Greenville, SC
Timmons Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Tight uphill shot through the trees. Basket is perched on the side of a steep drop off. Creek in foreground is OB.



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Compares Favorably

1    6/22/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: St0rmbringer
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is beautiful, well-maintained and easy to access. There is manicured grass in the fairways of the open holes. The rough along the wooded fairways is controlled. Each hole offers some kind of reasonable challenge.
Cons: It ISN'T long. Players with big drives will be frustrated a bit. There was a section of creek that could eat discs. It was a bit wider than the rest and knee-high with water weeds.
Other Thoughts: This was the third course played on a Disc Golf weekend that included North Georgia Canopy Tours, Sandy Creek (Athens, GA) and Va-Du-Mar (Boiling Springs, SC). My fellow enthusiasts and I all agreed that Timmons, while not as challenging as the others would have been our pick for the course we wanted within walking distance from our houses. Will have to play it again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/27/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: WeenusWrinkle
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 Holes with nice Discatcher Pro baskets and concrete teepads

- Course is heavily shaded from the sun on the majority of the holes. The wooded holes are not overly dense, but feature some beautiful, mature trees.

- Very pronounced changes in elevation are used very well. Holes 2 and 17 are directly downhill requiring precise shots. Hole 2 requires good distance control as an OB creek is 10 feet behind the basket. Hole 17 is also narrow for a downhill shot which makes for great rewards for good shots (automatic bridies and ace chances) but can really punish a shot that stalls high or hooks left or right. Hole 8 is a short, technical hole in which the basket is placed perched on a VERY steep hill littered with large trees. A good shot is an easy birdie, a bad shot can easy roll down the hill in to the creek. Holes 3, 6, 13, and 15 are uphill shots that are tricky in the wind. Several holes are also positioned 'side-on' to a hill so that the entire fairway is slanted. Rollaways into a creek are common hazards for drives and upshots on these holes, as well as awkward throwing stances you won't find on other local courses. All the elevation change also makes for a better workout and calorie burning exercise than most disc golf courses I've played.

- The creek running through the middle of the course (9 of the holes are adjacent to it), yet it is shallow enough to find discs and traverse by rock jumping.

- Many varieties of throwing lines. Hyzers, Anhyzers, and straight shots. You'll want to bring more than a couple discs because of the variety in the shots needed. Some narrow throwing lines between trees. Drives on the long holes have well-placed trees that don't allow routine straight bombs to the basket. Flex shots and other throwing skill allows for birdies more than raw power.

- Convenient parking, bathroom and water fountain facilities.

- Only 1 Mando that is safety-based (runs next to the baseball field - most holes do not overlap or present much hazard to other players).

- Local random-draw doubles every Tuesday night at 6pm

- Friendly people, usually higher skilled players than other courses in the immediate area
Cons: -Teepads could be a little longer on some holes. I often start my runup behind the start of the concrete. This is fine when the teepad is flush with the ground, but not all of them are.

- Sometimes crowded during peak hours.

- During twighlight hours with waning light, difficult to find discs in the wooded areas sometimes.

- Freakin' gumballs, man. I seem to bust my butt slipping on these things every season they fall.

- Hiking/biking trails run through the course. Because disc golfers heavily outnumber them, they are usually wary of flying discs, but be careful and look before you throw around the holes with the baseball field nearby because of children.

- Hole 12 is difficult to find if you are playing for the first time without a guide

- No signs for hole distances or hole #'s on most holes

-

- If you are seeking holes longer than 350 feet to throw long range drivers, you won't find them here.

- Though there aren't too many biting insects , watch out for poison ivy and thorny vines in the heavy wooded areas off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This would be the ideal course for refining your game for tournament play. Big distance doesn't earn many strokes on the course. Course experience, smart throwing lines, and precision accuracy are necessary for a low score.

Although short, it is one of the more physically demanding courses in the area because of the elevation changes. Very good workout.

I live in the Greenville area, and this is my favorite course to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf the Way it Should Be

5+    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 72  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an amazingly fun disc golf course.

18 great holes. The terrain available was well used.

Variety of shots required to score well: hyzer, anhyzer, uphill, dowhill.

Very well taken care of by city. Mowed frequently and is pretty clear of trash.

Not a course where you just go out and throw. Timmons places a premium on accuracy.

Holes 1, 2, 6, 7, and 14 present solid opportunities for aces, but present enough challenge where they're not gimme birdies.

Great use of space made available. Well laid out and I don't leave wondering why they didn't use certain areas of the park.

Solid tee pads.

Tee signs are simple, but present all necessary information and look great.

Close proximity to downtown; easily accessible.
Cons: This course is notorious for roll aways. Baskets on hills present a good challenge, but this course tends to take it to an extreme which can punish good shots.

Unfortunately, vandalism to baskets and benches has to be listed as a con. Most are covered in vulgarity, but should soon be repainted.

Some space is shared with mountain bikers.

In the afternoons during fair weather months this course is crowded.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course well over a hundred times and it never gets old. Just a fun course to play and perfect your game. If you're coming to Greenville and can only play 1 course, this is it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/15/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Justin Garr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good tees to test your skills in making the disc fade or turn.
Cons: Alot of trees and a few drop offs.
Other Thoughts: I once found a broken in half disc(light blue sting ray)(no name on back) that i beleive gave me bad terrible bad luck on the back 9.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short and (very) sweet

1    11/13/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park in an older neighborhood near downtown--the community pride really shows in this area. A very good setting for a disc golf course with old hardwoods and a babbling brook running right through the middle of the park that comes into play on many holes (and REALLY comes into play on a few holes). Lots of variety with flat holes, holes with steep elevation changes, holes where you drive up, holes where you drive down, holes in the open and holes in the trees. This course will allow you to exercise your full repertoire of shots. The compact layout is easy to navigate and will let you get in a quick round while still challenging your skills. Concrete tee pads and very good signage on every hole. Course begins and ends right near the parking area.
Cons: Had to get real picky here, but there are a few holes where you really need to exercise caution going up or down steep inclines. On #8 in particular, the basket is on a steep incline with jots of jagged rocks and roots that you have to scale going up and down. These holes are not dangerous by any means, but do be careful!
Other Thoughts: I am a newbie (3 months) and have played about a dozen courses. Timmons Park is by far my favorite, which is surprising since so far I have favored longer, open courses where I can work on my distance drives. Although this is a very short course, it is by no means a pitch-and-putt. This course had me using shots I had never tried before and did not know I had in me. Every throw seemed to require a different technique from the previous one, and in the few locations where a straight throw is called for, the creek is usually there to keep you honest. It appears that any disc landing in the creek can be easily retrieved. There are numerous signs around the park reminding patrons to be considerate with regards to the neighborhood residents. Although I did not see any holes where a disc could stray onto private property, but the close proximity of the homes means you should use care with regards to behavior (noise, profanity, etc.).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Titan of DG in the Greenville area

5+    7/1/2011   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 53  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just an all around well thought out course. Some good chances at birdie,ace. Some nasty holes which really make you work to get better. A creek that is just big enough to be a booger but not a swallower of discs.

Great new benches there. Great teepads. Great use of elevation. Great variety of shots needed.

Basically Timmons requires skill and will challenge all.
Cons: Not enough trashcans out there. A few baskets need some refinishing. There are some teesigns missing but not many. Hole 18 is missing the teesign.
Other Thoughts: Could use multiple teepads to add some different looks.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 gvagas

5+    1/3/2001   8/27/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is one of the only courses that i have a shot of shooting under par. A well established course.
And on a good day you might just run into consessions.
Cons: the creek is a problem though out the course.
Other Thoughts: Short and tight with elevation on 10 holes and fast pin placements on hillsides. Several pins nestled close to OB creek. Be careful of mountain bikers.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love my home course

5+    6/14/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 85  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great wooded course with a few open drives. The trees here usually don't have branches until quite high up, which makes for less "I didn't see that branch" hits. Also, the high branches really make the woods feel wide open and approachable, even in the thick of summer.
Lots of elevation challenges.
Great tees and baskets.
Easy to pick up new friends.
Creek of Reedy River runs through center of park, but pretty easy to find discs unless there's been a TON of rain.
Park security guard often on patrol, and I've never heard anything about crime at the course or parking lot.
No really LONGGGG holes, but the design for use in the park is superb.
Cons: When baseball's in season, the kids can get in the way on one/ maybe two holes, but that's it.
Other Thoughts: For a free course, this is great. Don't really have to deal with much foot traffic either, the occasional dog walker or biker, but they're cool and know what the discs/holes are.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very fine short course

5+    11/11/2008   6/11/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 114  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 18.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, with shots up, down, and across slopes, and lots of very fast greens forcing you to pay attention to how your disc lands. A mountain-clear creek is in play on many holes, threatening OB with no risk of losing your disc.

A very technical course, but all-but-one fairways are fair.

Course is in a very lovely park, way back in a good neighborhood, with a single baseball field and a few other amenities.
Cons: A short course; better players will be itching for a chance to throw hard, but there are few.
Other Thoughts: A good course for all skill levels; short enough for beginners & casual players, a suitable challenge for advanced players trying to birdie almost every hole (birdies are always available but seldom easy).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/1/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: Herd1978
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: First time ever playing disc golf. I played the course with my cousins multiple times in two days. As a first timer, I had multiple birdies and almost got a hole in one on #14. Definitely, gave me the discgolf bug! Rating would've been higher, but I do not have any other courses to judge it against.
Cons: Par 5's could be 3's at other courses.
Other Thoughts: Great scenery! Saw a water moccasin, musk rat, and many other furry critters. Creek shots, forests, any many uphill challenges. Very enjoyable course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.