Minneapolis (Plymouth), MN 
Plymouth Creek Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Long Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Plymouth

2-4    6/24/2013   6/24/2015
Review By: Bpaulsen1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: -Good wooded areas.
-Flows well.
-Pins/Baskets are challenging.
Cons: -Can get a bit crowded.
-Some areas are a little too wooded for some holes that are long and maybe could have been made shorter for that purpose.


5+    5/14/2015   5/29/2015
Review By: JTRACY
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first course I ever played a few years ago and was my only course as I got into this game. It has a good flow and the layout uses the available space wisely without much overlap.
The course is very popular and brings in a lot of new players. It is also a free to play course so don't be surprised if you see large search parties at a few holes and if you are the type who likes to meet locals bring a pack of cigs (even if you don't smoke) the locals are all broke but friendly.
I honestly don't play this course as much anymore (not enough grip n rip holes) however it has its memorable holes. #1 over the river great start to the course #4 tunnel shot couldn't figure it out when I was a newb threw a putter problem solved #5 hook with river 10 ft past (my first ace). #7 The Gatekeeper awesome downhill tunnel this was the reason I became a forehand player. #12 the best bomber in the course this used to be a danger hole with a nasty swamp but there are 2 hills where the swamp used to be now only the river can eat your discs.
Cons: #8 was a walk-through back when I was a newb simply skipped it but it has a nice short basket nowadays.
Other Thoughts: They added a practice putting spot in the woods with trees as obstacles last season or 2 seasons ago its a brilliant idea however the basket is broke but its practice so a pole would work too.
*also read some other reviews fyi this was once an 18 hole course before the dome was built to the right of hole 2

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The "Creek" is not for the meek

5+    1/24/2015   1/24/2015
Review By: THUGNIFICENT763
Played: 92  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.5 Years
Pros: This course is one of the more technical ones in the area, for that alone, I love it. Canopies and tunnels aplenty, this course will test your line shaping skills and punish you if you lack them. A wide variety of shots, curving both right and left, tests both your backhand and forehand skills... Unless you are ambidextrous. Playing hole 8 as a par 3 and achieving that 3 is more rewarding than some of the aces I've gotten.
Cons: For about half the course, there is no grass and it is built on the side of a hill, so it can be quite treacherous here if any sort of moisture is present. Also, pretty sure the creek itself might be a sewage runoff judging by the aroma.
Other Thoughts: I bagged my first ace at this course, hole 7, May 5, 2007, with a forehanded Sirius Orion LF. For that reason alone, this course is near and dear to me. I also have aces on 1, 5, and 11. Many of my friends hate this course for its technicality, but they are chuckers : p

Top 3 free course in mpls

2-4    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Dilf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of a small space, 12 quality holes in a city park, most with dual tees. Even a legit Par 5 (something like 670') in a densely wooded area. Nice shady trees for windy or hot days. Hole placement around trees is perfect for sculpting drives, good reward/punishment for controlled driving or not. Excellent signage made for easy navigation as a first timer. No trash anywhere. Just enough elevation change to make it more interesting. Probably the most well cared for free course in the Twin Citites that I've seen. Plus poles hanging on nearby trees to fish an errant disc out of the creek.
Cons: Honestly nothing comes to mind. Would be great if someday it was 18 holes, then it would beat out Acorn in my opinion and be in better shape.
Other Thoughts: I met a man who volunteers working on the course and thanked him for it. It really shows that somebody cares for this place. He saw me barely miss an ace on the first hole and stopped to chat. Would play this course on all my days off if it was a little closer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great free course

2-4    8/15/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: PeeJWeeJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - A good variate shots needed, all of which need to be accurate because of the trees and creek.

- Poles to get discs out of the creek and many well placed bridges for crossing the creek.

- Easy to navigate with clear directional markers and tee markers.

- Compared to most free courses, this course is very well marked and kept up.
Cons: - Some more distance would be nice, There is only one hole that's any kind of distance challenge.

- 12 is an odd number of holes, I'm not sure where they would put them, but it would be great if they found a way to build morel.
Other Thoughts: This course is free but surprisingly well kept and interesting. If they found a way to increase the distance and increase it to 18 holes it could probably be a top notch course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great 12 holes

5+    7/12/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 80  Reviewed: 24
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: free. concrete pads, multiple teeboxs if you are playing with beginners. signs tell you distance and where the pin is located. 12 holes wrapped in the woods with a creek running though most holes. plastic poles laying around to fish out lost discs. (i did overflip my wasp on hole one and it went MIA on the right side of the bridge so if you find a old font blue wasp pm me). good use of the elevation they had. few ace runs that require good placement because there are so many trees around to knock your disc around.
Cons: creek. kind of crowded. bring bug spray. the two long holes could be miserable for beginners. accuracy is key here.
Other Thoughts: i like this course a lot. its always a stop for me when im driving up or down 169. fun 12 hole course. keep a good eye on your disc and youll be fine. the olny improvements i could see, would be to make this a full 18. otherwise very good for what they were given. and the no litter laying around was very nice on the eyes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I can't get enough of this course

1    7/6/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: TheSteveKelzer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Every hole has its own unique challenge to overcome. There are a variety of dog legs and hills to master. There course seems to always be well groomed and taken care of. I like that the creek winds through the course on a few holes (be careful not to loose your disc!). I also like the use of the old lacrosse field turf for some of the fairways and greens on the frolfing course! It brings a unique and clean feel to the course. It is also nice that the course starts and ends at the parking lot, making it easy to get in and get out or to play around a second time if you would like!
Cons: It can get busy, but that should be expected of any course as fun as this one!
Other Thoughts: 12 holes? Kinda weird, but I dont mind!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good course

1    6/15/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Dfrolfer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course
Fun lengths
Hooks for the creek
Fun long par 5
Mix of shots
Cons: Busy
Left my pink ESP surge next to hole 9 or 10 for a few minutes and it was gone when I went back for it
Only 12 holes
Rained very hard before we left
Other Thoughts: Good course but very busy

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not too hard

2-4    6/11/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: Dr.feelgood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -A lot of narrow fairway shots.
-Good maximum distance drive opportunity on 8
-Has a descent mix of shots.
-Teepads are good.
- since your in the woods most of the time your partially shielded from the rain and wind
- easy to navigate
Cons: -Some holes are really easy
-good chance of getting wet on hole 8
- a lot of people there that don't know how to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: This could be a very easy or very difficult course depending on your precision with a midrange.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great warm up course before Bryant

5+    10/14/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 48  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2015
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course great for beginners, as long as you stay out of the creek, and it is a relatively a quick play, although that depends what time you are playing at. The majority of the holes are played in the woods, with some water to contend with on several holes, which forces you to be accurate. The tee pads and baskets are in decent shape. The basket on hole 8 definitely used to be a problem. It has since been replaced and moved farther away from the water, which is nice to see.
Cons: The course is constantly packed with beginners and hipsters, so prepare for the wait. The course is also very muddy following a wet day. Some of the baskets are in rough shape as well. Lastly, the tee pad on hole 9 can definitely be a problem, especially when it is wet.
Other Thoughts: Really the only reason I play this course is because it is close to my work and a quick stop on the way home and a good warm-up course. However, being that it is a short course, at least there are plenty of ace opportunities.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.