Rock Hill, SC 
Winthrop Gold Course Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #16 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 391ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Going for Gold

1    11/29/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Gold course was very hard but very fun. Great mix of holes. Some very long and very challenging holes. Some station to station holes, some to the right and some to the left. There are a few holes you're not likely to see anywhere else, like the bamboo hole (which I put about 15 feet away and my brother put about a foot away from an ace). Even in the winter this course is very scenic, and well taken care of. Nice tee boxes, great baskets (a few raised) Lots of benches.
Cons: When you go out to play the Gold course it's hard to say that how freakin long and hard some of the holes play are a negative, because what did you expect!!! The only thing I could say is maybe a broom or two would be great, I mean this is a championship course right? A lot of tee boxes were covered with leaves, but I'm really just reaching for "cons" here. Bottom line is if you're not looking for a very long and tiring round, then just don't play the Gold course. But if you want to see what your made of then go ahead! Oh if you play the 888 hole with all the OB, good luck not taking a penalty or two!! :)
Other Thoughts: I played the Gold course without the ropes, just feel like I should specify that. Awesome course, had a great time. My arm was dead after, although I did drop a 3 (eagle) on one of the 900 foot holes, just before the 888 hole which is a beast. I'd say this is a worth while adventure for any person that loves to play disc golf.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Gold Course

1    10/7/2007   1/16/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.4 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Gold Course at Winthrop is spectacular - to say the least. If you're playing Winthrop in its Gold layout, you're playing it championship week - with all of the emotion and awe that comes with that. There is a feeling you get playing this course, even if it is just the day after on "spectator Sunday."

Additionally - the course itself is very well put together. There's a nice variety of short and long holes, with holes 1, 3, 7, 17 all deucable with a putter or a midrange. A lot of the par 4's and 5's are birdiable with a nice 3. The ropes keep you honest, and force you to hold your arm in check. A lot of newer players may look at it as unnecessary distance and wide open fairways, but for a player with a huge arm the fairway starts to look awfully narrow and tricky 425-50 feet down the way.

Additionally the course is beautiful. On top of that sense of emotion and awe that you get, you hit hole 5 and take a look out over the water - or as you're looking off of 17's teepad or down 18's green... the views are stunning.
Cons: At times, despite the yellow rope keeping the course from playing too wide open, it really feels open. From hole 9 through hole 12 you really feel like you're out in the sun for a long time - it feels like far more than four holes and it can drain you.
Other Thoughts: This is Winthrop Gold - and it is the absolute best there is in professional disc golf. If you're playing Gold you're playing championship week, and nothing feels better. It really does carry the course a little. I rated it a 4.5... based on the course alone its a 4.0, in my opinion. But based on the feeling you get teeing off from hole 1, the feeling you get knowing that you're treading the same fairways that the best of the best are going to be heading up all week... that's worth the bump to a 4.5, without a doubt.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Winthrop Gold Course

1    10/4/2008   3/4/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 145  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: World class amenities. From the pro shop to course maintenance, this course is at the highest level.

Cons: NOT for beginners.
Hole 17 OB lines (personal dislike).


Other Thoughts: This course is for advanced and pro players. Beginners will hate this course. Even experienced pros will find this course long and grueling if they are not playing at a top level. It plays on and around the Winthrop University campus, close to 10,000 feet in length, maybe more. Ive only played this in tournament situations so don't know if there are alternate tees, I don't believe there are. For the most part, its fairly wide open if compared to a course like the Rennaisance course in Charlotte, NC. There is yellow OB rope, narrowing the fairways on almost every hole that will limit your disc selection to ensure a successful in-bound drive off the tees. This is one of the few courses ive played that demands accurate, fairway drives as well, instead of a layup shot after your initial drive on 70 percent of the holes.
Excellent use of foliage on the course, no unfair or unusual looks from the tee box to the pin, although you might have trouble seeing the basket on some holes, they are so far away from the tee pad (holes 5 and 13 for example). The fairways are top notch, well maintained kentucky blue grass, I believe. Course management is huge here, a person should score much better the second time around after playing it once, as your course knowledge will benefit your decision making in disc selection and placement down the fairways. This is a factor not present on most disc golf courses available to play anywhere so makes this course very special in that regard.
All your skills will be challenged on this course, if you like rollers you can do that, if you like overhead shots you can do that too, to your hearts content. Most people who do well here can throw backhand accurately 450 feet or furthur. The furthur you can throw accurately, the better you will do scorewise. There are a handful of shorter holes on this course but the majority of tee shots are big-arm friendly. Each hole has a character of its own, so you don't get bored with repetition from hole to hole. I would like to play this course without the pressure of competion to see if it will be as enjoyable and challenging at the same time as I think it is.
No matter what kind of situation you may be in playing on this course, it's a must-play if your in the area. I would like to see more courses like this, only perhaps with slightly less emphasis on having to throw big to be competitive, but that's just me and my lame ability to throw farther than 400 feet.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/15/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: Big Chipper
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: If you want a challenge, then you've come to the right spot. Some holes are nearing 1/4 mile in length.
Cons: Will humble you quickly. Tee/basket numbering is crap.
Other Thoughts: Sunbathers around the lake mixed with a large amount of goose crap can be frustrating.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.