Layout Extinct

Heflin, AL 
Lake Point Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #2 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice little course

1    3/2/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
Pros: The scenery/setting for this course is really cool. The lake views, spillway, etc. all make for a very beautiful course. Though most of the holes are short, they all offer different challenges and make you really think about what you are doing. I loved the first two holes, even though the risk/reward is really high as I found out when a 3 turned into a 5 on Hole 2. Holes 7,10, and 11 were also fun. Hole 18 was just amazing, both from a scenic standpoint and the fact that it really allows you to grip it and rip it across the wide open 450 foot space. Since we were simply playing a casual round I threw five or six tee shots on 18 just to see what some of my discs would do in that kind of open space. Overall, the course offered a good variety of straight shots and right/left breaks to keep it interesting.
Cons: Most of the holes on the course are short, which may not offer enough challenge for some players. Lack of tee pad on Hole 7 was challenging; it sits right on the side of a hill, making footing a challenge and potentially dangerous. I slipped when teeing off and my shot flew way off course.
Other Thoughts: The scenic beauty of this course and the drive to get to it made it worth playing (I was in Anniston on business and this was the closest 18 hole course). I think if one were to play this course regularly, scores of -10 or better would become commonplace due the abundance of short holes, ace runs, and easy birdies. There are many holes that reward the player who has a dead straight shot (Holes 1 and 2 are perfect examples of that). Aside from Holes 11 and 18, you do not need a big arm to play this course. The course will make you work, though, as there is as much hiking as there is throwing involved in playing it. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely play it again if I were in the area and had the time.

 Lake Point Park

1    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Spectacular scenery
A handful of truly unique holes
Challenging hazards (dam, water, lake, extreme elevation)
Concrete tees on almost every hole
Permanent signs and trash cans on every hole
Easy to navigate thanks to "next tee" markers on signs
No conflict with other park users
Very quiet and remote, yet minutes from town
Cons:
True pitch-and-putt style course not challenging to advanced players
The open holes are quite repetitive
Some spots appear to get rather swampy after rainfall
Other Thoughts: This is by far the most spectacular scenery in which I have ever played a round of disc golf. When you arrive at the course, you are greeted with open rolling hills leading to a large lake with lush green mountains as a backdrop. The front nine is just super fun to play. The two throws across the dam are very short yet require precision to place your tee shot on the narrow roadway, otherwise your disc is most likely rolling down the steep sides into the drink. The next three holes are tightly wooded with extreme elevation. Again, a misplaced shot could be rolling for a while. The final two "dam" holes play along the side of the dam, with #7 featuring a 300-foot throw across the pond that the lake empties into. A misplaced throw here would almost always result in a lost disc. The front nine wraps up with some short flat holes that are made challenging by having to throw through a maze of dense trees. While the back nine is mostly open and repetitive, there is lots of elevation in play to keep things plenty interesting. You will get a seriously good workout walking this course, especially if you have to hike up or down after an errant throw or two.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Pitch & Putt But Enjoyable!

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As has been said before, this is great dirt for a course. I'm not sure why it was made into a pitch and putt. There are eleven holes 210 feet or less. Now the fun thing about these eleven holes is they are all ace runs and that's always fun but I think there is plenty of room to stretch this course out into a "full-sized" course. The baskets were in good shape. For the most part, the course was easy to follow in spite of not having any next tee signs. But when you have eleven holes that short, you really don't need next tee signs, do you? The one thing this course does make you do is throw some really tight hysers and anhysers.
Cons: One of my biggest complaints would be about the teepads. The two dirt pads coming back across the earthen dam are definetely sub-standard and probably dangerous. There were a couple of others where I would have liked to see them poured flat and they them poured tilting up or down the hillside. I always dislike these. The two holes across the earthen dam could have easily combined into one longer one.
Other Thoughts: It's short and not for everyone. Because I'm not a big-armed guy, I can have a great time playing a course with these distances. I enjoy all the ace runs. I even liked the open holes (#11) throwing 360' downhill and (# 18) throwing 450" across a little depression to a basket up on a small hill. If you're a 400' + arm, this probably isn't a course for you. If you're an average armed rec player looking for that elusive first ace, this just might be the perfect course for you to pick it up on.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Heflin

5+    8/20/2010   11/12/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a great variation of flat, downhill, and uphill shots. The course also includes holes that are open as well as wooded. There's a nice little putting area next to the parking lot when you come in to get warmed up on. The first and second holes have a beautiful view of the water. The downhill shot on hole 11 allows for further drives than you might be used to, so that's always nice. There are also a few low ceiling shots, some blind corners, and a few holes where water can be a factor, although you never play directly over it.
Cons: Two of the tees are on the side of a hill so it's hard to get a good tee shot. I doubt they could have put in concrete on a surface that steep though, so there's no real way of improving it. The back nine are a little close together without a lot of variation. Experienced players with big arms will probably find some of the holes monotonous because of the short distances without many obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This course contains a lot of walking up and down hills so be prepared to hike all day. Try not to let your tee shots on holes 1 and 2 land on the right side of the hill because they will usually roll all the way to the bottom. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course, but it's not far off of I-20 if you're going to Birmingham or Atlanta.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.