Carthage, NC 
Hillcrest Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #11
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Cool Course in Carthage

1    6/5/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 44.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2013
Pros: In a nice, easily accessible park. Excellent score cards, without which I'd have probably never made my way through, despite my natural talent for navigation.
A good mix of open and wooded holes. The two Par 4's (6 and 7) will let you let it fly through wide open air. #9 will let you sail it as well, but not as worry free. #8 is a beautifully designed hole, flying through a long tree tunnel, similar to, but longer than #13 on the coming soon Springwood Players' Course.
Cons: Some of the natural tees are hard to find, even with the good map on the back of the scorecard. I never did find #4 and had to make a best guess as to its intended location. Many of the tee signs have evidently been vandalized and are missing from the tall posts on which they were mounted. But hole numbers have been put on most of the signless posts.
Despite its design flaws of crossing a fence and a road, #2 is still a pretty cool hole, making good use of upward elevation. #5 can be misread, as the basket is pretty well hidden in the trees and is much shorter than the card listed distance of 170'. Even with its shortness, it's no gimme, featuring a very narrow gap entering the tree line from the tee, which is in the open.
As noted by other reviewers, some back nine wooded fairways aren't very fair, but are largely discernible and navigable. #16 is probably the worst, but can be easily cured by simply moving the tee about 20' to the left to utilize the beautifully grassy, reasonably wide lane between the two tree stands.
I'll assume that the fallen pine partially blocking #15's green will soon be removed, as the bush and tree on #18 will be trimmed.
Other Thoughts: The sandiness of the soil in the Carthage area should keep the natural tees from turning to mud in the rain. All in all, an enjoyable DG experience. I look forward to playing it again, perhaps on a leisurely Sunday afternoon, along with the other two nearby courses

Had better days

2-4    2/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: webman
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 37.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park, well worth a visit. Skip the DG (see Other Thoughts).
Cons: Numerous missing holes, missing signage. Layout includes several holes in dense pine forest requiring more luck than skill. Overall: not much fun.
Other Thoughts: Doesn't need TLC, needs an intervention. Check out the old fenced-in county cemetery for burying indigents.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hillcrap

1    1/24/2013   1/24/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It's got some challenge to it; tight tunnels and OB near baskets. The first nine holes are mostly open and the back nine are mostly wooded so it has a balance.

You'll need to be accurate and able to shape shots through gaps on the back nine. The front nine is mostly placement on open shots.

Atmosphere - The back nine has a nice piney feel to it. Not crowded when I played it.

Equipment - The baskets were in pretty good shape.
Cons: Layout - The front nine is terrible. There's a few solid golf shots but overall it's deplorably repetitive and boring. The pics you see are all wrong, it's all open now. You throw a left to right shot towards the basket which sits next to a tall fence more than once.

There's two awkward tweener open holes back to back which just sucks. There's also a crappy little tiny hole. Plus some of the baskets on this side are surrounded by brier and small trees within 5' of the basket.

The back nine is much better but still has some unrealistic lines on a few holes; and still this part of the course is a bit repetitive.

There are some really awkward transitions out on the course. It can be confusing if new.

Equipment - No pads, only a few teesigns showing distance at the beginning. No benches or trashcans.

Atmosphere - You play around some ballfields and near the road in a few places. The park isn't very nice or scenic. You don't feel secluded at all. There's a crap ton of ugly things beside the park like rundown dirty houses, some kind of miserable facility with trashcans leaking trash on the course.

...and there's a graveyard on the course
Other Thoughts: I don't like this place, the back nine isn't enough to redeem how terrible the front nine is. It's funny how people used to complain how plinko the front nine is and how I'm now complaining how terribly wide open and dumb it is.

There's much better options in the area and this place isn't worth your time unless your bagging courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Changed

5+    6/18/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: Manofcords
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a hard course. Holes are a mix of open and wooded. Before this course most of my play had been in wooded areas and I didnt know how much I relied on trees to so me the line.
Not matter how many time I play it kicks my rear.
Cons: Its a dump. You actually do pass by the dump on holes 11-13. And the whole course is in bad need of a trash clean up. Lots of redneck dumping went on in these woods. It is hard as all get out to figure out where all the tees and baskets are. there is no yardage on any whole but 1,2 and 16 i believe.
BEWARE of the fences. You have a fence that run the length of 1 and 3 and if you throw over you are going to have to work to get your disc back. On 8 the fence and barbwire and houses the counties school buses. The last thing you want to do is get bust trespassing on what could be school grounds. Leave the disc and drive around to the facility when you are done. The people there are quite used to being told. "i lost my disc over the fence, can i go get it?" I have never had a problem with getting it a lost disc back. However they do close at 4pm.
Other Thoughts: Over all its ok course that will make you work but isnt a whole lot of fun to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 what's left is pretty fun.

2-4    10/15/2011   11/3/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 209  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Baskets.
Not much undergrowth.

The layout that still exists is actually very challenging and fun. While it does stink that a large portion of the course does not exist anymore (4-9) but If you treat it as any other short 9-12 hole course it's still a fun play.

I really like 10-18 and could find myself playing this layout on a regular basis if I lived in the area.
Cons: The walk from hole 3 to 10 is a long one(walk around the baseball outfield fence)

I do not enjoy throwing over the graveyard on hole 2 kinda creepy if you ask me. I'm not try to get cursed if my disc lands in the wrong place.

There are raised buildings on a few holes that your disc can slide under(as mine did) and it is hard to retrieve.

On holes 1 2 3 and 18 there is a very tall, hard to scale, fence. if your disc goes over and you are not a proficient climber then you may as well say goodbye.

No trashcans
Other Thoughts: this course was a fun layout and if it wasn't for the absence of holes 4-9 I could imagine it being a little more popular in the area. I however think it is worth the play if your around and compliments the other course in So. pines with a little bit of a different look.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Information

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: kiddsk
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good local course. challanging
Cons: lots of pine trees and still work in progress
Other Thoughts: Just a comment to let everyone know that I have talked with the Parks and Rec department and they are cutting out trees for open space for over flow parking but all baskets in the area that are being cut will be replaced and will open up 3 holes. this will add more variety to the course when complete.
The course is not going anywhere!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Shell of its former self

2-4    5/21/2012   6/6/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2012
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 baskets, yea!

Welp, that's about it. After the park took out the best holes for overflow parking for baseball, you get some less than stellar field holes. Still, it's disc golf and worth a stumble around.

There is a bit of odd character to this course, like the little graveyard in play at the end of hole 2. That and the multiple little storage buildings around give a weird vibe to the course.

No tees but the dirt is okay and you can find most of the tees thanks to wooden posts. Some even have signs on them!
Cons: The worst part of this course is that so much of the course plays around fences. The first 5 or so holes have a fence along the right that borders a neighborhood. Then hole 8 is a crepe myrtle type lined fairway of goofiness with a daunting fence on the right, complete with barbedwire. Then there more than enough tees and holes right next to baseball fences, not ideal.

Some of the new basket locations for the holes taken out by the parking lot are just inside little pockets in the tree line, not awe inspiring design.

Still a lot of broken glass and trash here and there that looks like it's been there for awhile.

Holes #12-14 stink, literally, they're right beside a big dumpster.

Holes #17-18 are just awful. 17 has a good mando to keep you from throwing out into the main park road but there isn't much of a fairway actually. Then 18 is a goofy walk back down the road where you basically have to use the same main park road as the fairway. Just bad.
Other Thoughts: This used to be a solid if not spectacular course that had some challenging in a good way pine tree tunnels of doom holes. Now, those holes are gone. What's left is basically a tour around the baseball field and some filler holes. The good holes here are very reminiscent of OT Sloan, it's that kind of poking around the woods. They did a fair job replacing the lost holes and with a little tweaking here and there they could be fun holes but for the most part they're just wide open field holes.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 lots of fun

5+    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: Behindatree
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. Some very challenging fairways. Full amenities very nice scorecards. Almost every hole overs different shot choices from the tee. Hole 13 is my personal favorite. Its a short left hook with a steep down hill elevation change that has definite ace possibilities. Easy to navigate. Signs to next tee at every basket.
Cons: Course is built at a park that is clearly dominated by baseball. A few tee shots come with the chance of climbing the fence. Hole 17 and 18 run either side of the entrance road which gets quite busy on days they have baseball games. A few holes have what I like to call a "wtf" tee shot where a tree or two should have been cleared (hole 9 and 13 in particular)
Other Thoughts: !!!*** there is a rumor going around that we are in danger of losing this course***!!! The park is wanting to build more baseball fields on top of the four already there and another parking lot which would require the land the course is on.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded course with some challenging technical holes. New, visible baskets. Natural tee pads seem to be level and are holding up OK.
Cons: Looks like a newer course that is still in progress. Most holes don't have signs. You need to walk up the fairway to find the basket, and then go back and throw. A few holes have what I would call WTF fairways. If they take down a couple more trees it will make those holes play fair. Not any holes that are real fun to play, or unique. A few long walks between holes, and some poor course layout.
Other Thoughts: This is a newer course so I assume it will improve over time. Right now it's not great, but is playable if you somehow find yourself in Carthage. There is a kennel of some kind next door, and people were walking dogs along several of the holes. There is also a walking trail that doubles as the fairway on some shots.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 will improve in time

2-4    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with great amenities, Discatcher pro baskets, and decent length, the Next Tee signs helped a lot
Cons: In order to please the Base B fans several holes were redistributed 1-3 are pretty much as they started Standing on #4 tee you will see baskets 6,7,and 8 but not 4 #4 is straight down the wood line about 300 feet then go right. hole 5 is a little 119 footer through a tight gap. Then you get the bombs of 6 and 7. Hole 8 runs right beside a fence between 2 rows of Crepe Myrtle trees the center of the fairway is about 12 feet from the fence to your right. 7 & 9 share the same tee area but there are no tees on the course only a 4X4 in the area of the teeing ground and the course is played so little you cannot tell were others have been teeing of on the field holes. The redesign seems to be take the baskets and dump them out in the field. Dumpster/recycle center, holes 13, 14, &15. More signage would be nice, at least distances. Holes 17 & 18 are not very friendly to the beginner that 17 basket is on just too narrow a strip of grass. Some holes need some thinning of trees and mowing of that tall grass. Long walk from 17 basket to 18 tee. Number 18 is a hole that only a thumber could love
Other Thoughts: This course it is not a course to introduce new players to the sport. But for those that like to let it air it has something for them. The Crepe Myrtles on holes 8, 17, and 18 have a good potential of becoming a real obstacle in the near future. It does not appear that the county plans to invest many resources in the course so it is a good thing that Pine Cone Crush and Wild Pine are just down the road. It is a shame to let these good baskets go more or less unused

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.