Minneapolis (Plymouth), MN 
Plymouth Creek Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #1 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Plymouth Creek

1    3/28/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Leeeclark
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 33.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is very technical almost plays like a game of chess. Its a very condensed course so playing it several times is easy to do. Requires you to use the full potential of several discs' to really benefit. Be sure to bring an anhyzer (most holes on this course will require your flight path to fade to the right)
Cons: Tooo many people, Too many trees, Too Muddy, Too small. (did I say too many people) there was a line of 3 groups waiting to Tee-Off when I left, and a group on every hole, But, this was at 1400 on a beautiful Sunday afternoon,so, Im sure it depends on when you play
Other Thoughts: You will not be able to rely on pure power of your throw and you will really need to rely on specific disk's to get the most out of your round. Bring a towel to wipe off your Disc in case it goes in the creek, course was pretty muddy in spots.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

5+    11/15/2009   1/15/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 160  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With a creek running through the middle of the course in coming into play on several of the holes this course at 12 holes is perfect for the land. They could've crammed 18 holes in here but instead they put in 12 quality well designed and challenging holes. Played through a mature forest with lots of elevation change. Fairways are generally tight and demand accuracy and placement over distance. The short holes are not easy as they have some of the hardest to navigate fairways.
Hole 8 could probably be considered the signature hole. Its about a 600ft dogleg right with the creek running along its left side. This hole can easily become a round killer.
Holes 1 and 10-12 have larger fairways were the trees dont come into play as much. 2-9 are all within the woods with tight fairways and trees to combat. Straight shots and anhyzers/forehands are a must to do well.
Cons: None. Fantastic use of the land available.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite things about Twin Cities disc golf is that they dont try to jam in as many holes as they can. Quality over quantity seems to be their motto.
All from Pro tees:
#1 - A straight shot over the creek that is fairly open with a large tree to the right. Basket is slightly downhill and has woods along the leftside of the green.
#2 - A slight anhyzer shot over a small hill and then back down the otherside. Fairway slowly tightens up as you progress into the woods. The basket is protected by seveal thin trees. Knock downs are common.
#3 - A straight shot into the woods. The fairway tightens down quickly and the ceiling drops about halfway down into a tunnel shot. The green is lined with with trees.
#4 - A short hole threw a very tight straight fairway. I'd say its like 3-5' wide at one point. The trees are very unforgiving. The basket is ever -so-slightly uphill. Along the right side of the basket the hill dips down and rolls can be common.
#5 - Is a short hyzer thru a tight fairway with many trees protecting the route to the basket. A gentle skip shot seems to work best. About 5' behind the basket is the creek.
#6 - Is a uphill slight anhyzer. The fairway is lined with trees on both sides. The right side is fairly tight. The green is open and on a slight pitch.
#7 - Is a tight downhill through a mess of trees. The fairway is kind of a J-shape but there is some "lucky" routes that give you a straight run. Basket is surrounded by several trees. (favorite)
#8 - This is the signature hole. The creek runs along the whole left side. The best way to describe this fairway for the 600' beast is an "s" shape that leads into a dogleg right. Trees line the length of the fairway. After the dogleg the leftside opens up. From the tee the fairway drops down and then raises back up about halfway . The fairway is pitched towards the creek. (best designed)
#9 - Is a straight shot up the hill thru a 15' wide gap about halfway. The basket is protected by a few large trees.
#10 - Is a short shot across the draw leading to the creek. One large tree directly in front of the basket is really the only contention. The right side is wide open and the left side is lined with trees.
#11 - A gentle anhyzer on top of a small domey hill. Fairway is surrounded with trees but none that really prove a factor. Waht you would call an open hole in the woods.
#12 - A long straight shot down a fairway that gradually opens up. The leftside is lined with trees and just past the thin line of trees is the creek. Along the right there are a few trees that can knock down your throw if you flex it too much. The basket is protected by 2 random mounds of dirt ( i assume the leftovers from the rest of the park construction) . A low shot is bound to hit one of the mounds. Directly behind the basket is some thick rough in the woods.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/30/2011   10/28/2009
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 35.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is a nice wooded course with several 'average' length shots with several tees having multiple tees.

Every hole offers a couple of different lines to the basket while offering s risk versus reward on the long # 8 hole.

The course keeps you in the shade of the trees most of the round, which is nice, a hot summer's day.

It's a friendly design for newer players and for kids (other than the monster #8).
Cons: The biggest cons on this course is the lack of signage. Looks that most of the signs have been the victim of vandals...which is too bad.

The other con is the amount of trash littered throughout the course. There are some trash cans through the park but also a lot of trash...and it would be nice if the park and rec along with the players would do a better jobs of keeping it clean.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to the see the park and rec in Plymouth update the course it new signs and add an additional 6 holes to make the course an 18 hole course.

This is a course I like to get a round in at while visiting my family. I only travel to Minnesota about once every 18 to 24 months and have always enjoyed playing Plymouth Creek.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old school

5+    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 42.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wish I could rate it higher. (read cons).
Nice mix of wooded shots with different flight paths. Some elavation and the water is a fun hazard. Hole #8 was the first Par 5 in the metro I have heard. Love the beast of a hole.
Cons: This course used to be alot better. The punks out there have broken too many trees and branches. The water can be very much a hazard after a rain. Litter is BIG problem unless the awesome locals have been out before your round. Help em out and trash up!
Other Thoughts: Wish I could rate it higher. Very fun course, a little too fun, CROWDED.
This course is a flashback to where our sport came from. Small chunk of woods, carved out in a nice city park. Love it, but its also the demise of fun, free, overcrowded Frolf courses. Long live PC!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/14/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 125  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really enjoy this course, nice challenge, lots of trees, in strategic spots, uses a lot of different shots, hole 8 is fun but hard.
Cons: Lots of garbage at spots, creek is nasty, smells pretty bad at times. can be very busy.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if you are nearby, not sure it is worth a long drive to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Plymouth Creek

2-4    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: JSL5000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course. There are a ton of trees here and hole 8 is a beast! (600+ ft dogleg right throught trees with the creek on your left)

Very woody. You are pretty much in the woods the whole time. It's a cool setting!

Water is a factor on several holes.

You will probably have to use some shots you may not use often. I throw a lot of thumbers here to get up over stuff and through really tight trees. Rollers might work well here, but beware of the water.

Signage is very good. It might take a little searching/asking your first time through, but there are signs pointing to the long and short tees. Most teeboxes have signs showing the distance and the direction towards the basket. Very nice.

Dual concrete teeboxes and the baskets are nice.

Not much litter here. There are garbage cans and bags hung up near pretty much every hole. Much appreciated.

Quite a bit of elevation change. There are some nice downhill and uphill shots and decent elevation change throughout.
Cons: Trees can pretty much kill your round. I could see people getting frustrated here.

The creek can also be a bear. I swear my discs love to roll here, and right toward the creek.

Seems to get pretty busy during prime time.

You could easily lose a disc in the creek, or possibly in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course, but anyone should enjoy themselves here, as long as you don't mind hitting some trees during your hike through the woods.

The "floor" of the woods, for the most part, is dirt, so you can pretty easily see where your disc ended up. I guess this is mainly due to all the trees blocking the sunlight.

It's laid out well and has good signage, which should help the first-timer. I went solo and figured it out with no problems. (that's saying something..)

Definitely recommended if you're looking for a challenging alternative to more wide open courses!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Test Your Accuracy at Plymoth Creek

5+    5/16/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Moptop88
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very scenic woods, very private feeling
-Will improve your accuracy significantly
-Variety of challenges and shots (requires both forehand and backhand shots to keep up)
-Dual concrete tee boxes
Cons: -The fact that there are so many trees can make your experience rather demoralizing, I frequently get frustrated to the point of wanting to give up.
Other Thoughts: All in all, the course is remarkable, you can gripe about how the abundance of trees ruins your score, but played frequently enough, those trees are going to make you a better player.
As I said, this course demands you throw both forehand and backhand, as well as your setup and placement.

My Recommendation: Bring a stress ball!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Classic woods course

5+    7/26/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 85  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 29.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts over a creek and between some trees and that really sets the tone for the whole round.

After the first hole, which is pretty open, you head into the woods proper. Hole 2 is actually one of my favorites. A slight uphill shot after which the trees open up a bit ending in a slight anhyzer to the basket (285 ft). It highlights how well though out many of the holes are. Not letting only the trees dictate what shape is required they also use the terrian to good effect and later on a stream to form OB.

There are multiple teepads with pretty good signage. The flow is sensible in most areas. Parking is great.

Later on (hole 8) the creek starts to play a major role in defining the fairway but the holes still are more than the sum of thier parts. On Hole 8 I suppose a 3 is possible and maybe a 2 with an amazing putt but a 5 is likely and I am sure many people shoot higher than that. Normally, giving the scoring range, you might think it is just do to the luck of the hole, it is actually is just because of the smart design. It seperates people that just throw from people that are making shots.

Cons: This park is heavily used. I have never been there when there isn't a line. The fairways are worn and the garbage is not confined to the cans. Usually I wouldn't include this as a con of the course because it doesn't really affect the play, but in this case it does.

Other Thoughts: There is a great open multi use field across the street from hole 1. I have used it several times to practice shots or to teach people shots. It is rare to have such a nice space to air it out.

12 holes in a very busy course makes it hard to justify driving there over the other parks in the area. It is well designed enough that I make a point of it a few times a year.

If this park got some love and a few extra holes it could easily move up to 4 stars.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/14/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right off the first tee, you throw over a creek which sets the tone for this course. The course is based around the creek, so it keeps popping up.
There is a good mix of heavily wooded and lightly wooded holes as well as a few open holes. There is a good variety in distance as well, with number 8 being 612 feet.
An ok course for beginners to go to, I remember playing here after only a few months of playing and thinking wow this course is really fun, even though I'm getting dominated.
Cons: There are only 12 holes when it seems like there could be space for more. Other than that, the only con is that you could damage a disc with all the trees everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course for players of all skill levels.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dense Woods Make Fun Challenge

1    7/19/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 358  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual cement tees.
-Great signs, even when you can't see the basket you know where it is.
-Heavy woods make interesting and unique challenge.
-Requires all types of shots to navigate course successfully.
-Each hole is unique compared to other holes on course. Is not repetitive at all.
-Although woods are thick the traffic through there is heavy so losing a disc isnt a problem as long as you keep away from the water.
Cons: -Dirty stream type thing that is very muddy and polluted so if you throw a disc in there its gross.
-Appeared to be one of the busier parks in the area. You may have to wait on some tees.
-It was a little dirty but other than that and the busyness I have no other complaints about this course.
Other Thoughts: -Worth a stop for sure if you are in the twin cities area!
-This course has a high fun factor for me. It has some tight woods, ace runs, and elevation.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.