Greenville, SC 
Timmons Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #17 (Taken 11/2009)
4 / 213ft.   3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A great small course

1    6/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Sketto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained teepads
- Good signage. You can't get lost.
- A surprisingly beautiful, little park.
- Though full of short par 3's, some of them are really quite tricky, requiring some touch.
- A great beginner course since it's not a bomber course, but also a great way for a veteran player to practice approaches and some ob-threatening putts.
- A course that really rewards simple, accurate throws over any huge drives. You'll only use driver a couple times at most.
- Good use of the water hazard on a bunch of holes. You'll be able to retrieve the disc though if you go in.
- A good mixture of whole types and a surprisingly good use of elevation and water, as well as woods/fields.
Cons: It's short. Mostly par 3's. If you only wanna throw huge drives every time, this ain't the course for you.
Other Thoughts: If you're a frequent player, play this course as a great way to play a quick round and work on medium approaches and putts that require some touch and skill. For such a short course, very well done.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    5/31/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the best in Greenville and the only 18 hole course in the Downtown area. It fits with the character of the city very well.

The first thing that stands out is this property is small. I have seen 9 hole courses with more land than this has. but they managed to put 18 good to great holes and make it work.

The creek is a major part of the course and it comes into play on holes: 1,2,5,7,8,9,10,11,12, and 18. I have played this course countless times and it never fails that I end up in the creek at some point.

the front and back are pretty different from eachother. the Front nine has a lot more birdie opportunity and is where I usually try to get my score down. The back nine has some longer, more treacherous holes, (10,11,12,18) Hole 5 is prob the toughest 2 on the course from my perspective. Its a 350+ dogleg right with an OB creek on the right. and the whole fairway is on the side of a hill, sloping towards the creek.

Timmons also has a good bit of variety. Left doglegs, right doglegs, uphill, downhill, straight tunnels. It has everything.
Cons: The parking lot is a little close on a few holes.

There are vandals that feel the need to deface these baskets with profanity and that drives me crazy

People may complain about it being too short. but these courses can really mold you into a better golfer. you need to control your disc, stay away from the creek and throw straight.
Other Thoughts: Please visit this gem. It wont take long to play, and it will be an enjoyable day. the trees provide some nice cover from the SC heat and this is the oldest Course in the Upstate.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Good course

5+    4/2/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Drewpy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, good combination of open shots vs tight shots, good average distance on holes, good combination of left-turn/right-turn/straight shots.
Cons: Very wet, no LONG holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, convenient location, best in area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Timmons

1    6/26/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 100  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course located close to downtown Greenville. Very well designed and fun course to play. This is a very technical but very long course, the shot variety called for is great and I love the elevation change. The small creek running thru the course provides interest and challenge without the specter of having your disc eaten buy an errant throw. The wooded holes all have good lines available with often a choice of hyzer or anhyzer shots. There are concrete pads at each hole many benches and trash cans available. This was one of the cleanest parks I have played, I don't think I found any trash laying on the ground. The baskets are fairly old and some are a little rusty but they all caught my disc well and that is the point. There are some interesting basket placements with 12 on the steep side hill being my favorite. A disc could pop out and roll a long way here. Navigation was fairly easy except for 12 which I missed completely. While I would call this a very beginner friendly course there is sufficient challenge along with several legit ace runs to keep the experienced players happy. A ran into several locals who were all friendly and helpful. There is obviously a very active disc golf community here. Unfortunately I did not have time to stay and play doubles.
Cons: Some of the signs were missing and of course I missed hole 12. A next tee sign at 11 would be very helpful here. There were some kids playing in the creel behind the basket for hole 2. Not wanting to hit any kids I was forced to play very short. This is a great hole with creek right behind the basket
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course to play. If I am ever back in the Greenville area I would love to play here again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/18/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very SOLID course in my opinion. Great mix of elevation throughout the entire course. You need a variety of shots to score well, this is probably one of the better wooded courses I've played in terms of difficulty and variety. Every hole has something different that will challenge your ability to shape shots around trees and control your distance.
For being a wooded course you get the breakout the driver a good bit. The back 9 is tougher than the front 9, but the front 9 requires more control. Several tight fairways that will test you, and a lot of elevation practically on every hole.
Pretty easy to navigate, hole #12 is across the street easy to skip if you haven't played before. None of the water is bad enough to where you'll lose a disc.
Really enjoyed this course and I'd recommend it to anyone in the area or passing through.
Cons: Restrooms were locked.
- I really don't have anything bad to say other than maybe next tee signage (it's there just make it more noticeable or more benches and trash cans, but I feel like you could say that about pretty much any course.
- It lacks the degree of risk / reward that will cause you to lose a disc. No water to throw over or shot that makes you nervous to throw. There you go....
Other Thoughts: I took two guys who just started playing and they said they enjoyed it more that the other courses in the Greenville area. Honestly, I think they got better from playing this course because it forced them to control their shots and they realized that elevation can really effect your score once that disc starts rolling downhill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course.

1    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 71  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty fun.

Plenty of elevation to keep you entertained, excellent use of the land available.

Nice little creek flowing through a lot of the holes, I'm always a fan of well placed OB and there are a couple pin placements that make you think about your shot selection.

Tons of benches out here, almost on every hole, maybe on every single hole, I don't remember.

The teesigns are nothing special but they get the job done, the distances all seemed accurate which is a pro over a lot of courses.

Another thing that has become a huge thing I view is greens and green speed, this course has some very fun ones that definitely make you think about the angle that you are coming at the pin, some very quick ones here, I love it.
Cons: The teepads are a bit narrow, I think the length of them was alright, just wish they were a bit wider.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, I think for backhands I used a putter and a roc almost the entire time, only needed a driver for some flicks, I played really poorly and still shot +2 or so, so it's a pretty easy course.

If you are in the area you SHOULD check it out, it was certainly fun, which to me is always the biggest pro about a course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Timmons Park

1    8/5/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an extremely fun course set in a great little park. Lots of shade trees, a bunch of elevation, and a nice creek set the tone. Though the holes are predominately short, thoughtful basket placements and consideration for terrain and natural features make for some interesting holes. You'll find many baskets perched on elevated areas so watching an arrant putt or an unlucky bounce roll away won't be uncommon. Precise shots are rewarded as many holes require almost laser accuracy. Half hearted shots will have you adding plenty of strokes. There's plenty of risk/reward shots scattered around the course too. Many times a roll away will flirt with the before mentioned creek. There are at least a dozen of these creek shots so of course there are plenty of chances to ring up extra OB strokes. In addition, there is a generous mix of up/down, left/ right, and strait shots giving plenty of variety. All in all, this is a solid course and really is a pleasure to play.

Concrete tee pads, signage (albeit spotty), and reliable baskets are all here. Benches on a few holes add to the overall package. There are bridges in areas where it counts. A kiosk with pertinent info greets you at the first hole. Finally, clean bathrooms and a water fountain are also close to the course.

You'll find really easy navigation with only a slightly confusing area at the 11/12 transition and to a lesser degree 14/15 as after 15 it seems natural to head to 17. (For those who haven't played, 16 is tucked in the woods to the left)

I met/talked to several locals during my round. They were very friendly and almost seemed excited to have me as a guest on the course. That's always a plus when visiting from out of town.
Cons: The course is missing any meaningful distance and overall it depends on short technical holes for its challenge. After all, there are only three holes that even top 300'. Beyond that, you'll have to get a little picky to find major cons here. The tee pads are a little shorter than typical. The consolation is that given the short holes, you probably won't miss the extra foot or two.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this park a lot. After just a few holes I knew this was going to be an enjoyable round. Ample birdie opportunities along with plenty of risks combined for a fun yet challenging layout. Holes 1-10 were my favorite as far as looks go. Then 11-18 have almost another personality but are still nice. I think anybody would have a great time playing here. Beginners to advanced players, there is something for everybody. Enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: atay87
Played: 102  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Relatively short course that makes great use of the small amount of land it is on.
-Elevation comes into play on most holes which makes the shots more interesting.
-The creek makes a great natural OB line.
-Pretty open but some trees to deal with on every hole.
-Plenty of variety.
-Newly installed benches on every tee.
-Good for introducing friends to the game.
Cons: -Its relative shortness can be a con if you are looking to play a longer round.
-A practice basket would be nice.
-Hole 12 seems a little unnecessarily difficult to birdie. It's practically a triple mando (hitting a gap, while keeping it low) but requires a decent amount of power to get it down the hill.
-Not really a con, just part of the game, but a few baskets are on hillsides, so putts that hit the basket low or high can drop then, pick up and roll all the way to the OB creek, turning your birdie into a double bogie.
Other Thoughts: The valley landscape with all the trees gives the course a lot of character. I'm glad it's so close to my work so I can play it during lunch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic old-school course

5+    2/27/2011   3/4/2011
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic, old school course designed before the big rimmed drivers became prevalent. The course offers a little bit of everything from touch shots, sloping greens, nice elevation changes and a couple of chances to let one fly.

The course has a nice creek that rolls through the course giving some nice OB on several holes. The creek isn't deep enough to keep you from retrieving a disc and not too wide to cross to the other side to chase down an errant shot.

It's a great use of the land available.

The best thing about Timmons is it gives you a feel of what Disc Golf was meant to be or least what it was years ago but it still offers a challenge for seasoned veterans and to new players just starting out.
Cons: The tee pads are really small and if you haven't played recently some of the design changes are not clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course in the Upstate of South Carolina and is a classically Innova Designed Course. The local club does an excellent job with maintenance and they run a Tuesday night league during the summer and you'll find plenty of action there on the weekends.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 This is a fun course

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros
-Course is located in a very nice park
-Concrete Tee's, Signs (no map), Scorecards (empty the day I played)
-Good use of elevation and terrain. The course plays uphill, downhill, and in and around the trees.
-Segregated from most of the parks other activities.*
-Water Hazards that still allow one to retrieve their disc.
-Requires strategic throws and placement. Though the holes can require one to throw in and around many trees, the course is not overly dense with trees.
-Enjoyable for all skill levels. Good for beginners, and can be enjoyed by the advanced player.
-Beings it's a shorter 18, the course does play fast.*
-Front and Back 9 play back to the start, allowing for a "Quick 9" if someone were pressed for time.
-#12 and #17 are two downhill shots that will make one want to empty their bag on.
-Other courses nearby. If you are trying to add one or two more courses to a tight schedule, then Holmes or Gower parks can be an excellent compliment to a round at Timmons.
Cons: -*There is a ballfield, which if a game is in session may make a couple of the holes difficult to play.
-*Course is fairly short, regarding distance per hole. It is a smaller 18 hole course.
-Twelve is hard to locate. (Up the hill, and across both roads)
-Mando's could be marked a little bigger. I missed one that I didn't notice until after I had thrown.
-Some holes play close to one another. It's just something to watch out for.
-No signs to the first hole. I drove through the parking lot twice, and couldn't find it. (Look for the basketball hoop, next to the ballfields. Then look for the stairs going down)
-Par could probably be brought down a little bit. (I scored a 53 which put me at -16 under par. It looks good, but that's a little to generous! :) )
-Park goers may find themselves wandering in and around the course. (I met a real nice gentleman out walking his dogs in between #11 and #18)
Other Thoughts: Timmons park had a big fun factor for me. Though it is a smaller/shorter 18 hole course, it was still very enjoyable to play. I would compare it to Earlwood in Columbia, SC, except maybe a little smaller. Timmons had very interesting changes in terrain. Such as #8. It plays uphill to a basket that resides on the side of a very steep hill. Very cool! Though there are plenty of trees to play around, it's not overly dense. Only a couple of holes have a real narrow path through the trees. (16 & 17) If you are in Greenville, then Timmons is a good course to play. You may not get a huge challenge, but you can still have a good time.
No special footwear is necessary, but you will be climbing some hills. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, but it is in the midst of a residential area.



11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.