Minneapolis (Plymouth), MN 
Plymouth Creek Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 159ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Short Tee

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Rec Course With Enviromental Concerns!

1    7/15/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 769  Reviewed: 720  Exp: 37.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starting with #1 throwing the hyser shot around the corner, across the little water hazard and to a green, ARTIFICAL GRASS GREEN. This is the first I've seen on a disc golf course. And then artifical grass starting off the first 100 feet or more of the second fairway. I thought the whole course was going to covered. But I found out otherwise and saw why. This is a major high impact course with lots of traffic. There are two pads for each hole. The pads for the longs (cough, cough, longs??????) are really extra long and nice concrete pads. I've seen so many pro-calibier courses which could use these pads. The short tees are a little smaller than standard. From the shorts, this plays as a Pitch & Putt. From the longs, it's a great Intermediate course. Many tee signs were missing. #'s 5, 10 and 11 were all fun little ACE runs. # 8 is pretty much a killer hole at 600' with the creek in play on your left side all the way. It could easily blow your round up.
Cons: I squeezed in a round just before dark and the course was still filled with players. I could imagine what it would be like at primetime.

I'd be mostly concerned with enviromental issues mainly ground compaction and erosion issues. I hope the disc golf community is willing to work with government agencies. The indoor/outdoor carpet is a good start.
Other Thoughts: This is truly a nice little course. 12 good holes is better than 18 holes squeezed in. That doesn't bother me a bit. What does bother me is the fact that the Parks Department has to put up a sign specifically aimed at the disc golfers pleading with them to stop abusing drugs, alcohol and to quit littering on this course. Players, you have to take some ownership here. Pack your litter out! Don't hesitate to pick something up and carry it to the nearest can. This course is a treasure that you don't want to lose.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/5/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: TopNord
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is extremely enjoyable. Every hole has something different about it in comparison to the others. Pin placements allow for natural trees to test ones ability.

On really hot days this is a great course to play as most of the holes have a canopy from the trees.
Cons: Only one con I could imagine would be bugs at times of the season.

12 holes

Water on a few holes, but wouldn't stop a discer from retrieving it with a stick or even getting in the shallow water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Morning . . . now throw over a raging river for throw #1

1    6/19/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 863  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) The design of this course is absolutely top notch . . . it is clear Timmy Gill knows what he is doing up in the Twin Cities because I have now played almost all of the course in the metro area and this is by far the most progressive dis golf scene I have ever seen in my cross country travels. I look forward to my effort to have this sort of impact on the SE WI scene.

2) Awesome variety on this course both in terrain as well as the obstacles.

3) Challenge is ever present even though there are duecable holes.

4) Lots of different lines needed to play well on this course.

5) Artificial turf is used on the #1 green, as well as the first 150' of the second fairway. I have only seen that in a couple places and that certainly takes away the erosion impact of the course on the environment.

6) The wooded holes are fairly clean . . . not a lot of dead wood laying around, minimal garbage on the course . . . just overall a well maintained wooded section of the course . . . at least in comparison to some I have seen.

7) Signs on most holes have Par, Hole #, Distance, and Par. Diagrams are minimal but they are present to show direction of hole basically.

8) Benches, picnic tables in a couple spots, and garbage cans are a nice tough to a course I assume gets a lot of play . . .

9) Lots of directionals on this course to move you to the next tee.

10) Infrastructure is pretty solid with decent bridges, timber stairs, astroturf, etc etc etc . . . something you rarely see on disc golf courses.

11) Wooded emphasis along with one prarietype holes (although it was unmowed), and a water shot or two . . .my type of course.

12) Dual conrete tees are always appreciated and these were in good shape.

13) Hole #8 is quite possibly the most sadistic difficult hole I have ever played. It is a double dogless with a tight gap off the tee, a stream rolling by on the left with a hardpan fairway that will shoot all shots left towards the water. I would put this hole as quite possibly one of the best holes I have played. I took a 7 with a great upshot to park it along the creek and make the putt . . . if only they could do a little beach out in the stream like at Winthrop . . . but that would lead to more erosion and environmental impact.
Cons: 1) Erosion, compaction, and other environmental impacts are pretty rough on this course.

2) Muddy after rain because there is absolutely no cover on the compacted fairways in the woods.

3) Large garbage cans will defintely keep enough garbage to keep the course clean as long as the players throw stuff away rather than on the ground.

4) Logs are used in multiple places to makr fairways or walkpaths between holes . . . I just love this minor detail of a course

5) I can tell this is one of the most played courses in the area. It is in the WE$T $IDE of town so I am sure there are a lot of disc golfing high schoolers. It would be busy most days but it was my second course on the day and I arrived by about 7:00 AM so I didnt have to deal with it, but I am sure it is an issue.

6) Dangerous in a couple spots like #7 throwing pretty near the #8 tee. Skips are always a possibility on this course because of the hard compacted soils.
Other Thoughts: This course is so close to a 4 it sickens me I cannot give it that rating. While the layout, the design, the holes, the variety, the challenge and even the fun factor are top notch . . . the maintenance and the serious environmental impacts the course is having on the creek and downstream areas has to be extreme. I know this isn't something most disc golfers will notice or pay attention too . . . or possibly even care about. I however, care about the sustainability of courses and not losing great courses because one tree hugger or environmentalist decides to raise a stink about the impact these courses have on the environment. That is why I want to be involved in disc golf course design, because I might be able to catch these things and design and install apporopriately to avoid this type of scenario. It won't always be avoidable, but measures can be taken to minimize the impact. I like what they did with the astroturf on #1 green and #2 fairway, but to really reduce the impact this course will have on the environment, astroturf should line a few hundred feet of the 700' monster #8. I won't preach any longer, but this is quite possibly one of the worst cases I have ever seen for the impact our game has on the environment.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  leaves are evil

1    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: crackheadzack
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: all the leaves are turning colors and they've really done alot of work to hole 1 adding even more rock piles to block your perfect line.
Cons: alot of leaf litter on the forrest floor makes finding discs a slight challenge

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love the course but...

5+    6/20/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Every hole but one is very par-able and fun
-Nice location
-Nice tee pads
-Maintained and cared for (for the most part)
-Twelve holes
-Pretty much has a hole for every shot in the book.
Cons: -The crowd
-Hole number eight
-The trash and "graffiti" problem
-Loud aggressive teens
-The course is extremely muddy after rain and hole nine frequently floods
Other Thoughts: This course should be a lot better than it is. I have yet to go a time without some group of TEN 16 year olds taking their time and insiting on not letting you play through. Also, the trash here is horrible and there have been some very cheap and ugly renovations made to the course as of recent. Basically, if you want an almost 100% woods course and a steady challenge (for begginners) this is worth driving to. If you hate rediculous water holes, loud cocky teenagers, garbage, and trees, this may be worth skipping over.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/5/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This a great course to work on you skill shots as the entire thing is played in the woods. Makes it great course to practice side arm and over hand shots.
Cons: The entire course is played in the woods. This never really allows you to step back and just let it rip.
Other Thoughts: Signs to let you know the par would be nice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/16/2009   5/16/2010
Review By: Spiky
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like hazards, I want to be challenged with trees, water, etc. rather than just distance. If you don't, well...

The first hole looks pretty cool, with a tree perfectly situated to knock your disc right into the creek when you thought you had perfectly overthrown the water. (although it is now too short, good for shooting for aces, I guess) They've been doing landscaping on #1. Not sure why, but there are steps built in, now. (2011 update) But not where they really needed steps. It looks like they are terracing it for decoration. Rather odd.

And after that it is pretty much trees. Some nice variety for left or right and a few hidden pins. Not too many issues where a disc has a good chance to roll away from the pin, even though you might expect that from the hilly terrain.

Very much fun for technical players that are prepared to line up shots and use different discs. And AIM, heh!

The creek is fairly clean, so fetching errant discs is not horrible.
Cons: A couple of the tee pads are breaking away from ground erosion underneath and/or end with dropoffs. Makes running off them when throwing rather suicidal, so you should know how to stop.

If you don't like hazards like 7000 trees, then that would be a big con.
Other Thoughts: Much better in the current incarnation, which has been here many years. If you don't like the trees, just be glad it isn't like the original with high grasses challenging almost every hole. It took away discs and returned ticks as payment.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 chopping trees

2-4    4/20/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: chad-o
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good mix of long and short shots. Including a beast of an right curve on eight. It is good for people starting out to learn how to throw tight quarter shots, but not to intimidating
Cons: The area where number eight is at is very muddy and close to water the hole length of the 500 and some odd foot shot. Wood chips or some rocks wood help alot.
Other Thoughts: one of my go to courses, sometimes a little busy on the weekends

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love/Hate Relationship

5+    4/7/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: Whywaitforit
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course. Super Challenging shots. Amazing to play before all the kids get out of high school. My first course and I still play it once a week to this day. Great on windy days too because the wooded nature keeps it relatively calm on the course. Super relaxing place on calm days.
Cons: High school kids with no respect for the course come there just to smoke weed and throw their trash wherever they want. Act like loud fools.

Last time I played after school was out the line for the start tee was 5 groups deep. I suggest parking right as you enter the park and walking in to start on a different hole.

This isn't a course to bring your young children. Constant loud swearing. Smoking. And drinking.

Recently they put down fake astro-turf on hole 1 by the pin and hole 2 by the fairway. It may help mud but god damn is it ugly.
Other Thoughts: When i started playing this course it was great any time of the day. Now I can't even bother to go before 3.

Don't forget to bring a towel for the water and mud.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Plymouth Creek

1    3/28/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Leeeclark
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 33.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is very technical almost plays like a game of chess. Its a very condensed course so playing it several times is easy to do. Requires you to use the full potential of several discs' to really benefit. Be sure to bring an anhyzer (most holes on this course will require your flight path to fade to the right)
Cons: Tooo many people, Too many trees, Too Muddy, Too small. (did I say too many people) there was a line of 3 groups waiting to Tee-Off when I left, and a group on every hole, But, this was at 1400 on a beautiful Sunday afternoon,so, Im sure it depends on when you play
Other Thoughts: You will not be able to rely on pure power of your throw and you will really need to rely on specific disk's to get the most out of your round. Bring a towel to wipe off your Disc in case it goes in the creek, course was pretty muddy in spots.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.