Greenville, SC 
Timmons Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #3
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
A pretty good short course

5+    8/6/2015   8/11/2015
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though the baskets are older Discatchers, they still catch well.

The course uses the elevation and creek very effectively.

There are a couple holes where you can really rip a disc, specifically 5, 13 and 18

Not too many issues with maintenance, aside from a few graffiti issues

Most holes have benches, and there are a couple trash cans along the course in good locations

There are bathrooms in the parking lot

Flow isn't too big of an issue except for one hole, although there are a few twists and turns throughout the course

The course plays host to an annual tournament, the Upstate Classic, which will be played for the 17th time this fall.
Cons: There can be some vandalism issues now and then

Signage on the whole is pretty poor, but navigation isn't the most difficult overall

Hole 11's fairway has something that appears to be mud but probably isn't

Hole 12's straight at the basket line can be pretty well covered by tree branches

You have to cross the main park road to play hole 12, which can be easy to miss

Hole 5 is a par 3, and seems to require an incredible shot and putt to get a birdie. I list this as a con because there are several other spots where the pin could have been moved which have created a reachable but still difficult par 3. However, it's still a very fun hole
Other Thoughts: Timmons Park is an older, but still very good, disc golf course in the Upstate. It plays in and around a little valley in a nice older city park with a creek. Most holes are reachable, but there are some placement shots as well. The front 9 is a bit more technical than the back nine, being crammed around the creek and ballfield towards the back of the park. However, these are some very fun holes which have many basket placements close to the creek, and can create some fun risk/reward shots. There are also some very tight windows off the tee which make tee shots difficult, but also fun. The back 9 plays a bit more open, with more room between the holes. There are a couple tee shots dealing with trees, but for the most part the holes feel more open. The back nine also uses the elevation effectively. You can definitely tell that it's an old course, but it doesn't feel run down, rather just worn in. There are some abandoned tee and pin locations which I think add a neat sense of history to the course. I don't really think the lack of tee signs really detracts from the course, although a few next tee signs would be a good addition on a couple holes. Overall though, this is a really fun course to play; there are some ace runs, some classic disc golf, and a few strategic holes. I always love having a chance to play a round at Timmons Park.

Specific thoughts on some holes which I just want to mention:

I've aced hole 2, which is also a good risk/reward hole; you can either run the ace or short birdie putt, or can play a hyzer layup shot to get a layup par or a longer birdie putt.

They are building a neighborhood behind the park, and have recently fenced off an area behind hole 4 where a very bad shot could potentially find its way over the fence. Hopefully this doesn't become a concern later.

Hole 5 is one of my favorite holes on the course; you can either play to and around the turn for a shorter upshot, or throw long, past the trees, to a secondary fairway up top with a longer but more open upshot. I do wish they hadn't moved the pin so far around the turn, but rather had put it further back up the hill from where it had been. Then the pin would be reachable with a very nice drive. However, where it is now is a great green, so it really is what it is, which is to say a bit of a tweener hole.

Hole 9 may feel very restrictive, but there is a RH thumber line through the left gap to the pin.

Hole 10 has what feels like the most uncomfortable teepad on the course, with a large tree to the right that it feels like you can hit with your follow-through; the green on this hole is really fast as well, with long rollaways a likely scenario for missed putts and upshots

There is a RHBH hyzer line on hole 12 that sets you up nicely for a par. It's kind of a difficult angle; I feel like this is probably the worst hole on the course.

Hole 14 is a fun ace run; I've had one chain out. The pin was moved about six inches right in preparation for a teepad move that never materialized; oh well, still a fun hole.

Hole 17 is the classic Upstate top-of-the-world shot, really fun.

I feel like Hole 18 is probably one of the prettiest on the course. It also feels a bit like a tweener hole for someone like myself, who can only throw around 330-350' max; a birdie is possible but really unlikely, while a par is pretty routine. However, the woods to the left and creek to the right definitely present some danger if your throw is off line; this is a great finishing hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great small course

1    6/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Sketto
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well maintained teepads
- Good signage. You can't get lost.
- A surprisingly beautiful, little park.
- Though full of short par 3's, some of them are really quite tricky, requiring some touch.
- A great beginner course since it's not a bomber course, but also a great way for a veteran player to practice approaches and some ob-threatening putts.
- A course that really rewards simple, accurate throws over any huge drives. You'll only use driver a couple times at most.
- Good use of the water hazard on a bunch of holes. You'll be able to retrieve the disc though if you go in.
- A good mixture of whole types and a surprisingly good use of elevation and water, as well as woods/fields.
Cons: It's short. Mostly par 3's. If you only wanna throw huge drives every time, this ain't the course for you.
Other Thoughts: If you're a frequent player, play this course as a great way to play a quick round and work on medium approaches and putts that require some touch and skill. For such a short course, very well done.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    5/31/2013   6/7/2013
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.7 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the best in Greenville and the only 18 hole course in the Downtown area. It fits with the character of the city very well.

The first thing that stands out is this property is small. I have seen 9 hole courses with more land than this has. but they managed to put 18 good to great holes and make it work.

The creek is a major part of the course and it comes into play on holes: 1,2,5,7,8,9,10,11,12, and 18. I have played this course countless times and it never fails that I end up in the creek at some point.

the front and back are pretty different from eachother. the Front nine has a lot more birdie opportunity and is where I usually try to get my score down. The back nine has some longer, more treacherous holes, (10,11,12,18) Hole 5 is prob the toughest 2 on the course from my perspective. Its a 350+ dogleg right with an OB creek on the right. and the whole fairway is on the side of a hill, sloping towards the creek.

Timmons also has a good bit of variety. Left doglegs, right doglegs, uphill, downhill, straight tunnels. It has everything.
Cons: The parking lot is a little close on a few holes.

There are vandals that feel the need to deface these baskets with profanity and that drives me crazy

People may complain about it being too short. but these courses can really mold you into a better golfer. you need to control your disc, stay away from the creek and throw straight.
Other Thoughts: Please visit this gem. It wont take long to play, and it will be an enjoyable day. the trees provide some nice cover from the SC heat and this is the oldest Course in the Upstate.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    4/2/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Drewpy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, good combination of open shots vs tight shots, good average distance on holes, good combination of left-turn/right-turn/straight shots.
Cons: Very wet, no LONG holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, convenient location, best in area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    6/26/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 106  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course located close to downtown Greenville. Very well designed and fun course to play. This is a very technical but very long course, the shot variety called for is great and I love the elevation change. The small creek running thru the course provides interest and challenge without the specter of having your disc eaten buy an errant throw. The wooded holes all have good lines available with often a choice of hyzer or anhyzer shots. There are concrete pads at each hole many benches and trash cans available. This was one of the cleanest parks I have played, I don't think I found any trash laying on the ground. The baskets are fairly old and some are a little rusty but they all caught my disc well and that is the point. There are some interesting basket placements with 12 on the steep side hill being my favorite. A disc could pop out and roll a long way here. Navigation was fairly easy except for 12 which I missed completely. While I would call this a very beginner friendly course there is sufficient challenge along with several legit ace runs to keep the experienced players happy. A ran into several locals who were all friendly and helpful. There is obviously a very active disc golf community here. Unfortunately I did not have time to stay and play doubles.
Cons: Some of the signs were missing and of course I missed hole 12. A next tee sign at 11 would be very helpful here. There were some kids playing in the creel behind the basket for hole 2. Not wanting to hit any kids I was forced to play very short. This is a great hole with creek right behind the basket
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course to play. If I am ever back in the Greenville area I would love to play here again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    3/18/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very SOLID course in my opinion. Great mix of elevation throughout the entire course. You need a variety of shots to score well, this is probably one of the better wooded courses I've played in terms of difficulty and variety. Every hole has something different that will challenge your ability to shape shots around trees and control your distance.
For being a wooded course you get the breakout the driver a good bit. The back 9 is tougher than the front 9, but the front 9 requires more control. Several tight fairways that will test you, and a lot of elevation practically on every hole.
Pretty easy to navigate, hole #12 is across the street easy to skip if you haven't played before. None of the water is bad enough to where you'll lose a disc.
Really enjoyed this course and I'd recommend it to anyone in the area or passing through.
Cons: Restrooms were locked.
- I really don't have anything bad to say other than maybe next tee signage (it's there just make it more noticeable or more benches and trash cans, but I feel like you could say that about pretty much any course.
- It lacks the degree of risk / reward that will cause you to lose a disc. No water to throw over or shot that makes you nervous to throw. There you go....
Other Thoughts: I took two guys who just started playing and they said they enjoyed it more that the other courses in the Greenville area. Honestly, I think they got better from playing this course because it forced them to control their shots and they realized that elevation can really effect your score once that disc starts rolling downhill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course.

1    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty fun.

Plenty of elevation to keep you entertained, excellent use of the land available.

Nice little creek flowing through a lot of the holes, I'm always a fan of well placed OB and there are a couple pin placements that make you think about your shot selection.

Tons of benches out here, almost on every hole, maybe on every single hole, I don't remember.

The teesigns are nothing special but they get the job done, the distances all seemed accurate which is a pro over a lot of courses.

Another thing that has become a huge thing I view is greens and green speed, this course has some very fun ones that definitely make you think about the angle that you are coming at the pin, some very quick ones here, I love it.
Cons: The teepads are a bit narrow, I think the length of them was alright, just wish they were a bit wider.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, I think for backhands I used a putter and a roc almost the entire time, only needed a driver for some flicks, I played really poorly and still shot +2 or so, so it's a pretty easy course.

If you are in the area you SHOULD check it out, it was certainly fun, which to me is always the biggest pro about a course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Timmons Park

1    8/5/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: craigd
Played: 100  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an extremely fun course set in a great little park. Lots of shade trees, a bunch of elevation, and a nice creek set the tone. Though the holes are predominately short, thoughtful basket placements and consideration for terrain and natural features make for some interesting holes. You'll find many baskets perched on elevated areas so watching an arrant putt or an unlucky bounce roll away won't be uncommon. Precise shots are rewarded as many holes require almost laser accuracy. Half hearted shots will have you adding plenty of strokes. There's plenty of risk/reward shots scattered around the course too. Many times a roll away will flirt with the before mentioned creek. There are at least a dozen of these creek shots so of course there are plenty of chances to ring up extra OB strokes. In addition, there is a generous mix of up/down, left/ right, and strait shots giving plenty of variety. All in all, this is a solid course and really is a pleasure to play.

Concrete tee pads, signage (albeit spotty), and reliable baskets are all here. Benches on a few holes add to the overall package. There are bridges in areas where it counts. A kiosk with pertinent info greets you at the first hole. Finally, clean bathrooms and a water fountain are also close to the course.

You'll find really easy navigation with only a slightly confusing area at the 11/12 transition and to a lesser degree 14/15 as after 15 it seems natural to head to 17. (For those who haven't played, 16 is tucked in the woods to the left)

I met/talked to several locals during my round. They were very friendly and almost seemed excited to have me as a guest on the course. That's always a plus when visiting from out of town.
Cons: The course is missing any meaningful distance and overall it depends on short technical holes for its challenge. After all, there are only three holes that even top 300'. Beyond that, you'll have to get a little picky to find major cons here. The tee pads are a little shorter than typical. The consolation is that given the short holes, you probably won't miss the extra foot or two.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this park a lot. After just a few holes I knew this was going to be an enjoyable round. Ample birdie opportunities along with plenty of risks combined for a fun yet challenging layout. Holes 1-10 were my favorite as far as looks go. Then 11-18 have almost another personality but are still nice. I think anybody would have a great time playing here. Beginners to advanced players, there is something for everybody. Enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: atay87
Played: 104  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Relatively short course that makes great use of the small amount of land it is on.
-Elevation comes into play on most holes which makes the shots more interesting.
-The creek makes a great natural OB line.
-Pretty open but some trees to deal with on every hole.
-Plenty of variety.
-Newly installed benches on every tee.
-Good for introducing friends to the game.
Cons: -Its relative shortness can be a con if you are looking to play a longer round.
-A practice basket would be nice.
-Hole 12 seems a little unnecessarily difficult to birdie. It's practically a triple mando (hitting a gap, while keeping it low) but requires a decent amount of power to get it down the hill.
-Not really a con, just part of the game, but a few baskets are on hillsides, so putts that hit the basket low or high can drop then, pick up and roll all the way to the OB creek, turning your birdie into a double bogie.
Other Thoughts: The valley landscape with all the trees gives the course a lot of character. I'm glad it's so close to my work so I can play it during lunch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic old-school course

5+    2/27/2011   3/4/2011
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 35.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic, old school course designed before the big rimmed drivers became prevalent. The course offers a little bit of everything from touch shots, sloping greens, nice elevation changes and a couple of chances to let one fly.

The course has a nice creek that rolls through the course giving some nice OB on several holes. The creek isn't deep enough to keep you from retrieving a disc and not too wide to cross to the other side to chase down an errant shot.

It's a great use of the land available.

The best thing about Timmons is it gives you a feel of what Disc Golf was meant to be or least what it was years ago but it still offers a challenge for seasoned veterans and to new players just starting out.
Cons: The tee pads are really small and if you haven't played recently some of the design changes are not clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course in the Upstate of South Carolina and is a classically Innova Designed Course. The local club does an excellent job with maintenance and they run a Tuesday night league during the summer and you'll find plenty of action there on the weekends.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.