Carthage, NC 
Hillcrest Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #4
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 what's left is pretty fun.

2-4    10/15/2011   11/3/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 212  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Baskets.
Not much undergrowth.

The layout that still exists is actually very challenging and fun. While it does stink that a large portion of the course does not exist anymore (4-9) but If you treat it as any other short 9-12 hole course it's still a fun play.

I really like 10-18 and could find myself playing this layout on a regular basis if I lived in the area.
Cons: The walk from hole 3 to 10 is a long one(walk around the baseball outfield fence)

I do not enjoy throwing over the graveyard on hole 2 kinda creepy if you ask me. I'm not try to get cursed if my disc lands in the wrong place.

There are raised buildings on a few holes that your disc can slide under(as mine did) and it is hard to retrieve.

On holes 1 2 3 and 18 there is a very tall, hard to scale, fence. if your disc goes over and you are not a proficient climber then you may as well say goodbye.

No trashcans
Other Thoughts: this course was a fun layout and if it wasn't for the absence of holes 4-9 I could imagine it being a little more popular in the area. I however think it is worth the play if your around and compliments the other course in So. pines with a little bit of a different look.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice pines

1    2/20/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Many holes have very nice pine trees with a carpet of pine needles underfoot and very little undergrowth.
*The fairway shapes are perfectly balanced. 6 Straight/ 6 Left/ 6 Right
*Baskets are new double chain Discatchers.
Cons: -The course is mostly flat, with some slight elevation changes. 7 Flat/ 7 Up/ 4 Down. The biggest change is a drop of 16 ft. on hole 10.
-The hole length variety isn't the greatest; the majority are 200-299 ft. (2<199/ 11 of 200-299/ 4<399/ 1 of 500) The 500 ft hole 8 is a nice change of pace, though.
-A few of the holes are still just a little too tight and could be cleared a bit more.
-The tee signs are good, with a basic map, when they have them, but they're only on 5 holes (1-4 & 17). They need to finish them on the rest the course.
-There's a really long walk from the 17th basket to the 18th tee.
-In a few places there were piles of tree limbs and brush that need to be cleared away more.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole- 10 is a short, dogleg left, downhill ace run to a guarded basket.

With quite a few very tight fairways this course rewards accuracy over power. Even though there a few scenic holes (7, 10, 13) I found the course beauty to be nice, but just a little below average. The natural tees work, but they're only average. Also, there are good restrooms and score cards available in the park office, but no maps, warm up basket, or message board.

This course is like an attractive girl in your 6th grade class-- flat and needs more development but is kind of pretty and has some potential.

Look in the Files section for my Overall Rating notes and Hole-by-hole ratings.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It'll only get better.

2-4    12/29/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: turkey33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A variety of types of shots needed from teeboxes. I think it's challenging for course designers to get this variety with pine forests but they've done it here.
- the gravel teeboxes while not concrete are flat and clear of roots or rocks.
- some signs and at least some folks have tied ribbon on trees near the teeboxes so without a map I was able to find the next tee without too much problems.
- good length for intermediate players that want to work on their precision shots.
- again, I'll mention good variety of shots because they also got some elevation changes in there.
Cons: - beginners or players that just don't like trees may think they're just way too many trees on some of the "fairways".
- advanced players or at least those with great arms may be disappointed they don't get to rip it.
Other Thoughts: I occasionally visit family in this area but am not a ball golfer so I'm excited to see this course and some others spring up. As an intermediate player I'll enjoy this course again and look forward to getting back here. It's a nice setting and I like pine forests courses but I'd bring newbies somewhere else where they're not going to hit so many trees. I expect and hope this course will only get better. I think it has great potentional. I think advanced players could really warm up to it when some additional longer tees are offered. Know that could be years but here's hoping.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could be much better with just a little more.

8/4/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2008
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The first three holes are marked with nice tee signs, but they are the only signs on the course. These first holes are short. Hole #6 is great booming anhyzer shot with a ball field to the left, but otherwise an open approach to the basket. Hole #8 is a very long straight shot with the basket tucked to the left at the end. The vegetation thickens considerably about 150 ft from the basket but thins around the basket. Hole #10 is a downhill shot. Hole #11 is another anhyzer shot with the basket within reach. Hole #14 and #15 are easier, with lanes to work the disc to the basket. Hole #16 is could be another anhyzer, or that is what I tried. I worked the disc too close to the tree line and paid the penalty. Holes #17 and #18 run side by side in the same direction with a paved road between them. The road is lined with five foot bushes which can come into play.Tees were crushed gravel and were in good shape. Innova Discatcher baskets were mounted in installation boxes and in very good shape. Basket locations were fair.Overall it was a good experience.
Cons: They need to finish marking the course with nice tee signs and markings to the next tee. Hole #4 is visible from the tee box, but there is no clear shot at the basket. The only option is a hyzer down the walking path. The only problem is that the path curves near the portion of the disc flight that you expect to turn. This could present a danger. Hole #5 has no clear fairway. Hole #7 has a fairway, but it follows a very tricky s path that is a one in a million shot. The rough is dotted with many trees and very few alleys. Hole #9 asks the golfer to make a field-goal between two trees 30ft from the tee. Afterwards the hole opens up with the basket on the side of a hill. Hole# 12 has no clear fairway to the basket. A golfer could take an anhyzer shot along the edge of the ball-field and try to work back to the basket. Hole #13 is ridiculously tight with the fairway about 4 feet wide at spots. When a golfer finishes 17 he must walk back down the road to the 18th tee and finish the round. Transitions from green to next tee were not as easy to navigate. Each tee was marked with fluorescent orange ribbon but was not always easy to locate.The tee box for #14 was mounded in a manner that made the drive awkward. The course needs tree removal to form better fairways.
Other Thoughts: Many trees need to be removed and the course needs better marking. I know that it is a new course and many of these things may be addressed. Will be a much better course if they do.Needs to be added to the PDGA Course Directory, which it is not currently in.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center