Minneapolis, MN 
Wabun Picnic Area (Minnehaha Park) Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #5 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun course at Nice Park

5+    12/30/2013   1/20/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of aces to be had here!
-Great place to bring the family, other parts of the park contain hiking trails, Minnehaha Falls, picnic areas, playgrounds, bike trails, etc.
-This course is great for a casual and quick lunch 9, for beginners, to teach new people or young people the game, etc
-A clean and safe park. The course is near major roads and there are not thick woods so no worries about getting mugged or anything here.
-Baskets are in decent condition
-Very easy to follow, good tee signs.
-Concrete pads
-Nearby views of the Mississippi river
Cons: -This course is quite short and there is not a lot of variation in hole length. As others have stated, there isnt much need for drivers on this course.
-This park is in a large city and disc golf is not the main priority here, there will be other park users here at most times and they probably won't watch out for you.
-There are trees but they don't usually force any certain type of shot, you can often throw over or through them. Again, this is a knock against the challenge of the course for those looking for something a little more difficult.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be pretty fun. It is a good place to take the kids and have a fun, cheap afternoon or if you insist on having a disc golf date, this is the place to go. This course isn't a must play by any means but you won't be dissapointed if you stop and have the mindset that this is a nice little pitch and putt in a nice park. If you are looking for more challenge then go to BRP or Kaposia or one of the TC area's many other options.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warm Up

5+    8/4/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: Jhill420
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good starter course
-Short course
-No chance of loosing disc
-Birdie chance for every hole
Cons: -Finding the right basket can be difficult
-People walking through the course
-Same elevation throughout entire course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First course I ever played

5+    7/9/2011   9/9/2012
Review By: smalcome
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to park, cement tee pads, solid baskets in good shape, nice park with places to sit and eat, good for kids
A very good disc golf park for introducing people to the game.
Cons: Navigation is a little hard if you don't know the layout. Signs weren't great last time I was there but it could've changed.
Other Thoughts: This was my first ever exposure to disc golf and I loved it. I've been playing for 5 years strong now. Something about going out there and growing ace runs on your first day is pretty important in terms of "getting hooked" on the game. I really wish his was a block away from my house just for casual days- that'd be so ideal! I really like this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner's course

5+    8/27/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: mcrow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short
Straight
Right in Minneapolis
Good Baskets
Cons: Too short for experienced players
There can be a lot of traffic and a lot of newbies who don't know the rules.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think it's a decent course for what it was made for. I don't think the intent of this course was to challenge anyone more than a beginner.

There are no long holes on the course and just about anyone who has been playing for a while should be able to put for birdie on most holes. Most of the holes are potential aces for better players.

I gave it a 2.5 because it is a good beginner's course and I think having easier courses to bring in new players are a good thing. If you are a pro or experienced player you'll probably want to go elsewhere unless you want to work on the short game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/10/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: marshd87
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: *Nicely marked course
*Positive atmosphere
*Well maintained
*Cement tees
*Beginner friendly
*Great practice for approach and putting
*Great for beginners or introduction to disc golf
Cons: *Short course
*Pitch and Putt (Leave your driver at home)
*Flat course, no elevation change
*Baskets could be marked better, can get confusing what basket to shoot at
Other Thoughts: The course feels like it was just stuck in a picnic area, with no real design to it. Great for beginners and practicing approaching, putting. Need to go elsewhere for a challenge.

 

1    8/12/2011   2/12/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice use of space with what was there.
Good flow
Some of the holes were short but technical
Cons: Not many cons for the fact that there is not much space and I think they made the best of it.
Other Thoughts: I would absolutely play this course again

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First course ever

1    9/15/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: Ricky1962
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee's with par and distance info (in yards).
Very low risk of losing a disc on this course.
Can be played in about 30 minutes.
Cons: Holes are so lose together, sometimes it's confusing which basket is next (if the basket number marker is facing the wrong direction).
Other Thoughts: The course was a good one to introduce me to disc golf. I was hooked after the third hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, simple, clean. For beginners & practice

2-4    9/16/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good course for practicing approach shots (from the tees)
-You won't lose a disc here
-Good facilities in the park (bathrooms, picnic area, etc.)
-Baskets are in good shape
-Tee pads are decent cement slabs
-Each hole has a sign
Cons: -Signs are in yards instead of feet for some reason
-Holes are pretty tightly packed together
-No hole is over 250'
-In reality, it is possible to get an ace on any hole here without an extreme amount of luck
-Other park users don't seem overly concerned with not getting your way during a round
Other Thoughts: As the description alludes to, this course is really an after-thought and is probably there solely to add another element to the existing park. It's adjacency to the picnic shelters makes me think it was installed as an added activity for people renting out the shelters to use (it'd be nice for those family reunions you don't want to be at anyways). All that said, the other patrons of the park didn't seem to realize that they would be getting in the way as they sit in the middle of a hole talking.
As for the actual holes, no imagination is needed in coming up with a line to throw and you really only need to utilize one type of throw on this course. The course was obviously intended for beginners or people new to the game; and it succeeds in catering to them. This being said, even a more advanced player could benefit from coming here, as it is a good course to practice your basic approach shots. I'd rather practice those shots on a course like this than in a field. Even a complete newbie should have a chance of getting an even par (or better) on this course; something that can't be said about many other courses. The holes are all straight with minimal obstacles between tee and basket. The baskets themselves are nice; not beaten up at all. There is plentiful parking all around the park and nice bathrooms on site as well. The course is serves the purpose it was intended for and the equipment and facilities are nice, but it certainly should not be considered a destination spot for people serious about the game.
One last thing, it was a little challenging to find the course the first time I was here. The turn for the parking lot is the first one once you pass the Wabun Picnic Area sign coming off of 46th.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Perfect Beginner Course!

2-4    7/16/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can unequivocally state that this is the most perfect course for beginners that I've ever encountered. It's short, simple, well marked, easy, almost impossible to lose discs here. When I think of all the brutally difficult courses players have cut their teeth on, with their water hazards and thick underbrush and so-on and so-on. It's just too bad that everyone hasn't had the chance to play here their first 10 times before taking on a more difficult challenge. Enough preaching.

Wabun Picnic area is right next to the Veterans Hospital. It's in a very large park, actually kinda hard to find the course itself. The course is next to the mighty Mississippi River in an area of the park with a water feature for kids, a gazeebo and a play area. The course has concrete pads. The signs are simple but effective flexible blue thin strips that they use in state parks to identify campsites #'s. Here they have the hole # and distance in yards. The baskets are the DGA ones with the red #'s facing the right way (except # 8 is facing the wrong way.) I don't think any of the holes are longer than 83 yards (that's 249 feet for you non-math majors). The mature trees are spread out just enough to add a little challenge.
Cons: It's a pitch and putt. Leave your driver at home. It's flat with no water hazards or underbrush. These are only cons if you're looking at a challenging intermediate and harder course.
Other Thoughts: Like said before, this is the place to bring the wife or girlfriend or 8 year old daughter. Let em experience the joy of the game without the drudgery of looking for discs in the bushes or 450 foot uphill holes. Let them shoot par on a course before they tackle a full sized course. If a total rec player like me can shoot -6 and -7, any decent player should be looking at shooting 9 under.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wabun

1    9/21/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course layout sign and the tee marker are always nice to have. Baskets in good shape and the Tee boxes were in good shape good too.
Cons: Little muddy. Some of the baskets are to close to each others.
Other Thoughts: Must watch for other people useing the park. The two days, I went it was busy, both the course and the park.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.