Greenville, SC 
Timmons Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #4 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Home Course

5+    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: atay87
Played: 104  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Relatively short course that makes great use of the small amount of land it is on.
-Elevation comes into play on most holes which makes the shots more interesting.
-The creek makes a great natural OB line.
-Pretty open but some trees to deal with on every hole.
-Plenty of variety.
-Newly installed benches on every tee.
-Good for introducing friends to the game.
Cons: -Its relative shortness can be a con if you are looking to play a longer round.
-A practice basket would be nice.
-Hole 12 seems a little unnecessarily difficult to birdie. It's practically a triple mando (hitting a gap, while keeping it low) but requires a decent amount of power to get it down the hill.
-Not really a con, just part of the game, but a few baskets are on hillsides, so putts that hit the basket low or high can drop then, pick up and roll all the way to the OB creek, turning your birdie into a double bogie.
Other Thoughts: The valley landscape with all the trees gives the course a lot of character. I'm glad it's so close to my work so I can play it during lunch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic old-school course

5+    2/27/2011   3/4/2011
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 35.6 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic, old school course designed before the big rimmed drivers became prevalent. The course offers a little bit of everything from touch shots, sloping greens, nice elevation changes and a couple of chances to let one fly.

The course has a nice creek that rolls through the course giving some nice OB on several holes. The creek isn't deep enough to keep you from retrieving a disc and not too wide to cross to the other side to chase down an errant shot.

It's a great use of the land available.

The best thing about Timmons is it gives you a feel of what Disc Golf was meant to be or least what it was years ago but it still offers a challenge for seasoned veterans and to new players just starting out.
Cons: The tee pads are really small and if you haven't played recently some of the design changes are not clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course in the Upstate of South Carolina and is a classically Innova Designed Course. The local club does an excellent job with maintenance and they run a Tuesday night league during the summer and you'll find plenty of action there on the weekends.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/22/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: goldenpecan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very steep terrain, lots of trees and holes are well guarded or out of sight of tee box. Excellent set up.
Cons: Need to walk course before you play for first time so you know where you are aiming.
Other Thoughts: some signs and hole markers are missing, but a great course overall. Very challenging course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 This is a fun course

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros
-Course is located in a very nice park
-Concrete Tee's, Signs (no map), Scorecards (empty the day I played)
-Good use of elevation and terrain. The course plays uphill, downhill, and in and around the trees.
-Segregated from most of the parks other activities.*
-Water Hazards that still allow one to retrieve their disc.
-Requires strategic throws and placement. Though the holes can require one to throw in and around many trees, the course is not overly dense with trees.
-Enjoyable for all skill levels. Good for beginners, and can be enjoyed by the advanced player.
-Beings it's a shorter 18, the course does play fast.*
-Front and Back 9 play back to the start, allowing for a "Quick 9" if someone were pressed for time.
-#12 and #17 are two downhill shots that will make one want to empty their bag on.
-Other courses nearby. If you are trying to add one or two more courses to a tight schedule, then Holmes or Gower parks can be an excellent compliment to a round at Timmons.
Cons: -*There is a ballfield, which if a game is in session may make a couple of the holes difficult to play.
-*Course is fairly short, regarding distance per hole. It is a smaller 18 hole course.
-Twelve is hard to locate. (Up the hill, and across both roads)
-Mando's could be marked a little bigger. I missed one that I didn't notice until after I had thrown.
-Some holes play close to one another. It's just something to watch out for.
-No signs to the first hole. I drove through the parking lot twice, and couldn't find it. (Look for the basketball hoop, next to the ballfields. Then look for the stairs going down)
-Par could probably be brought down a little bit. (I scored a 53 which put me at -16 under par. It looks good, but that's a little to generous! :) )
-Park goers may find themselves wandering in and around the course. (I met a real nice gentleman out walking his dogs in between #11 and #18)
Other Thoughts: Timmons park had a big fun factor for me. Though it is a smaller/shorter 18 hole course, it was still very enjoyable to play. I would compare it to Earlwood in Columbia, SC, except maybe a little smaller. Timmons had very interesting changes in terrain. Such as #8. It plays uphill to a basket that resides on the side of a very steep hill. Very cool! Though there are plenty of trees to play around, it's not overly dense. Only a couple of holes have a real narrow path through the trees. (16 & 17) If you are in Greenville, then Timmons is a good course to play. You may not get a huge challenge, but you can still have a good time.
No special footwear is necessary, but you will be climbing some hills. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, but it is in the midst of a residential area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Put on Your Ace Face!

1    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays through a wooded park and along a windy stream. You must understand that 85% of the holes are between 175-250 feet, so that said, an intermediate player and above will be looking for many ace and birdie opportunities. This is what makes the course fun. It also has it's share of challenges as the pins are creatively placed near trees and on slopes and near the stream to make approaches and putts interesting. Finally, the course is hilly, and the elevation changes make this truly 3-dimensional.

Favorites are #7, in which the majority of the short fairway is a creek! Holes #12 and 17 are narrow downhill wooded holes that demand accuracy to have a chance at birdie.
Cons: A couple holes are a bit dangerous - Hole #4 is good & twisty, but blind around a baseball wall to the right, which an unwary pedestrian could emerge from. Also, an overshot on #17 can hit someone in 18' fairway. 

Navigation is only (slightly) confusing when looking for tee #12 - just follow "next tee" sign straight up hill across road.

Minor complaint- tee pads were a little short.
Other Thoughts: I liked the tee signs, but about half were missing. Not a big deal, as the missing ones were usually short enough to guess how long the holes were.

Though this course lacked a true balance of hole lengths, I thought you should look at this as a way of honing your finesse game, and it's marvelous for that. And come on- everybody sure like lots of Ace opportunities!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/15/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Justin Garr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good tees to test your skills in making the disc fade or turn.
Cons: Alot of trees and a few drop offs.
Other Thoughts: I once found a broken in half disc(light blue sting ray)(no name on back) that i beleive gave me bad terrible bad luck on the back 9.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Perkerson & Earlewoods little love child

1    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of great basket placements and very rooty ground that can make even a great shot kind of iffy.
Great use of land and creeks winding through the park.
Great use of elevation.
Short but not easy.
Legitimate, albeit tight, lines on all holes.
Adequate signage giving you distance and par and an arrow with general direction.
Cons: Some drop offs from tee pads.
Some funky angles on the tee pads but not in a bad way.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun little course. It was very much like Perkerson park in Atlanta in the way it played around the creek, using it as an obstacle and sometimes as part of the fairway.
It also had some nice elevation changes reminiscent of Earlewood.
Not a lot of huge distance shots here but if you do not have accuracy or line shaping ability you will be hurting. A lot of shots will make you want to try again, over and over until you get it right.
The new 12 is a sweet run, even small arms can park it if they make the tight gap.
17 is one of those where you want to empty the bag of all your putters and if the hill wasn't so steep you would do it again.
8 was like an eagles nest perched on a rocky cliff.
We really had a great time playing this course and understand why the locals enjoy playing it so much.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    2/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: DGHacker2010
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: It was a change of pace from playing on my usual home course in Spartanburg.
Some challenging holes.
Cons: Not worth the drive to play the course.
Hole placement seemed very haphazard and not well thought out.
Because majority of the course is under trees, paths were mostly dirt.
Other Thoughts: Part of my review is probably due to the fact that I played this course on a cold blustery day in late winter. My home course is Va-Du-Mar in Spartanburg, which is a beautiful course and is being well maintained. Timmons Park seemed kind of an afterthought.

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Great Scenery

2-4    4/11/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a lovely course to play in the spring/summer. The creek is flowing and the trees are all nice, so if that is part of your experience then it is a plus here. Most holes are on the short side, but you generally have to shape your shot some to get close for a birdie. If you play when the creek is low then you don't have to worry about losing discs (the 1st time I played it was 4 or 5 feet deep, but this last time it was more like 1 or 2 feet). There is a good variety of up and down, left and right holes. A few tight tee shots and a several open holes. This is a nice course to play with friends or just out to throw some discs without having to worry too much.
Cons: The tees are concrete which is a big plus for me, but they were short, with big drop offs. We were all a little worried about coming off the front edge. I would rather not have the concrete in some cases over the short tee box. A lot of the holes are short which is okay but I could have used a little more length here and there.
Other Thoughts: The shortness can probably be a big con for some pro players. I usually have been around 4 or 5 over par on other courses, and shot a 1 under here (which was nice).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

2-4    4/7/2011   3/31/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 205  Reviewed: 200  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Timmons is a fun, wooded course. It's short and tight, especially on the front 9, meaning good shots are required, but plenty of birdies to be had.
- Front 9 is shorter and more wooded. 8 holes on front 9 are potential birdie opportunities. They play under 250 feet and aren't overly difficult, meaning even a decent shot will give you a birdie putt. Back 9 is longer and tougher, so birdies require more clutch throwing.
- Course takes tremendous use of its terrain. Almost every hole has some use of elevation, making some holes play much shorter & others much longer. Good basket placements make some shots high risk/reward. Creek comes in to play on several holes.
- Course is easy to navigate. There's a giant map on a kiosk by #1, after that I never needed a map. There's one possible confusing transition - after #11's basket, the closest tee is for #13, but there's a sign directing towards #12 tee.
- Good flow to course - #9 ends back at the beginning, so you can easily play 9 holes. No long walks between holes.
- Course seems great for all skill levels. Beginners won't be overwhelmed, and there's still plenty of challenge for advanced players.
Cons: Course has no major glaring flaws. It seems to be close it to its absolute best.
- Parking lot isn't that big. With a Little League field in the same park, parking may get tough at times.
- Course is in cramped quarters. Some holes/fairways come very close to each other, so need to keep an eye out for other players. For example, my approach shot for #11 sailed past the basket and down a slope, ending up right next to the tee for #13.
- Some of the underbrush is very thick - especially alongside & behind # 5, 7, 8 and in the valley of death near holes #13, 14 & 17.
- Be aware of the awkward transition from #11 to #12. After finishing #11, the closest tee is for #13. To get to #12, you have to cross the park road, walk up half the fairway and then tee off. Better signage here would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Timmons reminded of a combination of Glenn Hilton in Hickory, NC (the front 9) & Earlewood in Columbia, SC (the back 9). All three courses are fun, short and hilly.
- Area around the course seems to be nice, especially compared to many other neighborhood park courses that are in sketchy areas. I loved the houses looking down on the course & park. Talk about a great place to live.
- Great layout for hole #8. It's a midrange, uphill shot, with basket on side of hill. Small, flat area around basket, leads to possibility of shots rolling down hill.
- Course could use a couple more long holes (at least 350 ft) that require drivers. #5 is a great hole, and it'd be nice to see more holes like it. Course has 12 holes under 250 feet, 14 under 270.
- This is a must play in my book. One I always play when I'm in this area. Everyone in Greenville, or driving on I-85, needs to stop here and play. You won't be disappointed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.