Minneapolis (Plymouth), MN 
Plymouth Creek Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #1 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun recreational course

1    10/2/2011   1/11/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small wooded park. A couple holes bring some water into play, adding a little risk. Hole 8 plays 600' along a creek, every shot offers the tradeoff of going for distance and risking ending up in the water. The rest of the course is short, but minor hills and dense trees keep things interesting. There is a good mix of left and right turning shots, with enough trees to offer some punishment for errant shots. The concrete tees are in decent shape, and the baskets are ok. The signage is basic but plenty informative, and the course flow is intuitive with no navigation issues.
Cons: The course seems to get a ton of traffic, and it's taken it's toll. The fairways (other than the astroturf on 1 and 2) are very compacted, and the hilly areas are suffering some erosion issues. I really liked the long hole along the creek, but it felt very odd in combination with all the short holes. I would have liked a bit more length variety between the extremes. There was a lot of trash including broken bottles when I played, and locals said that was a pretty usual state of affairs, always unfortunate when that element of the disc golf population takes over.
Other Thoughts: I was happy to see a fun 12 hole course rather than a cramped 18 holer on this piece of land. Beginners will have a blast here, with very short short tees and mostly rec friendly long tees, combined with only limited punishment for missing your line. More experienced players aren't going to really be tested outside of hole 8, but it is a fun place to shape some putter and mid lines if you're willing to brave the crowds.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: Barconcern
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 9/15/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A whole variety of hole types.
-All holes have a cement tee.
-90% in the shade, great for hot sunny summer days.
-Actual danger holes.
-Water fountain at 'Warming Hut'.
-Benches and garbage's all around.
-(Update, they added new rocks and touched up some holes as of this summer[2011])
Cons: -Expect kids fooling around in the afternoon, and adults that SERIOUSLY take there time in the early afternoon. (Annoying Traffic)
-Parking shared by multiple soccer and baseball fields.
-Stupid teens destroy everything, from the fun of the game, to physical things like the trees, and leaving litter everywhere... some of the tee's even got stolen a five'ish years back.
-If you haven't been here in awhile, look before you throw, they changed the tee locations.
-Kids toss their trash anywhere they please, and the trash bins are emptied infrequently.
-All the low level plant life is gone, making some of the tee-to-hole play hard for anyone new to the course.
-Depending on the weeks weather, the course can be unplayable; flooded, muddy, freakishly buggy.
Other Thoughts: -This Place Rocks!!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, Trees and Trees

5+    7/28/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: MickeyC's
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of throws. Nice to be in the woods. Not a course where you drive your disc every throw. Actual tees and nice baskets. Overall enjoyable course that I play at least twice a week
Cons: Do not come here within 3 days after a storm as the stream's water level will raise and carry your disc downstream, Hole 3 will have a pond around it that you can't see until after you tee off, Hole 5 will be in the stream, the tee for Hole 9 will be under water, and Hole 8 becomes much more enjoyable if any of your discs fade to the left as they will end up in the creek. Lots of stoners and drinking. Busy during afternoon after 3pm.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course worth the drive. The only real problem is after it rains a lot it becomes a lot less enjoyable. Holes 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 11 could use an anhyzer shot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rec Course With Enviromental Concerns!

1    7/15/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starting with #1 throwing the hyser shot around the corner, across the little water hazard and to a green, ARTIFICAL GRASS GREEN. This is the first I've seen on a disc golf course. And then artifical grass starting off the first 100 feet or more of the second fairway. I thought the whole course was going to covered. But I found out otherwise and saw why. This is a major high impact course with lots of traffic. There are two pads for each hole. The pads for the longs (cough, cough, longs??????) are really extra long and nice concrete pads. I've seen so many pro-calibier courses which could use these pads. The short tees are a little smaller than standard. From the shorts, this plays as a Pitch & Putt. From the longs, it's a great Intermediate course. Many tee signs were missing. #'s 5, 10 and 11 were all fun little ACE runs. # 8 is pretty much a killer hole at 600' with the creek in play on your left side all the way. It could easily blow your round up.
Cons: I squeezed in a round just before dark and the course was still filled with players. I could imagine what it would be like at primetime.

I'd be mostly concerned with enviromental issues mainly ground compaction and erosion issues. I hope the disc golf community is willing to work with government agencies. The indoor/outdoor carpet is a good start.
Other Thoughts: This is truly a nice little course. 12 good holes is better than 18 holes squeezed in. That doesn't bother me a bit. What does bother me is the fact that the Parks Department has to put up a sign specifically aimed at the disc golfers pleading with them to stop abusing drugs, alcohol and to quit littering on this course. Players, you have to take some ownership here. Pack your litter out! Don't hesitate to pick something up and carry it to the nearest can. This course is a treasure that you don't want to lose.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/5/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: TopNord
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is extremely enjoyable. Every hole has something different about it in comparison to the others. Pin placements allow for natural trees to test ones ability.

On really hot days this is a great course to play as most of the holes have a canopy from the trees.
Cons: Only one con I could imagine would be bugs at times of the season.

12 holes

Water on a few holes, but wouldn't stop a discer from retrieving it with a stick or even getting in the shallow water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Morning . . . now throw over a raging river for throw #1

1    6/19/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) The design of this course is absolutely top notch . . . it is clear Timmy Gill knows what he is doing up in the Twin Cities because I have now played almost all of the course in the metro area and this is by far the most progressive dis golf scene I have ever seen in my cross country travels. I look forward to my effort to have this sort of impact on the SE WI scene.

2) Awesome variety on this course both in terrain as well as the obstacles.

3) Challenge is ever present even though there are duecable holes.

4) Lots of different lines needed to play well on this course.

5) Artificial turf is used on the #1 green, as well as the first 150' of the second fairway. I have only seen that in a couple places and that certainly takes away the erosion impact of the course on the environment.

6) The wooded holes are fairly clean . . . not a lot of dead wood laying around, minimal garbage on the course . . . just overall a well maintained wooded section of the course . . . at least in comparison to some I have seen.

7) Signs on most holes have Par, Hole #, Distance, and Par. Diagrams are minimal but they are present to show direction of hole basically.

8) Benches, picnic tables in a couple spots, and garbage cans are a nice tough to a course I assume gets a lot of play . . .

9) Lots of directionals on this course to move you to the next tee.

10) Infrastructure is pretty solid with decent bridges, timber stairs, astroturf, etc etc etc . . . something you rarely see on disc golf courses.

11) Wooded emphasis along with one prarietype holes (although it was unmowed), and a water shot or two . . .my type of course.

12) Dual conrete tees are always appreciated and these were in good shape.

13) Hole #8 is quite possibly the most sadistic difficult hole I have ever played. It is a double dogless with a tight gap off the tee, a stream rolling by on the left with a hardpan fairway that will shoot all shots left towards the water. I would put this hole as quite possibly one of the best holes I have played. I took a 7 with a great upshot to park it along the creek and make the putt . . . if only they could do a little beach out in the stream like at Winthrop . . . but that would lead to more erosion and environmental impact.
Cons: 1) Erosion, compaction, and other environmental impacts are pretty rough on this course.

2) Muddy after rain because there is absolutely no cover on the compacted fairways in the woods.

3) Large garbage cans will defintely keep enough garbage to keep the course clean as long as the players throw stuff away rather than on the ground.

4) Logs are used in multiple places to makr fairways or walkpaths between holes . . . I just love this minor detail of a course

5) I can tell this is one of the most played courses in the area. It is in the WE$T $IDE of town so I am sure there are a lot of disc golfing high schoolers. It would be busy most days but it was my second course on the day and I arrived by about 7:00 AM so I didnt have to deal with it, but I am sure it is an issue.

6) Dangerous in a couple spots like #7 throwing pretty near the #8 tee. Skips are always a possibility on this course because of the hard compacted soils.
Other Thoughts: This course is so close to a 4 it sickens me I cannot give it that rating. While the layout, the design, the holes, the variety, the challenge and even the fun factor are top notch . . . the maintenance and the serious environmental impacts the course is having on the creek and downstream areas has to be extreme. I know this isn't something most disc golfers will notice or pay attention too . . . or possibly even care about. I however, care about the sustainability of courses and not losing great courses because one tree hugger or environmentalist decides to raise a stink about the impact these courses have on the environment. That is why I want to be involved in disc golf course design, because I might be able to catch these things and design and install apporopriately to avoid this type of scenario. It won't always be avoidable, but measures can be taken to minimize the impact. I like what they did with the astroturf on #1 green and #2 fairway, but to really reduce the impact this course will have on the environment, astroturf should line a few hundred feet of the 700' monster #8. I won't preach any longer, but this is quite possibly one of the worst cases I have ever seen for the impact our game has on the environment.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  leaves are evil

1    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: crackheadzack
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: all the leaves are turning colors and they've really done alot of work to hole 1 adding even more rock piles to block your perfect line.
Cons: alot of leaf litter on the forrest floor makes finding discs a slight challenge

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love the course but...

5+    6/20/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Every hole but one is very par-able and fun
-Nice location
-Nice tee pads
-Maintained and cared for (for the most part)
-Twelve holes
-Pretty much has a hole for every shot in the book.
Cons: -The crowd
-Hole number eight
-The trash and "graffiti" problem
-Loud aggressive teens
-The course is extremely muddy after rain and hole nine frequently floods
-TREES TREES TREES
Other Thoughts: This course should be a lot better than it is. I have yet to go a time without some group of TEN 16 year olds taking their time and insiting on not letting you play through. Also, the trash here is horrible and there have been some very cheap and ugly renovations made to the course as of recent. Basically, if you want an almost 100% woods course and a steady challenge (for begginners) this is worth driving to. If you hate rediculous water holes, loud cocky teenagers, garbage, and trees, this may be worth skipping over.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

2-4    5/5/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This a great course to work on you skill shots as the entire thing is played in the woods. Makes it great course to practice side arm and over hand shots.
Cons: The entire course is played in the woods. This never really allows you to step back and just let it rip.
Other Thoughts: Signs to let you know the par would be nice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees!

5+    9/16/2009   5/16/2010
Review By: Spiky
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like hazards, I want to be challenged with trees, water, etc. rather than just distance. If you don't, well...

The first hole looks pretty cool, with a tree perfectly situated to knock your disc right into the creek when you thought you had perfectly overthrown the water. (although it is now too short, good for shooting for aces, I guess) They've been doing landscaping on #1. Not sure why, but there are steps built in, now. (2011 update) But not where they really needed steps. It looks like they are terracing it for decoration. Rather odd.

And after that it is pretty much trees. Some nice variety for left or right and a few hidden pins. Not too many issues where a disc has a good chance to roll away from the pin, even though you might expect that from the hilly terrain.

Very much fun for technical players that are prepared to line up shots and use different discs. And AIM, heh!

The creek is fairly clean, so fetching errant discs is not horrible.
Cons: A couple of the tee pads are breaking away from ground erosion underneath and/or end with dropoffs. Makes running off them when throwing rather suicidal, so you should know how to stop.

If you don't like hazards like 7000 trees, then that would be a big con.
Other Thoughts: Much better in the current incarnation, which has been here many years. If you don't like the trees, just be glad it isn't like the original with high grasses challenging almost every hole. It took away discs and returned ticks as payment.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.