Layout Extinct

Heflin, AL 
Lake Point Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #8 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A Pitch & Putt But Enjoyable!

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As has been said before, this is great dirt for a course. I'm not sure why it was made into a pitch and putt. There are eleven holes 210 feet or less. Now the fun thing about these eleven holes is they are all ace runs and that's always fun but I think there is plenty of room to stretch this course out into a "full-sized" course. The baskets were in good shape. For the most part, the course was easy to follow in spite of not having any next tee signs. But when you have eleven holes that short, you really don't need next tee signs, do you? The one thing this course does make you do is throw some really tight hysers and anhysers.
Cons: One of my biggest complaints would be about the teepads. The two dirt pads coming back across the earthen dam are definetely sub-standard and probably dangerous. There were a couple of others where I would have liked to see them poured flat and they them poured tilting up or down the hillside. I always dislike these. The two holes across the earthen dam could have easily combined into one longer one.
Other Thoughts: It's short and not for everyone. Because I'm not a big-armed guy, I can have a great time playing a course with these distances. I enjoy all the ace runs. I even liked the open holes (#11) throwing 360' downhill and (# 18) throwing 450" across a little depression to a basket up on a small hill. If you're a 400' + arm, this probably isn't a course for you. If you're an average armed rec player looking for that elusive first ace, this just might be the perfect course for you to pick it up on.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing park, so-so course

1    3/3/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Absolutely amazing piece of land that could have had one of the best disc golf courses ever. This park is amazing and I would love to see the course redesigned into a good course. It has beautiful hills, water, trees, good signage into the park.
Cons: Way too short, even for 1980's standards. I shot a -15 (39) my first time through. Hole 1 would be great if it played to hole 2's basket. This could be a WORLD CLASS COURSE with the land that they have, instead they just made a little pitch and putt. You only need a putter to play the course, except hole 18.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see this course redone, as it stands, it will become very boring to the locals. I would not go out of my way to play here. But it is a great park for young kinds and 1st time throwers.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Heflin

5+    8/20/2010   11/12/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a great variation of flat, downhill, and uphill shots. The course also includes holes that are open as well as wooded. There's a nice little putting area next to the parking lot when you come in to get warmed up on. The first and second holes have a beautiful view of the water. The downhill shot on hole 11 allows for further drives than you might be used to, so that's always nice. There are also a few low ceiling shots, some blind corners, and a few holes where water can be a factor, although you never play directly over it.
Cons: Two of the tees are on the side of a hill so it's hard to get a good tee shot. I doubt they could have put in concrete on a surface that steep though, so there's no real way of improving it. The back nine are a little close together without a lot of variation. Experienced players with big arms will probably find some of the holes monotonous because of the short distances without many obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This course contains a lot of walking up and down hills so be prepared to hike all day. Try not to let your tee shots on holes 1 and 2 land on the right side of the hill because they will usually roll all the way to the bottom. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course, but it's not far off of I-20 if you're going to Birmingham or Atlanta.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Point

2-4    10/15/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with a lot of variety when it comes to all aspects of disc golf, you can expect to see some hyzer and anhyzer shots, downhill and uphill shots, heavily wooded to moderately wooded to very open fairways. You will be able to use just about any type of shot you have as well. The first 2 holes are set on a beautiful dam with the Calhuga Creek on your right so be careful with your first drives. Has a practice pin as well by the pavilion so if you have some time that always helps. Has concrete tee pads on just about every hole except for a few. Course flows very well and you don't really need a map to navigate. I think this is beginner friendly course as you don't need that much power or accuracy to have fun at this place. As you do need power and accuracy to score well.
Cons: The majority of the holes 250 or less feet. Have to hike through the woods pretty good for a couple holes, but nothing too bad. Has a lot of water hazards which can be fun but you can also lose discs so be aware. The 2 holes that are on the other side of the dam don't have tee pads and you are throwing off the side of a pretty steep hill, so be careful with your footing, I can imagine some pretty nasty spills down the hill will take place.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely tournament ready. They did a great job with this course, and not much else is need to make it better. Mostly a short course so if you don't have the power you will definitely still have a lot of fun!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.