Minneapolis, MN 
Wabun Picnic Area (Minnehaha Park) Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Warm Up

5+    8/4/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: Jhill420
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good starter course
-Short course
-No chance of loosing disc
-Birdie chance for every hole
Cons: -Finding the right basket can be difficult
-People walking through the course
-Same elevation throughout entire course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/10/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: marshd87
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: *Nicely marked course
*Positive atmosphere
*Well maintained
*Cement tees
*Beginner friendly
*Great practice for approach and putting
*Great for beginners or introduction to disc golf
Cons: *Short course
*Pitch and Putt (Leave your driver at home)
*Flat course, no elevation change
*Baskets could be marked better, can get confusing what basket to shoot at
Other Thoughts: The course feels like it was just stuck in a picnic area, with no real design to it. Great for beginners and practicing approaching, putting. Need to go elsewhere for a challenge.

 First course ever

1    9/15/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: Ricky1962
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee's with par and distance info (in yards).
Very low risk of losing a disc on this course.
Can be played in about 30 minutes.
Cons: Holes are so lose together, sometimes it's confusing which basket is next (if the basket number marker is facing the wrong direction).
Other Thoughts: The course was a good one to introduce me to disc golf. I was hooked after the third hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, simple, clean. For beginners & practice

2-4    9/16/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good course for practicing approach shots (from the tees)
-You won't lose a disc here
-Good facilities in the park (bathrooms, picnic area, etc.)
-Baskets are in good shape
-Tee pads are decent cement slabs
-Each hole has a sign
Cons: -Signs are in yards instead of feet for some reason
-Holes are pretty tightly packed together
-No hole is over 250'
-In reality, it is possible to get an ace on any hole here without an extreme amount of luck
-Other park users don't seem overly concerned with not getting your way during a round
Other Thoughts: As the description alludes to, this course is really an after-thought and is probably there solely to add another element to the existing park. It's adjacency to the picnic shelters makes me think it was installed as an added activity for people renting out the shelters to use (it'd be nice for those family reunions you don't want to be at anyways). All that said, the other patrons of the park didn't seem to realize that they would be getting in the way as they sit in the middle of a hole talking.
As for the actual holes, no imagination is needed in coming up with a line to throw and you really only need to utilize one type of throw on this course. The course was obviously intended for beginners or people new to the game; and it succeeds in catering to them. This being said, even a more advanced player could benefit from coming here, as it is a good course to practice your basic approach shots. I'd rather practice those shots on a course like this than in a field. Even a complete newbie should have a chance of getting an even par (or better) on this course; something that can't be said about many other courses. The holes are all straight with minimal obstacles between tee and basket. The baskets themselves are nice; not beaten up at all. There is plentiful parking all around the park and nice bathrooms on site as well. The course is serves the purpose it was intended for and the equipment and facilities are nice, but it certainly should not be considered a destination spot for people serious about the game.
One last thing, it was a little challenging to find the course the first time I was here. The turn for the parking lot is the first one once you pass the Wabun Picnic Area sign coming off of 46th.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Race!

5+    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick & Clean...
Well kept course...
Easy to follow....
Great for a first timer..
Good course for approach & putting practice.
Nice park with lots to do...
Great for a quick 9 at lunch...
Not many people play here
Cons: Easy & short...
You will not need a driver here.
The holes are all very straight and don't have much to play around.
You have to watch out for ather people because some of the holes play next to a walking path or by a picnic area.
Not a chalanging course but it is great for putting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Same old Same old = Easy Course

5+    7/16/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: TSeller
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Nicely marked, good atmosphere.

* Quality beginner course.

* Nearly every course is a hole in one opportunity.

* Great place for couples to throw.

* Tons of evenly spaced trees provide a good canopy for rain or hot weather.

* Great location right alongside the Mississippi River.
Cons:
* No place to let one rip.

* No elevation changes.

* Traffic on walk/bike paths can be a pain sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Last time we played the park was packed and groups of people would just walk through the middle of the course. Avoid this place on holidays and during special events at the Minnehaha falls.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 best course for newbies

5+    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: kapitan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Short,well marked holes,mature trees it is a very nice course for beginners for the simple fact, you cant lose a disc unless you try too.
Cons: Not challenging for the long arm players, possible for more experienced players to walk away from this course with a scores of -1 to -9. No elevation
Other Thoughts: Another 9 holes somewhere, the park is huge.

 ACE RUN COURSE

1    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent nice large concrete tees. This course doesnt absolutely need concrete because the holes are short enoughy ou dont always need a runup but it is nice to have them. I assume because of location if there wasnt concrete the ground would be destroyed.
Tees had also been shovelled clean since the 10 inches of snow the cities got. Always a bonus feature to a a course in winter.

2) Blue Stakes (Flat like the buried gas line or utility stakes used) mark the tees, which is nice for a first timer. They also have the distance (in yards), and hole # on them. Fairly inexpensive way to do tee signs, which is good!

3) DGA baskets with the number plate. All of them actually face the tee which is also helpful when figuring the layout for the first time. I have seen so many plates facing the wrong way and that can really confuse some tee areas especially on courses jammed into small properties where you can see 3 or 4 baskets from every tee.

4) This property was fit for a disc golf course because of its massive sprawling mature trees. I like the open feel parks that incorporate the mature trees as their obstacles. It gives an old feel to the course.

5) There is a small map of the course at the first tee. This is helpful to see the layout for the first time, and since it is so short once you see the ma you shouldnt sturggle to find the next tee.

6) Very beginner friendly becaus eit is mostly open, sure there are some obstacles, but for th emost part even a beginn could score well here. No chance of losing a disc either.

6) Course appears to be very clean and in good condition. I can imagine that it does get a lot of traffic in the summertime, both from disc golfers and just people using the park.

7) This course is set in an absolutely beautiful location. You sit atop the Mississippi River Bluffs. It is a nice rolling property with all sorts of amenities, perfect for a picnic, family gettogether, bike ride, stroll along the paths, and disc golf too. Others have mentioned the falls and the river bluffs which is certainly worth looking at.
Cons: 1) While I love courses set amongst the massive mature trees found here, I do not feel like they were used efficiently. I think there could have been some much better basket locations forcing different shots. Safety wouldn't have been a concern either, but then again this course was not designed for the above average player.

2) Although the disc golf is seperated, some of the peripheral holes do bring other areas into play especially on a busy summer day. The gazebo/shelter near 7 tee could bring a lot of people around it creating an overflow onto the open part of the lawn (which happens to be the disc golf course). There are walkpaths running along 3 or 4 holes that an errant hyzer shot (which beginners are known for) could strike someone. You actually cross the path on one of the drives also, so please be careful, runners, bikers, and other pedestrians may not know there is a disc golf course there.

3) In general there is only one obstacle per hole. If they could have incorporated more obstacles to force the thrower to make a clear decision as to how they approach the hole it would have been better. Having one obstacle makes you deside left or right, but having to forces more shot shaping. It doesnt have to be a tight wooded course, just incorporating more of the trees and such into the design to be a little more challenging.

4) A few of the baskets are relatively too close to other baskets or the next tee. SOme errant shots could be dangerous.
Other Thoughts: I was very happy with this course and I look forward to coming back. Despite how short it is and how there isn't a ton of challenge for an average or better player, I look forward to beating my first round score of -4. I missed a 15' too that could have been -5 on my first time playing the course. The best part about this park is my brothe rlives about 1 mile north so whenever I come to visit I will hit it up because of its proximity. Keep this course in perspectice . . . no it isnt championship caliber, but it is in nice shape, it is fun to gun for aces and hit as many birdies as you can. There is enough obstacles that you COULD get really creative and try and do some shots you wouldn't normally try, I enjoyed myself, despite the minimal challenge. I will be back.

WARNING: I did play this course in 10 inches of snow. The ground was not visible but from all indications the course was in prety good condition. I cannot comment on the turf and cleanliness completely accurately, I can only go on what others have said, so if something I have included is incorrect please let me know and I can edit my review.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/12/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and kids because a variety of different shots are needed to get to each hole. Open enough so that there is a very small chance of losing a disc. Good for confidence boosting.
Cons: Very short course without too many obstacles. The area can be used for different sorts of things. One of the times I played, there was a game of bocce ball going on and a different time, there was a group of people playing cricket. Also there are picnicers who eat under the trees where you may want to throw your disc.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If you're passing by

7/13/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: yawpstang64
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very good course for new players, kids, etc.
Its difficult to find an unused open area in the metro, so its a good attempt by the city.
Cons: Holes are packed tight into this small park, and there is no map, so the next tee or basket can be elusive. The signs at each hole are also ridiculous, never facing the direction they could actually be visible in.
Its a skill shot course since the longest hole is 249', and par could really be 2 for every hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.