Minneapolis, MN 
Wabun Picnic Area (Minnehaha Park) Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #5 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great Beginner Course

2-4    6/19/2015   6/19/2015
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 154  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think most people are in agreement that we need short, nine hole courses that are suitable for beginners; if every player started at a course like Blue Ribbon Pine, we would not have as many people.

Wabun Picnic Area may be the best course that introduces newer players to the game that I have ever played. First of all, the course sits in Minnehaha Park, which is a park with hundreds of visitors a day; all of them are potentially new players. Even though the park is busy, the course itself has little interference from the rest of the park minus one walking trail that passes directly in front of hole 2.

The course has concrete tees, tee signs and solid baskets, which is everything you would want to see in any course. The course had an easy flow to it; no hole is longer than 250', but a few of the holes need a bit of shot shaping for a chance at the deuce.
Cons: For any player that isn't a beginner, there is little need to bring more than a stable midrange or putter. It is definitely a pitch and putt course, which can be a pro and a con depending on what you like.

For an experienced player, there is little challenge. For someone who is bagging course, this is an easy one to do.

On hole 8, it is easy to think you are throwing to the wrong basket. The tee sign is turned towards the fifth basket and the eighth basket is a bit off to the right of that.
Other Thoughts: Looking at this course from a strictly utilization aspect, this course is perfect in every way when introducting new players to the sport. Good location, easy course, concrete tees, easy navigation.

Like mentioned previously, this course is not going to wow an experienced player, but bringing your girlfriend or child out here or just a bag a course will be a great day in the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course at Nice Park

5+    12/30/2013   1/20/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 358  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of aces to be had here!
-Great place to bring the family, other parts of the park contain hiking trails, Minnehaha Falls, picnic areas, playgrounds, bike trails, etc.
-This course is great for a casual and quick lunch 9, for beginners, to teach new people or young people the game, etc
-A clean and safe park. The course is near major roads and there are not thick woods so no worries about getting mugged or anything here.
-Baskets are in decent condition
-Very easy to follow, good tee signs.
-Concrete pads
-Nearby views of the Mississippi river
Cons: -This course is quite short and there is not a lot of variation in hole length. As others have stated, there isnt much need for drivers on this course.
-This park is in a large city and disc golf is not the main priority here, there will be other park users here at most times and they probably won't watch out for you.
-There are trees but they don't usually force any certain type of shot, you can often throw over or through them. Again, this is a knock against the challenge of the course for those looking for something a little more difficult.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be pretty fun. It is a good place to take the kids and have a fun, cheap afternoon or if you insist on having a disc golf date, this is the place to go. This course isn't a must play by any means but you won't be dissapointed if you stop and have the mindset that this is a nice little pitch and putt in a nice park. If you are looking for more challenge then go to BRP or Kaposia or one of the TC area's many other options.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner's course

5+    8/27/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: mcrow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short
Right in Minneapolis
Good Baskets
Cons: Too short for experienced players
There can be a lot of traffic and a lot of newbies who don't know the rules.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think it's a decent course for what it was made for. I don't think the intent of this course was to challenge anyone more than a beginner.

There are no long holes on the course and just about anyone who has been playing for a while should be able to put for birdie on most holes. Most of the holes are potential aces for better players.

I gave it a 2.5 because it is a good beginner's course and I think having easier courses to bring in new players are a good thing. If you are a pro or experienced player you'll probably want to go elsewhere unless you want to work on the short game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Perfect Beginner Course!

2-4    7/16/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can unequivocally state that this is the most perfect course for beginners that I've ever encountered. It's short, simple, well marked, easy, almost impossible to lose discs here. When I think of all the brutally difficult courses players have cut their teeth on, with their water hazards and thick underbrush and so-on and so-on. It's just too bad that everyone hasn't had the chance to play here their first 10 times before taking on a more difficult challenge. Enough preaching.

Wabun Picnic area is right next to the Veterans Hospital. It's in a very large park, actually kinda hard to find the course itself. The course is next to the mighty Mississippi River in an area of the park with a water feature for kids, a gazeebo and a play area. The course has concrete pads. The signs are simple but effective flexible blue thin strips that they use in state parks to identify campsites #'s. Here they have the hole # and distance in yards. The baskets are the DGA ones with the red #'s facing the right way (except # 8 is facing the wrong way.) I don't think any of the holes are longer than 83 yards (that's 249 feet for you non-math majors). The mature trees are spread out just enough to add a little challenge.
Cons: It's a pitch and putt. Leave your driver at home. It's flat with no water hazards or underbrush. These are only cons if you're looking at a challenging intermediate and harder course.
Other Thoughts: Like said before, this is the place to bring the wife or girlfriend or 8 year old daughter. Let em experience the joy of the game without the drudgery of looking for discs in the bushes or 450 foot uphill holes. Let them shoot par on a course before they tackle a full sized course. If a total rec player like me can shoot -6 and -7, any decent player should be looking at shooting 9 under.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your picnic basket

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 337  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Minnehaha Park is a beautiful venue to bring the whole family. Everyone in your clan can enjoy this pitch and putt course. Plastic in ground tee signs that denote hole # and distance in yards next to concrete pads that measure 4' x 9'. DGA chainstar baskets are always a welcome sight. Mature trees as obstacles on most holes.
Cons: No elevation change unless you overthrow one into the Mississipi river. Could have placed some pins in more strategic places to take advantage of the trees. Close to paths with walkers.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is awesome with falls and the Big Muddy nearby. Also trails, picnic tables and pavilions. Great course for the family outing or a quick round to satisfy your addiction.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little Pitch and Putt

2-4    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 125  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful views, very mature trees, clean course, nice teepads, good signs, and baskets. Pitch and Putt course, very good for learning players,. I am not that good and played with only 2 mid-range discs and a putter, and I had a gerat time.
Cons: Short course, lots of holes intersect a bit at times, tough to tell what basket you are shooting at sometimes. Very close to a picnic area and park, possible interactions with other users.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course, using just a couple mid-ranges (Roc and Meteor) and a putter made it a fun bit of a challenge and allowed my wife and son to compete with me. Nothing longer than like 250 ft. Beautiful scenery with Minnehaha Creek, and going to see the falls.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.