North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #11 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 252ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 

1    7/11/2008   7/11/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Large variety of holes.
Course tests all parts of your game.
Lots of elevation change.
Two more courses in the works.
Beautiful land.
Reasonable pay to play price.
Solid tee signs, navigation is possible without course map.
Cons: Home made baskets spit out a fair number of putts.
Large numbers of significant walkouts.
At least half the tee shots are blind.
Thick underbrush a huge challenge.
Gravel tee pads, some very unlevel.
Little chance to air out drives.
Other Thoughts: I came back to edit my review, a number of my original complaints have been fixed, playing the course a second time with a spotter definitely helped.

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Finally a touch course

6/22/2008   6/28/2008
Review By: J-Man
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Think you know how to throw? I know, lots of guys can cannon down the fairway 300' to 400', cool. But how about a controlled 200' shot that HAS to turn to the right or left? This course will test your ability to throw controlled shots that HAVE to be on target; you hit your shot you are rewarded, you miss, you add strokes. As one of the active older PDX golfers I've been waiting for this style of course for some time, a course where touch and control are more important than just being able to throw a disc long distances. The pace of play is relaxed and the property is staggeringly beautiful.
Cons: Some folks say the gravel pads; I'll take gravel over slippery Fly 18 pads any day. Sure I'd love concrete but the gravel is fine. The pad on 17, like Ryan said, needs to be leveled, no biggie though. And while I don't mind paying 3 bucks a day I'm hoping Bob sets a season parking pass rate soon.
Other Thoughts: Biggest strength of this course, 12 miles from my house. Another is the touch layout. Bob has 2 more courses in the works, a longer one for those howitzer arms that just have to throw everything as hard as they can, an a short Rec level course geared toward families. The setting is hard to beat and Bob and the Horning family and staff are really warm welcoming people. And don't forget your trout rod if you feel like doing a spot of fishing while you are there. This is a really special course. Oh, I forgot to mention the baskets - LOVE 'EM - they have an awesome tone that rings back to the DG days of old. If you're in the PDX area this is a must visit course on par with Milo, Pier, and Trojan. We are blessed to live in the Rose City.
Soft Magnets From There, baby
J

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

6/9/2008   6/11/2008
Review By: cbrow
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked.
Lots of elevation.
Well defined, although challenging fairways.
Amazingly beautiful location.
No crowds.
Best homemade baskets I've ever seen, they catch really well.

Cons: Tee pads not all level.
Though they aren't "gimmes" by any means, most holes are on the shorter side. I hear they might be lengthening a few though.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful wooded holes and a few great open ones. This course was built in an awesome setting just far away enough from the city to keep the crowds away but close enough that it's accessible.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ewok's Hideout!

6/9/2008   6/10/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 156  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.2 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Best home-made baskets I've ever seen!
-Maps available
-Great tee signs with hole distances and even elevation change!
-Wonderful use of elevation. Many shots play into and out of little ravines and such, but without too much concern for lost plastic. Some of the holes gained or lost up to '80!
-Multiple dogleg holes, something missing from most courses.
-Realistic fairways! (No 5' gaps required for to get to the basket)
-Overall course flow is wonderful. It's a full loop back to the first hole, no crossing fairways, very little risk of getting hit from errant drives.
-Seclusion! This course is out in the woods, and I doubt it will ever be too crowded, except maybe during festivals happening on the grounds.
-Great variety of shots required, pretty even between lefty vs. righty. I had to throw both backhand and sidearm almost evenly.
-Great variety in hole lengths. Most holes are around 250', with a few longer holes.
-Overall scenery was VERY beautiful. Reminded me of Ewoks!
-Camping available
-Water available
-Restrooms available
-I believe they have food/drinks available?
Cons:
-Gravel tee pads. For most of the holes, the gravel teepads weren't an issue due to the shortness of the shots, but I'm not a big fan of gravel teepads anyhow, and a few of them, hole 17 in particular, were not level.
-A lot of people will not like the baskets. They WILL NOT take in sloppy putts. Most putts that are not near the core center of the basket will not stay in. However, I found that if you threw a good putt, they stayed in fine, this will irritate many people.
-The trails between the holes will be quite muddy in winter!
-Overall, I'd like it if some of the holes were lengthened a bit, I talked to the owner and he said that this will probably happen in the next couple months.
Other Thoughts:
Playing this course was the most fun I've had at a new course in a LONG time. It is definitely a course that you will want to immediately head out for your second round after you finish hole 18. Lots of very fun technical shots, almost all which were very fair. There was a lot of work that went into the fairways, some trees taken down to make the holes more realistic, which makes the overall feel of the course that much more solid. It's not often that I play courses that are this wooded without feeling that half the holes are flukey. If you throw a good shot, it will reward you plain and simple.

The elevation changes and dense forest made this course feel pretty surreal. Like you're walking through the wilderness playing golf. And because the course is so fair, it will be enjoyed by players of all skill levels. My g/f is an 840 rated Adv AM and I'm a 970 rated pro. There were no shots that confounded her, and there weren't really any shots that bored me (except hole 1).

If the course had a bit more length and more solid teepads, I would have rated this course higher.

Go play it! It's a breath of fresh air for the west side of Portland.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Wow! A Beautiful Private Course!

6/1/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course with plenty of room for more holes.
Great elevation changes.
Amazingly well kept by Bob Horning.
A nice variety of holes.
The home made baskets look great.
The gravel tee pads do their job.
Temporary signs have been made for each hole and there are many signs to guide around the course.
Cons: There isn't really anything bad about it other than some of the tee pads aren't level and the baskets will kick a few putts out. Also, several of the holes have a huge ravine behind them which is hard to find and get a disc from.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing there and will try and go there whenever I can. The word on the street is that 2 other 18 holes courses are eventually going in for a total of 54 holes! Also, multi day passes and stuff are in the making right now.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.