are used in multiple places to makr fairways or walkpaths between holes . . . I just love this minor detail of a course

5) I can tell this is one of the most played courses in the area. It is in the WE$T $IDE of town so I am sure there are a lot of disc golfing high schoolers. It would be busy most days but it was my second course on the day and I arrived by about 7:00 AM so I didnt have to deal with it, but I am sure it is an issue.

6) Dangerous in a couple spots like #7 throwing pretty near the #8 tee. Skips are always a possibility on this course because of the hard compacted soils.
Other Thoughts: This course is so close to a 4 it sickens me I cannot give it that rating. While the layout, the design, the holes, the variety, the challenge and even the fun factor are top notch . . . the maintenance and the serious environmental impacts the course is having on the creek and downstream areas has to be extreme. I know this isn't something most disc golfers will notice or pay attention too . . . or possibly even care about. I however, care about the sustainability of courses and not losing great courses because one tree hugger or environmentalist decides to raise a stink about the impact these courses have on the environment. That is why I want to be involved in disc golf course design, because I might be able to catch these things and design and install apporopriately to avoid this type of scenario. It won't always be avoidable, but measures can be taken to minimize the impact. I like what they did with the astroturf on #1 green and #2 fairway, but to really reduce the impact this course will have on the environment, astroturf should line a few hundred feet of the 700' monster #8. I won't preach any longer, but this is quite possibly one of the worst cases I have ever seen for the impact our game has on the environment.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 chopping trees

2-4    4/20/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: chad-o
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good mix of long and short shots. Including a beast of an right curve on eight. It is good for people starting out to learn how to throw tight quarter shots, but not to intimidating
Cons: The area where number eight is at is very muddy and close to water the hole length of the 500 and some odd foot shot. Wood chips or some rocks wood help alot.
Other Thoughts: one of my go to courses, sometimes a little busy on the weekends

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/14/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really enjoy this course, nice challenge, lots of trees, in strategic spots, uses a lot of different shots, hole 8 is fun but hard.
Cons: Lots of garbage at spots, creek is nasty, smells pretty bad at times. can be very busy.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if you are nearby, not sure it is worth a long drive to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Plymouth Creek

2-4    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: JSL5000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course. There are a ton of trees here and hole 8 is a beast! (600+ ft dogleg right throught trees with the creek on your left)

Very woody. You are pretty much in the woods the whole time. It's a cool setting!

Water is a factor on several holes.

You will probably have to use some shots you may not use often. I throw a lot of thumbers here to get up over stuff and through really tight trees. Rollers might work well here, but beware of the water.

Signage is very good. It might take a little searching/asking your first time through, but there are signs pointing to the long and short tees. Most teeboxes have signs showing the distance and the direction towards the basket. Very nice.

Dual concrete teeboxes and the baskets are nice.

Not much litter here. There are garbage cans and bags hung up near pretty much every hole. Much appreciated.

Quite a bit of elevation change. There are some nice downhill and uphill shots and decent elevation change throughout.
Cons: Trees can pretty much kill your round. I could see people getting frustrated here.

The creek can also be a bear. I swear my discs love to roll here, and right toward the creek.

Seems to get pretty busy during prime time.

You could easily lose a disc in the creek, or possibly in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course, but anyone should enjoy themselves here, as long as you don't mind hitting some trees during your hike through the woods.

The "floor" of the woods, for the most part, is dirt, so you can pretty easily see where your disc ended up. I guess this is mainly due to all the trees blocking the sunlight.

It's laid out well and has good signage, which should help the first-timer. I went solo and figured it out with no problems. (that's saying something..)

Definitely recommended if you're looking for a challenging alternative to more wide open courses!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.