Greenville, SC 
Timmons Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #16 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Plays straight into trees then turn sharp right to basket



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
A great small course

1    6/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Sketto
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained teepads
- Good signage. You can't get lost.
- A surprisingly beautiful, little park.
- Though full of short par 3's, some of them are really quite tricky, requiring some touch.
- A great beginner course since it's not a bomber course, but also a great way for a veteran player to practice approaches and some ob-threatening putts.
- A course that really rewards simple, accurate throws over any huge drives. You'll only use driver a couple times at most.
- Good use of the water hazard on a bunch of holes. You'll be able to retrieve the disc though if you go in.
- A good mixture of whole types and a surprisingly good use of elevation and water, as well as woods/fields.
Cons: It's short. Mostly par 3's. If you only wanna throw huge drives every time, this ain't the course for you.
Other Thoughts: If you're a frequent player, play this course as a great way to play a quick round and work on medium approaches and putts that require some touch and skill. For such a short course, very well done.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Compares Favorably

1    6/22/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: St0rmbringer
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is beautiful, well-maintained and easy to access. There is manicured grass in the fairways of the open holes. The rough along the wooded fairways is controlled. Each hole offers some kind of reasonable challenge.
Cons: It ISN'T long. Players with big drives will be frustrated a bit. There was a section of creek that could eat discs. It was a bit wider than the rest and knee-high with water weeds.
Other Thoughts: This was the third course played on a Disc Golf weekend that included North Georgia Canopy Tours, Sandy Creek (Athens, GA) and Va-Du-Mar (Boiling Springs, SC). My fellow enthusiasts and I all agreed that Timmons, while not as challenging as the others would have been our pick for the course we wanted within walking distance from our houses. Will have to play it again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    5/31/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the best in Greenville and the only 18 hole course in the Downtown area. It fits with the character of the city very well.

The first thing that stands out is this property is small. I have seen 9 hole courses with more land than this has. but they managed to put 18 good to great holes and make it work.

The creek is a major part of the course and it comes into play on holes: 1,2,5,7,8,9,10,11,12, and 18. I have played this course countless times and it never fails that I end up in the creek at some point.

the front and back are pretty different from eachother. the Front nine has a lot more birdie opportunity and is where I usually try to get my score down. The back nine has some longer, more treacherous holes, (10,11,12,18) Hole 5 is prob the toughest 2 on the course from my perspective. Its a 350+ dogleg right with an OB creek on the right. and the whole fairway is on the side of a hill, sloping towards the creek.

Timmons also has a good bit of variety. Left doglegs, right doglegs, uphill, downhill, straight tunnels. It has everything.
Cons: The parking lot is a little close on a few holes.

There are vandals that feel the need to deface these baskets with profanity and that drives me crazy

People may complain about it being too short. but these courses can really mold you into a better golfer. you need to control your disc, stay away from the creek and throw straight.
Other Thoughts: Please visit this gem. It wont take long to play, and it will be an enjoyable day. the trees provide some nice cover from the SC heat and this is the oldest Course in the Upstate.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Good course

5+    4/2/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Drewpy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, good combination of open shots vs tight shots, good average distance on holes, good combination of left-turn/right-turn/straight shots.
Cons: Very wet, no LONG holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, convenient location, best in area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Felt like a 9 holer that someone stretched out to 18.

1    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 loops of 9 holes. There was a crowd, so being able to start on 10, then play the front 9 later, helped us avoid several large groups.

Clear concrete tees with benches and some signage.

Holes 7 and 8 were scenic holes with character. 14 was a super short over the valley shot.

Good amount of elevation and variety of shots. Creek was used well without being gimmicky.
Cons: Minimal tee signage with odd flow and no navigational signs.

I never saw a second tee on any hole.

course was cluttered. If you over throw basket 6 you are directly on 3's fairway. many holes played close to other fairways.

Mando arrow was broken for 7, so there was no way to know the intended flight path. 8 had 2 large trees directly infront of the tee pad.

several holes ended at tee pads for holes that were not the next hole you are to play, making it easy to skip holes.
Hole 12 felt like an after thought since hole 11 ends at 13's tee, but you cross the road for 12. 14 ends at 17's tee. The whole course had a confusing flow and lack of tee signs often made it worse.

4 baskets were visable from tee one. which could create confusion, but it also shows how cluttered the course is.

13 played very close to the road creating a clear safety issue. (which did not matter because half the groups were throwing at basket 16 from tee 13)
Other Thoughts: because of the basket positions on the hills, luck comes into play as much as skill. 2 people in the same group can hit the same line, land in the same spot and one will stick the other will roll 100 feet down the hill.

I was glad I played the back 9 first because I liked ending with holes 7, 8, and 9. 2 scenic holes and a "holy sh!t that is tight" hole. It also led to a long hot birdie streak at the end of the round.
This course compliments Century park very well, but I think Century Park was superior. This course needs better signage with navigational signage to offset the goofy flow, too many holes felt like they were added as after thoughts.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Timmons

1    6/26/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course located close to downtown Greenville. Very well designed and fun course to play. This is a very technical but very long course, the shot variety called for is great and I love the elevation change. The small creek running thru the course provides interest and challenge without the specter of having your disc eaten buy an errant throw. The wooded holes all have good lines available with often a choice of hyzer or anhyzer shots. There are concrete pads at each hole many benches and trash cans available. This was one of the cleanest parks I have played, I don't think I found any trash laying on the ground. The baskets are fairly old and some are a little rusty but they all caught my disc well and that is the point. There are some interesting basket placements with 12 on the steep side hill being my favorite. A disc could pop out and roll a long way here. Navigation was fairly easy except for 12 which I missed completely. While I would call this a very beginner friendly course there is sufficient challenge along with several legit ace runs to keep the experienced players happy. A ran into several locals who were all friendly and helpful. There is obviously a very active disc golf community here. Unfortunately I did not have time to stay and play doubles.
Cons: Some of the signs were missing and of course I missed hole 12. A next tee sign at 11 would be very helpful here. There were some kids playing in the creel behind the basket for hole 2. Not wanting to hit any kids I was forced to play very short. This is a great hole with creek right behind the basket
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course to play. If I am ever back in the Greenville area I would love to play here again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/18/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very SOLID course in my opinion. Great mix of elevation throughout the entire course. You need a variety of shots to score well, this is probably one of the better wooded courses I've played in terms of difficulty and variety. Every hole has something different that will challenge your ability to shape shots around trees and control your distance.
For being a wooded course you get the breakout the driver a good bit. The back 9 is tougher than the front 9, but the front 9 requires more control. Several tight fairways that will test you, and a lot of elevation practically on every hole.
Pretty easy to navigate, hole #12 is across the street easy to skip if you haven't played before. None of the water is bad enough to where you'll lose a disc.
Really enjoyed this course and I'd recommend it to anyone in the area or passing through.
Cons: Restrooms were locked.
- I really don't have anything bad to say other than maybe next tee signage (it's there just make it more noticeable or more benches and trash cans, but I feel like you could say that about pretty much any course.
- It lacks the degree of risk / reward that will cause you to lose a disc. No water to throw over or shot that makes you nervous to throw. There you go....
Other Thoughts: I took two guys who just started playing and they said they enjoyed it more that the other courses in the Greenville area. Honestly, I think they got better from playing this course because it forced them to control their shots and they realized that elevation can really effect your score once that disc starts rolling downhill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course.

1    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty fun.

Plenty of elevation to keep you entertained, excellent use of the land available.

Nice little creek flowing through a lot of the holes, I'm always a fan of well placed OB and there are a couple pin placements that make you think about your shot selection.

Tons of benches out here, almost on every hole, maybe on every single hole, I don't remember.

The teesigns are nothing special but they get the job done, the distances all seemed accurate which is a pro over a lot of courses.

Another thing that has become a huge thing I view is greens and green speed, this course has some very fun ones that definitely make you think about the angle that you are coming at the pin, some very quick ones here, I love it.
Cons: The teepads are a bit narrow, I think the length of them was alright, just wish they were a bit wider.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, I think for backhands I used a putter and a roc almost the entire time, only needed a driver for some flicks, I played really poorly and still shot +2 or so, so it's a pretty easy course.

If you are in the area you SHOULD check it out, it was certainly fun, which to me is always the biggest pro about a course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice scenery

2-4    11/9/2011   2/12/2012
Review By: WaterLogged
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course. exceptionally scenic in the fall. tons of colors and fall foliage. nice layout, most all holes are approachable for all skill levels. fun for a quick round on the weekend
Cons: Even though the leaves are very nice to look at i have fallen at least 4 time slipping up and down the hills. some of the creek banks are step and it hard to retrieve your disc if you get wet which is very likely to happen.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great home course!!!

5+    9/8/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: midrangemachine
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well since this is my home course I will try and not be to biased. Course has a great layout with what is available, course requires you to be able to throw different types of shots, ie. Hyzers,anhyzers,long straight shots etc. Course has many great ace chances,1,2,3,6,7,14 and 17. Very great course to work on finesse and touch shots. Course is rarely empty and if you come by your self you can usually tag along with one of the locals for added fun. Timmons park has other great immenites such as biking and jogging trails a playground for the kids tennis courts a baseball field and very clean bathrooms and a waterfountain. The front 9 loops back around to #1 and in my opinion is a little easier than back 9 "longer holes on back 9" nice wooded benches on just about ever hole. Also trash cans on some holes as well. Great discatcher baskets also. Course is great for people just starting out or even great for the seasoned pro. Creek comes into play on several holes 2,5,7,8,9,11 and 17 fairways are always in great shape and a lot of the times even some of the 'greens' are nice and raked which I'm sure is because of all the volunteer work done by the upstate discgolf club.
Cons: First off no practice basket but hopefully one day. Shorter tee pads but not to bad. Some signs are missing or are knocked down"will never understand what's so fun about people knocking them down" but that's another story. Some of the baskets have graffiti on them,(john doe ace 8.8.2099). This is not a huge deal but hole #3 and #8 share same bench not a big issue though. During the summer early fall there are a lot of fire ants mainly on 11,12 and by teebox on 13 and 18 would not advise wearing sandals or barefooted (from personal experienced) because of the ants and all of the gumballs that are easy to roll an ankle on.
Other Thoughts: This is such a great 18 hole course. Some of the most fun risk/reward holes in my opinion are 2,5,8,12,17. 18 finishes back close to parking lot. Def a must stop if your in the area. Also a 9 hole course named Holmes park is only about 2 miles away also. Course is pretty close to downtown greenville and if you like bbq henrys smoke house is only about 2-3 mins away from park on wadehampton blvd heading towards downtown. I've played this course well over 200 times and it never gets old. Also if your stopping by from out of town I would recommend posting on upstatediscgolfclub.com if you wanna meet up with a few of the locals and get a few rounds in

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.