North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #11 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 252ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Intermediate

1    9/13/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on private property that is set up for a few different activities. But, it seems like if the course is open, then there won't be any interference by default!
- Holes are pretty evenly split between open areas and some moderately populated forest. Some of the more interesting open holes include a wide, wide RHBH anny around a mando tree on #2, a big, long uphill dogleg left around the woods on #13, a long downhill anny shot into some trees on #17, and an up-then-down bomber around a giant tree on #18. These all take a very particular shot off the tee, and are long enough where placement is important for the second shot. A couple others are more straightforward, like a straight shot on #1, and a little RHFH flick shot on #3.
- The rest of the holes are all in the woods, which provides some tighter windows and forces line shaping. There are a ton of straight shots of varying difficulty, due to different sized gaps, like #4, #5, #8, #15, and #16. Also some obvious hyzers; #9 is a longer trickier one, and #12 is a tough uphill one with a kink halfway up. Anny/flick friendly holes as well, like #7, #10 can go either way, and #14 is a sharp turn around some trees. Pretty good variety.
- Elevation changes are definitely a factor in many spots. The biggest ones are the uphill trek on #13, the big downhill slope on the back half of #18, and an elevated tee over some nasty rough on #5. Some more subtle ones as well, like the uphill on #1 and #12, and the downhill on #14 and #17. Definitely helps to keep things interesting.
- Swampy area on #18 is in a good spot to possibly force a lay-up shot, if it isn't too dry. I was there in the dry season, but I can imagine it becoming a major factor in the rainy months.
- Homemade baskets are sweet! Tee signs are very nice, as well as the teepads. Navigation can be a little tricky in some spots, with a few different baskets/tees in sight, so the map can help save some time the first time through.
Cons: - Some parts of the course are really crammed together, particularly #6-#10. These five holes are stacked together like sardines in a can, look out if other people are playing here!
- While there are some long holes here to crank some drives, a good amount are on the short side - especially in the woods. Eight of the holes are at or under 252', with pretty simple lines. Not super exciting.
- A little rough around the edges in some places, like a huge dumpster next to the green on #17, port-a-potties scattered here and there, and some roads in play. Not a big deal, but it hurts the ambiance.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a fun course that has a good balance of wooded and open holes. Some of the holes are pretty tricky, but there are also a ton of birdie opportunities to be found. Well suited for an intermediate-level player; a little too easy for expert players, and some spots might be a little rough for some beginners.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Canyon Course

2-4    1/14/2009   11/27/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging shots in the wooded areas also w/ a few long drive holes up and down bending fairways. Marked tee boxes w/ hole maps and hole lengths provided. Trash and recycle bins provided through out the course. Beautiful scenery!!!

Signs are provided to direct you either way of playing 9 holes or the entire 18 holes.



Cons: Long walks between some holes, especially from basket #4 to #5's tee box (I think it was 520 feet). The gravel tee boxes tend to get muddy durring winter season. Smaller trash problem than course #2 had. The baskets don't catch disc's as well as course #2's redesigned baskets (lack of extra chains).



Blind throws ( use a spotter buddy system)
Other Thoughts: The $3.00 is defiantly worth the now 36 holes provided. With the amount of love that was put into both courses I would pay more to play!!!

camping and other events/activities are provided on the land for non players making it fun for every one.


4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/11/2008   7/11/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Large variety of holes.
Course tests all parts of your game.
Lots of elevation change.
Two more courses in the works.
Beautiful land.
Reasonable pay to play price.
Solid tee signs, navigation is possible without course map.
Cons: Home made baskets spit out a fair number of putts.
Large numbers of significant walkouts.
At least half the tee shots are blind.
Thick underbrush a huge challenge.
Gravel tee pads, some very unlevel.
Little chance to air out drives.
Other Thoughts: I came back to edit my review, a number of my original complaints have been fixed, playing the course a second time with a spotter definitely helped.

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

6/9/2008   6/11/2008
Review By: cbrow
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked.
Lots of elevation.
Well defined, although challenging fairways.
Amazingly beautiful location.
No crowds.
Best homemade baskets I've ever seen, they catch really well.

Cons: Tee pads not all level.
Though they aren't "gimmes" by any means, most holes are on the shorter side. I hear they might be lengthening a few though.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful wooded holes and a few great open ones. This course was built in an awesome setting just far away enough from the city to keep the crowds away but close enough that it's accessible.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ewok's Hideout!

6/9/2008   6/10/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 156  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.2 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Best home-made baskets I've ever seen!
-Maps available
-Great tee signs with hole distances and even elevation change!
-Wonderful use of elevation. Many shots play into and out of little ravines and such, but without too much concern for lost plastic. Some of the holes gained or lost up to '80!
-Multiple dogleg holes, something missing from most courses.
-Realistic fairways! (No 5' gaps required for to get to the basket)
-Overall course flow is wonderful. It's a full loop back to the first hole, no crossing fairways, very little risk of getting hit from errant drives.
-Seclusion! This course is out in the woods, and I doubt it will ever be too crowded, except maybe during festivals happening on the grounds.
-Great variety of shots required, pretty even between lefty vs. righty. I had to throw both backhand and sidearm almost evenly.
-Great variety in hole lengths. Most holes are around 250', with a few longer holes.
-Overall scenery was VERY beautiful. Reminded me of Ewoks!
-Camping available
-Water available
-Restrooms available
-I believe they have food/drinks available?
Cons:
-Gravel tee pads. For most of the holes, the gravel teepads weren't an issue due to the shortness of the shots, but I'm not a big fan of gravel teepads anyhow, and a few of them, hole 17 in particular, were not level.
-A lot of people will not like the baskets. They WILL NOT take in sloppy putts. Most putts that are not near the core center of the basket will not stay in. However, I found that if you threw a good putt, they stayed in fine, this will irritate many people.
-The trails between the holes will be quite muddy in winter!
-Overall, I'd like it if some of the holes were lengthened a bit, I talked to the owner and he said that this will probably happen in the next couple months.
Other Thoughts:
Playing this course was the most fun I've had at a new course in a LONG time. It is definitely a course that you will want to immediately head out for your second round after you finish hole 18. Lots of very fun technical shots, almost all which were very fair. There was a lot of work that went into the fairways, some trees taken down to make the holes more realistic, which makes the overall feel of the course that much more solid. It's not often that I play courses that are this wooded without feeling that half the holes are flukey. If you throw a good shot, it will reward you plain and simple.

The elevation changes and dense forest made this course feel pretty surreal. Like you're walking through the wilderness playing golf. And because the course is so fair, it will be enjoyed by players of all skill levels. My g/f is an 840 rated Adv AM and I'm a 970 rated pro. There were no shots that confounded her, and there weren't really any shots that bored me (except hole 1).

If the course had a bit more length and more solid teepads, I would have rated this course higher.

Go play it! It's a breath of fresh air for the west side of Portland.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.