Greenville, SC 
Timmons Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    3/30/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 259  Reviewed: 249  Exp: 19.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Enjoyable 18 hole park-style course containing a nice mix and variety of holes. Many holes are short enough giving you your basic par 3 with some birdie chances and even an a couple ace runs, but no hole is a guarantee with the amount of elevation (up and down) nicely used, plus you have to avoid the small creek in play on many holes. There are a few holes where you do have the chance for longer drives (11, 18 for example).

Much of the course is in your typical park area- mowed grass, several mature trees, and little to no undergrowth anywhere. There are a couple holes on the back that do play through some more heavily wooded areas adding to the overall mix in hole style.

There were good concrete tees for each hole and the baskets, though older, were fine. Navigation was pretty easy the first time using some common sense and the map here on DGCR, despite the lack of tee signs and next tee signs (* see Cons below).

The creek is definitely in play on several holes, but is only a factor for adding strokes and not a disc losing hazard as the water was low and clear and relatively easy to retrieve discs. (Water did not look nasty or polluted as mentioned in some earlier reviews, so maybe an improvement or just lucky timing?)
Cons: Biggest negative is that many of the tee signs were missing, so most of the time no hole number or distance, though some of the tee pads had this info on them (somebody should just write it on all the tee pads.) I am sure there were 18 tee signs at one point in time, but some people just don't let others have nice things.

The only real navigational hurdle was finding #12, which is the only hole across the road- #13 tee is very close to #11 basket, and from the looks of the dirt path, it seems many locals just skip #12 (which I personally thought was a fun hole, despite the short walk up the hill and across the road). The map on DGCR clearly shows where it is, glad I printed it off!

Seemed to be a popular course for the locals, being a bit crowded even on a weekday afternoon. Since there are holes that play down each side of the creek, you have to be alert for players and discs on the other side, and may have to wait for them to finish their hole before you can safely play yours.
Other Thoughts: I really liked Timmons. Not the hardest course ever, but definitely not dull. With a good variety of holes it was just really fun to play (and was a nice change of pace having just played Langley Pond that morning and IDGC the day before, giving me a mental and physical break before tackling nearby Pipeline, Tyger, and Grand Central.)

This course appeals to a wider range of skill levels and really has something to offer for just about everyone. Recommended for everyone to play here at least once or twice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent course with warts

2-4    9/12/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: RollingRoadkill
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes. Simple arrangement. Good use of terrain.
Cons: Congested, tight fairways on the front nine. Unforgiving of bad shots. No hole diagrams. No map. Serious flow issues: 1->2, 11->12, 14->15->16->17. Very small tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This is actually a good course once you know the layout. Someone put some real thought into most of the holes, but that was some time ago.

#12 seems like an afterthought or a later change. Perhaps one of the holes had to be replaced for some reason.

The front nine is very tight and technical, demanding good shot choices and execution. The back nine combines open and tight holes with elevation changes, even offering a few opportunities to use an actual driver (11,13,18).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Descent

1    8/18/2015   8/20/2015
Review By: trotline32
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pros:
Length of Course - Not too Long not too short
Hole Difficulty - Holes aren't too long so you don't have to have a ton of distance to be competitive.
Cons: Cons:
Poorly Marked - Not every hole is marked on the tee box. If you don't know the course you will NEVER find the 12th tee box!
Water - Be prepared to get wet. Around half of the holes are right next to a creek. Some of the basket placements are very unforgiving.
Other Thoughts: Overall I wasn't impressed with the course. It felt as though the course had began to deteriorate. There are several holes that are blind from the tee box and yet there are no signs at most of the tee boxes indicating the hole layout. There also isn't an overview map available to help with locating the next tee box. Had I not watched this course being played on YouTube I never would have found the tee box for #12. I like the terrain but I'm not crazy about the basket placement. Some baskets are on a steep hill and some are a mere few feet from the creek. This makes for some very unforgiving putts.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A pretty good short course

5+    8/6/2015   8/11/2015
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though the baskets are older Discatchers, they still catch well.

The course uses the elevation and creek very effectively.

There are a couple holes where you can really rip a disc, specifically 5, 13 and 18

Not too many issues with maintenance, aside from a few graffiti issues

Most holes have benches, and there are a couple trash cans along the course in good locations

There are bathrooms in the parking lot

Flow isn't too big of an issue except for one hole, although there are a few twists and turns throughout the course

The course plays host to an annual tournament, the Upstate Classic, which will be played for the 17th time this fall.
Cons: There can be some vandalism issues now and then

Signage on the whole is pretty poor, but navigation isn't the most difficult overall

Hole 11's fairway has something that appears to be mud but probably isn't

Hole 12's straight at the basket line can be pretty well covered by tree branches

You have to cross the main park road to play hole 12, which can be easy to miss

Hole 5 is a par 3, and seems to require an incredible shot and putt to get a birdie. I list this as a con because there are several other spots where the pin could have been moved which have created a reachable but still difficult par 3. However, it's still a very fun hole
Other Thoughts: Timmons Park is an older, but still very good, disc golf course in the Upstate. It plays in and around a little valley in a nice older city park with a creek. Most holes are reachable, but there are some placement shots as well. The front 9 is a bit more technical than the back nine, being crammed around the creek and ballfield towards the back of the park. However, these are some very fun holes which have many basket placements close to the creek, and can create some fun risk/reward shots. There are also some very tight windows off the tee which make tee shots difficult, but also fun. The back 9 plays a bit more open, with more room between the holes. There are a couple tee shots dealing with trees, but for the most part the holes feel more open. The back nine also uses the elevation effectively. You can definitely tell that it's an old course, but it doesn't feel run down, rather just worn in. There are some abandoned tee and pin locations which I think add a neat sense of history to the course. I don't really think the lack of tee signs really detracts from the course, although a few next tee signs would be a good addition on a couple holes. Overall though, this is a really fun course to play; there are some ace runs, some classic disc golf, and a few strategic holes. I always love having a chance to play a round at Timmons Park.

Specific thoughts on some holes which I just want to mention:

I've aced hole 2, which is also a good risk/reward hole; you can either run the ace or short birdie putt, or can play a hyzer layup shot to get a layup par or a longer birdie putt.

They are building a neighborhood behind the park, and have recently fenced off an area behind hole 4 where a very bad shot could potentially find its way over the fence. Hopefully this doesn't become a concern later.

Hole 5 is one of my favorite holes on the course; you can either play to and around the turn for a shorter upshot, or throw long, past the trees, to a secondary fairway up top with a longer but more open upshot. I do wish they hadn't moved the pin so far around the turn, but rather had put it further back up the hill from where it had been. Then the pin would be reachable with a very nice drive. However, where it is now is a great green, so it really is what it is, which is to say a bit of a tweener hole.

Hole 9 may feel very restrictive, but there is a RH thumber line through the left gap to the pin.

Hole 10 has what feels like the most uncomfortable teepad on the course, with a large tree to the right that it feels like you can hit with your follow-through; the green on this hole is really fast as well, with long rollaways a likely scenario for missed putts and upshots

There is a RHBH hyzer line on hole 12 that sets you up nicely for a par. It's kind of a difficult angle; I feel like this is probably the worst hole on the course.

Hole 14 is a fun ace run; I've had one chain out. The pin was moved about six inches right in preparation for a teepad move that never materialized; oh well, still a fun hole.

Hole 17 is the classic Upstate top-of-the-world shot, really fun.

I feel like Hole 18 is probably one of the prettiest on the course. It also feels a bit like a tweener hole for someone like myself, who can only throw around 330-350' max; a birdie is possible but really unlikely, while a par is pretty routine. However, the woods to the left and creek to the right definitely present some danger if your throw is off line; this is a great finishing hole.



5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Course needs some work.

2-4    5/14/2015   5/19/2015
Review By: Rappel_Welch
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed course, lots of challenges such as water, trees, visibility. Nicely wooded area. Trails are well-maintained for the most part.
Cons: Poor signage. The creek and many of the grassy areas appear polluted with sewage. I don't mind getting a little dirty or wet, but this course needs attention.
Other Thoughts: The location and the course are good overall. They are currently rebuilding one of the creek bridges. I would play here again in a heartbeat if I wasn't concerned about the pollution.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Little Course

1    4/11/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: lammersk
Played: 37  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Timmons is a small municipal park where someone put some thought and effort into making an above average course. While there are no spectacular, "signature" pins, there are also no bad ones. I like the neon green pins with blue baskets and bands; they may look a little tacky, but they were also the easiest baskets to spot that I've run across. The use of the woods, hills, and stream is excellent.
Cons: Serious: Signs - There is no map at the beginning of the course. Many of the tees have no sign whatsoever and those that do are minimal, without a map of the fairway or directions to the next tee. Most of the time I was able to track down the next tee with a little searching, but I could not find 12 and eventually went on to play the next pin. It wasn't until I was near the end of the course and saw some locals crossing the street that I realized the tee for 12 was over there.

Minor: There were a couple places where the hills got a little steep as you walked down them and some stairs or a rope between two trees to hold onto would have been helpful, but that may more be a symptom of my age than a real problem; the kids playing the course did not seem to be bothered.
Other Thoughts: I was in Greenville for a single day and only had time to play this course once. That's a shame, because I think that once you figure this course out, and aren't wandering around trying to find the next tee, it would be even more enjoyable. It's not a course set up for serious competitors, but it's a solid course where you can play a quick, fun round with a decent amount of challenege.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A great small course

1    6/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Sketto
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well maintained teepads
- Good signage. You can't get lost.
- A surprisingly beautiful, little park.
- Though full of short par 3's, some of them are really quite tricky, requiring some touch.
- A great beginner course since it's not a bomber course, but also a great way for a veteran player to practice approaches and some ob-threatening putts.
- A course that really rewards simple, accurate throws over any huge drives. You'll only use driver a couple times at most.
- Good use of the water hazard on a bunch of holes. You'll be able to retrieve the disc though if you go in.
- A good mixture of whole types and a surprisingly good use of elevation and water, as well as woods/fields.
Cons: It's short. Mostly par 3's. If you only wanna throw huge drives every time, this ain't the course for you.
Other Thoughts: If you're a frequent player, play this course as a great way to play a quick round and work on medium approaches and putts that require some touch and skill. For such a short course, very well done.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Compares Favorably

1    6/22/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: St0rmbringer
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is beautiful, well-maintained and easy to access. There is manicured grass in the fairways of the open holes. The rough along the wooded fairways is controlled. Each hole offers some kind of reasonable challenge.
Cons: It ISN'T long. Players with big drives will be frustrated a bit. There was a section of creek that could eat discs. It was a bit wider than the rest and knee-high with water weeds.
Other Thoughts: This was the third course played on a Disc Golf weekend that included North Georgia Canopy Tours, Sandy Creek (Athens, GA) and Va-Du-Mar (Boiling Springs, SC). My fellow enthusiasts and I all agreed that Timmons, while not as challenging as the others would have been our pick for the course we wanted within walking distance from our houses. Will have to play it again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    5/31/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the best in Greenville and the only 18 hole course in the Downtown area. It fits with the character of the city very well.

The first thing that stands out is this property is small. I have seen 9 hole courses with more land than this has. but they managed to put 18 good to great holes and make it work.

The creek is a major part of the course and it comes into play on holes: 1,2,5,7,8,9,10,11,12, and 18. I have played this course countless times and it never fails that I end up in the creek at some point.

the front and back are pretty different from eachother. the Front nine has a lot more birdie opportunity and is where I usually try to get my score down. The back nine has some longer, more treacherous holes, (10,11,12,18) Hole 5 is prob the toughest 2 on the course from my perspective. Its a 350+ dogleg right with an OB creek on the right. and the whole fairway is on the side of a hill, sloping towards the creek.

Timmons also has a good bit of variety. Left doglegs, right doglegs, uphill, downhill, straight tunnels. It has everything.
Cons: The parking lot is a little close on a few holes.

There are vandals that feel the need to deface these baskets with profanity and that drives me crazy

People may complain about it being too short. but these courses can really mold you into a better golfer. you need to control your disc, stay away from the creek and throw straight.
Other Thoughts: Please visit this gem. It wont take long to play, and it will be an enjoyable day. the trees provide some nice cover from the SC heat and this is the oldest Course in the Upstate.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    4/2/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Drewpy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, good combination of open shots vs tight shots, good average distance on holes, good combination of left-turn/right-turn/straight shots.
Cons: Very wet, no LONG holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, convenient location, best in area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.