North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course Share
Uploaded By: timg   (Taken 5/2008)



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 An Entertaining Course!

1    6/14/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was clearly well-cared for by the owners. All of the tees had signs, and the navigation wasn't a problem at all. When you don't have to struggle finding the next tee, it makes for a drastically better experience.

The course layout provided plenty of variation in technical skills required from each player. There are doglegs, a couple of mandos, downhill and uphill layouts, and they all certainly will make you try to plan ahead your shots.

There are benches and garbage cans where you can dispose your trash, and it makes for a tidy course.

The $3 fee is very reasonable considering that they have three full courses to choose from!
Cons: I certainly did not like the steep drop-offs on few of the holes, but that's no fault to the course and the designer!

I'm not so sure if i liked the homemade baskets, as it seemed like there's a smaller "window" for getting your putts in? I could be wrong.
Other Thoughts: I think it's a great course and it certainly is a course that I will want to come back to on a regular basis if I moved back to Oregon. I have yet to play the other two courses, so if the Canyon course is a good indicator, then I imagine the other two will be enjoyable.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Rec Player's Best Bet

2-4    6/5/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: Nodosaurus
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Canyon course at Horning's offers a great variety of hole layouts that can challenge the average player without tearing him up and spitting out the pieces (like Meadow!!).

The course includes wooded and open holes, doglegs in each direction, and a lot of scenic beauty. This is a great course to take your time and enjoy playing.
Cons: The baskets are deep. A lot of putts are from height differences, many players have a tendency to misjudge the distances. When viewed from below, the basket hides much of the chains.

There is a lot of undergrowth. There are also a few steep drop-offs. With a lot of trees around, you need to keep an eye on your disk.
Other Thoughts: Bring a camera. It is a private course open to the public at a cost of $3/day, worth the money.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Beautiful

5+    4/23/2009   4/4/2011
Review By: The Doctor
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its just majestic being there. There is peacocks all over the place. This course takes you along a mountain side and provides lots of elevation changes. There is also a nice variety of shots. I would call this place a disc golfers must play if you are anywhere near Portland.
Cons: I just cannot think of cons

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course

2-4    6/22/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The Canyon Course in North Plains, Oregon, was the first course installed at Horning's Hideout by Bob Horning in 2008. This blue level course is a smaller version of the gold course, but similar in regards to the mixed terrain and style of play. The Canyon Course plays through a series of tightly wooded fairways as well as some large open grassy fields. The design of the course utilizes several of the elements on the property, including slight to extreme elevation changes, OB hazards (like the seasonal swamp on hole #18 and other small creeks that meander throughout the course), and strategic pin placements around some massive old growth Douglas Firs, Vine Maples, and massive green Ferns. Holes range anywhere from 227 - 700 feet, averaging 285 feet per hole excluding the 700 foot mammoth at the end. The course has 16 Par 3's and two Par 4's, making par for the course 56. Precision and form will prevail over power. Since many holes incorporate narrow doglegs on the course, controlled shots will land you with multiple birdie attempts.

Like the other two courses on site, the Canyon Course has some vibrantly homemade yellow baskets. Each one is extremely durable, has a large black number on the side to help navigate, and are easily visible from the tee on most holes. The tee pads are all cement, grip well, and are of sufficient in size for a run up. The Houck designed tee signs are phenomenal. Each one shows elevation changes +/-, par, distance, and obstacles down the last tree. The full color signs allow players to see where both pin positions are and their location compared to the tee.

This course seemed to have a few holes that stood out to me while playing including holes #5, #9, and #18.
Hole #5 is a 306 ft. Par 3 that has players throwing from an elevated tee pad across a small creek and ravine through a series of trees and tight fairways toward the pin.
Hole # 9 is a 315 ft. Par 3 dogleg left, that shows off the signature "peace" hand sign carved out of wood just off the middle of the fairway. It makes for a great photo with the basket in the background.
Hole #18 is a 700 ft. Par 4 with a huge mando forcing players left off tee around some massive Firs. From there players must throw several hundred feet over some rolling hills, over a swamp, toward a pin nestled amongst the trees.

This Canyon Course truly was a memorable experience for me, including the albino peacock that followed me around all day. It made me feel kind of awkward!
Cons:
Bob Horning and crew have really done a phenomenal job installing and maintaining the Canyon Course. I would like to see some more benches throughout so players can just stop and take it all in and perhaps a few more garbage cans but really, I couldn't find much wrong with this course. The walk after hole #4 some may feel is a bit unnecessary but once you see hole #5 you will see it was worth it. Over time, I know the Canyon Course will continue to improve and become more developed, but for now I think it is pretty amazing the way it is.

Horning's Hideout is a ways out from the main road so quickly accessing food and supplies won't be easy. Having supplies and a cooler ahead of time is the way to go.
Other Thoughts:
Although each course is unique unto its own, I felt this course had the most personality of the three. As an advanced level player, I felt most comfortable here and therefore had the most fun while playing. The Highland course is a blast but it is what it is, a "pitch and putt". The Meadow Course is like being at school; it is there to teach you how to play the game. It is where I go to challenge myself and work on my weaknesses. The Canyon Course is where I go to challenge myself, but succeed with and build up my confidence.

For $3 a day, this course is well worth the price. Bob Horning and his family have graciously opened up their hearts and their home to us so it is important that we support them in order to keep all our dreams alive! Other amenities include fishing, volleyball, camping, hiking, bird watching, and paddle boating. They put on some killer concerts every year and I have been told that the Dead have performed here as well, so it has a colorful history. Just know that during the summer when they host these concerts that it is near impossible to play.

Enjoy the Peacocks!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 A Local Favorite

1    8/28/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great intermediate to advanced course.
Lots of variety in terrain, distance, and hazards
Really well maintained and mapped
Great fun for everyone for the $3 with the fishing, paddleboats, etc.
Cons: For the Pro level player holes 6-10 may feel a bit like filler.
Again only for the Pro but overshooting 6, 8, or 10, could result in a trek down a pretty steep hillside down to the creek to try and retrive a disc.
Really these con's are pretty nitpicky. Overall the course if one of my favorites that I play often
Other Thoughts: As one of the other reviewers said before, make this a destination if in the area! The $3 per person is a pittance for the ability to play 3 really fun courses and take advantage of the rest of the stuff available. Bring a group and a lunch, take your time, and play all three courses.

The only thing to watch out for is a few times a year there are concerts on site and the disc courses get shut down. Also, a couple times a year there are tournaments that should either be avoided or if you feel confident, sign up and join in.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Roc

2-4    8/13/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Roc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice T-pads,well signed,beautiful setting in the woods,two other courses on site,challenging shots but not overly so.
Cons: The baskets-The baskets The baskets..These baskets will spit out putts like nobodys business.Dont get me wrong the course is great but these baskets are the only thing standing in the way of a 5 disc rating.Be prepared to lose a disc or 2 if your shank your shot or overshoot it.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of my top 5 disc golf courses in Oregon.If you are in or around the Portland area you owe it to yourself to play this course or the other 2 courses that are on site.This is the intermediate course out of the 3.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

1    8/24/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: yawpstang64
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~This course takes advantage of the natural northwest forest growth, like a good hike that happens to have tees and baskets.
~Does not put too much pressure on the individual player - an amazing shot may deuce it, but a less powerful arm has just as good of a chance of making par.
~There are many trees, but the ideal paths are wide, and I loved teeing off over the ravine on #5, but shots like these shouldn't pose a risk of disc-loss for anyone.
~Natural undergrowth is easy to find your disc in - just make sure you see where it comes down.
~New signage is beautiful and takes away the worry of blind shots - though it is always helpful to get a look at the basket prior to a throw.
~Many holes have several viable shots off the tee - friendly to backhand and forehand drives.
~The majority of elevation changes on this course are mild with many drives aiming downhill, but some approach shots will have you making your way up to a basket.
~Baskets make a satisfying 'dong,' and while a long or strong putt has a chance of bouncing out, a good one will stay in.
~Well maintained, dog friendly, fresh water, camping and fishing on-site, as well as two other 18 hole courses (one easier, one harder).
Cons: ~Hole #13: 225 feet straight up the hill, and then another 225 feet sharp left - get creative, a good roller will get you to the top pretty well. This would be a pro except it was a tiring hill, and the hole was more challenging than the rest of the course.
~Only Hole #18 (700!') gives you a chance to really go for distance, but at least it takes two of them to get to the basket.
~Signs don't indicate pin placement, not much of a problem though.
~I can imagine injuries on the parallel holes #6-10 when busy - be careful please.
~Needs more benches on the course.
Other Thoughts: ~A good plan is worth much more than a strong arm on this course - just going for it will get you a tree.
~A lot of leeway given to holes with a "steep drop-off," so don't worry unless you often overpower your shots by 50'+.
~Current photos on this site are not of the new signs.
~Watch what your disc lands near, twisting paths are disorienting from the tee.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: nonono
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: really awesome course with alots of trees that block your shots and make it fun and challenging. there are even some par 4 holes that are good for people who throw frisbees a long way. lots of bathrooms and garbage cans so no litter. beer is allowed. easy to find tee pads and baskets
Cons: it costs $3 to get into the course but its fun anwyas so its worth it. the water on 18 kind a sucks.
Other Thoughts: good course lots of fun with 2 other ones here so worth the drive

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The First of the Amazing 3

5+    10/14/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: 360DiscGolfer
Played: 70  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Lots of variety in length, terrain and difficulty. Holes range from 225' to 700' and can be open or wooded with elevation changes.
- Awesome new concrete pads
- Great flow.
- Multiple pin placement on a few holes. Hole 13 has dual tee pads.
- Highly visible, custom homemade baskets. Durable and unique.
- Lots of elevation changes. Elevated tee pads on holes 5 and 6. Hole 13 has a 463' uphill, spiral shaped fairway.
- Beautiful and secluded with awesome views.
- Private grounds with drinking water, porta-potties, camping, hiking, fishing, concerts, weddings and more.
Cons:
- The lip and top design on the baskets can deny good putts.
- Could use more benches and trashcans but does have a few well placed ones throughout the course.
- A few ravines and other rough spots can be unforgiving.
Other Thoughts: When this course first opened it was well worth the 40 min drive from Portland but now that there are two other courses on site, Horning's Hideout is a major disc golf destination. The Canyon course would be considered the medium level difficulty of the three on site. $3 a day or a pro-rated per-season golf pass is well worth the 140 ares of Horning's heaven!

Favorite Hole: #5 - A brisk 500' walk from hole 4 and you will find the tee pad for 5 in the middle of the trail. The trail is carved into the side of a hill and the tee pad is elevated. Pull it too hard right or left and your in ravines but with a straight shot up the gut between 4 trees and you'll be looking at bird. This hole now has two pin placements.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A middle child everyone can love....

2-4    11/27/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2009
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *Awesome hole designs.
*Great use of elevation, ups, downs, and sides, but nothing too extreme.
*Most of the holes run through the forest, which is good if you're like me and you love wooded holes.

UPDATE:
*Awesome new concrete tee pads.
Cons:
*Which brings me to my next point, and its not really a con, and its not exclusive to this course, but if it has rained the day you're playing, EVERYTHING off the fairway is SLICK. I fell on my butt twice, and nearly fell close to ten times.
*Hole 15-16 have to be the two dumbest designed holes ever. I did like both holes, but the fact that you tee off on 15, then walk back to 16 tee (pretty much right next to 15 tee) to throw to 16 basket (pretty much right next to 15 basket) This was the only moment in all three rounds (played all three courses) that I was confused and slightly bothered.
Other Thoughts: So this is the "middle child" of the HH courses, and you definitely can tell you're not on the pitch and putt any more based on the length and difficulty of the holes. But its not overly-challenging by any means.

The course starts in the open and ends in the open, but pretty much 3-17 either start, end, or are entirely in the woods.

Holes 6-11 are really close to each other, the day I played, there was a Boyscout Tournament, which was WAY cool to see all those kids (many of whom have never played before) enjoy this great sport... BUT, it was like a war zone, especially on 6-11. Disc were flying EVERYWHERE. Luckily, none of them have the power to cause damage, if they did, I'm sure there would be a couple ambulance rides.

But the course is way fun, I'm not sure what it is, but I had a big smile on my face nearly the entire time I was there, and if it wasn't for 15's and 16's silly design, the course would have gotten a 4 from me.

Update...
The tee pads and general awesomeness of this course has led me to upgrade to a 4 disc despite the somewhat silly design of 15 and 16, and again, I love both holes independently, just not the way they flowed together.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.