Disc Golf Store
North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #15 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great intermediate course

1    8/2/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: volklaero
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful tree filled course.
Difficult shots, with some tricky basket locations.
Challenging but satisfying.
Nice drive out/scenary
Cravable to play again
Cons: 4 Bucks (I dont mind paying for this, but its not a pro)
Closed for tournaments at times.
Other Thoughts: Bring a flick shot...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/29/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Christofu_xc
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Variety of shots throughout the course
-Baskets are yellow so are visible
-Shaded
-Not many people
-Nice teepads
Cons: Where to begin...
-Barely any signage inbetween holes. Very easy to get lost and can take 5-10 min to find the next hole
-Homemade baskets seem inconsistent and are not PDGA approved.
-Parking fee is $4 PER PERSON?! ..how? How is parking a per person type fee? Plus the teller guy to collect it is a total asshole.
-There is a canyon that runs along the backside of many of the baskets. Very easy to lose discs.
-Many blind shots, takes a while to locate the basket even if it is bright yellow from some teepads.
Other Thoughts: If your traveling from portland or farther, honestly this course is not worth it. Considering this is the best out of the 3, dont bother. Its not worth the $4 per person fee to lose discs and get lost throughout the course.

ALSO: the 6 mile road leading up to the park, for some reason has been smothered with gravel, which is completely unnecessary. I was driving up to the course, when someone sped by me and flung a rock into my windshield. SO on top of a mediocre experience, I have to purchase a replacement windshield.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Almost Perfect

5+    8/12/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 58  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- This course has a lot of variety! Righty holes, Lefty holes, tunnel shots, open shots, short and long holes, par fours, blind holes, mandos, water hazards, OB, elevation changes. This course has it all!

- This course has great signage. The signs are very detailed with all of the distances and elevation changes right there on the sign. Steep drop-offs and mandos are all on the sign. They even tell you the direction to the next tee after you're done with the hole.

- Clean bathrooms right next to hole one. Also there are usually a bunch of porta-potties near hole 14/17

- This is a pretty clean course, not much trash gets piled up or if it does, it get's cleaned up pretty frequently.

- Sweet custom made and PDGA approved baskets made by Bob Horning - They make a really nice sound when you hit them too.
Cons:
- Some of the trashcans can get pretty bug infested, bring bug-spray if you got it.

- It's very rough down in the creek. I have left a few discs down there, not wanting to even try to find them. That's how rough it is.

Other Thoughts: I think maybe the only thing this course is missing is more benches - there are some places to sit but there are more holes that don't have seats than do.

Also I'm shocked that they don't have a pro-shop on the property - with three courses and plenty of space, it seems like a no brainer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Times

1    6/30/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course. There are good routes to the basket but the routes require some thinking and shot shaping.

This course has everything. Holes that require you to gun it, holes that will punish you for gunning it. Wide open shots, tight wooded shots. Left turns, right turns, straight shots.

Fairways are fairly clear of brush, but it feels like you're in a forest rather than a city park.

Tee signs are great and have all relevant info. Baskets are awesome.
Cons: It would be nice if the baskets indicated where the next tee was, but we were able to navigate it without a map the first time.

Drop offs behind baskets. #6, #8 and #10 are in front of big drop offs that would probably swallow a disc. A number of the others are in front of drop offs that could be frustrating, but probably not disc disappearing.

Some steep muddy trails. Probably not a course to play when it's wet.
Other Thoughts: This is a course you should play if you ever have an opportunity. With great onsite camping and 3 separate 18s Horning's is a place you should hit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sadly rained out after 9

1    6/13/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The homemade baskets are great...when you hit the bottom, it gongs nice and clear. Course is in excellent shape. Very playable with okay parking and good bathrooms. Canyon course is just what it suggests...in very forrested canyons. I will come again! Signs to pads and baskets which were good.
Cons: If you don't ask and you pull up to the parking area (which is a grass field)it is difficult to find the first basket of each of the 3 holes but once you see the first pad for the Canyon course that helps. Of course the best way is to ask :)
Other Thoughts: Because the courses are in the hills of the coastal range of Oregon be prepared for weather. I didn't come fully prepared and I had to walk away, sad!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT COURSE

1    4/27/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: Pat Edwards
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice terrain elevations, marked and easily visible tees, There are 3 courses here and any one of them is a MUST PLAY! I will be returning frequently. I simply Love this course.
Cons: It's hard to add any Cons about this course... Some of the pads are not concrete, but that did not disturb my total enjoyment. However if it were raining, this course might be not as much fun. Go on a dry days if you can because some of the terrain changes might be a bit difficult to negotiate in the wet and if muddy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    9/13/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on private property that is set up for a few different activities. But, it seems like if the course is open, then there won't be any interference by default!
- Holes are pretty evenly split between open areas and some moderately populated forest. Some of the more interesting open holes include a wide, wide RHBH anny around a mando tree on #2, a big, long uphill dogleg left around the woods on #13, a long downhill anny shot into some trees on #17, and an up-then-down bomber around a giant tree on #18. These all take a very particular shot off the tee, and are long enough where placement is important for the second shot. A couple others are more straightforward, like a straight shot on #1, and a little RHFH flick shot on #3.
- The rest of the holes are all in the woods, which provides some tighter windows and forces line shaping. There are a ton of straight shots of varying difficulty, due to different sized gaps, like #4, #5, #8, #15, and #16. Also some obvious hyzers; #9 is a longer trickier one, and #12 is a tough uphill one with a kink halfway up. Anny/flick friendly holes as well, like #7, #10 can go either way, and #14 is a sharp turn around some trees. Pretty good variety.
- Elevation changes are definitely a factor in many spots. The biggest ones are the uphill trek on #13, the big downhill slope on the back half of #18, and an elevated tee over some nasty rough on #5. Some more subtle ones as well, like the uphill on #1 and #12, and the downhill on #14 and #17. Definitely helps to keep things interesting.
- Swampy area on #18 is in a good spot to possibly force a lay-up shot, if it isn't too dry. I was there in the dry season, but I can imagine it becoming a major factor in the rainy months.
- Homemade baskets are sweet! Tee signs are very nice, as well as the teepads. Navigation can be a little tricky in some spots, with a few different baskets/tees in sight, so the map can help save some time the first time through.
Cons: - Some parts of the course are really crammed together, particularly #6-#10. These five holes are stacked together like sardines in a can, look out if other people are playing here!
- While there are some long holes here to crank some drives, a good amount are on the short side - especially in the woods. Eight of the holes are at or under 252', with pretty simple lines. Not super exciting.
- A little rough around the edges in some places, like a huge dumpster next to the green on #17, port-a-potties scattered here and there, and some roads in play. Not a big deal, but it hurts the ambiance.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a fun course that has a good balance of wooded and open holes. Some of the holes are pretty tricky, but there are also a ton of birdie opportunities to be found. Well suited for an intermediate-level player; a little too easy for expert players, and some spots might be a little rough for some beginners.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Middle child of the Hideout.

1    7/14/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Baskets here are all home made, painted bright yellow with giant black numbers on them (very easy to see), and well made at that, they catch disc very well... maybe beter than any other basket I've played.
- Tee signs are excellent!!! they are very nice and accurate. They also have the elevation change for each hole from tee to basket (EXAMPLE: +11ft or - 25ft), this was nice as it made me think about if I need more or less on my shot, which I rarely pay attention to otherwise.
- Tee pads were long, concrete, and had a good circular brush pattern for traction layed in them.
- This course was great, it had all kinds of shots, open to protected, left to right, to straight. Elevation changes throughout... a great all round course.
- Faily easy to navigate. The trails help a great deal, I only really looked at my map once... to realized that I had just missed a trail.
-You can get towles from the house were you pay. The towels are free to use, just bring them back where you got them.
- Normally a pay to play course is a con for me, but $3/person for ALL DAY and for ALL 3 courses... that is a deal!
- Drinking water available for free (not bottled).
- Porta-potties all over the place. Not so many on the courses but before and after for sure.
Cons: - I know it's not the courses fault, but plan accordingly to not have cell phone service here. (It works before you start down the dirt road so it's not that far to drive back out if you really needed to make a call).
- Also not needed, but kind of a con for me since this place is so great for disc golf is the fact that they don't have disc for rent or for sale. (This would really put them over the top in my book, as it is the only really major thing I think this place is missing).
Other Thoughts: - Be prepared to drive down a narrow dirt/gravel road with blind corners. (I drove a lowered honda and made it just fine, but it wasn't ideal) I don't think there is any car that couldn't make it, just be ready for it.
- This course is harder than Highland but easier than Meadow Ridge... however is challenging enough to be well worth playing.
- This is the middle child here at Horning's Hideout; that being said if you need a warm up or cool down before this course try the shorter Highland course (only 30-45mins), if you need more of a challenge you can try the Pro rated Meadow Ridge course.
- Camping and fishing available here... I paid $15 dollars to camp on site... it was well worth it since I was in the middle of my trip and wanted to play all these courses.
- I was able to play all three courses after palying Pier Park and taking lunch and dinner breaks. If you have the energy... it's completely possible (and recommended) to play all three courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Like Fern Gully, but more enjoyable

1    7/4/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unlike its exalted neighbor Meador Ridge, the Canyon course will challenge you but not defeat you. The course begins out in the open with an okay uphill hole and a nice sweeping right-to-left hole, but then the holes get wooded until the end. Pretty much all of the holes involve some elevation changes, as the name of the course indicates. You'll need to be able to hit some lines, but I don't remember any of the holes being frustratingly tight.

The course finishes out in the open, climbing a steep hill on a nice dogleg uphill hole, then playing some semi-wooded holes at the top, and then back down. #18 is a great hole, throwing a big left-to-right tee shot around a mando (a legit mando; otherwise you're throwing in the faces of the people coming up the hill) and then a huge downhill shot with woods on the left and a marsh acting as a big moat in front of the hole. I'd like to replay this hole.

This course has more porta-potties than any course I've seen. If you're incontinent, this is the course for you! (I'll be honest, I don't get to use that review line nearly enough)

Unlike Meadow Ridge, there are multiple pin placements here (but just one basket in use at any time on each hole). The tee signs are great, showing distances, elevation changes, and the basket locations along with possible alleys.

The homemade baskets are mostly a pro. Their bright yellow is very visible through the woods. They have three sets of chains, so spit throughs are almost impossible. But the bottom part of the basket is not as wide as normal baskets, so you won't get some makes that you would on normal baskets.
Cons: This course has much more undergrowth than Meadow Ridge, and losing a disc is a distinct possibility. Also, on some holes the path from the tee to the basket winds around, so by the time you're there you're a little disoriented. Spot your disc well.

Navigation is okay here but not always simple. A couple times we set off down the wrong path before finding our way to the next hole.

A few holes have steep drop-offs if you overthrow the hole.

This course is much busier than Meadow Ridge (which had no one on it when we played). It wasn't overrun, but we played through several groups.

On hole #1, you tee off over the road leading to the parking lot. We had to wait for cars that kept coming through. We were there on the 4th of July, though, so it's probably not usually this busy.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play in tandem with Meadow Ridge. Maybe play it first as a warmup. Or play it second, as we did, to remind yourself that you're not quite as inept at the game as your score on Meadow Ridge would indicate. But this course really stands out on its own as well. I had a good time here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A must play when in Oregon

1    7/17/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: templink
Played: 57  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Absolutely fantastic new tee signs. Best I've ever seen. Everything you want to know is on the signs: distance, par, elevation, trees, etc.
-It was raining when I played here, but even still the course felt like walking through a rainforest. It was a transporting experience.
-great variety of shots required on different terrains and elevations.
-Peacocks and homemade baskets add to the unique atmosphere of the course.
Cons: -high chance of losing discs in the canyon
-a few holes in the middle felt repetitive
Other Thoughts: Truly a fun course, and there are 2 other courses on the property. Will definitely play this course again next trip to Portland. A disc golf mecca with such a high profile as Horning's should have a pro shop, though.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.