Greenville, SC 
Timmons Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #4 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 This is a fun course

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros
-Course is located in a very nice park
-Concrete Tee's, Signs (no map), Scorecards (empty the day I played)
-Good use of elevation and terrain. The course plays uphill, downhill, and in and around the trees.
-Segregated from most of the parks other activities.*
-Water Hazards that still allow one to retrieve their disc.
-Requires strategic throws and placement. Though the holes can require one to throw in and around many trees, the course is not overly dense with trees.
-Enjoyable for all skill levels. Good for beginners, and can be enjoyed by the advanced player.
-Beings it's a shorter 18, the course does play fast.*
-Front and Back 9 play back to the start, allowing for a "Quick 9" if someone were pressed for time.
-#12 and #17 are two downhill shots that will make one want to empty their bag on.
-Other courses nearby. If you are trying to add one or two more courses to a tight schedule, then Holmes or Gower parks can be an excellent compliment to a round at Timmons.
Cons: -*There is a ballfield, which if a game is in session may make a couple of the holes difficult to play.
-*Course is fairly short, regarding distance per hole. It is a smaller 18 hole course.
-Twelve is hard to locate. (Up the hill, and across both roads)
-Mando's could be marked a little bigger. I missed one that I didn't notice until after I had thrown.
-Some holes play close to one another. It's just something to watch out for.
-No signs to the first hole. I drove through the parking lot twice, and couldn't find it. (Look for the basketball hoop, next to the ballfields. Then look for the stairs going down)
-Par could probably be brought down a little bit. (I scored a 53 which put me at -16 under par. It looks good, but that's a little to generous! :) )
-Park goers may find themselves wandering in and around the course. (I met a real nice gentleman out walking his dogs in between #11 and #18)
Other Thoughts: Timmons park had a big fun factor for me. Though it is a smaller/shorter 18 hole course, it was still very enjoyable to play. I would compare it to Earlwood in Columbia, SC, except maybe a little smaller. Timmons had very interesting changes in terrain. Such as #8. It plays uphill to a basket that resides on the side of a very steep hill. Very cool! Though there are plenty of trees to play around, it's not overly dense. Only a couple of holes have a real narrow path through the trees. (16 & 17) If you are in Greenville, then Timmons is a good course to play. You may not get a huge challenge, but you can still have a good time.
No special footwear is necessary, but you will be climbing some hills. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, but it is in the midst of a residential area.



11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Put on Your Ace Face!

1    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays through a wooded park and along a windy stream. You must understand that 85% of the holes are between 175-250 feet, so that said, an intermediate player and above will be looking for many ace and birdie opportunities. This is what makes the course fun. It also has it's share of challenges as the pins are creatively placed near trees and on slopes and near the stream to make approaches and putts interesting. Finally, the course is hilly, and the elevation changes make this truly 3-dimensional.

Favorites are #7, in which the majority of the short fairway is a creek! Holes #12 and 17 are narrow downhill wooded holes that demand accuracy to have a chance at birdie.
Cons: A couple holes are a bit dangerous - Hole #4 is good & twisty, but blind around a baseball wall to the right, which an unwary pedestrian could emerge from. Also, an overshot on #17 can hit someone in 18' fairway. 

Navigation is only (slightly) confusing when looking for tee #12 - just follow "next tee" sign straight up hill across road.

Minor complaint- tee pads were a little short.
Other Thoughts: I liked the tee signs, but about half were missing. Not a big deal, as the missing ones were usually short enough to guess how long the holes were.

Though this course lacked a true balance of hole lengths, I thought you should look at this as a way of honing your finesse game, and it's marvelous for that. And come on- everybody sure like lots of Ace opportunities!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/15/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Justin Garr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good tees to test your skills in making the disc fade or turn.
Cons: Alot of trees and a few drop offs.
Other Thoughts: I once found a broken in half disc(light blue sting ray)(no name on back) that i beleive gave me bad terrible bad luck on the back 9.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Perkerson & Earlewoods little love child

1    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of great basket placements and very rooty ground that can make even a great shot kind of iffy.
Great use of land and creeks winding through the park.
Great use of elevation.
Short but not easy.
Legitimate, albeit tight, lines on all holes.
Adequate signage giving you distance and par and an arrow with general direction.
Cons: Some drop offs from tee pads.
Some funky angles on the tee pads but not in a bad way.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun little course. It was very much like Perkerson park in Atlanta in the way it played around the creek, using it as an obstacle and sometimes as part of the fairway.
It also had some nice elevation changes reminiscent of Earlewood.
Not a lot of huge distance shots here but if you do not have accuracy or line shaping ability you will be hurting. A lot of shots will make you want to try again, over and over until you get it right.
The new 12 is a sweet run, even small arms can park it if they make the tight gap.
17 is one of those where you want to empty the bag of all your putters and if the hill wasn't so steep you would do it again.
8 was like an eagles nest perched on a rocky cliff.
We really had a great time playing this course and understand why the locals enjoy playing it so much.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Unimpressed

1    2/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: DGHacker2010
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: It was a change of pace from playing on my usual home course in Spartanburg.
Some challenging holes.
Cons: Not worth the drive to play the course.
Hole placement seemed very haphazard and not well thought out.
Because majority of the course is under trees, paths were mostly dirt.
Other Thoughts: Part of my review is probably due to the fact that I played this course on a cold blustery day in late winter. My home course is Va-Du-Mar in Spartanburg, which is a beautiful course and is being well maintained. Timmons Park seemed kind of an afterthought.

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Great Scenery

2-4    4/11/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a lovely course to play in the spring/summer. The creek is flowing and the trees are all nice, so if that is part of your experience then it is a plus here. Most holes are on the short side, but you generally have to shape your shot some to get close for a birdie. If you play when the creek is low then you don't have to worry about losing discs (the 1st time I played it was 4 or 5 feet deep, but this last time it was more like 1 or 2 feet). There is a good variety of up and down, left and right holes. A few tight tee shots and a several open holes. This is a nice course to play with friends or just out to throw some discs without having to worry too much.
Cons: The tees are concrete which is a big plus for me, but they were short, with big drop offs. We were all a little worried about coming off the front edge. I would rather not have the concrete in some cases over the short tee box. A lot of the holes are short which is okay but I could have used a little more length here and there.
Other Thoughts: The shortness can probably be a big con for some pro players. I usually have been around 4 or 5 over par on other courses, and shot a 1 under here (which was nice).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

2-4    4/7/2011   3/31/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 201  Reviewed: 192  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Timmons is a fun, wooded course. It's short and tight, especially on the front 9, meaning good shots are required, but plenty of birdies to be had.
- Front 9 is shorter and more wooded. 8 holes on front 9 are potential birdie opportunities. They play under 250 feet and aren't overly difficult, meaning even a decent shot will give you a birdie putt. Back 9 is longer and tougher, so birdies require more clutch throwing.
- Course takes tremendous use of its terrain. Almost every hole has some use of elevation, making some holes play much shorter & others much longer. Good basket placements make some shots high risk/reward. Creek comes in to play on several holes.
- Course is easy to navigate. There's a giant map on a kiosk by #1, after that I never needed a map. There's one possible confusing transition - after #11's basket, the closest tee is for #13, but there's a sign directing towards #12 tee.
- Good flow to course - #9 ends back at the beginning, so you can easily play 9 holes. No long walks between holes.
- Course seems great for all skill levels. Beginners won't be overwhelmed, and there's still plenty of challenge for advanced players.
Cons: Course has no major glaring flaws. It seems to be close it to its absolute best.
- Parking lot isn't that big. With a Little League field in the same park, parking may get tough at times.
- Course is in cramped quarters. Some holes/fairways come very close to each other, so need to keep an eye out for other players. For example, my approach shot for #11 sailed past the basket and down a slope, ending up right next to the tee for #13.
- Some of the underbrush is very thick - especially alongside & behind # 5, 7, 8 and in the valley of death near holes #13, 14 & 17.
- Be aware of the awkward transition from #11 to #12. After finishing #11, the closest tee is for #13. To get to #12, you have to cross the park road, walk up half the fairway and then tee off. Better signage here would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Timmons reminded of a combination of Glenn Hilton in Hickory, NC (the front 9) & Earlewood in Columbia, SC (the back 9). All three courses are fun, short and hilly.
- Area around the course seems to be nice, especially compared to many other neighborhood park courses that are in sketchy areas. I loved the houses looking down on the course & park. Talk about a great place to live.
- Great layout for hole #8. It's a midrange, uphill shot, with basket on side of hill. Small, flat area around basket, leads to possibility of shots rolling down hill.
- Course could use a couple more long holes (at least 350 ft) that require drivers. #5 is a great hole, and it'd be nice to see more holes like it. Course has 12 holes under 250 feet, 14 under 270.
- This is a must play in my book. One I always play when I'm in this area. Everyone in Greenville, or driving on I-85, needs to stop here and play. You won't be disappointed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short and (very) sweet

1    11/13/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park in an older neighborhood near downtown--the community pride really shows in this area. A very good setting for a disc golf course with old hardwoods and a babbling brook running right through the middle of the park that comes into play on many holes (and REALLY comes into play on a few holes). Lots of variety with flat holes, holes with steep elevation changes, holes where you drive up, holes where you drive down, holes in the open and holes in the trees. This course will allow you to exercise your full repertoire of shots. The compact layout is easy to navigate and will let you get in a quick round while still challenging your skills. Concrete tee pads and very good signage on every hole. Course begins and ends right near the parking area.
Cons: Had to get real picky here, but there are a few holes where you really need to exercise caution going up or down steep inclines. On #8 in particular, the basket is on a steep incline with jots of jagged rocks and roots that you have to scale going up and down. These holes are not dangerous by any means, but do be careful!
Other Thoughts: I am a newbie (3 months) and have played about a dozen courses. Timmons Park is by far my favorite, which is surprising since so far I have favored longer, open courses where I can work on my distance drives. Although this is a very short course, it is by no means a pitch-and-putt. This course had me using shots I had never tried before and did not know I had in me. Every throw seemed to require a different technique from the previous one, and in the few locations where a straight throw is called for, the creek is usually there to keep you honest. It appears that any disc landing in the creek can be easily retrieved. There are numerous signs around the park reminding patrons to be considerate with regards to the neighborhood residents. Although I did not see any holes where a disc could stray onto private property, but the close proximity of the homes means you should use care with regards to behavior (noise, profanity, etc.).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice city course

1    10/30/2009   11/2/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Course is in good condition (e.g. baskets, paths, growth, cement tees, etc)
-Fun course that is accessible for beginners and intermediate players looking for a nice under par round
-Good amount of scenery for a "city" course, some holes feel fairly secluded
Cons: -Feels a bit too easy for the intermediate/advanced player, one tee one pin makes for a simple round across the board
-"Filler" holes, or holes that just make up the numbers is far too common here
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a solid course, and rated objectively earns a 2.5 from me. I don't consider 2.5 to be bad, Timmons is far from a poor course, however, it is a decent/typical course. That being said, it was highly enjoyable and a morale booster (birdies galore).
Best holes:
#5: Sweeping right hand hole with a sizable fairway and a creek hugging on the right. Decent length lets you put plenty of power to get to the pin. My favorite here at Timmons.
#10: Another longer hole with plenty of room for arm, but the pin lies on a hillside with the creek on the right hand side of fairway that will catch errant throws and rolls.
#17: I enjoy throwing downhill so this hole fits the bill perfectly. Don't throw too hard though, its short and the elevation will carry your disc.
#18: Long'ish' hole, straight forward. Enjoyable finishing hole.
Three Poorest Holes:
#9: Luck shot, feels forced with no fairway.
New#12: again, feels forced and since its new I'll give it the benefit of the doubt because it needs some breaking in. Birdie here (what I got) was pure luck.
#16: Nothing terribly wrong with the hole, but I didn't like it because it was unimaginative. The elevation by the pin is the only thing keeping this playable.

Timmons is well worth a stop off of I-85. It won't tire you completely and is enjoyable. Overall, expect to find a well thought out course on a nice piece of land that will serve up the birdies to the willing and you'll be just fine.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Titan of DG in the Greenville area

5+    7/1/2011   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 89  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just an all around well thought out course. Some good chances at birdie,ace. Some nasty holes which really make you work to get better. A creek that is just big enough to be a booger but not a swallower of discs.

Great new benches there. Great teepads. Great use of elevation. Great variety of shots needed.

Basically Timmons requires skill and will challenge all.
Cons: Not enough trashcans out there. A few baskets need some refinishing. There are some teesigns missing but not many. Hole 18 is missing the teesign.
Other Thoughts: Could use multiple teepads to add some different looks.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center