Disc Golf Store
North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #13 (Taken 11/2008)
4 / 450ft.   4 / 463ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Almost Perfect

5+    8/12/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 56  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- This course has a lot of variety! Righty holes, Lefty holes, tunnel shots, open shots, short and long holes, par fours, blind holes, mandos, water hazards, OB, elevation changes. This course has it all!

- This course has great signage. The signs are very detailed with all of the distances and elevation changes right there on the sign. Steep drop-offs and mandos are all on the sign. They even tell you the direction to the next tee after you're done with the hole.

- Clean bathrooms right next to hole one. Also there are usually a bunch of porta-potties near hole 14/17

- This is a pretty clean course, not much trash gets piled up or if it does, it get's cleaned up pretty frequently.

- Sweet custom made and PDGA approved baskets made by Bob Horning - They make a really nice sound when you hit them too.
Cons:
- Some of the trashcans can get pretty bug infested, bring bug-spray if you got it.

- It's very rough down in the creek. I have left a few discs down there, not wanting to even try to find them. That's how rough it is.

Other Thoughts: I think maybe the only thing this course is missing is more benches - there are some places to sit but there are more holes that don't have seats than do.

Also I'm shocked that they don't have a pro-shop on the property - with three courses and plenty of space, it seems like a no brainer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Times

1    6/30/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course. There are good routes to the basket but the routes require some thinking and shot shaping.

This course has everything. Holes that require you to gun it, holes that will punish you for gunning it. Wide open shots, tight wooded shots. Left turns, right turns, straight shots.

Fairways are fairly clear of brush, but it feels like you're in a forest rather than a city park.

Tee signs are great and have all relevant info. Baskets are awesome.
Cons: It would be nice if the baskets indicated where the next tee was, but we were able to navigate it without a map the first time.

Drop offs behind baskets. #6, #8 and #10 are in front of big drop offs that would probably swallow a disc. A number of the others are in front of drop offs that could be frustrating, but probably not disc disappearing.

Some steep muddy trails. Probably not a course to play when it's wet.
Other Thoughts: This is a course you should play if you ever have an opportunity. With great onsite camping and 3 separate 18s Horning's is a place you should hit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT COURSE

1    4/27/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: Pat Edwards
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice terrain elevations, marked and easily visible tees, There are 3 courses here and any one of them is a MUST PLAY! I will be returning frequently. I simply Love this course.
Cons: It's hard to add any Cons about this course... Some of the pads are not concrete, but that did not disturb my total enjoyment. However if it were raining, this course might be not as much fun. Go on a dry days if you can because some of the terrain changes might be a bit difficult to negotiate in the wet and if muddy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Middle child of the Hideout.

1    7/14/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Baskets here are all home made, painted bright yellow with giant black numbers on them (very easy to see), and well made at that, they catch disc very well... maybe beter than any other basket I've played.
- Tee signs are excellent!!! they are very nice and accurate. They also have the elevation change for each hole from tee to basket (EXAMPLE: +11ft or - 25ft), this was nice as it made me think about if I need more or less on my shot, which I rarely pay attention to otherwise.
- Tee pads were long, concrete, and had a good circular brush pattern for traction layed in them.
- This course was great, it had all kinds of shots, open to protected, left to right, to straight. Elevation changes throughout... a great all round course.
- Faily easy to navigate. The trails help a great deal, I only really looked at my map once... to realized that I had just missed a trail.
-You can get towles from the house were you pay. The towels are free to use, just bring them back where you got them.
- Normally a pay to play course is a con for me, but $3/person for ALL DAY and for ALL 3 courses... that is a deal!
- Drinking water available for free (not bottled).
- Porta-potties all over the place. Not so many on the courses but before and after for sure.
Cons: - I know it's not the courses fault, but plan accordingly to not have cell phone service here. (It works before you start down the dirt road so it's not that far to drive back out if you really needed to make a call).
- Also not needed, but kind of a con for me since this place is so great for disc golf is the fact that they don't have disc for rent or for sale. (This would really put them over the top in my book, as it is the only really major thing I think this place is missing).
Other Thoughts: - Be prepared to drive down a narrow dirt/gravel road with blind corners. (I drove a lowered honda and made it just fine, but it wasn't ideal) I don't think there is any car that couldn't make it, just be ready for it.
- This course is harder than Highland but easier than Meadow Ridge... however is challenging enough to be well worth playing.
- This is the middle child here at Horning's Hideout; that being said if you need a warm up or cool down before this course try the shorter Highland course (only 30-45mins), if you need more of a challenge you can try the Pro rated Meadow Ridge course.
- Camping and fishing available here... I paid $15 dollars to camp on site... it was well worth it since I was in the middle of my trip and wanted to play all these courses.
- I was able to play all three courses after palying Pier Park and taking lunch and dinner breaks. If you have the energy... it's completely possible (and recommended) to play all three courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Rec Player's Best Bet

2-4    6/5/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: Nodosaurus
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Canyon course at Horning's offers a great variety of hole layouts that can challenge the average player without tearing him up and spitting out the pieces (like Meadow!!).

The course includes wooded and open holes, doglegs in each direction, and a lot of scenic beauty. This is a great course to take your time and enjoy playing.
Cons: The baskets are deep. A lot of putts are from height differences, many players have a tendency to misjudge the distances. When viewed from below, the basket hides much of the chains.

There is a lot of undergrowth. There are also a few steep drop-offs. With a lot of trees around, you need to keep an eye on your disk.
Other Thoughts: Bring a camera. It is a private course open to the public at a cost of $3/day, worth the money.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Beautiful

5+    4/23/2009   4/4/2011
Review By: The Doctor
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its just majestic being there. There is peacocks all over the place. This course takes you along a mountain side and provides lots of elevation changes. There is also a nice variety of shots. I would call this place a disc golfers must play if you are anywhere near Portland.
Cons: I just cannot think of cons

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and very Challenging!!

2-4    6/17/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -Long but not too long...
-shaded
-has 2 other 18 hole courses onsite..
-well maintained
-great place for family
-Just all around AMAZING!!
Cons: -Long
Other Thoughts: costs $3 but she trusts you to pay she won't hunt you down but I might...

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 An instant favorite

5+    10/28/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Excellent variety of terrain and length: some wide-open shots, some through trees, no boring shots. #18 is a classic -- 600 feet down a hill and over a seasonal swamp.
- Elevation is a factor on most holes.
- Real fairways in the forested sections; trees have actually been removed to create the course.
- Homemade yellow baskets are extremely visible and catch quite well.
- Beautiful setting in the foothills of the Tualatin Mountains; suitable for year-round disc golf.
- Two other disc golf courses on-site, and the $3 entrance fee is for "all you can play."
- Nice concrete teepads.
Cons:
- The homemade baskets aren't perfect.
- Maybe a few too many similar short holes in the middle section.
- In the middle of nowhere (but the existence of two other courses on-site makes this less of an issue).
Other Thoughts: Horning's Hideout is a peacock-infested privately owned venue for camping, fishing, picnicking, weddings, concerts, etc. The first disc golf course, the Canyon Course, materialized out of the blue in May of 2008 and was an instant success. With barely any input from the local disc golf community at large, Bob Horning and his crew managed to build one of the best courses in northwestern Oregon. Since it's private land, they can do whatever they want, whenever they want to make the course better -- and they have and will.

As another reviewer mentioned, HH is 10 miles away from any other services (restaurants, stores, etc.), so pack a lunch if you're planning to spend all day golfing. There are a few snacks and sodas available for purchase at the main house, though.

UPDATE, November 2009: With the addition of concrete teepads, my rating goes up from 4 to 4.5 stars. Very nearly a 5.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My home

5+    7/25/2010   1/15/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2010
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This is my home course. I have been helping out there for years and have helped layout a couple of the courses there. This being said, The Canyon course plays very fair all year but in early spring you will want to watch were your disc lands because the underbrush can get very nasty. The baskets are made of semi truck tire rims and have the best sound in the world when you miss a long shot and hit the side of the basket. There are now multi pin placements and a few alt tees. This course is still getting more love to it, to bring it up to where Bob wants it.
Cons: Some people don't like all the hills that are around and some complain about all the trees and blind baskets. I like these things because they make you think and learn to control you disc very well. One big con right now is No benches and kinda confusing signs. Both of these are going to be fixed with the upgrades later this year. On hole 6, 8 and 10 there is a big disc eating ravine there that will also be in play on the new course. If your disc goes down there be ready to look in chest high bushes and a small creek (That you can walk over in the summer and be shin deep in the winter). There are some of us that help out there that will go down there on a regular basis to find as many disc's as we can then they call..
Other Thoughts: At the house they have a lost disc collection point and they call and hold your disc till you come and get it from them. This course is so much fun. There is a quick 9 option to play too where you play 1-5 then 15-18. I will also go out and show anyone that comes though town this course and the whole property if you shoot me a message and I am free. This is my home for most of the year and the course I consider my home course even thought there are 5-6 courses closer. We told Bob that if you build it they will come and they have so much he is going to have 3 course's out there. The baskets on the Canyon course will be worked on soon to conform with the pro course so that when the basket gets approved both will be able to have pro tourneys on them. Bob seems to want to host something very big out there.

Once again Will be tour Guild out there if you want one shoot me a pm.

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Finally a touch course

6/22/2008   6/28/2008
Review By: J-Man
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Think you know how to throw? I know, lots of guys can cannon down the fairway 300' to 400', cool. But how about a controlled 200' shot that HAS to turn to the right or left? This course will test your ability to throw controlled shots that HAVE to be on target; you hit your shot you are rewarded, you miss, you add strokes. As one of the active older PDX golfers I've been waiting for this style of course for some time, a course where touch and control are more important than just being able to throw a disc long distances. The pace of play is relaxed and the property is staggeringly beautiful.
Cons: Some folks say the gravel pads; I'll take gravel over slippery Fly 18 pads any day. Sure I'd love concrete but the gravel is fine. The pad on 17, like Ryan said, needs to be leveled, no biggie though. And while I don't mind paying 3 bucks a day I'm hoping Bob sets a season parking pass rate soon.
Other Thoughts: Biggest strength of this course, 12 miles from my house. Another is the touch layout. Bob has 2 more courses in the works, a longer one for those howitzer arms that just have to throw everything as hard as they can, an a short Rec level course geared toward families. The setting is hard to beat and Bob and the Horning family and staff are really warm welcoming people. And don't forget your trout rod if you feel like doing a spot of fishing while you are there. This is a really special course. Oh, I forgot to mention the baskets - LOVE 'EM - they have an awesome tone that rings back to the DG days of old. If you're in the PDX area this is a must visit course on par with Milo, Pier, and Trojan. We are blessed to live in the Rose City.
Soft Magnets From There, baby
J

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.