Forest City, PA 
Kennedy Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: fast_eddy411 Hole #12 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 213ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Great mix

5+    7/3/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: codyds
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good mix of wooded/open holes
-Clear fairways without being too open in the woods
-Well maintained tee pads with great baskets
-Nice mix of left and right turning holes
-Alternate tee pads on a few holes to provide an increased challenge to more advances players
Cons: -Only 12 holes, but it seems like the space is maximized as it is
-Can't play the baseball field hole, #9, if there is a game going on, as there is too big of a risk
Other Thoughts: This is still a fairly young course and is constantly improving. The new #4 is a nice challenge and I know there are plans for increased signage (hole info, directional signs, etc.). A great course for beginners and advanced alike, this course will only get better with time!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Only 9 holes but good

1    8/10/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: striker777
Played: 154  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some tight difficult fairways. Lot of wooded shade on a sunny hot day. Even the open holes have some trees that come into play. Plays pretty quick, I did 9 holes in 40 min then played it again. Long and short tees on some holes. Signs are great where they are posted.
Cons: Lots of other people in the park. A baseball field comes into play and there was a game going on when I threw so I had to wait as not to hit any unsuspecting kids.
Other Thoughts: Looks like they did some recent work for the better. The signs are good but not on every hole. Don't pay attention to the numbers on the baskets and make sure you look at the sign to see where to throw. The sign shows where the next tee is and there are arrows nailed to the trees pointing the way. The narrow fairways through the forest reminded me of some of the tough New England courses I have played. Also a playground, baseball diamond, pond and other activities if you want to bring the kids or other non-discers along. It would be awesome if someone poured some concrete into the dirt teeboxes and made them a little longer!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kennedy Park - Great time

1    7/17/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: ekabz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
What an awesome course.

The first seven holes are in the woods. They can be relatively challenging ( I recommend bringing a few discs that fly straight, unless you're comfortable with fade / turning at the right time ). Tees are well established.

Paths are cleared, and the course is clean. The brush in the woods really isn't that thick, so I wouldn't be concerned about losing discs.

Overall a beautiful park and course.
Cons:
They had maps posted on trees at each hole. They didn't match up with the correct tee / basket. Confused me a few times, but ended up running to each basket to figure out where I needed to go.

Hole #8 tee is about 10 feet from the road. Not a big deal, was still quiet.
Other Thoughts:
* Bring bug spray.
* There's picnic tables, a gazebo, a lake, and a playground with swings.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in the Works!

2-4    7/3/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: jabruzzo3
Played: 71  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of topology; elevation changes, wooden vs. non wooded holes, water hazards and good mix of right and left shots.
Mostly short walks from basket to next tee with one exception.
Cons: Since this course is a work in progress any cons should be taken with a grain of salt and considered suggestions.
It was tough finding the first tee. I originally played from the alternate #1 tee box, since that was the first one I saw walking from my car. Better directional signs, maybe a bulletin board and some score cards.
Other Thoughts: If you ever wanted to see how a course is built, stop by Kennedy Park. I met up with Alan and Adam, two of the many people, who are building this course. They show us a great time, and we had a lot of fun playing and discussing ideas on new basket locations. As we played each hole, they talked about the thought process of the layout. Although, there are only 10 holes today, there is an ongoing fundraiser to buy and build 8 more holes. Once the course is completed, more permanent signage and directionals will be put in place. What a great addition to N.E. PA disc golf!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice suprise

1    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: ChainSmoker21
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little course. Not too short or long. Easy to navigate. The wooded fairways are tight but nothing too intense.
Cons: Only 10.
Other Thoughts: I'm from Scranton and usually trek down to Hickory. We wanted to check out Kennedy and it was worth the trip. It was kinda wet and you'd be good to wear spray up before hand.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    12/20/2010   2/5/2011
Review By: pjbd10119
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great variety. excellent flow. one of my favorite courses, even thoguh ita only ten holes
Cons: its only ten holes. i usually play through twice and count it as one game. makes it interesting. theres a creek cutting across the fair on 2 which makes you go back to 1 after you tee off. also, the course in general gets very wet along the fairways. just watch out.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Nicely Done

5+    10/25/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: Jrogan92
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of open and wooded holes. The first 6 are tight in the woods and the last four are great to air it out. All of the holes flow very nice and the course could be played very quickly. The fairways are also in very good condition.
Cons: The only disappointment is that there are only 10 holes. I don't think this will ever be a 18 hole course because of space issues but it would be nice if they could get 18. There also could be more alternate tee boxes for some of the holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good use of land.

5+    9/12/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: fast_eddy411
Played: 40  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of holes ranging from very tight fairways to open bomber holes, with a good mix of righty and lefty options. Course is well marked with tee signs (Picture, hole number, distance, sponsors). There are also orange painted arrows to lead you from one hole to the next. The tee boxes are very well made and are of adequate length. All around this is a fun and challenging course, that is good for beginners, but will also test the skills of even a seasoned player.
Cons: Wooded fairways could use a bit more clearing in the "rough".

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Kennedy Ace Mission

1    6/10/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pleasant Surprise for a low key municipal park. Short nine hole course that plays tightly in the woods before opening up for the final few holes. The woods holes (1-6 when I played..apparently wooded 6 is a summer hole and is replaced by an open field hole during non baseball season) all play technically and tight and seem to follow a lefty/righty pattern alternating your drive off the tee for every ensuing hole. The wooded holes are short but technical. I felt I could birdie every hole but also was punished severely for errant throws off the tee. Good design in the woods with R and L turning shots carved through thick woods but no thorns. Navigation was a non issue due to being well marked and surprisingly good tees for a local course. I particularly enjoyed the temp hole 6 a slight woodsy downhill that broke to the right and hole 2 a longer R hyzer line. Once your out in the open you can unleash on slightly uphill 7 marked at 310 feet. Nine plays close to the very scenic and beautiful pond. I was overall very impressed with how much quality DG was packed into this course. Secluded woods and then the open field holes seem to keep you away from most park activities. There are aces and birdies out there but you will earn them. Good for beginners, as it is not overly long while fun for experts as you really have to hit your lines to score well here.
Cons: No true elevation, distance, or signature holes. Road is nearby on 7, 8 and off season #6....more of just in your head than true danger. I wish there was a throw over the pond hole. No real design flaws or true gripes here. No long distance or multi drive holes.
Other Thoughts: This is amongst the best local nine hole courses I have played. It's not particularly grand but it is very well designed and packs a fun punch. I would play this if your playing nearby Prompton as it offers great technical holes and a fun short game that Prompton lacks.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course with good mix of holes

5+    4/17/2009   4/20/2010
Review By: freshyill
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Even the shortest holes have a good challenge element. There's almost always two ways to tackle a hole, and each one has a different risk-reward aspect to it. Hole 6 is a real bomber.
Cons: Some short holes in the woods. Brush outside the fairways can be very dense in some places. Some holes can get soggy when it rains. Hole 6 is dangerously close to the baseball field, which means you can't really let loose when there's a game going on.
Other Thoughts: This course has been steadily getting better as they improve the tees, clear wooded fairways and trails, signage, etc. Some courses stagnate, but they're intent on making this into the best course possible given its limited space.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.