Greenville, SC 
Timmons Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #14
3 / 167ft.   3 / 167ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short and Sweet

2-4    9/4/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 116  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *18 hole course with discatchers
*Elevation is used throughout the course, there are only a small handful of holes that are flat. There are an equal amount of uphill and downhill holes, a few pins are placed hill sides.
*There is a good mix of wooded and open holes. Wooded holes are not overly difficult and have nicely trimmed fairways. Open holes are not completely open, with trees scattered throughout the fairway adding some challenge.
*A stream comes into play on several holes adding some challenge, however, it has been dry with very little water the few times i've been there making discs easy to retrieve.
*Several short holes provide for many ace runs.
*This is a good course for beginners as many holes are shorter.
*Navigation was not a problem except for hole 12.
*Benches and signs at nearly all teestations. A few trashcans can be found throughout the course.
*Disc golf sign near the first tee with disc golf related news and info.
*The park has nice facilities such as a playground, pavilion, ballpark, and mt. bike trail.
Cons: *The biggest con for me is that this course lacks the distance factor, there are many short holes, I used a putter or mid to tee off on probably more than half of the holes, and nothing more than a fairway driver on the rest of the holes.
*A few tee signs were missing.
*There is a lot of rough rocks in some of the fairways that could tear up your discs
*teepad for hole 10 is between 2 trees, I felt that I might hit my hand on my follow through which held me back on my drive
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course. It is mostly short which gives you a chance for many deuces and ace runs. The elevation adds to the fun factor. The variety of the holes is a bonus since you'll be playing some tighter holes, and a good mix between left and right turning holes. I really did enjoy this course, but wish for some longer holes. I enjoyed hole 4 which requires a long slowly right turning tee shot in which you'll need to avoid the creek on the right. Also, 18 which is a bit longer as well with a creek on the right. And of course 17, which probably has the biggest elevation drop and requires you to hit a narrow gap to put it close to the pin.
I'll be back to play this course when I'm in the area. It is definitley worth the stop if you're in the area, as well as Century park. If you're looking to add to your course count, Holmes is very close nearby as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Timmons Park

1    8/5/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an extremely fun course set in a great little park. Lots of shade trees, a bunch of elevation, and a nice creek set the tone. Though the holes are predominately short, thoughtful basket placements and consideration for terrain and natural features make for some interesting holes. You'll find many baskets perched on elevated areas so watching an arrant putt or an unlucky bounce roll away won't be uncommon. Precise shots are rewarded as many holes require almost laser accuracy. Half hearted shots will have you adding plenty of strokes. There's plenty of risk/reward shots scattered around the course too. Many times a roll away will flirt with the before mentioned creek. There are at least a dozen of these creek shots so of course there are plenty of chances to ring up extra OB strokes. In addition, there is a generous mix of up/down, left/ right, and strait shots giving plenty of variety. All in all, this is a solid course and really is a pleasure to play.

Concrete tee pads, signage (albeit spotty), and reliable baskets are all here. Benches on a few holes add to the overall package. There are bridges in areas where it counts. A kiosk with pertinent info greets you at the first hole. Finally, clean bathrooms and a water fountain are also close to the course.

You'll find really easy navigation with only a slightly confusing area at the 11/12 transition and to a lesser degree 14/15 as after 15 it seems natural to head to 17. (For those who haven't played, 16 is tucked in the woods to the left)

I met/talked to several locals during my round. They were very friendly and almost seemed excited to have me as a guest on the course. That's always a plus when visiting from out of town.
Cons: The course is missing any meaningful distance and overall it depends on short technical holes for its challenge. After all, there are only three holes that even top 300'. Beyond that, you'll have to get a little picky to find major cons here. The tee pads are a little shorter than typical. The consolation is that given the short holes, you probably won't miss the extra foot or two.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this park a lot. After just a few holes I knew this was going to be an enjoyable round. Ample birdie opportunities along with plenty of risks combined for a fun yet challenging layout. Holes 1-10 were my favorite as far as looks go. Then 11-18 have almost another personality but are still nice. I think anybody would have a great time playing here. Beginners to advanced players, there is something for everybody. Enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/27/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: WeenusWrinkle
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 Holes with nice Discatcher Pro baskets and concrete teepads

- Course is heavily shaded from the sun on the majority of the holes. The wooded holes are not overly dense, but feature some beautiful, mature trees.

- Very pronounced changes in elevation are used very well. Holes 2 and 17 are directly downhill requiring precise shots. Hole 2 requires good distance control as an OB creek is 10 feet behind the basket. Hole 17 is also narrow for a downhill shot which makes for great rewards for good shots (automatic bridies and ace chances) but can really punish a shot that stalls high or hooks left or right. Hole 8 is a short, technical hole in which the basket is placed perched on a VERY steep hill littered with large trees. A good shot is an easy birdie, a bad shot can easy roll down the hill in to the creek. Holes 3, 6, 13, and 15 are uphill shots that are tricky in the wind. Several holes are also positioned 'side-on' to a hill so that the entire fairway is slanted. Rollaways into a creek are common hazards for drives and upshots on these holes, as well as awkward throwing stances you won't find on other local courses. All the elevation change also makes for a better workout and calorie burning exercise than most disc golf courses I've played.

- The creek running through the middle of the course (9 of the holes are adjacent to it), yet it is shallow enough to find discs and traverse by rock jumping.

- Many varieties of throwing lines. Hyzers, Anhyzers, and straight shots. You'll want to bring more than a couple discs because of the variety in the shots needed. Some narrow throwing lines between trees. Drives on the long holes have well-placed trees that don't allow routine straight bombs to the basket. Flex shots and other throwing skill allows for birdies more than raw power.

- Convenient parking, bathroom and water fountain facilities.

- Only 1 Mando that is safety-based (runs next to the baseball field - most holes do not overlap or present much hazard to other players).

- Local random-draw doubles every Tuesday night at 6pm

- Friendly people, usually higher skilled players than other courses in the immediate area
Cons: -Teepads could be a little longer on some holes. I often start my runup behind the start of the concrete. This is fine when the teepad is flush with the ground, but not all of them are.

- Sometimes crowded during peak hours.

- During twighlight hours with waning light, difficult to find discs in the wooded areas sometimes.

- Freakin' gumballs, man. I seem to bust my butt slipping on these things every season they fall.

- Hiking/biking trails run through the course. Because disc golfers heavily outnumber them, they are usually wary of flying discs, but be careful and look before you throw around the holes with the baseball field nearby because of children.

- Hole 12 is difficult to find if you are playing for the first time without a guide

- No signs for hole distances or hole #'s on most holes

-

- If you are seeking holes longer than 350 feet to throw long range drivers, you won't find them here.

- Though there aren't too many biting insects , watch out for poison ivy and thorny vines in the heavy wooded areas off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This would be the ideal course for refining your game for tournament play. Big distance doesn't earn many strokes on the course. Course experience, smart throwing lines, and precision accuracy are necessary for a low score.

Although short, it is one of the more physically demanding courses in the area because of the elevation changes. Very good workout.

I live in the Greenville area, and this is my favorite course to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf the Way it Should Be

5+    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 80  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an amazingly fun disc golf course.

18 great holes. The terrain available was well used.

Variety of shots required to score well: hyzer, anhyzer, uphill, dowhill.

Very well taken care of by city. Mowed frequently and is pretty clear of trash.

Not a course where you just go out and throw. Timmons places a premium on accuracy.

Holes 1, 2, 6, 7, and 14 present solid opportunities for aces, but present enough challenge where they're not gimme birdies.

Great use of space made available. Well laid out and I don't leave wondering why they didn't use certain areas of the park.

Solid tee pads.

Tee signs are simple, but present all necessary information and look great.

Close proximity to downtown; easily accessible.
Cons: This course is notorious for roll aways. Baskets on hills present a good challenge, but this course tends to take it to an extreme which can punish good shots.

Unfortunately, vandalism to baskets and benches has to be listed as a con. Most are covered in vulgarity, but should soon be repainted.

Some space is shared with mountain bikers.

In the afternoons during fair weather months this course is crowded.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course well over a hundred times and it never gets old. Just a fun course to play and perfect your game. If you're coming to Greenville and can only play 1 course, this is it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!!!

1    6/29/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oh! Wow! This is amazing disc golf. Great course. 18 great holes. Good signs, Awesome terrain. Zero trash on course, kudos to the locals. This is a 4 disc course. bring a over, and under and a stable mid range and a fave putter. Course has no big arm stuff which will get gripes from some big arm guys... but I would challenge them to show up here and play 18 with me or anyone else. this course requires skill and will challenge all. great use of elevation. great use of trees. great choices on the few mandos, too. See notes in comments below for specific hole thoughts and raves. I always like to find a signature hole on every course... but I do not believe there is a signature hole here... it is a signature course. Obviously the course designers and the local club are true disc golf fans and there is a lot to love here. if I have to pick a fave it might be 7.
Cons: No signs on 16 and 17... But if you need a sign for 17 you have bigger issues. By the time I got to 16 I had faith and confidence that the basket was there... and since I had seen 17 I had a ppretty good idea of how far 16 might have been. Note: it is a slight annie shot. Transition from 11 to 12 is a bit tricky... but even I was able to get it right. My big con... Not with the course... but with the fact that I do not live close 'nuf so as to play here more. if I lived here i would lose my job! The lack of alt tees and baskets is a point some will complain about, but... why? This is such good fun as it is that these alt options are not even needed.
Other Thoughts: hole 1 starts out the game well... the roll away and fall off from the steepness of basket area will penalize you for a shot that does not stick. 2 is a beautiful basket placement between the trees with big hazard for an overshoot as it sits at creek edge .8 with the steep basket placement is just plain awesome. 9 is one of the best tree pinball galleries I have ever shot. Front nine is superb with 7 being a short hyzer with water trees and just a blast. And to comment on the water... at least the creek is crossable in many places and rock hopping to disc chase is fun and easy... trust me, I know first hand! :) . back 9 are great, too. 12 was good as the typical instinct is to throw high but tree hang over makes this tough... go low and you either disc it onto the ground or hit a tree.. choices, choices, choices... I love it! 13 wraps the road and puts pressure on you to throw a nice annie and keep it off the road. Tree roots at basket area can hop and pop a disc in interesting ways. This was quire evident on 13 and present on much of the front 9. 14 is simple, elegant and just great. The roll away penalty for short shooting can be high. 15 is blind but signs and distance info and the sense of trust the course earns form first 14 holes make this good fun.17 was a sight to behold across the ravine... like a big downward 14...18 is a nice finish to the whole thing. I will be back!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: atay87
Played: 102  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Relatively short course that makes great use of the small amount of land it is on.
-Elevation comes into play on most holes which makes the shots more interesting.
-The creek makes a great natural OB line.
-Pretty open but some trees to deal with on every hole.
-Plenty of variety.
-Newly installed benches on every tee.
-Good for introducing friends to the game.
Cons: -Its relative shortness can be a con if you are looking to play a longer round.
-A practice basket would be nice.
-Hole 12 seems a little unnecessarily difficult to birdie. It's practically a triple mando (hitting a gap, while keeping it low) but requires a decent amount of power to get it down the hill.
-Not really a con, just part of the game, but a few baskets are on hillsides, so putts that hit the basket low or high can drop then, pick up and roll all the way to the OB creek, turning your birdie into a double bogie.
Other Thoughts: The valley landscape with all the trees gives the course a lot of character. I'm glad it's so close to my work so I can play it during lunch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic old-school course

5+    2/27/2011   3/4/2011
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic, old school course designed before the big rimmed drivers became prevalent. The course offers a little bit of everything from touch shots, sloping greens, nice elevation changes and a couple of chances to let one fly.

The course has a nice creek that rolls through the course giving some nice OB on several holes. The creek isn't deep enough to keep you from retrieving a disc and not too wide to cross to the other side to chase down an errant shot.

It's a great use of the land available.

The best thing about Timmons is it gives you a feel of what Disc Golf was meant to be or least what it was years ago but it still offers a challenge for seasoned veterans and to new players just starting out.
Cons: The tee pads are really small and if you haven't played recently some of the design changes are not clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course in the Upstate of South Carolina and is a classically Innova Designed Course. The local club does an excellent job with maintenance and they run a Tuesday night league during the summer and you'll find plenty of action there on the weekends.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/22/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: goldenpecan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very steep terrain, lots of trees and holes are well guarded or out of sight of tee box. Excellent set up.
Cons: Need to walk course before you play for first time so you know where you are aiming.
Other Thoughts: some signs and hole markers are missing, but a great course overall. Very challenging course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 This is a fun course

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros
-Course is located in a very nice park
-Concrete Tee's, Signs (no map), Scorecards (empty the day I played)
-Good use of elevation and terrain. The course plays uphill, downhill, and in and around the trees.
-Segregated from most of the parks other activities.*
-Water Hazards that still allow one to retrieve their disc.
-Requires strategic throws and placement. Though the holes can require one to throw in and around many trees, the course is not overly dense with trees.
-Enjoyable for all skill levels. Good for beginners, and can be enjoyed by the advanced player.
-Beings it's a shorter 18, the course does play fast.*
-Front and Back 9 play back to the start, allowing for a "Quick 9" if someone were pressed for time.
-#12 and #17 are two downhill shots that will make one want to empty their bag on.
-Other courses nearby. If you are trying to add one or two more courses to a tight schedule, then Holmes or Gower parks can be an excellent compliment to a round at Timmons.
Cons: -*There is a ballfield, which if a game is in session may make a couple of the holes difficult to play.
-*Course is fairly short, regarding distance per hole. It is a smaller 18 hole course.
-Twelve is hard to locate. (Up the hill, and across both roads)
-Mando's could be marked a little bigger. I missed one that I didn't notice until after I had thrown.
-Some holes play close to one another. It's just something to watch out for.
-No signs to the first hole. I drove through the parking lot twice, and couldn't find it. (Look for the basketball hoop, next to the ballfields. Then look for the stairs going down)
-Par could probably be brought down a little bit. (I scored a 53 which put me at -16 under par. It looks good, but that's a little to generous! :) )
-Park goers may find themselves wandering in and around the course. (I met a real nice gentleman out walking his dogs in between #11 and #18)
Other Thoughts: Timmons park had a big fun factor for me. Though it is a smaller/shorter 18 hole course, it was still very enjoyable to play. I would compare it to Earlwood in Columbia, SC, except maybe a little smaller. Timmons had very interesting changes in terrain. Such as #8. It plays uphill to a basket that resides on the side of a very steep hill. Very cool! Though there are plenty of trees to play around, it's not overly dense. Only a couple of holes have a real narrow path through the trees. (16 & 17) If you are in Greenville, then Timmons is a good course to play. You may not get a huge challenge, but you can still have a good time.
No special footwear is necessary, but you will be climbing some hills. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, but it is in the midst of a residential area.



11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Put on Your Ace Face!

1    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays through a wooded park and along a windy stream. You must understand that 85% of the holes are between 175-250 feet, so that said, an intermediate player and above will be looking for many ace and birdie opportunities. This is what makes the course fun. It also has it's share of challenges as the pins are creatively placed near trees and on slopes and near the stream to make approaches and putts interesting. Finally, the course is hilly, and the elevation changes make this truly 3-dimensional.

Favorites are #7, in which the majority of the short fairway is a creek! Holes #12 and 17 are narrow downhill wooded holes that demand accuracy to have a chance at birdie.
Cons: A couple holes are a bit dangerous - Hole #4 is good & twisty, but blind around a baseball wall to the right, which an unwary pedestrian could emerge from. Also, an overshot on #17 can hit someone in 18' fairway. 

Navigation is only (slightly) confusing when looking for tee #12 - just follow "next tee" sign straight up hill across road.

Minor complaint- tee pads were a little short.
Other Thoughts: I liked the tee signs, but about half were missing. Not a big deal, as the missing ones were usually short enough to guess how long the holes were.

Though this course lacked a true balance of hole lengths, I thought you should look at this as a way of honing your finesse game, and it's marvelous for that. And come on- everybody sure like lots of Ace opportunities!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.