Layout Extinct

Heflin, AL 
Lake Point Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #15 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice little course

1    3/2/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
Pros: The scenery/setting for this course is really cool. The lake views, spillway, etc. all make for a very beautiful course. Though most of the holes are short, they all offer different challenges and make you really think about what you are doing. I loved the first two holes, even though the risk/reward is really high as I found out when a 3 turned into a 5 on Hole 2. Holes 7,10, and 11 were also fun. Hole 18 was just amazing, both from a scenic standpoint and the fact that it really allows you to grip it and rip it across the wide open 450 foot space. Since we were simply playing a casual round I threw five or six tee shots on 18 just to see what some of my discs would do in that kind of open space. Overall, the course offered a good variety of straight shots and right/left breaks to keep it interesting.
Cons: Most of the holes on the course are short, which may not offer enough challenge for some players. Lack of tee pad on Hole 7 was challenging; it sits right on the side of a hill, making footing a challenge and potentially dangerous. I slipped when teeing off and my shot flew way off course.
Other Thoughts: The scenic beauty of this course and the drive to get to it made it worth playing (I was in Anniston on business and this was the closest 18 hole course). I think if one were to play this course regularly, scores of -10 or better would become commonplace due the abundance of short holes, ace runs, and easy birdies. There are many holes that reward the player who has a dead straight shot (Holes 1 and 2 are perfect examples of that). Aside from Holes 11 and 18, you do not need a big arm to play this course. The course will make you work, though, as there is as much hiking as there is throwing involved in playing it. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely play it again if I were in the area and had the time.


1    10/28/2012   10/31/2012
Review By: codyroberts18
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park. It is very interesting, because it is essentially a park just for disc golf. There were concrete tee pads on almost every hole which made for a good experience as well. All 18 baskets were in place and were described well by the tee signs that were in place. The grass was very neatly mowed which made for a good experience. I played this course with someone who knew their way around, but it did seem as if it was very easy to navigate without a guide.
Cons: The main issue I had with this course was the poor design. There are so many hole opportunities that were just not taken advantage of. This course was full of ~170 foot holes and just did not use the land like it could have.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the nicest pieces of land I have been to. It is secluded, plenty of room for more holes, and could be an awesome disc golf destination for tournament level golfers. Although it would be a good course for beginners, there is so much more that could be done. This is a good course to play if you are passing through due to the views over the water and open fields.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a good dam course....:)

1    4/1/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a really fun course for a short course.
1 was an interesting hole with super steep sides requiring straight accuracy. Hole 2 had the same super steep sides. I missed a 15 foot putt and it rolled 80+ feet down the hill and hopped over the rocks into the water turning a 2 into a 5.
Some holes had concrete tee pads, benches on some holes.
Holes 10 and 11 were back to back fun holes, 10 was straight uphill 210 feet, while 11 was 350 wide open downhill where you need to fade to the right, but too far right you go into thick brush.
Holes 13,14, and 16 were ace runs or easy birdies to end strong. Hole 17 could be an ace run, but a subtle downhill slope could create a risk over a severe over shot if you go for it.
Hole 18 was probably the signature hole with an elevated tee pad tossing over a small valley up 2 levels of rolling hills to a basket 450 feet away.
Come play at dawn as the fog rises from the dam for an even more spectacular setting.
Cons: No listed OB or Mandos. Hole 7 said 300 feet, but if you turn sideways you can toss it 250 feet over the water. Hole 9 said it was a 200 foot sharp dog leg, but with no mando you could throw 100 feet through a narrow tunnel and land under the basket. 13 I would assume the fence was OB, but it was not marked, nor were the roads.
Huge ant problem: 7 had a foot long, ankle deep anthill growing up the basket pole. Nearly every tee pad on the back 9 had 2 foot long ant hills growing up the sides spreading on to the teepads.
Hole 2 was the same as hole 1 just a few feet longer.
The steep hills and drop offs around the baskets began to seem gimmicky after so many roll away discs, it started to become more about luck than skill.
Short Course. Only one hole on the front 9 was over 250 feet, and only 5 holes on the entire course were over 230. (average is around 220)
No even ground on holes 6 or 7 to tee from.
Nothing around it. The closest course is 13.2 miles away (straight point A to B), but it is 9 holes and takes 40 minutes to get to it. It was almost quicker to drive to Flyboy.
Other Thoughts: It was not the greatest course, but I enjoyed it and think playing it often will force you to improve your long putts. Since it is all Heflin has, a second set of tee pads would be interesting.
Course takes about 1 hour to play solo

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 this place can be tough

5+    12/27/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: frogtown_corey
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery, challenging holes and lots of exercise. Plenty of opportunity for aces and a great place to learn patience.
Cons: Really needs some trees and privots cleaned up around the course. Some holes are kinda short but doesnt mean that theyre easy.
Other Thoughts: Tired of hearing complaints about this course. just shut up and throw.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dam

2-4    5/14/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: jsbatte
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the first course that I've played all the way through, so don't put much stock into what I have to say, unless you are looking for a beginners perspective. I really enjoyed this course. I feel like it taught me a lot as a beginner. I loved the scenery and the nice hike that it offered, which is exactly what attracted me to disc golf.
Cons: The front 9 had what seemed to be several daunting shots, but after a couple of rounds, I gained more confidence. The lack of tee pads on the side of the hill bothered me at first, but when you think about it, it would almost be more dangerous to have them in, especially on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: I am very excited about becoming a disc golfer. This course only fueled my excitement. I live in the Nashville area, and plan on playing all the courses in the area very soon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a stop

1    10/20/2010   4/20/2011
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Point Park provides a nice variety of shots. Elevation change, water hazards, mix of open and wooded holes, and even the occasional hole with distance provides the average disc golfer with a fun round that won't leave you cursing too much when its all said and done. As with most Monroe designed courses it flows very nicely from hole to hole without too much confusion of "where's the next tee". Fairways are well maintained. Beginners will enjoy this course because it gives you a taste of what real disc golf is like. More established players will enjoy it because of the variety of shots it provides. you will rarely have to throw the exact same shot twice off the tee.One or two long bomber holes may appease the long-arm thrower, but for the most part accuracy off the tee and particularly on the front 9 knowing your disc and how the land on sloped greens is a premium.
Cons: There is not much distance per hole on this course, which to me is always a knock if alternate tees aren't provided, especially given the size of the land used. Most of the course provides a good bit of variety in terms of the shape of shot needed off the tee. One major flaw, however, is the first 2 holes as everyone else has alluded to. Playing over a damn they are basically the same shot with only a few feet difference between them.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a drive home from Atlanta to Birmingham. Being from Birmingham I know the course designer Tom Monroe very well. Many in our club had played the course with mixed reviews based on who I'd spoken with, anywhere from absolute rubbish to a solid course. After playing the course myself I feel as though I found myself viewing it somewhere in the middle. Definitely not a on my top course list but not a horrible course by any means. I would definitely suggest stopping by and playing this course (only about 10-15 minutes off I-20) if you're passing through.

On a side note my review may be a little off because as I finished my round, the course designer drove up and spoke with me about changing some thing around and adding more distance. Hopefully I'll get a chance to stop by again soon to see what improvements where made. I know for a fact he had mentioned correcting the hole 1 and 2 problem by combining them as everyone has suggested.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Point Park

1    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Spectacular scenery
A handful of truly unique holes
Challenging hazards (dam, water, lake, extreme elevation)
Concrete tees on almost every hole
Permanent signs and trash cans on every hole
Easy to navigate thanks to "next tee" markers on signs
No conflict with other park users
Very quiet and remote, yet minutes from town
Cons:
True pitch-and-putt style course not challenging to advanced players
The open holes are quite repetitive
Some spots appear to get rather swampy after rainfall
Other Thoughts: This is by far the most spectacular scenery in which I have ever played a round of disc golf. When you arrive at the course, you are greeted with open rolling hills leading to a large lake with lush green mountains as a backdrop. The front nine is just super fun to play. The two throws across the dam are very short yet require precision to place your tee shot on the narrow roadway, otherwise your disc is most likely rolling down the steep sides into the drink. The next three holes are tightly wooded with extreme elevation. Again, a misplaced shot could be rolling for a while. The final two "dam" holes play along the side of the dam, with #7 featuring a 300-foot throw across the pond that the lake empties into. A misplaced throw here would almost always result in a lost disc. The front nine wraps up with some short flat holes that are made challenging by having to throw through a maze of dense trees. While the back nine is mostly open and repetitive, there is lots of elevation in play to keep things plenty interesting. You will get a seriously good workout walking this course, especially if you have to hike up or down after an errant throw or two.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool, unique course

1    5/5/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Disclaimer -- I only played the Front Nine and then had to go.

Pros include rare and unique hazards. The first and second hole, albeit identical in most respects, are unlike any other I've seen. They're only about 150' straight shots, but you are essentially throwing down a 15' wide strip with 70' hills at 45 degree angles going down both left and right. A poor throw or a poor landing = water or a long crazy uphill shot. Awesome.

Some self-described "purists" say tees should always be flat and level. I consider myself a purist as well, but disagree. I love tilted tees, and there are some crazy tilted tees in the front nine. It's a whole new challenge and you must know your throw and your body very well to ensure a decent shot.

Lost one to the water on hole 6, which is an awesome throw over a small resevoir. Was able to retrieve the disc in 2' deep (very slippery / rocky) water. Hope it wasn't sewage.

Wouldn't be a good idea after a rain -- some dirt alleys and potentially marshy areas, but all was dry when I played.

Poles are in very good condition. Would definitely play here again.

Cons: Most holes are very short -- 130' to 200'. The course makes up for some of these with unique hazards like Hole 1 & 2 along the levee ridge, but other short holes are made challening with usual devices: blind dog legs, semi-drastic elevation changes, "drop-off" hazards along fairways / near holes, dense / scary brush along holes. In many ways, this is not necessarily a "Con..."
Other Thoughts: Did not expect the little back road we took to get there to open up to this vast, beautiful setting. This place is a little gem that every DG-er in the area should visit if it hasn't rained in a couple days.

Huge lake and very hilly landscape make for a very enjoyable game. Longer holes would make this an easy 4, 4.5.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Whoa shawty!

2-4    5/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm from Mobile, which is flat and coastal, so playing this hilly course was pretty cool. It's just a pitch and putt, with only a couple of challenging holes, but it's still pretty fun. Everything is well marked for out of towners, and the scenery just doesn't get any better: right next to a river and the first two holes play over a big earthen dam before heading up a rise and back down. One tee is actually midway up the dam, throwing down over another stream to the pin. Lots of ace runs, I mean like more than 10 are possible ace runs for a mid level player like me. Only two holes over 350, which makes for a soft round I could play through in about an hour. The hills are brutal for a coastal son like me, but the workout was a good thing. Land and scenery are outstanding, a few tweaks and some added distance could put this park in the 4+category.
Cons: Too little variety of holes, lots of repition. The first two hoels play over the dam, and are only different by about 20 feet. A good creative course designer would have stretched it out a bit and really paid attention to a couple of the precarious tee boxes, as that one on the side of the dam is going to get somebody hurt.
Other Thoughts: I played this course alone while traveling for work, and I really liked that it was a short play after a day of driving. Heck, it's so pretty it would be worth it to play the course just to see the sites. Adjacent to the Talladega National Forest, it's pristine and breahtaking. Even though the course design is lacking, I'll play it every time I'm in the area for a change of pace.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 beginners only; super short!

1    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Right off I-20 (~5 minutes)
*Quick to play
*Very nice, scenic park with a lake, dam & hills
*Concrete pads on most holes; all holes are signed; trash cans on every hole
*Fun to play; elevation makes it interesting
*Good variety of shot types - left, right, extreme up, extreme down, etc
Cons: *It's just too short. There are multiple holes that are under 200 and wide open; only one hole where i need a disc other than a putter (#18).
*earthen teepads on the dam are dangerous....too bad it doesn't throw off the top
*#1 & #2 are identical holes; #8 is throw n' hope through a mess of privet
Other Thoughts: As noted in other reviews, this is an amazing piece of land with a really, really short course. Most holes were putters off the tee. I shot -8 with 2 bogies, just carrying an Aviar and a driver. It goes beyond pitch n' putt to deuce or die ... too short for non-beginner tourney play

I will probably not visit this course again until longer teepads are added, it's just too short!

@ beginners - you will find this course to be challenging as many of the holes are short but hazardous (hills, dam, water & wind)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.