Greenville, SC 
Timmons Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1 (Taken 12/2007)
4 / 208ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 great home course!!!

5+    9/8/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: midrangemachine
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well since this is my home course I will try and not be to biased. Course has a great layout with what is available, course requires you to be able to throw different types of shots, ie. Hyzers,anhyzers,long straight shots etc. Course has many great ace chances,1,2,3,6,7,14 and 17. Very great course to work on finesse and touch shots. Course is rarely empty and if you come by your self you can usually tag along with one of the locals for added fun. Timmons park has other great immenites such as biking and jogging trails a playground for the kids tennis courts a baseball field and very clean bathrooms and a waterfountain. The front 9 loops back around to #1 and in my opinion is a little easier than back 9 "longer holes on back 9" nice wooded benches on just about ever hole. Also trash cans on some holes as well. Great discatcher baskets also. Course is great for people just starting out or even great for the seasoned pro. Creek comes into play on several holes 2,5,7,8,9,11 and 17 fairways are always in great shape and a lot of the times even some of the 'greens' are nice and raked which I'm sure is because of all the volunteer work done by the upstate discgolf club.
Cons: First off no practice basket but hopefully one day. Shorter tee pads but not to bad. Some signs are missing or are knocked down"will never understand what's so fun about people knocking them down" but that's another story. Some of the baskets have graffiti on them,(john doe ace 8.8.2099). This is not a huge deal but hole #3 and #8 share same bench not a big issue though. During the summer early fall there are a lot of fire ants mainly on 11,12 and by teebox on 13 and 18 would not advise wearing sandals or barefooted (from personal experienced) because of the ants and all of the gumballs that are easy to roll an ankle on.
Other Thoughts: This is such a great 18 hole course. Some of the most fun risk/reward holes in my opinion are 2,5,8,12,17. 18 finishes back close to parking lot. Def a must stop if your in the area. Also a 9 hole course named Holmes park is only about 2 miles away also. Course is pretty close to downtown greenville and if you like bbq henrys smoke house is only about 2-3 mins away from park on wadehampton blvd heading towards downtown. I've played this course well over 200 times and it never gets old. Also if your stopping by from out of town I would recommend posting on upstatediscgolfclub.com if you wanna meet up with a few of the locals and get a few rounds in

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!!!

1    6/29/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oh! Wow! This is amazing disc golf. Great course. 18 great holes. Good signs, Awesome terrain. Zero trash on course, kudos to the locals. This is a 4 disc course. bring a over, and under and a stable mid range and a fave putter. Course has no big arm stuff which will get gripes from some big arm guys... but I would challenge them to show up here and play 18 with me or anyone else. this course requires skill and will challenge all. great use of elevation. great use of trees. great choices on the few mandos, too. See notes in comments below for specific hole thoughts and raves. I always like to find a signature hole on every course... but I do not believe there is a signature hole here... it is a signature course. Obviously the course designers and the local club are true disc golf fans and there is a lot to love here. if I have to pick a fave it might be 7.
Cons: No signs on 16 and 17... But if you need a sign for 17 you have bigger issues. By the time I got to 16 I had faith and confidence that the basket was there... and since I had seen 17 I had a ppretty good idea of how far 16 might have been. Note: it is a slight annie shot. Transition from 11 to 12 is a bit tricky... but even I was able to get it right. My big con... Not with the course... but with the fact that I do not live close 'nuf so as to play here more. if I lived here i would lose my job! The lack of alt tees and baskets is a point some will complain about, but... why? This is such good fun as it is that these alt options are not even needed.
Other Thoughts: hole 1 starts out the game well... the roll away and fall off from the steepness of basket area will penalize you for a shot that does not stick. 2 is a beautiful basket placement between the trees with big hazard for an overshoot as it sits at creek edge .8 with the steep basket placement is just plain awesome. 9 is one of the best tree pinball galleries I have ever shot. Front nine is superb with 7 being a short hyzer with water trees and just a blast. And to comment on the water... at least the creek is crossable in many places and rock hopping to disc chase is fun and easy... trust me, I know first hand! :) . back 9 are great, too. 12 was good as the typical instinct is to throw high but tree hang over makes this tough... go low and you either disc it onto the ground or hit a tree.. choices, choices, choices... I love it! 13 wraps the road and puts pressure on you to throw a nice annie and keep it off the road. Tree roots at basket area can hop and pop a disc in interesting ways. This was quire evident on 13 and present on much of the front 9. 14 is simple, elegant and just great. The roll away penalty for short shooting can be high. 15 is blind but signs and distance info and the sense of trust the course earns form first 14 holes make this good fun.17 was a sight to behold across the ravine... like a big downward 14...18 is a nice finish to the whole thing. I will be back!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/22/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: goldenpecan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very steep terrain, lots of trees and holes are well guarded or out of sight of tee box. Excellent set up.
Cons: Need to walk course before you play for first time so you know where you are aiming.
Other Thoughts: some signs and hole markers are missing, but a great course overall. Very challenging course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.