Minneapolis (Plymouth), MN
Plymouth Creek Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #8 (Taken 7/2012)
5 / 383ft.   5 / 671ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Plymouth Creek

2-4    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: JSL5000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course. There are a ton of trees here and hole 8 is a beast! (600+ ft dogleg right throught trees with the creek on your left)

Very woody. You are pretty much in the woods the whole time. It's a cool setting!

Water is a factor on several holes.

You will probably have to use some shots you may not use often. I throw a lot of thumbers here to get up over stuff and through really tight trees. Rollers might work well here, but beware of the water.

Signage is very good. It might take a little searching/asking your first time through, but there are signs pointing to the long and short tees. Most teeboxes have signs showing the distance and the direction towards the basket. Very nice.

Dual concrete teeboxes and the baskets are nice.

Not much litter here. There are garbage cans and bags hung up near pretty much every hole. Much appreciated.

Quite a bit of elevation change. There are some nice downhill and uphill shots and decent elevation change throughout.
Cons: Trees can pretty much kill your round. I could see people getting frustrated here.

The creek can also be a bear. I swear my discs love to roll here, and right toward the creek.

Seems to get pretty busy during prime time.

You could easily lose a disc in the creek, or possibly in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course, but anyone should enjoy themselves here, as long as you don't mind hitting some trees during your hike through the woods.

The "floor" of the woods, for the most part, is dirt, so you can pretty easily see where your disc ended up. I guess this is mainly due to all the trees blocking the sunlight.

It's laid out well and has good signage, which should help the first-timer. I went solo and figured it out with no problems. (that's saying something..)

Definitely recommended if you're looking for a challenging alternative to more wide open courses!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Test Your Accuracy at Plymoth Creek

5+    5/16/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Moptop88
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very scenic woods, very private feeling
-Will improve your accuracy significantly
-Variety of challenges and shots (requires both forehand and backhand shots to keep up)
-Dual concrete tee boxes
Cons: -The fact that there are so many trees can make your experience rather demoralizing, I frequently get frustrated to the point of wanting to give up.
Other Thoughts: All in all, the course is remarkable, you can gripe about how the abundance of trees ruins your score, but played frequently enough, those trees are going to make you a better player.
As I said, this course demands you throw both forehand and backhand, as well as your setup and placement.

My Recommendation: Bring a stress ball!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Classic woods course

5+    7/26/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts over a creek and between some trees and that really sets the tone for the whole round.

After the first hole, which is pretty open, you head into the woods proper. Hole 2 is actually one of my favorites. A slight uphill shot after which the trees open up a bit ending in a slight anhyzer to the basket (285 ft). It highlights how well though out many of the holes are. Not letting only the trees dictate what shape is required they also use the terrian to good effect and later on a stream to form OB.

There are multiple teepads with pretty good signage. The flow is sensible in most areas. Parking is great.

Later on (hole 8) the creek starts to play a major role in defining the fairway but the holes still are more than the sum of thier parts. On Hole 8 I suppose a 3 is possible and maybe a 2 with an amazing putt but a 5 is likely and I am sure many people shoot higher than that. Normally, giving the scoring range, you might think it is just do to the luck of the hole, it is actually is just because of the smart design. It seperates people that just throw from people that are making shots.

Cons: This park is heavily used. I have never been there when there isn't a line. The fairways are worn and the garbage is not confined to the cans. Usually I wouldn't include this as a con of the course because it doesn't really affect the play, but in this case it does.


Other Thoughts: There is a great open multi use field across the street from hole 1. I have used it several times to practice shots or to teach people shots. It is rare to have such a nice space to air it out.

12 holes in a very busy course makes it hard to justify driving there over the other parks in the area. It is well designed enough that I make a point of it a few times a year.

If this park got some love and a few extra holes it could easily move up to 4 stars.


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/14/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right off the first tee, you throw over a creek which sets the tone for this course. The course is based around the creek, so it keeps popping up.
There is a good mix of heavily wooded and lightly wooded holes as well as a few open holes. There is a good variety in distance as well, with number 8 being 612 feet.
An ok course for beginners to go to, I remember playing here after only a few months of playing and thinking wow this course is really fun, even though I'm getting dominated.
Cons: There are only 12 holes when it seems like there could be space for more. Other than that, the only con is that you could damage a disc with all the trees everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course for players of all skill levels.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dense Woods Make Fun Challenge

1    7/19/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual cement tees.
-Great signs, even when you can't see the basket you know where it is.
-Heavy woods make interesting and unique challenge.
-Requires all types of shots to navigate course successfully.
-Each hole is unique compared to other holes on course. Is not repetitive at all.
-Although woods are thick the traffic through there is heavy so losing a disc isnt a problem as long as you keep away from the water.
Cons: -Dirty stream type thing that is very muddy and polluted so if you throw a disc in there its gross.
-Appeared to be one of the busier parks in the area.
-It was a little dirty but other than that and the business i have no other complaints about this course.
Other Thoughts: Worth a stop for sure if you are in the twin cities area!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun wooded course with elevation

5+    11/23/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: tom04
Played: 59  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: requires you to use forehand, backhand, and overhand shots

great course to work on accuracy

nice teepads

great elevation change

tee signs that say the distance and angle to the basket
Cons: all in the woods

trees everywhere

requires a bit of luck

discs can sure take a beating


Other Thoughts: nice course for all the designer had to work with

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 8 on hole 8

1    10/19/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: jdmbigsky
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: super nice layout, directions to next tee. challenging tee shots
Cons: super leafy in late fall, so much that your disc can get buried under them. Hole 8 is hard.
Other Thoughts: overall, a very nice MN course. Would play again in summer in a heartbeat. Number 8 ruined my score.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Plymouth Creek Review

7/3/2007   6/7/2008
Review By: Ultraplop
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quite a few challenges and interesting layouts. Hole #8 and me have a love/hate relationship. I love the challenge, but usually end up cursing it after it destroys my score.
Cons: The entire course is in the woods just about.

Very busy park. It can be so busy that I often choose to skip this course.

On top of the busyness, I have encountered hikers and people just wandering around for no reason several times, which jams things up even more.
Other Thoughts: The course was redesigned a few years back and used to be a lot better in my opinion.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Follow that creek

1    6/1/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: andyman
Played: 145  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has dual concrete tees with signs at the long tees (didn't look to see if there were any at the short tees)

Elevation changes on most holes

Many trees to throw through/around. Will test your placement.
Cons: There are some trash bins on the course, but the trash never seems to find them. Lots of garbage piled up at some of the tee pads.

The bugs can also be thick while walking in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very fun course to play.

There is a good mix of distance on this course. Hole #8 will definately challenge you. It is over 600' long with a sharp dogleg that follows the creek.

The creek comes into play on many of the holes as well.

If you don't like to throw through trees, this might not be the course for you. Not too many wide open shots.

Playground and ball fields across from parking lot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.