Minneapolis, MN 
Wabun Picnic Area (Minnehaha Park) Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #7 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 171ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Ace Race!

5+    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick & Clean...
Well kept course...
Easy to follow....
Great for a first timer..
Good course for approach & putting practice.
Nice park with lots to do...
Great for a quick 9 at lunch...
Not many people play here
Cons: Easy & short...
You will not need a driver here.
The holes are all very straight and don't have much to play around.
You have to watch out for ather people because some of the holes play next to a walking path or by a picnic area.
Not a chalanging course but it is great for putting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Same old Same old = Easy Course

5+    7/16/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: TSeller
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Nicely marked, good atmosphere.

* Quality beginner course.

* Nearly every course is a hole in one opportunity.

* Great place for couples to throw.

* Tons of evenly spaced trees provide a good canopy for rain or hot weather.

* Great location right alongside the Mississippi River.
Cons:
* No place to let one rip.

* No elevation changes.

* Traffic on walk/bike paths can be a pain sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Last time we played the park was packed and groups of people would just walk through the middle of the course. Avoid this place on holidays and during special events at the Minnehaha falls.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 best course for newbies

5+    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: kapitan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Short,well marked holes,mature trees it is a very nice course for beginners for the simple fact, you cant lose a disc unless you try too.
Cons: Not challenging for the long arm players, possible for more experienced players to walk away from this course with a scores of -1 to -9. No elevation
Other Thoughts: Another 9 holes somewhere, the park is huge.

 ACE RUN COURSE

1    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent nice large concrete tees. This course doesnt absolutely need concrete because the holes are short enoughy ou dont always need a runup but it is nice to have them. I assume because of location if there wasnt concrete the ground would be destroyed.
Tees had also been shovelled clean since the 10 inches of snow the cities got. Always a bonus feature to a a course in winter.

2) Blue Stakes (Flat like the buried gas line or utility stakes used) mark the tees, which is nice for a first timer. They also have the distance (in yards), and hole # on them. Fairly inexpensive way to do tee signs, which is good!

3) DGA baskets with the number plate. All of them actually face the tee which is also helpful when figuring the layout for the first time. I have seen so many plates facing the wrong way and that can really confuse some tee areas especially on courses jammed into small properties where you can see 3 or 4 baskets from every tee.

4) This property was fit for a disc golf course because of its massive sprawling mature trees. I like the open feel parks that incorporate the mature trees as their obstacles. It gives an old feel to the course.

5) There is a small map of the course at the first tee. This is helpful to see the layout for the first time, and since it is so short once you see the ma you shouldnt sturggle to find the next tee.

6) Very beginner friendly becaus eit is mostly open, sure there are some obstacles, but for th emost part even a beginn could score well here. No chance of losing a disc either.

6) Course appears to be very clean and in good condition. I can imagine that it does get a lot of traffic in the summertime, both from disc golfers and just people using the park.

7) This course is set in an absolutely beautiful location. You sit atop the Mississippi River Bluffs. It is a nice rolling property with all sorts of amenities, perfect for a picnic, family gettogether, bike ride, stroll along the paths, and disc golf too. Others have mentioned the falls and the river bluffs which is certainly worth looking at.
Cons: 1) While I love courses set amongst the massive mature trees found here, I do not feel like they were used efficiently. I think there could have been some much better basket locations forcing different shots. Safety wouldn't have been a concern either, but then again this course was not designed for the above average player.

2) Although the disc golf is seperated, some of the peripheral holes do bring other areas into play especially on a busy summer day. The gazebo/shelter near 7 tee could bring a lot of people around it creating an overflow onto the open part of the lawn (which happens to be the disc golf course). There are walkpaths running along 3 or 4 holes that an errant hyzer shot (which beginners are known for) could strike someone. You actually cross the path on one of the drives also, so please be careful, runners, bikers, and other pedestrians may not know there is a disc golf course there.

3) In general there is only one obstacle per hole. If they could have incorporated more obstacles to force the thrower to make a clear decision as to how they approach the hole it would have been better. Having one obstacle makes you deside left or right, but having to forces more shot shaping. It doesnt have to be a tight wooded course, just incorporating more of the trees and such into the design to be a little more challenging.

4) A few of the baskets are relatively too close to other baskets or the next tee. SOme errant shots could be dangerous.
Other Thoughts: I was very happy with this course and I look forward to coming back. Despite how short it is and how there isn't a ton of challenge for an average or better player, I look forward to beating my first round score of -4. I missed a 15' too that could have been -5 on my first time playing the course. The best part about this park is my brothe rlives about 1 mile north so whenever I come to visit I will hit it up because of its proximity. Keep this course in perspectice . . . no it isnt championship caliber, but it is in nice shape, it is fun to gun for aces and hit as many birdies as you can. There is enough obstacles that you COULD get really creative and try and do some shots you wouldn't normally try, I enjoyed myself, despite the minimal challenge. I will be back.

WARNING: I did play this course in 10 inches of snow. The ground was not visible but from all indications the course was in prety good condition. I cannot comment on the turf and cleanliness completely accurately, I can only go on what others have said, so if something I have included is incorrect please let me know and I can edit my review.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your picnic basket

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 322  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Minnehaha Park is a beautiful venue to bring the whole family. Everyone in your clan can enjoy this pitch and putt course. Plastic in ground tee signs that denote hole # and distance in yards next to concrete pads that measure 4' x 9'. DGA chainstar baskets are always a welcome sight. Mature trees as obstacles on most holes.
Cons: No elevation change unless you overthrow one into the Mississipi river. Could have placed some pins in more strategic places to take advantage of the trees. Close to paths with walkers.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is awesome with falls and the Big Muddy nearby. Also trails, picnic tables and pavilions. Great course for the family outing or a quick round to satisfy your addiction.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little Pitch and Putt

2-4    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful views, very mature trees, clean course, nice teepads, good signs, and baskets. Pitch and Putt course, very good for learning players,. I am not that good and played with only 2 mid-range discs and a putter, and I had a gerat time.
Cons: Short course, lots of holes intersect a bit at times, tough to tell what basket you are shooting at sometimes. Very close to a picnic area and park, possible interactions with other users.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course, using just a couple mid-ranges (Roc and Meteor) and a putter made it a fun bit of a challenge and allowed my wife and son to compete with me. Nothing longer than like 250 ft. Beautiful scenery with Minnehaha Creek, and going to see the falls.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 near da river

2-4    8/1/2008   8/18/2009
Review By: grimace
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: putt putt course. good for the very short game. can you hit all 18 deuces. short and long tees................
Cons: multi-use park lots of picnickers. very short course. there are only short holes. not even very many trees to contend with. not much signage.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small

2-4    8/12/2008   2/12/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For a park with very little space they put a passable pitch and putt course in. The holes are not easy despite the short range or maybe because of it and each hole interfered very little with the others. I had played very few courses of this design and it is enjoyable. The teeboxes were reasonable for the limited space. If you thought putting was important on a large course...
Cons: Hole 1 wasn't clear to me but it was in a sensible position near the parking lot. The signage was not good really. Part of the problem is the area is just so limited you could think you are shooting for one basket and find there is another pretty close too it that was the intended one. The last 2 holes were a good instance of that.
Other Thoughts: When the park is active kids naturally use the open green space. Be careful, they come out of nowhere. There is a picnic gazebo abutting the disc golf area as well. Parking is adequate.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/12/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and kids because a variety of different shots are needed to get to each hole. Open enough so that there is a very small chance of losing a disc. Good for confidence boosting.
Cons: Very short course without too many obstacles. The area can be used for different sorts of things. One of the times I played, there was a game of bocce ball going on and a different time, there was a group of people playing cricket. Also there are picnicers who eat under the trees where you may want to throw your disc.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If you're passing by

7/13/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: yawpstang64
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very good course for new players, kids, etc.
Its difficult to find an unused open area in the metro, so its a good attempt by the city.
Cons: Holes are packed tight into this small park, and there is no map, so the next tee or basket can be elusive. The signs at each hole are also ridiculous, never facing the direction they could actually be visible in.
Its a skill shot course since the longest hole is 249', and par could really be 2 for every hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.